Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely Bright Light
This light is extremely bright! Using my Nikon D600 camera with 6 NiMH AA's installed in the light with no diffuser, in a dark room, an exposure of a white wall from 1 meter is:
ISO 100, f/2.8, 1/160 with center being brightest and severe falloff at the edges of a 24mm frame. This equates to around 2600 Lux @ 1 meter.

I used an Extech multimeter to measure...
Published 7 months ago by Physical Engineer

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok LED Light for a Camera
This is an ok product. Its works, and produces a bright light, but the quality is lacking. I won't go into all the details of how this product could be drastically improved, but if you are considering this product, remember to purchase Sony Replacement NP-F550 Digital Camera Battery (you will need to purchase a charger as well). The AA batteries will not last long at...
Published 5 months ago by TheMountainMan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely Bright Light, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
This light is extremely bright! Using my Nikon D600 camera with 6 NiMH AA's installed in the light with no diffuser, in a dark room, an exposure of a white wall from 1 meter is:
ISO 100, f/2.8, 1/160 with center being brightest and severe falloff at the edges of a 24mm frame. This equates to around 2600 Lux @ 1 meter.

I used an Extech multimeter to measure at the battery terminals:
On 6 AA's at 7.76 V (no load), at full light power, current consumption is 1.4 Ah; at half brightness (one stop darker) 560 mAh; and at minimum power (5.67 stops less than full) 26 mAh (the light turns off after this level).

It's impossible to look at the light at full power and for video work, I can't imagine ever using it for fill, but it certainly can light up a large room if you need to. You could save money and buy the CN-160 if you need it just for fill light.

In a real world example, at full power with diffuser, in an 8x12 room facing the long way @24mm, the D600 metered ISO 200, f/2.8, 1/30. You would have to shoot at least at 50mm to minimize vignetting though.

If you would use this at full power, you would need a change of batteries every hour. However for typical video fill light use, it might last 4-10 hours depending on brightness.

White balance according to Lightroom custom WB picker with a D600 RAW file on a calibrated neutral target is:
Orange Diffuser: 3350K, -4
White Diffuser: 5100K, +11
Pink Diffuser: 4950K, -12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Price, Good Features, Bad Color Consistency: Get the Latest Version with Clean White Light, No Green Cast, April 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
The price is best among similar offerings. Feature set is good. The problem is the color difference between same product. It is useful as a single light source, but its use as part multiple lighting setup is hampered by inconsistent light colors. Latest version with clean white light is preferable to older version with green cast.

Neewer should be commended for the price. At this price, there are no better alternatives. This is good for videographers and photographers alike.

It is bright. It is portable; it takes 6 AA batteries. There is also adapter on the bay, which I have yet to test.

The only problem is in color of the light. There is one product in name, but two distinct versions in terms of color. One is clean white like one expects from a white light. The other has green cast; this is the older version.

Slight color cast itself is not a difficult problem. Modern cameras have white-balance. The real problem is when the two gets mixed in the lighting set. Side-by-side, the color difference is noticeable. The newer clean white is preferable.

Source of the problem is they are sold mixed when you order from Amazon. Sometimes you will get the former, sometimes you will get the latter. I ordered three lights on three different occasions. I received one clean white version and two green cast versions.

To ascertain which was the right one, I ordered direct from Neewer via the bay. My suspicion was right, they had fixed the green cast problem in newer ones. They also got rid of the magenta filter, which is no longer needed to counteract the green spike. Although not always the case, telltale sign of newer version is "Neewer" branding on the box and on the light. Older version will say "Nanguang."

This LED light is still an excellent value. If you are planning to use just one light, then buy it and set white-balance. However, if you are planning to use more than one, be sure to get the newer version with the clean white light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CN-216 vs CN-160, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I have both the CN-160 and the CN-216. The following is a comparison of the two.

The CN-216 has two additional rows of led lights. Both the CN216 and CN160 seem to be the same size and in the same container. Both take 6 AA batteries or other batteries with the adapter. The CN160 seems to have a mirrored reflector behind the leds where as the CN216 does not.

In casual non-scientific testing, the CN216 seems brighter. The color temperature are different between the two lights. I did not use an instruments to test out the lights and these were just my casual observations.

There is also a CN-304 which accepts 8 AA batteries and should be larger in size. I tried to order it on Amazon, but was told that it was damaged in shipping and no others were available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Perfectly, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I also have a CN-160 and the CN-216 is considerably brighter.
Both have a very good light and the colors on the pictures are vivid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice for the price, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
for the price, this light is awesome. the light is bright, nicely even
and easy to adjust. the filters are fairly sturdy and very effective
for changing color temps. bonus that it works with AA batteries.
definitely worth trying out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woah!, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I bought this light because I had seen so many good reviews and I figured I'd check it out myself. I plan on buying at least two if not four more! This light has a ton of throw, no flicker, and can be used in so many ways! The dimmer is fantastic, the ability to use both camera and AA batteries is great and the overall build is good! The only downside is that it doesn't come with a case/bag, but if I have multiples I'll put them all together in a case anyway.

GREAT BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok LED Light for a Camera, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
This is an ok product. Its works, and produces a bright light, but the quality is lacking. I won't go into all the details of how this product could be drastically improved, but if you are considering this product, remember to purchase Sony Replacement NP-F550 Digital Camera Battery (you will need to purchase a charger as well). The AA batteries will not last long at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Broke after 1 week, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Purchased one of these, and it gave off some beautiful soft bright light the first time we turned it on. Used it on one shoot, replaced the batteries and it never turned on again. Broke after only one use, no harsh treatment involved. Probably just a bad unit, but not good for demanding production needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very reliable, won't last more than 2 months., March 28, 2014
By 
Tšn (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Initially it worked well and was very bright. At the lowest setting, only one LED bulb is illuminated (near the lower left area of the panel). As you turn the dial up then the rest of the bulbs in the panel light up and increase in brightness. The panel is very bright and I suggest not looking directly into it. I accidentally did and was seeing spots in my vision for a couple minutes afterwards, similar to what happens if you stare at a flash when it goes off. Anyhow, one of the bulbs went out for no reason which now causes the entire panel to flicker. The light will continue to flicker unless you turn the dial all the way up to the highest setting. So if you need to use a low or medium brightness, you'll simply get horrendous flickering. It's fine if you want a strobing light, but not acceptable for continuous light. Of course, the bulb died on the 35th day of use, so now I can't return it because it's over the 30 day return period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Light Cannot believe the Light output, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEEWER CN-216 216PCS LED Dimmable Ultra High Power Panel Digital Camera / Camcorder Video Light, LED Light for Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Panasonic, SONY, Samsung and Olympus Digital SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I have been looking for a fill light and video light. I am amazed at the light output of this light and the price. Cannot go wrong with this one. Fast Amazon Prime Service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.