Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy, Borrow Or Steal It. But Please Use It.
I received a review copy of the 5th edition, both volumes. As a tutor who has been using Direct Hits since the 1st edition and has also used 300 Essential Words, I offer the following comments.

First, there are a lot of lists out there (I'm sure I've seen almost all of them), but the Direct Hits Family is the best. The list is based upon the actual SAT Test...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
its okay most of the words on here are not even on my SAT test but i like how they used sentences to help you understand the word
Published 7 months ago by vermillian zhang


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy, Borrow Or Steal It. But Please Use It., March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I received a review copy of the 5th edition, both volumes. As a tutor who has been using Direct Hits since the 1st edition and has also used 300 Essential Words, I offer the following comments.

First, there are a lot of lists out there (I'm sure I've seen almost all of them), but the Direct Hits Family is the best. The list is based upon the actual SAT Test. The list is manageable. 1000 words, 3500 words, 5000 words?! Really? If you know that many words you need to work for Merriam-Webster. Time would be better spent reading. It is so well organized. The 5th edition shows welcome changes from the earlier editions. The explanations require less reading, sentences rather than passages. The Latin/Greek roots are interspersed throughout the books and connected with the relevant words. Direct Hits does a fantastic job in bring up previous words in new lessons; this serves as functional review. There are less sentence completion review exercises than in the earlier versions, but if you know how to use the blog posts it more than makes up for it.

Heck, if you're already in college but find the reading "soo hard" get both volumes and get educated son. It's not gonna get eazier.

In conclusion, I recommend Direct Hits for tutors, self-studying SAT students or anyone who wants to get a vocabulary foundation for college level. Remember, it is a start not a panacea, but it's probably the best start out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, March 23, 2013
Note: I received a review copy of this book.

Like other reviewers have mentioned, the book is concise and entertaining. What they neglected to mention is how much better it is than everything else. My review copy came with a list of over 130 words which were on both recent SAT's and in this book! That's flat out incredible, given that there are 440 words in the Core + Toughest books. Most of the other companies have word lists in the thousands, and their hit rate is definitely lower.

The other great thing about the books is how much fun they are to read. Each word has a paragraph or two telling a story, which makes it simple to learn the words. All the descriptions are either cool facts from history or quotes/items related to current events and pop culture, so teenagers are much more likely to understand and incorporate the words into their vocabulary. There's also a review at the end with all the words and their definitions if you want a quick refresher. One other new feature is the sample sentence completions at the end of each book - there are about 30 of them in each book, and they're very realistic.

I'm currently a junior at Yale, and I used an older version of Direct Hits in the past, which I largely credit for my 800 Critical Reading score on the SAT. I had a blast reviewing the 5th edition because the books are so well written and entertaining, and I never thought I'd say that about a SAT vocab book.

If you want to get a great score, and have a fun time learning some really cool words, then Direct Hits is your best choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful study aid for SAT, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have used this vocabulary book working with students who are studying for the SAT. The up-to-date relevant examples help students readily understand how a word is used in context. As soon as I started to explain a few of the examples for an entry, students would come up with their own examples, sometimes the next example illustrated under the entry word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, November 7, 2013
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT 5th Edition (2013) (Kindle Edition)
good overall -- like the grouping of words into similar categories and contemporary examples of word usage. Vocab words in book aligned with has been used in past SAT tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Vocab Builder, January 1, 2013
By 
Andy Shapiro (San Jose, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The way to learn words is not to make flashcards but to find associations.
Direct Hits has done an admirable job of selecting some likely SAT/GRE/etc. words and providing, in each case, several useful associations to which students may respond. The use of contemporary links as well as historical and philological ones is well done, and a useful selection of roots is included as well.
The only really needed improvement would be a larger set of sentence completion questions for the student to use for testing; even better would be to put them on the web.
Definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy for CR of SAT, March 5, 2013
By 
Gary (Cerritos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have scrolled through any of the forums of College Confidential (a great website to help prepare for SAT, lots of strategies and etc.) it is obvious that Direct Hits is the winner. I previously recommended Word Smart series, but I change my mind seeing this one. Best one out there. (P.S. don't be dumb and do stupid stuff like Baron's 3500, real waste of time. See CC for more information)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars singularly good, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT 5th Edition (2013) (Kindle Edition)
Valuable tool to teach high utilization vocab not only for SAT but college and beyond. Brilliant use of pop culture including TV, news, and film to convey the ethos and intangibles about a word's meaning that an average dictionary can never do. Simply great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great help for me. Makes it interesting and fun to learn vocabulary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is an easy way to learn SAT vocabulary. BIG thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT 5th Edition (2013) (Kindle Edition)
I like this book, i purchased it to study for a test, it helped a lot, the format is off a little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.