Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two enthusiastic thumbs up
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:22 Mins
Note the title is about directing the story, not directing the movie, and the emphasis is on the story.

The goal of this book is to help you get your audience "lost in the story" of your movie. It details a lot of professional directing techniques and principles to help aid storytelling. The writing is clear and Francis Glebas even...
Published on May 2, 2009 by Parka

versus
24 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Correction of a mistake
Glebas says, "Altan Loker in his book Film and Suspense states to create suspenseful anxiety we need to activate cinematic wishes, experienced vicariously by the character, for sex, success, and spectacle . . ." This is the exact opposite of what I wrote.

Here is what the dictionary says about vicarious: "Experienced or realized through imaginative or...
Published on August 18, 2009 by Altan Loker


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two enthusiastic thumbs up, May 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
Length:: 0:22 Mins

Note the title is about directing the story, not directing the movie, and the emphasis is on the story.

The goal of this book is to help you get your audience "lost in the story" of your movie. It details a lot of professional directing techniques and principles to help aid storytelling. The writing is clear and Francis Glebas even storyboarded a whole short story to serve as an example, in addition to the many examples already provided.

Using storyboards as a primary tool, he goes through the various storytelling techniques used in films , like ways to pace/cut scenes, introducing themes and story structure subtly, directing the audience's eyes, creating characters people can related to, etc. Francis Glebas then breaks down these high level concepts into many smaller easy-to-understand points to focus in depth.

One particular point to note is the version of "One Thousand and One Arabian Nights" Francis Glebas has storyboarded to provided as an example throughout the book. All the techniques he teaches are used in the storyboard for that story. It ends with cliffhangers in every chapter. The story is absorbing even though it's done in sketches. Goes to show that story is still king.

This book is for anyone who wants to direct professional stories. It should be made compulsory reading in film schools. Two enthusiastic thumbs up from me.

For more reading, I would recommend Ideas for the Animated Short, which goes even further in depth with storytelling techniques. Bad stories shouldn't have excuses.

(More pictures are available on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used this book in a storyboarding class, April 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book for its insights into visual storytelling. My favorite tip is that visual communication can be constructed grammatically to form complete visual sentences one picture word at a time. At times Glebas gets a little wordy, hitting on many ideas but not nailing them down as clearly or as confidently as others. While certainly not perfect the book offered me too many ideas to receive any less than 5 stars. The book is full of gems. And it was the least expensive text book of the semester.

It was also a real treat to see Glebas demonstrate storyboarding throughout the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A top notch book on story, May 26, 2009
By 
Grant Beaudette (Missoula, MT United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
Disney story artist Francis Glebas has put together a great book on the process of cinematic storytelling.

Directing the Story touches on composition, pacing and many dramatic techniques designed to creating more emotional connections in stories.

This book goes well with Nancy Bieman's Prepare to Board! Creating Story and Characters for Animated Features and Shorts for quality story instruction, but whereas her book also focuses on character design and other aspects of animation, Directing the Story looks solely at storytelling, and not necessarily for animation.

What really sets Glebas' book apart is that it includes a fully boarded out story (an adaptation of 1001 Arabian Nights) that incorporates the methods he's teaching.

There are a couple sticking points with me. One is the writing style. There are plenty of spots throughout the book where I found myself glossing over text because it was so dense. Also even though this book seems to focus on cinematic storytelling in general, animation is where this type of storytelling is most common and people interested in this book are most likely interested in animation. It would have been nice to see a bit more focus on animation and traditional storyboarding to really top things off.

But all things told, Directing the Story has a great look on storytelling. One that other books don't have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring and entertaining read, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
There is no substitute than real world experience in storytelling and your subjective observations contain the core value to "good" storytelling. If it comes from deep within you, it's subjective, if it is about human emotional experience and directed to humans, your experience has an objective effect when channeled to others by way of the art of storytelling. That I believe should logically follow to our many convoluted definitions to what story is. I just want to get that out, because I can see how a negative remark about this book can easily stem from one's argumentative definition about story, which may deter critical readers, but hopefully just attract other critical sophist hell bent on their own opinions on everything they deem worth commenting and advising others about in online forums.

This book isn't trying to aim at pretense in the form of authoritarian advice. And it is most useful for those interested in the art of storytelling for animated films, but it's not a shortcoming in any respect. Simply put, Glebas offers his profound and generous advice and "definitions" to story by presenting the inherent problems in visual storytelling, as he goes through countless examples with the reader which in his approach that person becomes more of an observer to the craft of storyboards.

As an animator trying to break in the industry as a story artist, I've read a good amount of the recommended books directly and indirectly on the subject, from the illusion of life and countless "bibles", to books on live action film and Aristotle's Poetics. But in terms of sheer straight forward utility I found this book very helpful. It has the potential to sharpen my focus and skills.

This is one of the few contemporary books out there on animation that is both informative on the subject(industry insider advice)that goes beyond academic education and like many others has aesthetically pleasing drawings to look at. Although there are so many famous figures in the industry today doing their best to inform and inspire the rest of us, they also heavily focus on marketing their own talent and experience as product. This book shares in context with that trend in some ways but more so is a serious read with a conglomeration of visual content created to back its dialogue. I think the price is well worth the scope and depth you'll get out of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Stuff, January 23, 2010
By 
John B. Ludwick "kibitzer" (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
There are a myriad of books being written about animation, about story, about how it's all done. There are authors who have made a living being authors - that is, their primary trade is writing books about things. Other authors have dabbled in the film trade, but not enough to make a living at it - and have turned to writing books to supplement their income (their books are good enough, but make the process too philosophical and ethereal, like those fake teachers you see in the movies).
This is book is different - and it's very rare. This book is about the craft, in glorious and accurate detail, confirmed with supporting research and example, by a practitioner obviously tired of the many evasive books which claim to know the craft but talk about it in dodgey fashion. This is the real stuff, and I devoured this book in less than 8 days. You will, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, January 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
This is a great book for any Animator book collection. Good Image quality and easy to read. I also want to recommend these books, The Animators Survival Kit, The Illusion of Life, Preston Blair's Cartoon Animation and Drawn to Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Purchase You Will EVER Make!, June 1, 2009
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
I am a recent graduate of the Gnomon School of Visual Effects and have been fortunate enough to have had the privilege to actually be a student in Francis' class. I remember when he was in the process of writing this book, "Directing the Story" and in my most humble opinion the book is nothing less than pure gold. There is nothing else out there that I know of that explains the true essence and meaning of film making, why we make films...and most importantly why we watch films. This book IS the Holy Grail of film making.

If you are serious about becoming a great story teller...BUY THIS BOOK! I cannot even begin to express to whom ever is reading this review how important it will be for your career if you have any interest in the entertainment industry. It has changed my life, and I know it will for anyone else out there too.

Francis was one of the best teachers I have ever had, and now having recently purchased and read the book it was like being in his storyboarding class all over again. I jokingly now envy everyone else out in the world today because they now have access to all of the golden knowledge that I had to go to film school in Hollywood to acquire.

I hope to become a director one day, and if I ever win an Oscar or any other great success I will know why...thank you Mr. Francis Glebas! =)
-Scott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing., June 26, 2011
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
When I first looked at this book, I must say I underestimated what I would learn. I have read many storyboard books this month, and this one is beyond amazing. If you want to learn the functions of storytelling, and excellent storyboarding techniques, this is the book for you.

My favorite section is where he takes you step by step and picture by picture of how to make your pictures speak (pgs 52-62). I make storyboards for films and animations, so when I began to look at the direction given, it made me look at my own boards to see if mine where the best expression for the story that they could be.

I appreciate his honesty in telling you why/how a structure is important and even how it helped him. Francis knows his information and is not afraid to share it so you too can grow. He tells about how he learned from his mistakes and wants you to develop from yours.

This is what I appreciate. Sometimes when people have information, they give you half the story, and half-truth so you can struggle through. Yet Glebas allows you to step in with him and direct the best story you can to pitch. He did an amazing job on this book and I look forward to storyboarding my tail off.

This book is really willing to help you understand the process and functions of directing the story. There is a lot of "useful" information in this book and not just information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Freakin' Awesome!, March 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
Trust the other reviews on his book so far - this is indeed a 5-star book. One of the best books on stroytelling I've come across. It reads like a cross between Scott McLoud's Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art and Making Comics: Storytelling Secrets of Comics, Manga and Graphic Novels and Robert McKee's Story: Substance, Structure, Style and The Principles of Screenwriting. And that's high praise indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A storytelling book with 'game', May 29, 2009
By 
Alex "CubOfJudahsLion" (San José, Costa Rica) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation (Paperback)
Highly recommended. This book conveys a great wealth of storytelling experience, naturally conveyed through well-designed visual examples. For writers, it complements for the more structural books on screenwriting (Syd Field's, Dave Trottier's) with its how-to approach. For directors, its visual approach touches on nearly every subject ranging from mise-en-scene to blocking.

A must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Directing the Story: Professional Storytelling and Storyboarding Techniques for Live Action and Animation
$41.95 $32.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.