Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 7, 2010
It's very misleading that this product be described as "burl wood" when it's really 100% plastic. Not a bit of wood in there. Looks like plastic, feels like plastic, thin and inexpensive. However, the thing works, it is almost silent (few winders, regardless of price, can claim that) and has several programs to choose from. If it lasts, then I'll be happy. I do wish that Amazon would be more accurate in their descriptions though.
22 comments| 173 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2011
We had this item for about 5 months and it just stopped working. Unfortunately, this is outside of the amazon return policy and we have been unsuccessful in getting any response from the company. Very disappointed in the quality and customer service from diplomat after dropping $60 on this item. Buyer beware.
33 comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
Inexpensive, looks and works fine, but stopped dead after 3 months, no response to warranty inquiries, no way to fix it yourself - don't buy this.
11 comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2010
This is an EXCELLENT value. Just do the research. A DUAL watch winder with four-mode setting for $60 of this quality. Hard, if not impossible to find. I needed the counter-clockwise setting. There is one and that's all I needed.
22 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
Shabby construction and poor quality control--buyer beware. The winder failed to work after a few weeks.
The plastic exterior is made to look like burl wood and although it looks to be solid, it is in fact very flimsy.
The operating instructions were poorly written and unhelpful.
I have tried to take the winder apart to attempt to fix, however, there is no way of dismantling this unit without destroying it--so I have opted to return it to the retailer.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 18, 2011
The Diplomat Double Watch Winder is a great buy. At a fraction of the cost of most watch winders, it gets the job done.

What I like the most about this watch winder? You can use one of the 4 program settings for just about any automatic watch.

Mode A: Rotates clockwise for 6 minutes and then rests for 30 minutes. It will repeat the cycle.
(1440 turns in 24 hours)

Mode B: Rotates counterclockwise for 6 minutes and then rests for 30 minutes. It will repeat the cycle
(1440 turns in 24 hours)

Mode C: Rotates counterclockwise for 20 minutes, stops for 10 minutes, then clockwise for 20 minutes and stops for 10 minutes. It will repeat the cycle
(5760 turns in 24 hours)

Mode D: Rotates clockwise for 10 minutes, then counterclockwise for 10 minutes. It will repeat the cycle for 3 hours and then rest for 9 hours. It will repeat the cycle. (2152 turns in 24 hours)

In the video, my Seiko Divers Mens Watch SKX781K3 is being wound in Mode D.

ABOUT THE APPEARANCE: It is, of course, a fake wood finish. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the appearance of the Diplomat 'Burl Wood style' finish. It's definitely plastic but certainly not tacky.

5 STARS for this great utilitarian Double Watch Winder by Diplomat.

SEE MY PHOTOS IN CUSTOMER IMAGES
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2010
I have been working with this winder for a month. It is quiet and keeps my watches running. It has both a clockwise and counterclockwise rotating pattern that is suitable for all watches. It suffers from the problem that is endemic with most winders, it cannot handle the larger watches(+44mm). The watches can come into contact with each other. If you are looking for a master work of furniture, then, this aint it. IT is a fairly good looking,very reasonably priced, piece of plastic, with a strong motor that keeps your watches running. It is a safe choice when balancing cost, function and appearance.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2011
The packing looks great. The motor is really quiet, you can't hear the motor at all. Of course the whole thing is made of plastic but for this price, its okay. Only one thing buyer need to take note. If you have a belt strap watch then you have no problem; if like me you have chain strap you may encounter a little problem trying to fit your watch around the watch holder. The watch holder is too stiff to compress properly. The easy solution is to throw out the original watch holder and cut out any sponge to replace it. You can even cut the sponge to fit the wrist diameter of your watch.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
I purchased this Diplomat Burl Wood double watch winder back in April of 2010. All started out well and the winder is very quiet with 4 excellent function modes. It is definitely not wood (100% plastic) but still looks pretty nice. The pillows that hold the watch in the winder start out nice and tight but shrink over time and lately the watch has been falling out of the winder. After only 8 months, the winder developed an electrical hum and the gears inside starting slipping causing a clicking sound and making the unit shake during operation. I contacted the manufacturer, returned the unit to them and they returned it to me "repaired". It was actually worse than before I sent it in. After a few more emails, they exchanged the unit under warranty. I was happy again for about 10 additional months untii it started the humming/clicking routine again. Now, the unit is no longer under warranty and the manufacturer only offered to repair it if I cover the costs. I would stay away from this winder if you want a product that will function for years to come.
33 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2010
I recieved this watch winder from Amazon awhile back and can't believe how quiet it is. I have to put my ear right next to the winder to hear it run. I have two automatic watches and could not have made a better choice on the looks of the wood and the price. Let your fears fad away on this inexpensive winder. I would put this winder up against winders that cost hundreds of dollars.....Thanks Amazon and Diplomat.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.