Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Dinosaur Revolution
This DVD is still worth getting, no doubt. Compared to Dinosaur Revolution, it leaves out quite a bit and jumbles up the story lines, often placing scenes out of context (where they made sense and followed a clear narrative in Dinosaur Revolution).
The scenes not included are : The Cryolophosaurus, the Mosasaur, the Gigantoraptor and the Eoraptor. The one bonus is...
Published on October 31, 2012 by in His Name

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step in the right direction
I should preface this review by saying I haven't seen all of Dinosaur Revolution, although I've seen parts of it. I didn't watch it when it was first broadcast on TV, and by the time it was released on DVD, I decided it would be better to wait because there was talk about the show's creators releasing an improved version with less intrusive narration. That improved...
Published 24 months ago by Jonathan Kane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Dinosaur Revolution, October 31, 2012
This review is from: Dinotasia (DVD)
This DVD is still worth getting, no doubt. Compared to Dinosaur Revolution, it leaves out quite a bit and jumbles up the story lines, often placing scenes out of context (where they made sense and followed a clear narrative in Dinosaur Revolution).
The scenes not included are : The Cryolophosaurus, the Mosasaur, the Gigantoraptor and the Eoraptor. The one bonus is you get a brief scene at the beginning where an Acrocathosaurus is brought to life from a skeleton and wanders out of the museum into a modern day city. My recommendation is buy it if you cannot get dinosaur revolution on DVD or Blu-Ray, or if you simply are willing to spend whatever it takes even for a brief glimpse of Acrocanthosaurus. For those of you already owning Dinosaur Revolution, this reshuffled and edited version will not add to what you already have witnessed (Acro aside). Overall, I thought Dinosaur Revolution was a better production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, November 10, 2013
This review is from: Dinotasia (DVD)
Grabbed this at a Barnes & Noble near my house. I'll be honest: I didn't expect to get what basically amounts to the original vision of "Dinosaur Revolution" - as in little if any narration, in this case provided by legendary filmmaker Werner Herzog - check the show's page on tvtropes.org if you doubt my word.

In the same manner as DR, Dinotasia combines the latest scientific evidence - including the small feathered theropods - with stories crafted in a purely visual style that hasn't been seen since the classic era of silent cinema - again, as the show was originally intended, before the Discovery Channel's executives changed it.

And to any parents reading this review and intending to buy this DVD for your kid(s), a little advance warning - and maamaakrystal, I'm looking at you - : If you were expecting something like "The Land Before Time", what you need to understand is that the dinosaurs in this movie (and their predecessors, contemporaries and successors) were fighting for survival in a world every bit as violent and unforgiving as ours is today - the broken jaw suffered by the male Allosaurus europaeus in the Late Jurassic Portugal segment is proof enough because it was based on a real specimen.

Just like the Walking With... series, the animals are modeled and animated in a computer then dropped into a real-life backdrop that reflects what the world looked like when the creatures in each segment were alive - although in the complete Late Jurassic Portugal segment (included as a bonus extended scene) I distinctly remember seeing a palmetto tree.

The scientific accuracy - nothing short of astounding: the theropod hands aren't pronated (a.k.a. held like a kangaroo), most of the coelurosaurs - including the newly-hatched baby Tyrannosaurus rex - are well-feathered (I'm letting the Ornitholestes slide because the jury is still out on its phylogenetic position), the Triceratops skin is even based on an unpublished specimen examined by the show's creators, the Troodon are properly shown to be omnivores and the males are responsible for looking after the eggs, the hands on the Majungasaurus (the abelisaurid from Madagascar) and the sauropods are correctly modeled, the common meme of having female theropods larger than the males is avoided, and the juvenile pachycephalosaur in the Hell Creek segment isn't intended to be any particular genus in order to avoid the whole ontogenetic debate (and because the model was going to be used for Prenocephale) - and it turns out that the only way a T. rex could've been killed by a Triceratops is if it was shoved onto the carcass's eyebrow horn, and in this case, right through the neck (Ouch).

As Variety Magazine said, Dinotasia "owes as much to [Disney's] FANTASIA as it does to WALKING WITH DINOSAURS" - and I certainly agree.

Again, if you want to get this for your kid, I urge you to seriously re-consider your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If "Scientific American" owned the "Termite Terrace.", November 6, 2012
This review is from: Dinotasia [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the movie that the cable series was supposed to be. Don't see it expecting it to be a longer version of the series. It is a different product, a different vision. It is a collection of classic Warner Brothers-inspired cartoons set to story lines that are based on the latest and best available scientific knowledge about dinosaurs. Some of the stories are violent and may be emotionally difficult for very young children, others show complex and rewarding family universality. At least one is a glorious, funny, nearly shot-for-shot homage to a very classic WB cartoon familiar to any baby boomer. Since Mel Blanc is no longer with us, Dinotasia's animals do not speak words, although they can and do communicate throughout this intelligent and courageous show of visual storytelling. But wait! Mel may be gone, but nothing can prepare you for what happens when Werner Herzog apparently wanders around the production office for a couple of days. In his distinctive vocal style that is both as serious as a heart attack and as winking as your crazy old uncle who understands you're as unique as he, Herzog bridges the stories and lets us know that learning is fun. Again, what Dinotasia is not: it is not a billion dollar James Cameron/Martin Scorsese/Tim Burton re-invention of animated cinematic Art. But director Erik Nelson shows it could have been. It is an inspired, creative, modestly-budgeted success, particularly appealing to those of us who, in words from "Network," "learned life from Bugs Bunny."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dinosaur Revolution, October 10, 2012
This review is from: Dinotasia (DVD)
This is the Discovery Channels "Dinosaur Revolution" Just a Different Name .
It was on the Disc Channel sept 2011 here in the US .
The wait is over I will be getting it .
I Hope you all injoy it as much as I did .
The CGI is very good and the Storys are Great (My Fav is the Allosaurs with the Injured Lower Jaw :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step in the right direction, February 5, 2013
This review is from: Dinotasia (DVD)
I should preface this review by saying I haven't seen all of Dinosaur Revolution, although I've seen parts of it. I didn't watch it when it was first broadcast on TV, and by the time it was released on DVD, I decided it would be better to wait because there was talk about the show's creators releasing an improved version with less intrusive narration. That improved version ended up being Dinotasia. It's difficult for me to say whether or not it's better than Dinosaur Revolution, but what I can say is that taken on its own, it makes an effort at a lot of things that definitely deserved to be done. On the other hand, it also falls considerably short of its potential.

Depictions of dinosaurs in popular media have generally fallen into one of three categories. The first is as sensationalized movie monsters, with no apparent motivation except to create mayhem on-screen for the sake of viewers. (Think of Jurassic Fight Club, or the Jurassic Park films.) A second category is for them to be shown as a scientific curiosity, whose purpose is to educate viewers about paleontology and natural history, as is the case in most dinosaur documentaries. And the third category is the way they're depicted in movies such as The Land Before Time or Disney's Dinosaur, where the dinosaurs are anthropomorphized to the point where you might as well just call them human characters in dinosaur bodies. The idea of dinosaurs being protagonists in the story, while having only the thoughts and goals that a dinosaur might actually have had, is one that I haven't seen in a movie before. But that's what Dinotasia tries to do.

This results in Dinotasia doing a few things that haven't been attempted before, at least not to this degree. In most of the segments each dinosaur (or pterosaur, in one case) has its own individual personality and appearance, rather than just being a generalized representation of its species. Previous shows such as Dinosaur Planet attempted this a little, but didn't make each individual nearly as distinctive as it is in Dinotasia. The movie also tries very hard to make it possible for viewers to understand what the animals are thinking and feeling in most situations. This sometimes results in their behavior being slightly anthropomorphized, although the anthropomorphism is much more subtle in Dinotasia than it is in movies like The Land Before Time. One particularly interesting sequence follows a pair of Tyrannosaurus as they try to raise their chicks, and who are also at one point shown killing and eating a Triceratops. Showing something like that in a movie is nothing new, but what makes it unusual is to see it as part of the life of characters that could be considered among the movie's heroes, rather than the villains.

Unfortunately, in its effort to make it possible for a human audience to relate to the dinosaur characters, Dinotasia goes a little too far. In many cases, the segments are a series of one dramatic or violent event after another, sometimes involving a lot of seemingly unlikely coincidences. Ironically, the two sequences featuring large theropods (carnivorous dinosaurs) have this problem less than most, because these two take place over the course of several years during the animals' lives, rather than having their events compressed into a short span of time. Some of the sequences rely so heavily on unlikely coincidence and slapstick humor that other reviewers have compared them to a Looney Tunes cartoon. Making the stories that way may have been an intentional choice by Dinotasia's creators, but if it was, it makes Werner Herzog's melodramatic narration seem especially out of place. The movie probably would have been better without any narration at all.

Technically, Dinotasia offers a mixed bag. The Troodon featured in the final segment is the most realistic depiction of this animal I've yet seen in a movie, and didn't make any of the mistakes that are common in the way the hands of maniraptoran dinosaurs are positioned. On the other hand, a recurring problem in many of the segments is that the CG animals aren't perfectly integrated into the live-action backdrops, so that their feet often don't appear to be making contact with the ground. Another technical shortcoming evident on the Blu-ray disc is that not all of the live-action backgrounds appear to be fully HD; I think this is probably because they were originally meant to be used in a TV show, so they weren't filmed at high enough resolution to take full advantage of the HD format.

I'm very glad that this movie was made, because in its effort to make dinosaurs the protagonists of the story, it's attempting a lot of things that really deserved to be attempted. But it also falls too far short of its potential for me to give it five stars, or even four. In the long run, the best thing about Dinotasia might be if it encourages other filmmakers to try telling similar stories, while also avoiding this movie's shortcomings. I hope they will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Please, Please, Please make the real full length "Dinosaur Revolution" available in the USA!!!, January 8, 2015
This review is from: Dinotasia [Blu-Ray] (Blu-ray)
I like Dinotasia only as a means to own SOME of the glorious footage of Dinosaur Revolution. This is a very stripped down, and in my opinion, dumbed down version of Dinosaur Revolution. What I fail to understand is... Why, oh Why, has the full Dinosaur Revolution not been released on DVD or Blu Ray in the USA? According to it's own promotional material, IT'S an American production! So why is it NOT available in America?

Instead, here in America, we get the extremely shortened, and far less interesting, Dinotasia!

QUIT STATING THAT "DINOTASIA" iIS THE SAME AS "DINOSAUR REVOLUTION"!

I have been waiting over 3 years now for Dinosaur Revolution to be able to be purchased!

For those who have not seen Dinosaur Revolution, you have no means of comparison, and you will probably enjoy Dinotasia. But for those of you who have seen Dinosaur Revolution, don't be fooled by this scaled down, watered down version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story and animation for all ages!, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dinotasia (DVD)
My two year old child loves dinosuars! This is definately worth owning, even I enjoy watching this more story like than educational movie. Doesn't have any interviews with people, so strictly Dinosuar story with great animation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars dont waste your money!, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dinotasia (Amazon Instant Video)
Unless your showing this to a 2 yr old. I didn't learn much from it just a lot of speculation on dino feelings. Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, scientifically accurate peppered with whimsy and humor!, January 28, 2014
By 
This review is from: Dinotasia (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie is a must see for adult dinosaur lovers. It is not a kid's movie by any stretch of the imagination since it depicts the struggle for survival in an unvarnished fashion. That means it includes violence and some gore. It wouldn't be accurate if it didn't. People who are familiar with Werner Herzog have come to expect excellence; this movie is no different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dinotasia (DVD)
Very cool movie (yes movie). It is a great movie despite the lack of a narrator which is why I say movie and not documentary. There is gore (not too bad though) so young children might not be okay to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dinotasia
Dinotasia by David Krentz (DVD - 2012)
$29.95 $26.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.