Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dirty Little Secrets: What the Credit Bureaus Won't Tell You
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 3, 2007
I believe Mr. Rich has "written" quite a few of these little "books"--small-size, large-font cut & paste jobs that require less authorial than editorial skill in stitching together or, at best, paraphrasing. But I have no hard feelings about that--I wish I had the connections to do it myself; God truly does know I could do it better. The problem is that this book contains not one "Dirty Little Secret" it claims to divulge. The "insider" interviews with Credit Bureau representatives are as hard-hitting and helpful as the pablum you'd find in the FAQs at those companies own web sites. It's as if the Credit Bureaus themselves produced the book. There's nothing wrong with this, if it's disclosed, but it's surely misrepresentation to call the result "Dirty Little Secrets". Please. Skip ahead to Stephen Snyder's Credit After Bankruptcy. Or the web, if you have more time.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2006
Do not waste your money if you are trying to repair your credit this decade. These are all things your mom and dad could tell you. On the back of the book it says you will find out how to QUICKLY BOOST your credit score. Well inside the book it says in multiple places there is no way to quickly boost your credit score. I think the credit bureaus tell you more than this guy. It has no real credit repair secrets.
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2006
A waste of time and money! This book is extremely repetitive. It says the same things over and over, throughout the book: "Your credit report is important"...."Having a poor credit score will keep you from obtaining credit".....and here is the big "secret" to boosting your credit score---"Pay your bills on time". Those and a few other obvious points fill up the pages of this book in its entirety. If you're really looking for some serious help with your credit score and/or report, this is not the book for you.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2007
The things that this book told me were things that are common sense & common knowledge about credit scores and credit reports. There was nothing in it that would help me repair my credit besides the traditional step: try to pay off as much as you can, which is a probblem when you dont have the money. It wasnt what I expected.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2007
I think this book accomplishes its narrow purpose - to be an extremely basic overview mini-book for the credit novice. There is no in-depth examination of any topic, the title is definitely misleading (all the while I read I kept waiting in anticipation of the 'dirty little secrets' that were never to materialize) and will not be informative for anyone who has a basic knowledge of managing credit. Even if you are a credit novice, this is not a reference resource that you need to own, save yourself the purchase price and get it from the library instead.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2007
Do not buy this book. It contains very generic information that you can get almost anywhere. I learned nothing new. At the end it contains 2 interviews with the "credit reporting agency gurus" (public relations specialists from 2 credit reporting agencies), basically saying the same things you find on their websites. The book actually seems like it was written by the CRA's to favor their rights and positions - not the consumers. The only "Dirty little secret" is that this book was a waste of money. I am returning it. Try Bestcredit by Dane Neal instead. BestCredit: How to Win the Credit Game
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
Very concise walk through the process of getting to know all about credits, credit reports, credit scores, mistakes that most of us have made throughout our lives , real facts about all around credit, etc.
Very instrumental source to wake up people out of their wrongful dreams and get prepared for a better credit history and for a more advantageous position in real life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2008
I was very disappointed in this book. The "BIG" secret is; pay your bill's on time! This book actually gives bad advice if you are trying to better your credit score. There are many other books out there with much more and helpful information. Don't waste your money. Most of the book is about common sense or information you can find on the credit bureaus websites. Unless you want to know about how to handle debt collector's this book is useless. Not ONE dirty secret!!! I even checked the year the book was writen in, I thought maybe is was from a decade ago....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2010
This type of book is the "let's sell the title" variety...
Nothing new in this book.
I learned Much more at a recent Bruce Mack Seminar in Vegas.
Don't waste your time or money.
Forget my money, I want the 10 hours or so it took to read this back...
Any delorean's for sale on amazon
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2007
I purchased the book, and, no, there are no "dirty little secrets" in the book. The title is more to grab your attention than anything. This book is credit 101. It takes a topic that is (lets all agree) very BORING, and puts it into a form that is easily understood by anyone with a 9th grade reading level. I work in the credit business and I look at people's credit every day. Most of them are a nightmare precisely because they don't understand how credit works, or what helps, or what hurts. Credit is not getting better. It's getting worse, and this book should be a mandatory read. Not because it's full of incredibly detailed information, but because America as a whole is credit-ignorant and could use a 101 crash course. Yes, you could get the same information from surfing multiple websites, but if you want all that information in a very simple, short, and easy to understand book, this is it. Parents aren't teaching good credit information to their kids, so who's going to give them credit 101 info? This book is so basic that it should be a mandatory read for kids as soon as they land their first job. Yes, the title is a bit misleading. No, there are no earth shattering tidbits in it. Considering most people in America have NO CLUE about the ins-and-outs of how credit works, or how even a simple late pay can damage their credit, or how to go about resurrecting their credit, I would strongly suggest this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse