Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun Night
When this movie was in theaters, I remember driving for almost an hour to the nearest theater playing it, and there was a total of 6 people in the entire theater to watch the movie. Now this might sound like this movie is horrible, but that is not the case. Sure it is stereotypical of most teen-comedy romps: bad acting, predictible script, etc. But the movie also has a...
Published on January 11, 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Another Teen Movie!!!
Milo Ventimiglia (Gilmore Girls, The Bedford Diaries) stars as Zack Harper, a kid who helps out his friend Kyle who is in a bit of a rut. Kyle was challenged by a senior to do the Dirty Deeds. The Dirty Deeds (there's 10 of them) are just random things on a piece of paper the person has to accomplish. There's also a record that has never been beating before. So, Milo sets...
Published on May 21, 2006 by Michael Bolts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun Night, January 11, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Rated) (DVD)
When this movie was in theaters, I remember driving for almost an hour to the nearest theater playing it, and there was a total of 6 people in the entire theater to watch the movie. Now this might sound like this movie is horrible, but that is not the case. Sure it is stereotypical of most teen-comedy romps: bad acting, predictible script, etc. But the movie also has a lot of good times, and a lot of heart. I remember actually caring about the main characters in the film (something that doesn't happen often in a Teen Movie)...

Basically without me going on a tangent... if your looking for that stupid/yet somehow good late fridaynight movie, this is it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Another Teen Movie!!!, May 21, 2006
By 
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Unrated) (DVD)
Milo Ventimiglia (Gilmore Girls, The Bedford Diaries) stars as Zack Harper, a kid who helps out his friend Kyle who is in a bit of a rut. Kyle was challenged by a senior to do the Dirty Deeds. The Dirty Deeds (there's 10 of them) are just random things on a piece of paper the person has to accomplish. There's also a record that has never been beating before. So, Milo sets out to do the Dirty Deeds and there's also a party being thrown at a house where they keep a scoreboard of how many Milo has done. Not Another Teen Movie!! Just had to say that but its bascially what it is. In American Pie you had Jason Biggs doing the pie and in this, well Milo Ventimigla enters a bag of whole wheat bread (if you know what I mean). Milo helps the film but nothing is special about this movie. More moronic characters. My advice is watch it (Unrated or not) once and the decisions are up to you. Also starring Lacey Chabert (Not Another Teen Movie, Mean Girls) of course, Mark Derwin (One Life To Live, Heist), Zoe Saldana (Drumline, Pirates of the Caribbean), Panso Gorson (South of Nowhere, Dear Wendy), Billy L. Sullivan (My Life, Little Big League), Ray Santiago (Meet The Fockers, Pinero), Todd Zeile (King of Queens, SNL), Michael Milhoan (American Gun, Pearl Harbor), Erin Torpey (Crescendo, One Life To Live), Arielle Kebbel (Aquamarine, Be Cool), Dave Power (Frailty, Boston Public) and Charles Durning (The Final Countdown, Rescue Me) for some odd reason that I dont know why. What does the Unrated version have to offer? Female Nudity what else?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Times, January 13, 2006
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Unrated) (DVD)
This is a great comedy that reminded me of movies such as Can't Hardly Wait and Van Wilder. I am some what of a sucker for those teen films. Some of the "deeds" they came up with were hilarious. Kept me laughing all the way through.

This movie has a great cast of upcoming actors. Lacy Chabert and Milo Ventimiglia do a great job carrying the movie and I'm sure we'll be seeing more of them in the future. Plus, Lacy is great looking, so that doesn't hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dull teen "romp", February 14, 2014
By 
Gilbert P Mansergh (Sebastopol, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Unrated) (DVD)
I got this film because I was presenting a seminar with the assistant director, and felt I needed to see it. She was in charge of the young women in bikinis (and less) in the "UNRATED" parts of this truly dull film about completing a secret list of stupid pranks (like getting the bra from a varsity cheerleader) for no understandable purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny as all get out, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Rated) (DVD)
I got this movie because it kind of reminds me and what i would do if i had these kind of things when i was in high school lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Deeds, June 11, 2012
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Unrated) (DVD)
Typical teen movie. Kindof cheesy in parts and there's alot of outrageousness that you would not normally see in real-life. However it was entertaining and you pretty much get what you expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, bad DVD, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Rated) (DVD)
In my copy of the rated version, there's about a ten or fifteen second period in which there is no audio (dead silence) in the surround sound track. The sound was fine on the two-channel track. I thought for a moment my Blu-Ray player might have a firmware bug, but I pulled the disc and tried it in my laptop with identical results.

Given that the playback did not stutter in any way (and my computer's DVD drive didn't show any bad block errors), I suspect that this is not just a single bad disc, but rather an bad pressing run. I'd be curious if anyone has a copy of the rated version in which the surround sound actually works.

The moral of the story is that if you want surround sound, buy the *unrated* version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dirty deeds indeed, March 19, 2006
By 
Paul Kelly (Dublin , Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Rated) (DVD)
watching this film i felt i had seen it before . it follows the same teen movie cleshays that we know so well offering nothing new for this type of movie . saying that i've seen worse and fans of teen comedys will probable find it entertaining for the most part . the main reason i got this was that the talented Lacey Chabert is in it . acting in the type of film that she made fun of in not another teen movie . lacey does her best with the material and what little screen time she has but she is not aloud to show her true comic potenshal as she was in films like mean girls .

in my opinion this film is not bad it's just very avarge .

thank you for reading my review .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Every Actor's Got To Start Somewhere, September 25, 2006
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Unrated) (DVD)
Dirty Deeds is one of those movies that you sit through saying to yourself, "this is idiotic", but instead of abandoning it midway through you find yourself still sitting through it until the credits begin to roll.

It's silly. It's a teenager movie. It's been done a million times before in Hollywood (most of the time poorly). Dirty Deeds is one of the sub-par high-schoolers-making-mischief-attempts where if you're perusing cable late one night--and can't find anything else on your 500 channels--is maybe worth a stop if you're determined to watch TV instead of just going to bed.

But who knows...you might be seeing the beginning of some great careers! Just look what 1980's teeneager movie Hollywood Knights launched for the likes of Michelle Pfeiffer, Tony Danza, Robert Wuhl and Fran Drescher. Everybody's got to start somewhere, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars weak, weak, weak... American Pie RIPOFF, February 6, 2006
By 
Chris Kennison (Jefferson City, Mo United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirty Deeds (Rated) (DVD)
I'm actually really shocked that the reviews for this have been so good. I don't know... maybe when I was a teenager I would have found the jokes in DIRTY DEEDS funny, but not anymore. Although, I laughed at AMERICAN PIE (the first one) and that was pretty sophmoric? Not sure. So, I finally came to the conclusion that DIRTY DEEDS... JUST WASN'T FUNNY.

The concept in Dirty Deeds is a pretty decent one. The school has a secret list of dirty deeds hidden and very few have attempted to, or have completed all of them in one night. And when they do complete all 10 deeds, they get to add another for the next to take the challenge. The deeds range from... punching the toughest guy in the school, bringing a dead guy from the morgue to the school, drinking a beer in front of a cop... etc. etc. etc.

But the concept was wasted with poor writing, sophmoric sense of humor and a weak attempt to capitalize off the success of all the other teenager having sex comedies that have come rolling out of the gate ever since Hollywood figured out that teenagers are making up a very large percent of the Movie theatre revenue intake.

Yet, the jokes in DIRTY DEEDS never really exceed stuff that made me laugh when I was ten. Somebody getting punched real hard, masterbation, or somebody farting... and of course... as the title of my review suggests... of course it has the American Pie ripoff jokes. In American Pie... the character "does it" with a pie... in Dirty Deeds... it's a loaf of wheat bread... and of course the jerk principal buys the loaf and eats it... wondering what the white... yeah... I won't elaborate.

And then there's the hot girls like Lacey Chabert, Arielle Kebbel and Zoe Saldana! I like them all. They're all very pretty. They do nothing. In fact... all three of them may as well have been credited as cameos because they weren't in it much. Lacey Chabert is in it the most, but her character is VERY VERY SERIOUS and apprently not into having FUN and it comes across. She has no jokes at all. Zoe Saldana has a very very very tiny role and Arielle Kebbel has a small role in which she makes out with some dork freshman because he had the balls to talk to a senior.

I've had it folks. I have it with the RIPOFFS and the sequels and the remakes and the lack of originality. The writers need to take some time and make sure the laughs deliver. The studios need to stop greenlighting things that aren't ready, just so they can catch the tail end of a dieing trend.

DIRTY DEEDS is a bad movie that could have been better if the makers would have had a more original goal in mind, instead they chose to CONFORM, rush into production and it went straight to the video shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dirty Deeds (Rated)
Dirty Deeds (Rated) by David Kendall (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.