Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


211 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat-Yes It Is!
There are people who have seemingly unlimited funds to purchase whatever goodies they want. This book is not written for them, though they could glean some great ideas from this book. It's really written for the rest of us, those who have limited incomes but still want to go off grid and live comfortably*.

Creekmore writes with a very down to earth style. He...
Published on May 2, 2011 by WrethaOffGrid

versus
102 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas, no details, very short
As the title says, this book is good for giving a person a few general ideas. I applaud the author for what he has accomplished on a limited income. However, there are very few details in the book (it's not a step-by-step "How To" book so much as an "idea" book). It's also a LOT smaller/shorter than I thought it would be. I literally finished the book in a couple hours of...
Published on June 7, 2011 by sprkymrk


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

211 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat-Yes It Is!, May 2, 2011
By 
WrethaOffGrid (Far western Texas, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
There are people who have seemingly unlimited funds to purchase whatever goodies they want. This book is not written for them, though they could glean some great ideas from this book. It's really written for the rest of us, those who have limited incomes but still want to go off grid and live comfortably*.

Creekmore writes with a very down to earth style. He gets right to the point. He didn't fill this book with fluff -- this book is written from experience -- he actually lives the life and walks the walk. I live 100% off grid, and have done everything on the cheap, I've lived this way since Dec '07, I can tell you that this book has some useful ideas and info. You can learn more about me and my off grid life by viewing my Amazon.com profile.

This book covers most all of the bases, I say most only because there is always something that could be added no matter how complete a book might be. You will learn about buying land cheaply, how to get shelter, how to power your place, this is something that can get expensive, but Creekmore tells you how to do it on the cheap. He also tells you how to deal with waste and sanitation, about security, food, water and more.

This isn't about being a hermit living in a cave, wearing skins and eating worms, Creekmore does use modern technology, lights, radio, computer... he just does it smarter, and he is sharing this info with the rest of the world in this book, hopefully so that the reader will have a head start on what to do and what not to do.

The part that I found very interesting is the security section, a couple of the ideas are the kind that make you slap yourself in the head and say "Why didn't I think of that???" I also like the section on how to find cheap land. Without that, you probably will not be able to even get started living anywhere on the cheap.

Whether you already own raw land and just want to know how to get started living cheaply, or you are just thinking about doing this, I highly recommend this book. Thanks Creekmore for sharing your life and experiences with the rest of us.

*Comfort is in the eye of the beholder, I'm not talking posh with all the latest bells and whistles, I'm talking about living on your own land, with shelter, food, water, sanitation, electricity and electronics, the basics that are needed and wanted to live "comfortably".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 108 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ideas, no details, very short, June 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
As the title says, this book is good for giving a person a few general ideas. I applaud the author for what he has accomplished on a limited income. However, there are very few details in the book (it's not a step-by-step "How To" book so much as an "idea" book). It's also a LOT smaller/shorter than I thought it would be. I literally finished the book in a couple hours of light reading. It's probably got about the same amount of content as a monthly magazine without ads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick and dirty basics, April 20, 2011
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
I was realy excited to get this book. I've been reding Creekmore's blog for awhile now and I really enjoy his writing. He's very down to earth, and I like the way he stays away from the "Doomer" mindset that befalls so many of the other survialist writers out there.

That being said, there is really nothing in this book that I hadn't already read on his blog. In fact, some of the text seemed to be copied and pasted word-for-word from his online articles. I really hoped for a much more in-depth look at his "retreat" and was left wanting.

I give it 4 stars because it was an easy read (I read it cover to cover in one sitting) and it really does cover the basics well. If you are new to prepping, this is a great starting point. If you've been reading up on the subject for awhile, pass on this book - it really doesn't offer anything new.

I'm still a fan of Creekmore and will continue to read his blog regularly, but I will certainly think twice before buying another book from him (if he writes one that is). If you are seriously interested in survival prepping, give his website a look, it really is one of the best out there for "everyday" people that don't have thousands of dollars to spend on "what if's". Keep up the good work M.D.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, December 3, 2011
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
There are basically two schools of thought when it comes to survival living.

1. If you can't buy the best of every single item don't bother trying. Don't build anything for yourself, just pay others and hope you thought of everything and that it doesn't run out before you realize you didn't do it right.

or...

2. Learn the skills needed and learn how to make do with what you have. Prepare but buy what you can afford and work work work to make your life better.

Of the two, the kind that MD Creekmore preaches is the latter.

MD is the real deal, someone who is walking the walk on his little piece of land. His is one of three blogs on the subject that I rely upon and this book is a continuation of that theme. You won't read about how to bury a $20K underground shelter or why full auto weapons are the choice for survivalists. You'll read about the things you can do today that are practical and you won't get theory because MD can demonstrate these things through his everyday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retreats for the rest of us, March 11, 2011
By 
Kindle Customer (Pacifica, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
M.D. writes for the majority of us who will never own the "ultimate survival retreat", but who want to be either more self sufficient or better prepared for hard times. He makes it sound almost easy, too.

Well worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, but dense with insight, March 15, 2011
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
This book is a common sense, first-hand account of how the author, MD Creekmore, overcame a lot of obstacles to achieve self-suffiency. He purchased a plot of "junk land" and put a travel trailer on it - he lives off-grid and has found a satisfying, gratifying way of life.

Creekmore accounts the lessons learned to establish his homestead and live a simple life, unfettered by debt, mortgages, even the nuisances associated with being beholden to utility companies.

The author's style of writing is plain and easy-to-understand. The book is chock-full of examples, and the information is all from first-hand experience and practical research.

If you're looking to set up a cabin or retreat off the beaten path, or to unshackle yourself from the chains that come with consumerism and urban/suburban grind, this book can show you how he did it.

As he states very plainly, this may not be ideal for everyone, but just goes to show that it can be done by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frugal survival, March 11, 2011
By 
James Temple (Des Moines, IA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
I bought this book directly from the publisher. It's an excellent resource to learn how to live cheap, but reasonably comfortable in a long-term survival situation. The author wrote it from personal experience, he walks the walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starter Book, March 12, 2011
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
This book is written in a simple, no-nonsense manner. Since this is the author's actual experience, his solutions work! It provided simple, low or no cost solutions to everyday problems encountered with this type of living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good overview at a fair price, December 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
In some respects this is a re-hash of the classic, "Travel Trailer Homesteading under $5,000". That's neither good nor bad, it just is. Maybe it's a little good as the classic might be getting hard to find. While there is a section on firearms and some of the photos show militant type books or logos, the text for the most part is quite non-militant and stays focused on setting up a survival retreat. Survival is the operative word; this is not about living comfortably. I would have liked more information on just about every topic covered, but at least this serves as a decent outline and one can supplement with other resources.

There are two flaws in this book. 1, some of the references mentioned in the text are not listed in the Resources section at the end of the book. A small point and probably an oversight. 2, and perhaps most important, is how to get internet access. Locating free wifi, libraries, etc. are not covered at all. Not exactly a survival topic but communication can be a real part of survival.

An index would be nice also but in a book this short it might not be necessary. There are a couple of other books I would like to have seen referenced but I suppose it can't cover everything.

All in all it's a good overview at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good foundation book to build on, March 12, 2011
This review is from: Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution (Paperback)
I love this book... it's short, to the point, and well written. Instead of saying "You should get this because I did", MD tells you WHY he selected these techniques/items. Easy to follow, and for a beginning/intermediate prepper, points you in a good direction and helps you FOCUS on whats important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution
Dirt-Cheap Survival Retreat: One Man's Solution by M.D. Creekmore (Paperback - March 1, 2011)
$15.00 $11.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.