Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$6.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 1, 2007
I was introduced to the Underground Kingz when I heard the track "Pocket Full Of Stones" from Menace II Society: The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack. The track ended up being one of my favorite tracks on the soundtrack along with MC Eiht's "Streiht Up Menace", Spice 1's "Trigga Gots No Heart", Brand Nubian's "Lick Dem" and Pete Rock and CL Smooth's "Death Becomes You" which also features the YG'z. What really made me pay attention to UGK was a track entitled "Wood Wheel" that was featured on J-Prince Presents: Realest Down South. Once I heard "Wood Wheel" I definitely decided that I would pay more attention to UGK tracks. The next song that I heard "Sippin' On Some Syrup" was a track that featured Three 6 Mafia, UGK and Project Pat on the lead single to Three 6 Mafia's "When The Smoke Clears..." CD. The track ended up being one of my favorite tracks at the time and that was the main reason why I purchased the CD.

UGK's big break came when Jay-Z featured them on a track that was produced by Timbaland entitled "Big Pimpin'". When I heard this track, I was impressed by the way Timbaland created a beat that Jay-Z, a rapper from Brooklyn and a group from the south, UGK, would be able to flow to at the same time. Although, I still had never purchased any UGK CD's at ths time, I was definitely looking forward to their next release. However, UGK's label, the infamous Jive Records took too long to try to capitalize on the momentum of this track. The next CD that UGK released, which ended up being too long after the success of "Big Pimpin'", was "Dirty Money". Jive Records could have made this CD even better than it was but they sat back in the boardroom too long and didn't step up to the plate when it was necessary. Despite these obstacles, UGK still did their best to make "Dirty Money" a classic.

"Dirty Money" starts off with a track that most "exotic dancers" and visitors of their place of business can appreciate in "Let Me See It". Pimp C creates a track that him and his partner Bun-B can use to explain their interpretations of certain young ladies. "Choppin' Blades" and "Look At Me" are clearly the best tracks on this CD. Both of the songs also feature the best production on "Dirty Money" as well. When I first purchased this CD, it didn't get past Track 3 for the first couple of days because I enjoyed these tracks so much. Pimp C's production, with an assist from NO Joe on "Choppin' Blades", who has worked on various Scarface CDs, is simply phenominal on Tracks 2 and 3. I have read some reviews about people being disappointed with "Ain't That A B____" which also features Devin The Dude, being edited. Don't get me wrong, the track would have been even better if it hadn't been edited. However, I am pretty sure that the 2 samples that were cleared to allow UGK to put this track on the CD, probably made a stipulation that if the artists wanted to use the sample that the track had to be edited. The funny part about all of this is that UGK is allowed to use Too Short's favorite word on the chorus. Hmmm..... "Gold Grill" has UGK and 8Ball & MJG on the same track. The song doesn't disappoint at all and you will be able to appreciate 2 of the best down south groups of all time being featured on the same song. "Holdin' Na" features C-Note and is another track that you will enjoy listening to on this CD. The chemistry that Pimp C and Bun B have on certain tracks will scare you because it seems as if in certain cases they are able to finish each other's sentences and their verses are able to blend well together because of this chemistry. The title track features a nice hook from Bun-B and UGK is able to explain their interpretation of dirty money. Three 6 Mafia joins UGK on the party track "Like A Pimp". The Pimp C produced track will easily remind you of Eric B & Rakim's "Paid In Full" because of the sample. This track was later remixed for Three 6 Mafia's "Da Unbreakables" CD and the remix also featured Pimp C and Project Pat. Big Gipp from Goodie Mob is featured on another one of my favorite tracks "Don't Say ....". You will be able to listen to "Dirty Money" in its entirety. However, to people that have followed UGK you will wonder why they were only able to put 10 new tracks on a CD that had so much anticipation to it.

"Pimpin" Ain't No Illusion" and "Belts To Match" were featured on a CD single a long time before "Dirty Money" ended up being released. "Pimpin' Ain't No Illusion" is featured on "Dirty Money" and "Belts To Match" can be found on the soundtrack to the movie "The Wood". "Take It Off" can be found on the soundtrack to "The Corruptor" but Jive Records wanted to put the track on "Dirty Money". The same can be said about Money, ...., and Power" which is featured on Jermaine Dupri's "Instructions" CD. I think you get the point. If Jive Records would have played their cards right, they could have made "Dirty Money" even better than it ended up being. However, they didn't know how to handle one of the greatest rap groups in the history of Down South music. Hopefully, they will make that up with UGK's self titled double CD that is scheduled to be released on August 7, 2007.

What I am thankful for is that by purchasing "Dirty Money", I was finally convinced to check out Ridin' Dirty,Super Tight..., and Too Hard to Swallow. Listening to these 3 CDs, I was able to realize why UGK were considered pioneers to rap music for the younger down south acts that are coming out today along with Scarface & The Geto Boys, 8Ball & MJG and Outkast. "Dirty Money" may not be the best UGK CD but there are enough classics on the disc, to make this CD a CD to have in your collection if you enjoy any of their CDs or guest appearances on other CDs. If "The Game Belongs To Me" and "International Player's Anthem" featuring Outkast are any indication then their new double CD will be just as good or even better.

James' Top 5 (Out of the 10 new tracks, Tracks 1-10)

1) Choppin' Blades
2) Look At Me
3) Gold Grill w/8Ball & MJG
4) Holdin' Na w/C-Note
5) Dirty Money

Honorable Mention:

PA ______
Don't Say _______ w/Big Gipp of Goodie Mob
Let Me See It
Ain't That A _____ w/Devin The Dude (Track is edited)
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 1, 2007
When Ridin Dirty came out I didnt think they were going to top it until I heard this one. Dirty Money came out when Pimp C was already locked up and it was still a notable release. Let Me See It is the dope opener and Choppin Blades is their ode to rims. Look At Me is also noteworthy and the bassline on that song was crazy. Aint That A B**** with Devin The Dude is cool but I dont understand why that song is edited. Dont Say S*** with Big Gipp is their rejoiner to the haters and the fakers. Pimp C is at his best on Pimpin Aint No Illusion, Take It Off and Wood Wheel. The Duo also gets introspective on us in Dirty Money. Skip material would be Holdin Na with C-Note(boring) and P.A. N****(not bad but the hook was kind of lame). Bottom Line: Dirty Money is UGK's best album until they make another one that tops it. Pimp C did most of the production and it was pretty good and The Duo did their thang on the mic. Definetely one of the best albums of 2001. Standout Tracks: LET ME SEE IT, CHOPPIN BLADES, LOOK AT ME, GOLD GRILL, DONT SAY S***, WOOD WHEEL, PIMPIN AINT NO ILLUSION, LIKE A PIMP, DIRTY MONEY and TAKE IT OFF.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2001
UGK is one of the most underrated groups in music. Pimp C and Bun B deserve far more credit and attention than they get. For those who haven't listened to the group, I feel sorry for you. For those who have, you know how fortunate we are. "Dirty Money" took a long time to come out, but it was more than worth the wait. The lyrics are superior. The delivery is untouchable. The beats are banging. Before Outkast, before Ludacris, before most other rap groups from the South, there was UGK. This CD lives up to the standard UGK set with "Too Hard to Swallow", "Supertight", and "Ridin' Dirty". Guest appearances by DJ Paul, Juicy J, and others make this CD that much better. Don't sleep on the country rap tunes. You have to buy this CD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 25, 2002
what can i say other than ugk always delivers. after a long wait i can finally say it was all worth it, damn near every track is fire. ugk always brings some down south fire. after all these years they still making them real down south hits with them dirty a$$ beats like track #3 look at me, it sounds like the old ugk from back in the supertight days. they also bring that htown sound rapping about sippin' barre, bleeding blocks, and grippin' grain. so if you are a big ugk fan and you don't have this cd yet you are missing out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2001
...the Kings done gave us 3 classic albums: too hard to swallow, super tight and ridin dirty...them three right there is about as dope as the south can get! some hard sh!t to follow fasho...and with this, they 4th full length album, they almost pull it off. almost. the production is crisp and clean, but only a few really give us that grit to sink our teeth into...this is gonna please a few folks, but compared to them dirt-tunes they done already hit us with this might leave some older fans feelin empty.
'choppin blades'and 'holdin na' are the sure-ones...and that song they got with juicy j and paul is a classic (too bad three-six dont bring it like this on a consistant basis with they albums).
this aint that fire i was waitin for, but it'll hold me over for a minute.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2001
UGK is back to drop another album in 5 years. This album has been delayed for two whole years. It was worth the wait cause this album is off da hook. They know how to keep it dirty south. I like all of the tracks. There are no other albums I own that I like every single song. My favorite song is Wood Wheel. That song is tight. Other hot tracks are Let Me See It, and the track wit 3 6 Mafia. I never heard their previous albums and everyone said they're a little better than this one but I don't care.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2007
With only singles and appearances between 1996's Ridin' Dirty and this one in 2001, there was definitely time for UGK to serve an dope album. The game has drastically changed from 1996, when UGK's Pimp C produced funky beats that often drew upon the influence of G-Funk which was big back then. Pimp C and other southern beatsmiths like N.O. Joe and Mike Dean among others definitely go in step with the time lacing bouncy southern beats while still maintaining a Swang and Bang atmosphere that was created years ago, but updated for the new millenium. This album often takes more of a mainstream approach in tracks like "Money, Hoes, & Power" produced by Jermaine Dupri, and "Gold Grill," but they still want you to know they rule the underground in bangers like "Wood Wheel," a dope beat by Pimp C and John Bido, a perfect rider anthem for those caddies sittin on d's and 16 switches. The beat recalls the beat on the Geto Boys Intro and Outro tracks on 1993's 'Til Death Do Us Part." "Choppin' Blades" is real hot. The beat samples a speedy version of E-40's "Captain Save a Hoe" with a ounce of southern bounce. "Ain't That a Bi--h (Ask Yourself)" is a classic feat. Devin The Dude with a relaxing G-Funk inspired beat, a classic N.O. Joe beat; the only thing that sucks about it is that it is edited and the expletives are not filled in with alternate words, so you hear pauses in the lyrics but thankfully not in the beat. "PA N---a" has an odd synth beat by N.O. Joe, but it has definite slappage value; Bun N Pimp get it crunk while representing Port Arthur Texas. Bun B and Pimp C definitely have not lost a step as lyricists. The production and the rhymes definitely stand out in 2001, a year that many rappers went too mainstream. Bun N Pimp may cater a little for the mainstream, and that's fine, but they do not overdo it for the underground heads!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2002
UGK(Underground Kingz) has been at this rap thing for a long time. Their first album Too Hard to Swallow was released in 1992 and earned them universal respect throughout the Southern rap scene with the hit "Tell Me Somethin Good". They followed that with the classic Supertight in 1994 which introduced them to the national scene with the tracks "Pocket Full of Stones", "It's Supposed to Bubble" and "Front, Back, and Side to Side". They followed that in 1996 with another rap classic Ridin Dirty that established them as one of the best rap groups from the South, if the not the nation. The album went gold with no major radio or video airplay and had everybody awaiting what would come next from these natives of Port Arthur, Texas.
Those fans had to wait a long time. Due to haggling over money issues it has been over five years between studio releases for the group. During that five years the group raised their profile with numerous guest appearances with everybody from Scarface ("Down Wit Us"), Ludacris ("Stick Em Up"), Three 6 Mafia ("Sippin on Some Syrup"), and most notably Jay-Z ("Big Pimpin"). Anticipation was at an all time for the group, and do they deliver?
The answer is somewhat. While Dirty Money is not the classic that Ridin Dirty was, it is still a good album that offers hardcore UGK fans exactly what they want while serving as a good introduction to those who don't know the group as well. My main problem with the album is something I usually don't complain about with a UGK album is the production. UGK (specifically Pimp C, who handles the production) is noted for their lush soundscapes, using live instruments, old-school samples, and enough bass to shake a 30-story building. But on Dirty Money they fall prey to the electronic programming to plagues most of hip-hop today. Granted they are good examples of electronic programming but it is still a disappointment. This is especially true on songs like "Gold Grill" w/Eightball & MJG, "Holdin Na w/ C-Note, and "Don't Say S***" w/ Big Gipp. However their older style of production is found on the album and for me these are the most rewarding tracks. The first single "Let Me See It" has enough bass to sound like King Kong jumping up and down, and is tweaked by guitars that accent the bass. "Choppin Blades"
features two old-school samples but together to make a new millenium anthem to the 20-inch rim. By piecing together "PSK (What does it Mean)" famous drums, and the melody from E-40's classic "Captain Save a Ho" UGK make an anthem that'll be banging out of stereos for years to come. Another highlight is the title track "Dirty Money" where UGK show off their lyricism, which is an underrated part of the duo. On this track they express a viewpoint that is anti-establishment, while world-weary. Bun B's rapid fire delivery, and witty wordplay establishes him as one of the top southern MC's, and Pimp C's high-pitched voice forces you to listen to every word.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2002
...Now I am forced to write a review for a clean cd which is really explicit. It don't really matter its gonna be the same songs though from the tracklistings at this site except if you buy this version it will obviously be edited. *
This album Dirty Money was supposed to be released in 1999 but got pushed way back probably because of bootlegging and leaking of the album or label troubles. UGK weren't ones to be intimidated. UGK stormed back in the year 2000 with major guest appearances for mega hits Sippin On Some Syrup by Three Six Mafia, and Big Pimpin by Jay-Z and increased the anticipation for their next album. Now a year later after more delays finally comes the album Dirty Money. Was it worth the wait? You bet it was!
Pimp C and Bun B spit playalistic rhymes on their fourth full length. Backed by some amazing production; most of it handled by Pimp C himself, and you have got one of the best albums of the year. Amazing playability and it is not hard to digest either. I like to call that quality easy-listening. The bass is incredible and the beats basically have you nodding your head. Each member of this duo spit unprecedented pimp/ flossin rhymes different from a typical flosser's rhymes. UGK has numerous affiliations with well-known rappers such as Eightball & MJG, Goodie Mob, Outkast, Triple Six Mafia, Too Short and Jermaine Dupri.
The cd starts out with a bang with the club favorite Let Me See It, which is possibly the best song on the album with its superior catchy chorus and head nodding beat. Choppin Blades is next and is an ultimate bump in yo car song with a nice chorus. Look At Me and Gold Grill show them flossin to the fullest. Aint That a B!7ch feat. Devin The Dude is a real nice laid back track and is classic. The title track epitomizes the term summer music. It has an obvious west coast influence and Bun B and Pimp C tear this song to shreds. The chorus is insightful and tight; "Niccas laughing but aint a damn thang funny, its all about tha paper in this land of milk & honey, yeah its bright outside but not necessarily sunny and no matter how you make it its all dirty money baby". Like a Pimp featuring Juicy J and DJ Paul is tight and Pimpin Ain't No Illusion with Too Short is another straight to the books classic song. This cd also contains three bonus tracks that you should judge on your own.
Overall an ultimate riding cd, easy listening, superior flows from the duo and potent lyrics. Pimp C flexes his production talents by handling most of the beats. This is Southern flavor at its finest and I advise you to give this cd a try.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2002
Rap does not get any better than this, UGK are the absolute kings of the dirty south. The album is a masterpiece, their best yet. They put Texas on the dirty map.
Buy It and buy it now! Awl'riddy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Ridin Dirty
Ridin Dirty by UGK (Audio CD - 1996)

Underground Kingz
Underground Kingz by UGK (Audio CD - 2007)

Best of
Best of by UGK (Audio CD - 2003)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.