Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dinosaurs: Perfect Predators
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Price:$6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 4, 2011
I've got most all of the better Dinosaur and fossil DVDs, including Walking with Dinosaurs and Jurassic Fight Club. This one is right up there with the very best; they did a marvelous job with regard to making this one! The simulated dinosaurs are simply stunning; they are, often throughout the first of the three separate episodes of this DVD, breathtaking! A lot of pertinent and interesting information is provided, with graphic images supporting the information given. The first long episode is worth the price of the DVD, in and of itself.

The first (and main) episode, which has the same title as the DVD itself, involves predators such as T-Rex and Deinonycus. A lot of very interesting information is given on both of these dinosaurs; this episode is superb and is probably the best dinosaur-oriented film that I have ever seen thus far. T-rex and Deinonycus were both super-predators with large brains and with sensory systems that often surpassed our own. Various paleontologists give remarks throughout this episode, and their insights are interesting and fluid. I like how Pete Larson, of the Black Hills Institute, while stating about how T-rex had expandable jaws (i.e., similar to that of snakes)... then mentions something like: "There is not a lawyer around that would be too fat for a T-rex to swallow (whole)." Pete, you got that right, alright!

The second episode, entitled "Monsters Resurrected: Great American Predator", is about Acrocanthosaurus. Acrocanthosaurus is an awesome carnivore that left tracks, while going after a sauropod, in Texas; these tracks are analysed and explained as part of this segment. The forearms of this predator were reconstructed in a real-life simulation experiment; what they do to the simulated prey material certainly leaves an impression!

The third episode, entitled "Beyond T-Rex", is about Carcharodontosaurus and Giganotosaurus, two very cool carnivorous dinosaurs that surpassed T-Rex in size; very interesting information was provided here. These two dinosaurs are closely related, due to the occurrence of land bridges that connected Africa and South America, after they split, millions of years ago.

So, to sum it all up, if you don't like dinosaurs, be sure not to get this excellent DVD!
33 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
I bought this as a Christmas present because my grandson's, aged 2 and 4, love dinosaurs. The animations are wonderful but the boys are too young yet to really appreciate the science that is embedded within the DVD. But I believe that they will continue to enjoy this DVD for years to come.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
Great! The movie is great to watch if you love dinosaurs! Documentary. Very educational. Fun to watch. Three more words
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2011
This dvd has 3 shows in one. The first show has great UPDATED info on a couple dinos. Its great because the show is relatively new so the info is up to date.

Shows 3 and 4 are about carnivores that may not be known as much as tyrannosaurus rex, which is really cool and gives you insight on new dinosaurs that you may or may not know
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
This is a good documentary but as so many of them are, slightly too repetitive. Also I don't understand why Spinosaurus was not even considered nor any of these related dinosaurs. By general consensus of opinion this genus unquestionably produced larger predatory dinosaurs than any one mentioned in this documentary and surely by the time this video was made this genus was well known. Also Quetzalcoatlus is no longer considered to be the largest pterodactyl which ever lived and the estimated weights of the various animals mentioned need never to be taken very seriously as one paleontologist says one thing and another will give a different figure. One also can never take what paleontologists say about a dinosaur as gospel truth as one will say one thing and another will say something different but all in all I'd say this documentary is very entertaining as well as educational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
This product contains three dinosaur documentaries that are all very good but have nothing in common and only one of the documentaries really talks about dinosaurs being "perfect predators". The first of the documentaries is very accurate and clear about its information the the deadliest predators of the Cretaceous Period, the second one is one of the episode from "Monsters Resurrected", and the third one is talking about what predatory dinosaurs would win in a fight against T-Rex. Over all I would say that it is worth the money.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
Great new DVD for the family. This interesting DVD explains the difference between some of the greatest creatures that every lived.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
I liked the film okay; but, most of the creatures shown I've seen before and knew a bit about them. I guess I'm trying to say there wasn't a lot of new knowledge presented to me as I've seen other films I have which showed about the same in a little different presentation. Still, If you like watching informative films about the dinosaurs you probably would like this film a little better than I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2012
I purchased this as a Father's Day gift. Dad was delighted just to see the cover photo and very much enjoyed watching the CD. He gives it a 4-star dinosaur rating. Btw, I received it within 3 days of ordering, so I thank the seller for his immediate fulfillment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
Very well done; graphics are great. Good information on dinosaurs. The only thing that keeps these documentaries from getting a five-star rating is their habit of recounting information. This might be a good thing when your broadcast is continually interrupted for long strings of commercials, but in a commercial-less DVD it is merely an irritating, boring, interruption.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.97

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.