Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to the spirit of the book
Doesn't follow the plot of the book faithfully, bur definitely captures its spirit. You'll want to watch it over and over. I can't believe they didn't make any more!
Published 11 months ago by J. Lawrence

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Dirk Gently' finally on the screen!
'Dirk Gently' finally on the screen, albeit, the small screen. Loosely based on the Douglas Adams' two novels it follows the adventures of the titled character as he solves crimes through the "interconnection" of unrelated events. Fans of Adams will be happy to see that one of his quirkiest characters was made into a television series. They will also be a little...
Published 6 months ago by Adrian Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to the spirit of the book, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Doesn't follow the plot of the book faithfully, bur definitely captures its spirit. You'll want to watch it over and over. I can't believe they didn't make any more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The interconnectedness of all things., November 11, 2013
Meet Dirk Gently (Stephen Mangan): half conman, half detective, half mad and all insolent cheapskate. In four movies loosely based on the Douglas Adams books, Dirk spins his bizarre and implausible cases to their twisted inevitable conclusions. Readers of the Adams books will recognize the tongue-in-cheek inclusions of the refrigerator from hell, unpaid receptionist, mysterious homicidal cleaning lady and Gilks, the enraged police detective.

Dripping snark and pizza remnants, Dirk runs up unlikely expenses while stealing food and linking random coincidences with his quantum-level theory of the interconnectedness of all things. He dupes Richard MacDuff (Darren Boyd) into financing and joining Dirk as his partner? assistant? patsy? much to the dismay of MacDuff's girlfriend, Susan Harmison (Helen Baxendale). They shamble though each case, often to MacDuff's horror, yet somehow survive and sorta triumph in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dirk Gently Season 1 [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
It's a different take, but clearly doug's dirk. fun to watch. surprising they haven't revived it as a masterpiece project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd duck, but captures the interconnectedness of all things..., January 1, 2014
By 
Tim Simons (Oklahoma, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's been twenty years since I read the book by Douglas Adams, but Douglas never wrote anything that didn't have an odd assortment of humorously peculiar characters. Sadly, Douglas Adams passed some time ago. He had no input in this BBC series, but I think they have done an admirable job at capturing Mister Adam's unique style and wit. It’s free for Prime members, so why not watch it and see if you don't agree with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever story, good acting, not for young kids, January 1, 2014
It had a lot of humor and the plot was not predictable. It was quirky and fun. It only had a few racy bits, like when a character accused his girlfriend of sleeping with another man, but no nudity and not a lot of bad language. I would let my teens watch it, but younger kids might find it boring and confusing. My husband and I tried to guess the ending, but we were both wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too subtle, too deep, too tongue-in-cheek for prime time audiences - A must see for Douglas Adams fans, April 12, 2014
This review is from: Dirk Gently Season 1 [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
It's a shame that this TV series didn't last longer. I loved the Douglas Adams novels (Dirk Gently's holistic detective agency and the Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul), and I thoroughly enjoyed this television adaptation. If you're a fan of Douglas Adams you may find the Dirk Gently novels and/or television show to be outstanding. It's darker, more humanistic and less 'sci-fi'/fantastic than the Hitchhiker works. The acting by Stephen Mangan was outstanding - He portrayed Dirk Gently exactly as I'd imagined him. The casting was terrific, the direction and writing consistent and strong. The show just hit it's stride when it was cancelled. Most of the general audience is unfamiliar with any Douglas Adams works beyond "The Hitchhiker's Guide.." and I can only assume that's why this series was cut short when it was. I really liked it, but then again, I'm a big fan of the 'Dirk Gently' novels. So - If you're a fan (of Douglas Adams or the Dirk Gently novels) it's a must watch. If you're a member of the 'general audience', you're likely to be less than satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Dirk Gently' finally on the screen!, December 29, 2013
'Dirk Gently' finally on the screen, albeit, the small screen. Loosely based on the Douglas Adams' two novels it follows the adventures of the titled character as he solves crimes through the "interconnection" of unrelated events. Fans of Adams will be happy to see that one of his quirkiest characters was made into a television series. They will also be a little disappointed in seeing that this is a liberal interpretation of Adams' novel (no ghost, Norse gods, apocalyptic scenery, and no chain smoking Gently). Instead, though, we do have a series with cases that are as bit as strange and as funny as the novels they are adapted from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky Fun, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
From the creator of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, comes another of his witty creations, Dirk Gently. Detective Dirk Gently uses holistic methods to investigate, linking a series of seemingly random events together to find an interconnected solution. The show is a mixture of mystery and humor, and I have really enjoyed the character of Gently: conman, brilliant detective, and mooch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring back Dirk!, May 15, 2014
This review is from: Dirk Gently Season 1 [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
This series is a derivation from the two books written by Douglas Adams, and having read both novels and watched all of the episodes in the series, it is clear that out of all the efforts to bring Adams' creations to the screen that this series had potentially the best chance of transmitting the unique combination of goofiness, enlightenment, slapstick, sci-fi, fantasy, supernatural, and quantum metaphysics that is Douglas Adams. I say had because it was cancelled by BBC in a swath of budget cutbacks. Watch it and ponder to yourself, "what if there was another season?" of "what if they had a little more money for special effects?" or "where's Thor?". Next read the novels, and finally add your voice to the clamoring hoards demanding to "bring back Dirk!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One Episode Enough, May 3, 2014
Dirk not charming or smart enough to be entertaining. Was hoping for more interesting mystery but resolutions via time travel etc. not very clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.