Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

  • Dio
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
Format: MP3 MusicChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on August 2, 2010
It would be fair to say that by 2010 Jorn Lande is a well established presence in the rock/metal genres both as a band member and solo artist. Throughout his solo career his admiration for classic hard rock led him to covering songs of `Deep Purple', `Black Sabbath', `Thin lizzy' and `Whitesnake' amongst others both on record and on stage.

`Dio' is Jorn's tribute to the legend and his music featuring the original brand new track `Song for Ronnie James' plus twelve cover versions of the giant's songs. It really comes as no surprise that Jorn performs the songs impeccably to the letter; what perhaps is unexpected is the performance of his band which is somewhat superior to their previous studio performances, as they are indeed on fire. To his credit `Jorn' does not concentrate on the legend's hits but actually builds a compilation of his own favorite `Dio' songs; therefore you get trademarks such as `Stand up and shout', `Don't talk to strangers' and `Sacred heart' but you also find more obscure material such as `Night people', `Lord of the last day' and `Push'.

Even though I do not want to, I have to address theories of `Cashing in'; But for anyone who is willing to see the bigger picture, would realize that this choice is actually a bold move of Jorn definite to bring him a fair share of negative heat while financial rewards are very uncertain. (One could claim that it is rather naïve to speak of cashing in from CD sales at this day and age.)

Beyond this there is not much left to analyze regarding this album; simply it's one man's tribute to one of the greatest musical personalities of our time. It is not to say goodbye, it is to keep him alive.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on August 7, 2010
I have listened to several Dio Tribute CD's over the years and for the most part,I have never been too impressed. Sometimes the bands will do some cool versions of a song, but rarely will the songs work because the vocals are usually way inferior to the originals. I had never heard of Jorn before I listened to this Dio tribute and I can honestly say this CD is fantastic!I think even Ronnie, were he still alive today, would be impressed with this. The song choices are definitely for the true Dio fan and cover tunes spanning from his Black Sabbath days, his hits and some lesser known solo work. Jorn sings all of them with great power and conviction and it is obvious that he truly loves this material. Anyone who has gone to a Dio show will remember how Ronnie used to take parts of a few songs and create a medley out of them. On the track Lonely is the Word (one of my favorite songs from the Heaven and Hell album), Jorn fuses together a medley of great Sabbath songs. You'll hear it mixed with Letters from Earth and Children of the Sea...and some other surprises I won't give away. An awesome version of "Sunset Superman" from the Dream Evil album shows up on this CD. I realized Jorn's voice was not just a product of studio technology upon listening to the live version of "Straight Through the Heart". Truly amazing. One of my all time favorite Dio songs, "Don't talk to Strangers" gets a great rendition here as well. The band sounds excellent and the guitar work is superb. All in all, for longtime Dio fans that want to hear these songs given new life from worthy musicians, this is for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on August 15, 2010
What a great CD!! Jorn made a masterpiece with this CD!
True to everysong and the one he wrote is a killer tune!
i love how heavy this sounds! lots of heavy guitar work and great bass sound!
A great heavy metal tribute to one of the greatest metal singers and my favorite singer Ronnie James DIO!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 26, 2011
There's so much to say but I'll keep it brief. Jorn does an amazing tribute to Ronnie James Dio - it's amazing how he was able to catch Ronnie's spirit and emotion in these songs. Honestly, this is simply brilliant! I love the edginess of the guitars - they actually growl with energy. Very few tribute albums can touch the original artist... this one is channeling Ronnie almost perfectly. I love this CD and have new found respect for Jorn. This is one of my all time Top 10 CDs in my collection. If you are a Dio fan, do yourself a favor and grab this CD now.

One other minor point. The "Song for Ronnie James" is very good. It's a Jorn original that nicely encompasses Ronnie's music and is an intimate way of honoring one of rock's greatest vocalists. I personally appreciate the lyrics and musical theme - it compliments Dio's original songs on the rest of this fine CD.

Pick this CD up and let it take you away. It rocks hard and heavy throughout... you WON'T be disappointed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2010
I've been a Jorn fan for around 7 yrs now, from his work with "Masterplan" and "Beyond Twilight", Then progressive genius of "ARK" the collab with Russell Allen from Symphony X called Allen/Lande project and his own solo career. He has been influnenced by Rainbow, Whitesnake, and Ronnie Jame Dio...his voice is "POWER" man can he belt it out with the greatest legends, so when I heard he was doing this tribute ( Before RJD Passed away ) I was excited, he has done justice to one of the greatest voices in Heavy Metal and Hard Rock, listen to "Stand up and Shout" wow!
the "Song for Ronnie James" is a loving tribute to his Idol.
Every song has be done with great detail and love.

I've been a DIO fan since the 70's and feel that this tribute was done out of respect to RJD

So if you never heard of Jorn Lande and love Ronnie James Dio this album will make you a fan! Well done Jorn!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 9, 2011
Jorn Lande is easily one of the greatest voices in classic rock and this is his tribute album to the late Ronnie James Dio. Jorn's style of singing is strong and passionate and he displays his influences strongly. The album consists of a great collection of covers and one superb original composition that fits easily with the rest of the album. The production is massive as we have come to expect from previous Jorn solo albums and the music just hammers out of the speakers. Highlights include the opening tribute "Song For Ronnie James", the slow groove of "Shame On The Night", the epic sound of "Lord Of The Last Day", and the killer version of "Lonely Is The Day". This album is highly recommended to fans of Jorn Lande and represents a strong addition to his impressive solo catalogue.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 16, 2011
This is by far THE best Ronnie James Dio tribute album in existence! Jorn has put these tracks down perfectly, which pays the utmost respect to Ronnie James. Hardcore Dio fans will NOT be disappointed by this tribute. In fact, I can not imagine anyone doing it as perfect as Jorn. Jorn is a Hard rock master himself and has been bringing real Hard Rock to the masses for years! My hope is that Dio fans will adopt this Hard Rock genius as one of their own as well. Rest well Ronnie James! Thank you Jorn for doing such a more than excellent job! Keep rocking!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Norwegian vocal god Jorn Lande, who somehow manages to get at least one new album out each year, returned in 2010 with a new release, titled simply Dio. It's a covers collection of songs originally performed by the late Ronnie James Dio. It's no secret that Jorn knows his way around a good cover song. This isn't even his first covers album (see the excellent Unlocking the Past). It is his first covers album dedicated to a single artist however, and he couldn't have picked a more appropriate subject. Jorn Lande may sound like David Coverdale's clone, but his songwriting style is completely Dio-inspired. Every time a new Jorn album comes out you end up thinking it's what a Whitesnake album would sound like if Dio wrote it.

Dio kicks off with an original song, the tribute "Song For Ronnie James." It's completely respectful, but isn't as strong as the average Jorn song. Still, I have to credit him for paying respect like that, and the video clip for the song is good. After that, it's on to the cover songs. Dio has an interesting track listing. Jorn seems to have gone out of his way to choose lesser-known tracks from lesser-known Dio albums. Sure, he hits some of the big ones ("Stand Up and Shout," "Kill the King"), but there are a lot of unexpected choices here, like "Push" (from Killing the Dragon), "Lord of the Last Day" (from Magica) and Dream Evil's "Sunset Superman." Some of the songs work perfectly with Jorn's voice. He absolutely slays on "Shame On the Night," "Push," "Don't Talk To Strangers" and Rainbow's "Kill the King." There are also songs that don't work so well. "Lord of the Last Day" and "Night People" just aren't that memorable. Of course, they weren't the strongest Dio songs to begin with. Still, Dio is way more hit than miss. Jorn's voice fits Dio's songs to a T, and his sheer love for the man and his music is contagious. The album closes with a live performance of "Straight Through the Heart," which appears to be taken from his Live in America release.

The timing of this release, announced just days after Ronnie James Dio's passing, raised some eyebrows, but Dio had been in the works for some time, and in the end it is a fitting tribute to a man that Jorn obviously owes a great debt to (as do we all, in one way or another). If you're already a Jorn fan, obviously you need to own this album. It's also a great way for Dio fans to discover one of Ronnie James Dio's most devoted disciples.

PS - I have to wonder if Jorn has a David Coverdale tribute collection coming at some point.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2011
I'll admit up front that I've never been a huge Dio fan. I've also never been a huge fan of Jorn's solo work. So why in the world would I buy this? Mainly because Jorn has one of the best voices in rock, and I've always enjoyed his work as a guest vocalist (Ayreon, Avantasia) or with a band where he wasn't the primary songwriter (Ark, Masterplan, Allen/Lande). Plus, he simply kills when he does covers. Check out any of a number of YouTube videos or listen to his "Live in America" release, and you'll see what I mean. I figured, maybe something alchemical would happen. And I was right. Combining Jorn's voice (and his incredible band) with Dio's songs produces some wonderful results. Truly. The man and his band sound inspired, and he puts every bit of passion he can muster into each lyric. And that's a lot of passion. So, I'll keep this short and simply say that this is an incredible hard rock/heavy metal album. If you're like me, and never cared for either Jorn or Dio (or both), check it out. You'll be pleasantly surprised. If you are a fan of either Jorn or Dio (or both), what are you waiting for? Before you know it, you'll find yourself banging your head and playing air guitar. You won't be able to help yourself.

Update (5/19/11): Two months later and I find myself a full-blown Jorn fan. On a whim, I decided to revisit his "Spirit Black" album and liked it. Next thing I know, I'm regularly streaming all of his solo albums on either Rhapsody or YouTube. I guess I'll be adding them to my collection in the not-too-distant future after all...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon September 25, 2012
Ideal for old school fans and patrons of the late great (irreplaceable) Ronnie James Dio. About every track here serves it's purpose well. Like for example the sharp-sounding "Invisible", the awesome "Push" (although for the life of me, I'm not sure if I recognize this Dio track right off hand), the powerful "Stand Up And Shout" and the radio-friendly "Sunset Superman". Also got a lot from the band's well-played cover of their one Rainbow classic "Kill The King" and a live cut here to offer of "Straight Through The Heart". A serious question, but is [by any chance] Jorn front man / vocalist Jorn Lande (formerly of Ark, Old Funeral, Hydra) by any chance Ronnie James biological son? Line-up: Lande - vocals, Tor Erik Myhre and Tore St Moren - guitars, Nic Angileri - bass and Willy Bendiksen - drums. Very nice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.