Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series, but still worth reading
As I've grown older, I've grown more selective of the science fiction that I've read. But I still rush to the web whenever a new Lois McMaster Bujold novel comes out. I'm still amazed that Bujold doesn't have a wider following among science-fiction fans. Given her four Hugo awards, Bujold should roll off the tip of the tongue as quickly as Henlein, Asimov, or...
Published on April 26, 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light reading
I'm not used to reading an entire Bujold book during a flight, but this one is rather short. This a "Vor" novel in Ms. Bujold's space opera universe of the far future. Miles Vorkosigan, her greatest creation, is the the protagonist in an adventure far outside the Barrayaran Empire of her previous few books.
"Diplomatic Immunity" is a bit of a puzzle. It is a murder...
Published on May 20, 2002 by Juan Suros


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series, but still worth reading, April 26, 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Redwood City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
As I've grown older, I've grown more selective of the science fiction that I've read. But I still rush to the web whenever a new Lois McMaster Bujold novel comes out. I'm still amazed that Bujold doesn't have a wider following among science-fiction fans. Given her four Hugo awards, Bujold should roll off the tip of the tongue as quickly as Henlein, Asimov, or Bradbury.
DIPLOMATIC IMMUNITY is another book in the Miles Vorkosigan series. Like other Bujold heroes, Miles does not conform to the standard space opera hero sterotype. Debilitated by a terrorist attack while in vitro, Miles is a brilliant, devious, hyper-energetic mind trapped in an abnormally short, hunch-backed, fragile body.
In this addition to the series, the Emperor of Barryar interrupts Miles and his new wife on their honeymoon to embroil him in a convoluted diplomatic struggle involving the 'quaddies' (a race of humans genetically modified for optimal zero-G living who have arms in place of legs), the Cetagandans (the ancient enemies of Barryar), and a mysterious cargo. As Miles pulls the threads to this knot all hell breaks loose, and Miles must use his lightning wit and endless energy to somehow prevent a new war between his planet and the Cetagandans and a bio-terrorist threat on the entire quaddie race.
Bujold has chalked another of my sleepless night up to her exciting and fast-paced novels. Even though I was vastly entertained, I found this book a little disappointing. While other Miles books often had a more serious undercurrent of the difficulties of Miles living in the militaristic Barraryaran society and his unquenchable desire to succeed despite his handicaps, this book is more of a straight adventure story with little character growth. While one of the weaker books in the entire series, fans of Miles should still find this book very entertaining and a worthwhile read.
As a note for those new to the Vorkosigan books, don't start here. Instead, check out the collection of the first Miles books in YOUNG MILES or start off even earlier and learn about Miles's parents and the Barraryaran society in the collection CORDELIA'S HONOR.
Dav's Rating System:
5 stars - Loved it, and kept it on my bookshelf.
4 stars - Liked it, and gave it to a friend.
3 stars - OK, finished it and gave it to the library.
2 stars - Not good, finished it, but felt guilty and/or cheated by it.
1 star - I want my hour back! Didn't finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, History and Anticipation..., April 22, 2002
By 
Carl Malmstrom (Monument, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
Lois McMaster Bujold's first new Vorkosigan novel in two and a half years not only moves the story line to nearly two years after Miles and Ekaterin have been married (a story, presumably, to be chronicled some time in the future), but is the first novel since Mirror Dance to take place primarily outside the Barrayaran Empire.
In brief, it is a story of Miles playing troublshooter for a diplomatic incident gone horribly wrong in Quaddiespace - home of the quaddies first introduced in the novel "Falling Free". With tensions between quaddie and the Barrayarans stretched, tensions between Cetaganda and Barrayaer taking a turn for the worse, tensions between the trader Komarrans and the militarstic Barrayarns never far below the surface and a deadline for Miles and Ekaterin to return home for the birth of their first children, and deaths reported on the Quaddies' Graf Station, everything seems stretched to the breaking point even in the first chapter. As Miles investigates the situation, a relatively simple murder mystery rapidly transforms into a very palpable suspense with ties to many aspects of Miles' past.
As implied, it helps greatly to be familiar with Bujold's Vorkosigan Saga universe before reading this book. In particular, the events of "Falling Free", "Cetaganda", "Mirror Dance" and "A Civil Campaign" all feature with varying degrees of prominence in the story. While one could take the novel on it's own merits and probably enjoy it very much, it is much more effective when taken within previously established history.
While not her singularly finest Vorkosigan book to date, it is nonetheless quite good and is certainly better than the majority of science fiction available today and ranks in quality with most of the rest of her series. It weaves together old strands of plot - perhaps eternally tying up one or two - while leaving other others wide open to, undoubtedly, bedevil Miles in the future. I most certainly recommend this to the Vorkosigan fans eagerly awaiting the next installment of the series, but I would steer first time Lois McMaster Bujold readers back to "Shards of Honor" or, perhaps, if not wishing to go back quite so far, "Komarr".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honeymoon in Quaddiespace, June 28, 2002
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
Diplomatic Immunity is the latest book in the Miles Vorkosigan science fiction series. Lois McMaster Bujold has created, in Miles, one of my favourite characters in the genre. All of the books she's written in this series have been very good, most of them great. I can't recall a clunker in the bunch. With Diplomatic Immunity, I'd say she's still on that streak, though it's not as good as the most recent books have been.

This is yet another winner, but it somehow felt less consequential then most of the Vorkosigan books. The previous books have almost been "event" books in Miles's life, while this one just seemed a bit ordinary. Sure, there is the birth of their children, but that mainly provides an impetus for Miles and Ekaterin to finish the problem as soon as possible, rather than being an event in itself. It's nice to see Miles again, but I guess we've been spoiled by the previous books into expecting even more. Perhaps that's not this book's fault, though.

The mystery itself is very intriguing. Bujold provides lots of twists and turns. Miles gets to use his vast intelligence to solve the problem and there's a bit of action. Bujold excels at creating characters, and that's definitely shown here. We already love Miles and Ekaterin, but the old friend of Miles who shows up is also wonderfully portrayed. Even the new people (mostly Quaddies) are well done. You can clearly see the frustration and desperation in the Quaddie security chief, Venn, as events spiral out of his control. There is not a false character in the bunch. The only minor annoyance is that there is no reason to make the Barrayaran Admiral a relation to Miles's cousin Ivan. Nothing is made of it and it just seems a bit too cute. Of course, if this is your first book of the series, then that won't bother you.

She's created a very interesting society in Quaddiespace. Quaddies live in a mostly zero gravity environment, which gives them more mobility with their four arms. If they are in a gravity area, they are in anti-gravity floaters in order to move around. The society and the politics of the area are very well done. The political machinations are interesting and the reader watches the situation escalate and wonders how things are going to turn out. Throughout this series, Bujold has done a wonderful job building this entire area of space, making each society believable, and she's done well again.

There isn't as much humour in this book as in the past books. It doesn't even compare to A Civil Campaign, which was a comedy. However, it's also missing some of the gentle humour that was in the series before. It's not a dark book by any means, it's actually fairly light. But you won't find yourself smiling much as you read this one. It also drags a bit toward the end, and in a 307 page book, that's not necessarily a good thing.

Still, it's nice to see another Miles adventure. I certainly did enjoy the book, and I can't wait for the next one. I guess I just expect a bit more from Bujold, and she didn't quite deliver. I think it's a very good book, just not a great book. However, it is a great jumping on point if you want to "test the waters" of the Vorkosigan universe. It's completely self-contained and any backstory you need is thoroughly explained. There may be a few references that make you stop and wonder, but most of those aren't necessary for understanding the plot. If you enjoy this one, then take heart in the fact that it's not the best, so you'll have even better books to read when you start reading the series from the beginning. And I know you will. Miles can be addicting, even when he's not at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light reading, May 20, 2002
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
I'm not used to reading an entire Bujold book during a flight, but this one is rather short. This a "Vor" novel in Ms. Bujold's space opera universe of the far future. Miles Vorkosigan, her greatest creation, is the the protagonist in an adventure far outside the Barrayaran Empire of her previous few books.
"Diplomatic Immunity" is a bit of a puzzle. It is a murder mystery of sorts, as well as the sort of fiendishly complicated trap that Ms. Bujold likes to set for Miles. It includes both his wife Ekaterin & Miles old friend Bel Thorne, though they don't really do much to speak of. It gives some great backstory on Miles' bodyguard Armsman Roik and seems on the brink of using him for much more than the "beefcake" roll of the previous Vor novel, but then backs away for no apparent reason.
The villain, while not a total rehash of a previous book, is pretty close. I am doubtfull whether a new reader to the series would understand the motivations of the villain, and equally sure that a longtime reader will find nothing new here. Nothing that makes sense, that is. This book advances a new theory of the basis of power in a neighboring galactic empire that makes much less sense than that implied in a previous book. The quaddies, and especially their opera, are woefully underused and I finished the book knowing very little new about them and their society.
This book is worth reading if you are a long time reader desperate for some new Vor material, but would be very confusing to a new reader. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles is at it again..., May 17, 2002
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
Hurrah! Another Vorkosigan book makes its way into the world.
Actually, the previous sentence reminds me to warn first-time Bujold readers: this is not the book you want to start with. For a long time, the Vorkosigan books were rather independant of each other; it was possible to just pick up any of the series and give it a go. But as time (and plot) go by, characters and motiviations have begun to build on each other. I recommend reading Bujold books in the order they were written.
Lord Miles Vorkosigan and Madame Ekaterin Vorsoisson have not only gotten married, they've made it to the honeymoon, nearly one year later. But of course, in Miles's universe, nothing goes according to plan. Miles is an Imperial Auditor of Barrayar, a fancy sounding title that really means Emperor Gregor sends him in to clean up the nasty spills with discretion.
Miles and Ekaterin are diverted off course to Graff Station, home of the quaddies. Upon arriving, Miles discovers that the Barrayaran military fleet stationed there has overreacted and created a diplomatic situation, which is of course mostly their own fault. It looks like all Miles will need to do is some fancy diplomatic shoe-stepping, while meeting up with some supporting characters we haven't seen for a while. (It's nice to know that Bel Thorne landed on its feet.)
This cozy little schema quickly goes down the [tubes]. People begin to go missing, a young hothead decides to give everything up for love, and of course the classic Miles-you-should-pay-attention-to-this warning pops up: strange people do unexplainable things that don't seem to have anything to do with the current problem.
In classic Miles/Bujold style all of the loose ends are securely tied up by the end. I do wish that there was more Ekaterin in the plot. It was nice to know that she finally became aggressive when necessary, but it would have been better to "see" her do it, instead of reading about it afterwards. She was a rather flat character in Komarr, but developed so nicely in A Civil Campaign that I hoped to see more of her.
I think of this book as one of the "Vorkosigan Lite" novels, along with Cetaganda. They're funny and great to read, but they don't have the in-depth character development and life changing events like Mirror Dance and Barrayar. But that's fine with me. Sometimes it's nice to just read an interesting story about Vorkosigans, and be able to laugh at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it could have been, May 13, 2002
By 
Mike Garrison (Covington, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
My bias: Lois Bujold is one of my very favorite writers. I've read all of her public work, and have most of it on my shelves.
The long-awaited "next Miles book" is out, but even after a couple of years (Chalion) it has the sense to me of being not quite ready to go. The plot is straight-ahead, sort of like an early Miles book. But after the multiple viewpoints of A Civil Campaign, returning to a tight Miles focus seems limiting.
And the ultimate plot turns out to be, well, not up to the standards set by some of her recent work. In the end, for all the damage done, the villain is not really anything more than a petty crook.
I think Lois would have been better served by writing the same story from the viewpoint of Armsman Roic. This really should have been a Holmes and Watson story, especially since Roic was actually the character who I think interested Lois the most.
It's a good book, filled with all the ironic byplay one expects from a Bujold novel, but it seems like an uncompleted short story compared to the sweeping scale of Curse Of Chalion or the inspired plot-weaving of A Civil Campaign.
Mostly of interest to fans of Miles, I would think. It also seems designed to close up a few "frequently asked questions" about various people and cultures from earlier novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miles never disappoints, July 7, 2002
By 
Mfitz... "Mfitz..." (Cincinnati, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
You have to love Miles Vorkosigan. He is the most one of the most interesting characters in contemporarty SF. It has been fun to watch him grow up over the years and come into his own. Ms. Bujold has once again written a witty and fun story with Miles as the star. This book is basically a who done it on a space opera set, like the rest of the book in the series it keeps you amused and turning the pages. Although Miles in now a respectable married government offical in his mid thirties, he still has a few of the bouncing off the walls loose cannon moments that got him into trouble when he was a teenager running coverst ops so secret even he didn't know who was really in charge. If you have not read any of the Miles Vorkosigan books, you might want to start with on earlier book in the series and not jump in with this book. If you have followed Miles' earlier adventures...Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's done it again!, April 21, 2002
By 
Patricia Sheller (Bettendorf, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
Another highly exciting and satisfying episode in the career of Miles Vorkosigan. Probably not the best spot for a reader new to the series to start, but as always a possible place for a new reader to start. (The references, jokes, and back-history are richer and easier to understand if you've read the other books; in this case "Falling Free" and "Cetaganda" would be good ones to read first.) One theme that comes out strongly in this book is the hunger to become a parent. Also, Miles has always been good at developing and promoting his subordinates; watch what happens to anyone who works with him in this book. All this, and many kinds of diplomacy and adventure, with a dizzying descent into increasing, spreading danger for more and more people, finally tied up with a satisfying ending. Oh, she's done it again! (When is the next one?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It depends on which Bujold style you like, June 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
Miles novels come in three flavours:
a. Action/mystery. "The Warrior's Apprentice", "The Vor Game", "Cetaganda" and "Brothers in Arms"
b. Angst. A turning point in a character's life. "Mirror Dance" (Mark); "Memory" (Miles) and "Komarr" (Ekaterin). Mystery is an element, but not the chief one.
c. High Comedy. "A Civil Campaign."
"Diplomatic Immunity" is type a. This is my least favorite type of the lot, but everybody's different. "A Civil Campaign" is my favorite Miles, with type b in second place. I've never been able to get through "Cetaganda" and this is something of a sequel to it. It's not bad, or anything. Plenty of humour, and a very touching scene at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Her Best Effort, May 30, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diplomatic Immunity (Hardcover)
The Stories about Miles are just about my favorite, and this one is good too. But not up to the others in the series. I was expecting more involvement of Miles's new wife, but she appears as a very minor charachter out of the action in most of the book.
I think there could have been more development of the story also.
Not to say it is a bad read, it is better than 80% of fiction published every year. I was hoping for more of the Miles and Kat working together to "crack the case"
Summary: a good story, worth reading, weak on plot development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Diplomatic Immunity
Diplomatic Immunity by Lois McMaster Bujold (Hardcover - May 1, 2002)
$25.00 $22.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.