Customer Reviews


1,387 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,129)
4 star:
 (150)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


140 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie from the 80s
In Dirty Dancing, Jennifer Grey stars as Frances "Baby" Houseman, a girl who goes on vacation to the Catskills with her father, mother and sister in the summer of 1963. She meets the handsome dance instructor Johnny Castle (Patrick Swayze), who works at the lodge where they're staying, and is smitten with him. When she volunteers to fill in for Johnny's dance...
Published on September 25, 2002 by Deanna

versus
50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How NOT to master a bluray
I had high hopes for this Bluray as I love this movie. I figured a new AVC transfer would bring this disk back to life after suffering the SD DVD bad transferrs I already have.

It was not to be. The movie is soft and washed out. There has been a large amount of electronic grain reduction undertaken that has bascially destroyed the PQ by sofetning the entire...
Published on August 23, 2007 by Graham Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2139 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

140 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie from the 80s, September 25, 2002
By 
In Dirty Dancing, Jennifer Grey stars as Frances "Baby" Houseman, a girl who goes on vacation to the Catskills with her father, mother and sister in the summer of 1963. She meets the handsome dance instructor Johnny Castle (Patrick Swayze), who works at the lodge where they're staying, and is smitten with him. When she volunteers to fill in for Johnny's dance partner, Baby experiences love and life firsthand from the free-spirited Johnny.
The DVD version of this movie is terrific. The clarity is amazing, the sound is crisp & clear and the bonuses are wonderful. With the bonus features, you get commentary from the movie's creator, a behind-the-scenes featurette (with no audio), the videos for "She's Like the Wind," "I've Had the Time of My Life" & "Hungry Eyes," biographies about the cast & crew (Jennifer Grey, Patrick Swayze, Cynthia Rhodes, Jerry Orbach, Jack Weston, the director, the producer, the writer and the choreographer), a short "Reliving the 60s" documentary, the theatrical trailer and a concert featuring the music from the movie.
If you love Dirty Dancing, I highly recommended getting this DVD. It would be a great addition to add to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you own the Collectors, do you want this one? Read on., April 15, 2006
This review is from: Dirty Dancing (Single-Disc Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I give this movie and the DVD package 4 stars. The music was powerful and the love story between Jennifer Grey and Patrick Swayze was a powerful one and the acting performances by all involved were completely believable.

Now for the DVD itself. If you own the Collectors Edition and you're wondering whether or not you would want this version there should be only one thing to take into account....how good is your home theatre system?

If you have a 5.1-7.1 home theatre system then I would highly recommend buying this version, the DTS:ES 6.1 discreet audio track is more visceral than the Dolby Digital 5.1EX track and with almost twice the bit rate you're getting nearly twice the information. This means that you're listening to something that's more accurately reproducing the original studio masters of the audio with less compression than the Dolby track.

If you already own the collectors edition and you're watching your DVDs through either just your television, a two channel stereo or with a receiver that only supports Dolby Digital or Dolby Pro Logic/Pro Logic II then I would say to be sated with the version you already have. There is not much more that this DVD covers with the interviews and features that, after watching the collectors edition, you would care to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE TIME OF YOUR LIFE, January 6, 2000
By 
R. Penola (NYC, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirty Dancing [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It is awfully hard not to get swept up into the nostalgic heat and sentiment of this unabashedly, and well-done, teen romance. It is, by turns, sexy, funny, melodramatic, jamming (what with that soundtrack chock full of some of the best pop hits of the 60s mixed with a few great new songs) and campy. Yet the overriding feeling of melancholy and wistfulness, portrayed with real talent by Jennifer Grey, as the perfect Baby, transforms this movie into something lasting, something to really love. Cynthia Rhodes is absolutely riveting -- as usual -- in the second female lead; she is a spectacular dancer and electrifying whenever she is on the screen. The aching feeling of first true love/lust/whatever, here directed at hunky Patrick Swayze, who is by the way an excellent dancer, comes to full flower at a Poconos resort. As all manner of soapy subplots move through their predictable paces, we are treated to the transformation of our young heroine and any number of delightful musical numbers, capped off by the irresistably romantic Time Of My Life -- that feeling of moving through a romance that has somehow changed your life is captured with a rare sweetness, and it stays with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll have the time of your life!, June 5, 2001
This review is from: Dirty Dancing [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For a PG-13 film, this has got to be the sexiest film I've seen. This movie is a typical love story: girl and guy are different "classes"...girl and guy get together anyway...people object, etc. However, this film manages to get, and keep, your attention through several plot twists. Jennifer Grey stars as "Baby" a spoiled daddy's girl. Baby goes with her family to a resort for summer vacation. There, she meets Johnny Castle (Patrick Swayze), the defiant and seductive dance instructor. Even though Baby is encouraged to learn "lady-like" dances and crafts, her heart's desire is to be a rebel for once in her life & dance like the staff...dirty dancing. When Johnny loses his dance partner, Baby takes over...even though she's never danced like that before. It is obvious that Johnny is not pleased with the arrangement, but decides to endure the torture. During Baby's private dance lessons, the music is great and the chemistry between the two actors is absolutely sizzling! This is very much a "coming-of-age" film. We get to see several characters grow up and learn life lessons quickly in this movie. Although this movie appeals to a younger crowd, my best friend's mother is one of the biggest fans I know!! I was somewhat disappointed with the ending, but overall, this is one of my favorite films of all times. This is a must see & a "must buy"...you'll want to see it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still superb!, December 16, 2002
By 
ianphillips@uk.dreamcast.com (BOLTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
...Dirty Dancing still stands incredibly well proving the point critics made about the film at the time of its release about it being a timeless classic! Dirty Dancing is simply the ultimate feel-good movie. The chemistry between Patrick Swayze (then relativley unknown) and Jennifer Grey (who has not starred in any major production since) is positivley electric and never strikes a false note. Its a charming story of a young, innocent teenager staying with her family at a holiday camp for her vacation who meets the exciting and rebelious dancer, Johnny who she immediatley falls in love with. They show each other a different side to life and soon become lovers. But as with all good love stories there are complications. Giving superb backing support is Cynthia Rhodes in a small but highly effective role as Penny Johnson who is forced into having an abortion and in the process must give up dancing whilst she recovers - enter Jennifer Grey. There are many fun and amusing scenes of Swayze frantically trying to teach Grey all the right dance moves whilst the touching romance between them gradually and beleavably builds. The ending is a triumphant high! What truly makes Dirty Dancing absolutley unmissable is the fabulous dancing which is highly erotic though never once tacky and is accompanied by a sizzling soundtrack that helps build the potential atmosphere. Superb throughout, Dirty Dancing is indeed a timeless classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How NOT to master a bluray, August 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had high hopes for this Bluray as I love this movie. I figured a new AVC transfer would bring this disk back to life after suffering the SD DVD bad transferrs I already have.

It was not to be. The movie is soft and washed out. There has been a large amount of electronic grain reduction undertaken that has bascially destroyed the PQ by sofetning the entire image and crushing the blacks in some scenes to the point where the picture look posterized.

While still better than a DVD it is a disaster. Lionsgate should chastised for failing to use this bluray as an opportunity to present this movie as it should have been.

If you take a look at the deleted scenes, you will see how good the transfer could have been. These are much better than the movie itself as the intense video processing to remove grain hasnt been done.

Liongate, You wrecked this movie and are now on my watch list for future transfers which I have to investigate closely before spending my money on your product. You should be ashamed.

On an up side note. The Audio quality is excellent with the PCM sound track.

It worked first time in my Samsung 1200 Bluray player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I carried a watermelon?", May 30, 2007
By 
ADRIENNE MILLER (Murfreesboro, TN.) - See all my reviews
Dirty Dancing (20th Anniversary Edition) is still the best and sexiest dance film I have ever seen. Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey sizzle, smolder, and set the screen on fire with their undeniable chemistry. It's kinda funny since both stars couldn't stand each other off camera. I am so glad I waited 'til this new edition came out, great special features. Watch the deleted scene where they really dirty dance in Swayze's bungalow, it's hot, hot, hot!!!!!!!!!!!! This movie is a classic and everyone should own this tender film about first love, trusting those you're afraid to trust, and having the time of your life. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody puts baby in the corner, April 19, 2007
Lionsgate Home Entertainment will release Dirty Dancing: 20th Anniversary Edition on May 8th. The two-disc set will feature an anamorphic widescreen transfer and newly remastered Dolby Digital 5.1 & 2.0 tracks. Extras include commentary with writer/ co-producer Eleanor Bergstein, never-before-seen deleted & alternate scenes, outtakes, a new exclusive interview with Patrick Swayze, a tribute to Jerry Orbach, original screen tests, multi angle dance sequences, "The Classic Story on Stage," interviews with Emile Ardolino, Eleanor Bergstein, Jennifer Grey and Kenny Ortega, music videos ("Hungry Eyes," "She's Like The Wind," "(I've Had) The Time Of My Life"), a photo gallery and trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you'll have the time of your life!, July 15, 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
DIRTY DANCING is still the ultimate guilty pleasure (runners-up include FLASHDANCE and TOP GUN). The film shot Patrick Swayze into the realms of super-stardom and spawned two hit albums and a touring concert event.
Frances 'Baby' Houseman (Jennifer Grey - BOUNCE, TV's "Friends") is vacationing with her parents and older sister at a resort in the Catskills. There, she meets dance instructor Johnny Castle (Patrick Swayze - GHOST, CITY OF JOY). The two opposites immediately attract when Johnny's knocked-up dance partner (Cynthia Rhodes) has to get an abortion leaving Johnny to find a replacement - quick. Baby volunteers, and so begins the glittery, music-filled love story.
The film also features Broadway veterans Jerry Orbach and Kelly Bishop as Baby's parents.
This new Special Edition DVD includes the full 'Dirty Dancing Live in Concert' which included performances by Merry Clayton and the original dancers from the film. There is also the trailer, behind-the-scenes footage and a commentary track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!, May 11, 2007
I bought this DVD on the day it was released and I must say this is a very extensive and the BEST DVD release ever of Dirty Dancing! I am so glad it is in widescreen and not stupid fullscreen (which is very annoying). You can defenitly tell that the sound has been remastered..I could not believe my ears. And all the special features is mind blowing. Throw away all your other versions of this film as like I said this is the most extensive and best DVD version ever released. The film is presented in a widescreen format of 1.85:1 with tons of new features including all new interviews with Jennifer Grey, writer Eleanor Bergstein, and others. Along with Deleted, Alternate, and Extended Scenes and very funny Gag Reels/Outtakes. Just take my word for it..BUY IT NOW if your a true Dirty fan! I do not think this movie should EVER be released in fullscreen format because if so then it will be taking away some of the picture in the film and the movie would just be terrible if it was in fullscreen as you do not get the full effect of it in fullscreen like you do in widescreen. One word left to say...BUY THE 20TH ANNIVERSARY DVD! You will NOT be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2139 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dirty Dancing (Single-Disc Widescreen Edition)
Dirty Dancing (Single-Disc Widescreen Edition) by Emile Ardolino (DVD - 2003)
$9.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.