Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Words: Buy This
I don't think I need to write a whole page to tell you that this book is brilliant. This book helped me jump from a 500 on the critical reading to a 740! If you think your vocabulary isn't good or getting bad scores on the critical reading and want to learn new words but are lazy or daunted from memorizing of boring, and big lists you should definitely get this. Why...
Published on December 1, 2010 by Batjin

versus
11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basically same as 2010
Do not buy the 2011 edition if you have already purchased the 2010 book.

Before purchasing, I contacted the publisher and was told the 2011 edition contained dozens of new words.
There are a few new words (replacing weak words such as "confounded") plus many synonyms added to the original words.
For example, for the word "obsolete" from the 2010...
Published on November 17, 2010 by Tom Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Words: Buy This, December 1, 2010
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
I don't think I need to write a whole page to tell you that this book is brilliant. This book helped me jump from a 500 on the critical reading to a 740! If you think your vocabulary isn't good or getting bad scores on the critical reading and want to learn new words but are lazy or daunted from memorizing of boring, and big lists you should definitely get this. Why? Because this book is nothing like an ordinary vocabulary book, first it doesn't have the ordinary boring definitions of words instead it uses Avatar, Tiger Woods, Justin Bieber to help you remember the words. Second it has only 400 words (200 in each book). Why is this good? Because instead of giving you 3500 words to memorize of which only a couple appear on the real test it gives you the most used 400 words of which 19 appeared on the real test!

Enough said, this book is the best, buy it of you want to ace the test!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift to all of Humanity, September 12, 2010
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
Tired of long lists of SAT vocabulary that NEVER appear on the SAT Reading section? Forget 3500-word lists. Look no further than Direct Hits.

Direct Hits has words that are proven to have the best rate of appearing on the SAT. I learned all of the words in a month and I now have a broad range of vocabulary. Not to mention, I've see these words on the SAT. It makes me happy to see these words appear as answer choices. If you study all of the words in the book and have a general idea of what they mean, process of elimination is your next best friend.

Again, Direct Hits is a miracle for all high school students taking the SAT, or for people who want to build their vocabulary.

Direct Hits should be your MAIN source of SAT vocabulary. The rest of those lists are supplements.
Thanks so much guys of Direct Hits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful book, January 6, 2012
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
Direct Hits isn't like other SAT vocabulary books.
Not only are all of the words great preparation for the exam, the definitions and explanations are thorough and often make references to movies and celebrities of 2011.
For example, for the word "maudlin" (excessively sentimental) they referenced Harry Potter's Moaning Myrtle, who cries all the time.

These references were extremely helpful to me in learning the words. If you want to learn really important SAT vocabulary and not be bored to death, I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOTS AND LOTS OF VOCAB, December 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book to buy when you're learning SAT vocabs. However, it should not be your only source for vocab study, you should seeks out other SAT vocab list too. Also, if you're thinking about buying "DH toughest vocab" NOT highly recommended. Sure vocab is important but there's no guarantee that ALL of DH vocab will be on the SAT (dont be fool by their website statistics) It's better if you can focus on 1 area either reading, writing, or math and get an extreme high score on it. GOOD LUCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, November 27, 2010
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
There is no other book as comprehensive and accurate as Direct Hits
I recently took the 2010 PSAT, and I got nearly every reading vocabulary question correct.
Direct Hits also teaches roots of words, which I found very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best Vocabulary Book for the SAT, November 26, 2010
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
Don't let this book's thin profile fool you. Although both the Core and Toughest editions together have only around 400 words, the Direct Hits words are more valuable than the 3000+ word lists touted by other companies. Direct Hits is the standard for SAT Critical Reading. The authors actually analyze previous SAT tests and select the words that are repeated most frequently. If you want to score well on the SAT, Direct Hits is a must have. It makes for efficient study and covers the most important SAT words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vocabulary book for the SSAT!, September 24, 2010
By 
OGTutor (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
I privately tutor the upper and lower level SSAT, standarized tests required for middle and high school. This is the one of the main book I use and recommend to teach vocabulary on these tests. Direct Hits has many of the vocabulary words on these tests and will also help your child prepare for their upcoming PSAT and SAT tests. I highly recommend parents purchase Direct Hits in middle and high school to prepare their child for the SSAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Easy Vocab, September 12, 2010
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
This is a great vocab book---for the SAT and for class. The pop culture references bring the definitions to life and make them easy to remember. The targeted word list makes it easy to master the information without being overwhelmed. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for English learners, May 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
If you study English any where in the world it is a must book for you.

Learn these words and wisen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Fun, and Right on Target '!, December 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition (Paperback)
This book may present one of the more effective and enjoyable approaches to vocabulary development that I have seen.

Chapters include:

Core Vocabulary,

"You Meet The Most Interesting People on the SAT",

"Every SAT Word Has A History", and

"The Mighty Prefix Words".

Words that have basically the same meaning are grouped together so you actually are leaning more than 200 words.

For example the third word is: "sarcastic, sardonic, snide: meaning - mocking, derisive, taunting, and stinging. The subsequent paragraphs give examples of how each of the three words have been used.

In the section about "Most Interesting People" the student gets to meet many historical figures with interesting tidbits of information that provide examples of the proper use of the word(s) being learned.

The Prefix section is really interesting and provides the student with excellent examples that make learning fun.

The explanations of the material are straightforward and fun. This book enables anyone to create their own excellent sentences using the word(s) being studied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition
Direct Hits Core Vocabulary of the SAT: Volume 1 2011 Edition by Larry Krieger (Paperback - August 16, 2010)
Used & New from: $3.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.