Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Anyone Talk Face to Face?
Doesn't it seem like everyone is wired these days? Doesn't anyone talk face-to-face anymore? This recent trend has permeated everything we do; if you don't believe me, take a look: LOL; BFF; OMG; W8; BTW; BYOB (kidding...); FYI; ETA; ASAP; RSVP (well, okay... not EVERYTHING is recent)....

With this in mind, brace yourself for an exciting film that addresses our...
Published 11 months ago by Jay B. Lane

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent to watch
Disconnect is a movie centered on a group of people searching for human connections in today's wired world.

This movie has three distinct story lines (ala Crash or other similar movies), with some overlap between two of the main stories.

Cindy (Paula Patton) and Derek (Alexander Skarsgard) are mourning over the loss of their baby and have a troubled...
Published 6 months ago by JWink


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Anyone Talk Face to Face?, April 24, 2013
This review is from: Disconnect (DVD)
Doesn't it seem like everyone is wired these days? Doesn't anyone talk face-to-face anymore? This recent trend has permeated everything we do; if you don't believe me, take a look: LOL; BFF; OMG; W8; BTW; BYOB (kidding...); FYI; ETA; ASAP; RSVP (well, okay... not EVERYTHING is recent)....

With this in mind, brace yourself for an exciting film that addresses our digital world, with grief counseling chat rooms, cyber bullying, on-line sex, and identity theft, plus general e-mails, texting, GPS units and Facebook. It is NOT boring; there isn't a wasted scene, an unnecessary line or a plot hole left unfilled. Kudos to director Henry Alex Rubin ("Murderball" - a terrific documentary) and scriptwriter Andrew Stern ("Return to Me" - one of my favorites), for a movie about moral dilemmas and ethical quicksand that keep us engaged and involved every step of the way.

We see:
* Jason Bateman ("Identity Thief") is a successful attorney named Rich, whose adolescent son is very troubled. Dad puts it down to normal teenage angst. Bateman just gets better and better; he is extremely effective in this one!
* Hope Davis ("Real Steel") is Lydia, the mother of that same boy; she is more alarmed by their son's behavior than her husband. This actress never makes a misstep; how does she do it?
* Jonah Bobo ("Crazy, Stupid, Love") is Ben, their awkward teenage son who is the target of cyber bullying. Our hearts go out to this kid as we share his misery.
* Haley Ramm (Lots of TV) is Abby, the loyal but embarrassed sister of the dorky misfit. This young lady has developed into a terrific actress.
* Alexander Skarsgård ("True Blood") gives us Derek, a successful fellow we can relate to; however, his toddler died, his wife is grief-stricken, his marriage is on ice, and his identity has just been stolen. The whole Skarsgård family is amazing; in this film, you can't tell he's from Sweden!
* Paula Patton ("Ghost Protocol") is Cindy, Derek's grieving wife, who visits the chat room without his knowledge. With their bank accounts in limbo, it is a short, humiliating slide to living in a motel.
* Michael Nyqvist ("As It Is In Heaven") is Stephen Shoemacher, whom Cindy meets in that grief therapy chat room.
* Frank Grillo ("Warrior") is a former cop, now a cyber crime expert, hired to investigate identity theft. He's really good with computers (so's his son...). I'm keeping my eye on this actor!
* Max Thieriot ("The Family Tree") plays Kyle, the (very) handsome, (very) charming, (very) young man who makes his living via on-line porn. This former child actor has developed into an appealing capable actor! (He reminds me of a young Ryan Phillippi...and that's good!)

This involving film runs four parallel stories with no confusion, building each to a crashing climax and we never question which story we're seeing. This is a solid-gold script and the direction brings up everyone's game. There are NO clichés and that climax has to be seen to be believed.

Expect no gunshots, no vehicular mayhem, no blowie uppie stuff, no sweaty bodies, no profanity, and no drug use (well, one little scene with some pot); on the other hand, you can expect people to root for, suspense, excitement and top-notch acting. I've already pre-ordered my DVD from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Better to be Connected than Disconnected, September 7, 2013
This review is from: Disconnect [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You really need to take a long shower after watching this one. Disconnect contains two basic messages...the Internet is certainly not your friend and you better start "connecting" with friends and family or plan on losing them. Exploitation of young adults for on-line sex sites, cyber-bullying and identity theft are the Trinity of what is essential peril of our Internet usage. Good acting and a tension filled narrative really drove this movie to a good place. Most of the characters in this you just wanted to haul off and hurt. Disconnect reminded me a lot of my reaction after seeing the 2002 movie Thirteen...dazed and scared in my ignorance of not knowing the sick reality in this big bad world of ours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerfully Disturbing Portrayal of the Disconnection in Today's World, September 23, 2013
By 
Sean Pasek (Escondido, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disconnect (DVD)
"Disconnect" may be one of the most thought-provoking films to come down the pike in recent years that paints an accurate and frightening image of what life looks like now, due to our dependence on the internet, and where it might lead if people don't realize the damage that is being done. The internet is a powerful, useful tool, but the daily abuse of it is almost beyond the scope of comprehending. "Disconnect" gives us an idea about how widespread and frequent that abuse is.

There is a certain amount of irony that our world has become so much closer in the way we communicate. We can literally converse with almost anyone on the planet. I grew up during a time when pen-pal letters from school was about as "close" as I ever got to talking to someone from another country. However, the closer we have become with our communication, the larger the chasm in our connections with others.

"Disconnect" focuses on three main story-lines. The first involves, Ben Boyd, a young high school boy who is basically a loner and an outsider. It's clear that he has few, if any, friends, and he spends much of his time writing and composing music. Even his family seems to barely acknowledge him, especially his father, a successful lawyer who is always busy and even finds his son to be a bit odd as well. Two kids at his school decide to play a "prank" on him by setting up an online profile, and masquerading as a girl who is interested in Ben and his music, thus taking advantage of his vulnerable state of wanting to connect with someone. I don't think a film has ever given us a clearer or scarier depiction of the kind of damage people can do through manipulating others, especially online where you have no idea who you are talking to.

The second story-line involves young, ambitious reporter, Nina Dunham who decides to do a piece of investigative journalism about runaway teens and the jobs that many of them end up doing online in order to make money. She connects with Kyle online and disguises herself as a customer in order to establish a connection and get her story. Little does she realize the avalanche of trouble that this causes, not only for Kyle, but for herself as well.

The third story-line involves a young married couple, Derek and Cindy Hull, trying to deal with the loss of their infant son. They don't talk to each other much, and Cindy's only outlet of communication is within a chat room where she finds solace in an unknown person who listens to her anguish and pain. Suddenly, their worlds are tossed upside down when someone infiltrates their computer system and steals most of their money.

The performances in this film are all first-rate. I have not seen Jason Bateman tackle a role this deep and complex, and he is fantastic as Rich Boyd who is trying to find out what happened with his son as well as finding out who is responsible. And while his anger is obvious toward the perpetrators, he quickly finds that much of that anger is toward himself. Spending nearly every moment online and dealing with clients, he barely has time for anyone in his family, and he quickly sees what that indifference has cost him.

The movie does not depict the characters in any form of "black" or "white." Each character is complex, and we find ourselves sympathizing, to some extent, with all of them. Perhaps that is why this film is so realistic and layered, just as people are in life. We may not know the reasons for why people do the things that they do, but as the story progresses, we begin to understand the motivation.

"Disconnect" is literally a must-see film. It will force you to ask yourself how much time do you spend online every day? How often do you converse and interact with people online as opposed to face-to-face? How much time do you spend with your family as opposed to being online? And how much manipulation and cruelty is perpetrated by kids every day toward other kids that they dislike by using the power of the internet to hurt them and exploit their vulnerabilities? The internet has made it so easy to disconnect from people. People feel safer and more comfortable in front of a monitor than dealing with others or themselves. We have heard it before: information is power. And it is incredibly frightening to see just how powerful it is, and how much damage can be caused when it is abused. The scary part about this movie is that each of these abuses are small reflections of what is going on every single day around the world, and we know that they are! And still others have, themselves, been a victim of some form of the type of violations that are depicted here.

Our dependence and reliance on technology for disconnecting, and not having to deal with people face-to-face is greater than at any other time in history. And the danger is just as real and poignant as the film depicts. I hope this movie serves to "awaken " people to how they are spending their time, how much they are connecting with the people that they love in their lives, and how much they use the internet to disconnect from those same people and the problems that they choose not to face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "RIVETING, DRAMATIC, ENTERTAINING!", April 21, 2013
This review is from: Disconnect (DVD)
'Disconnect' is a dynamic drama that tells different stories of people's lives, and how they are all struggling in today's world of high technology, and social media. The riveting stories become more dramatic as we follow ordinary people, and witness dangerous situations. An ex-police officer has a tough time raising a mischievous son, a lawyer cannot find any time to communicate with his own family as his cell phone takes up most of his time for work. A couple is placed in a danger zone, when personal secrets are exposed online. As the stories unfold, the movie becomes more-and-more interesting. Acting performance of Jason Bateman is excellent, along with the rest of the cast. Three dramatic stories of how today's social media affects different individuals and their lives, becomes thought-provoking as the reality hits home for all of us. It makes you think about cell phones, the internet, identity theft, and much more on modern technology. This movie reveals the pros-and-cons of modern technology, and social media. More important, it shows how lives can be affected in dangerous situations, because of the type of world we now live in. Intriguing, thrilling, and entertaining. Recommended for all those who enjoy drama, and thrillers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `To this we've come', September 19, 2013
By 
This review is from: Disconnect (DVD)
At last there is a film that places before our eyes and ears and minds the intrinsic dangers of the now ubiquitous ether cloud of substitute life/communication. The number of identity thefts, suicides, fraudulent dealings, and the accompanying waste of human brain time from the ever-present cellphone or pad or laptop has grown to appalling proportions and it just may help for the general audience to watch this film and witness how deleterious our `advanced communication' has become. Written by Andrew Stern and directed with phenomenal sensitivity and dexterity by Henry Alex Rubin (both rather newcomers on the cinema scene), this is a film that deserves wide recognition at awards time and definitely wide attendance by audiences.

Hard-working lawyer Rich Boyd (Jason Bateman), attached to his cell phone, can't find the time to communicate with his wife Lydia (Hope Davis) and son Ben (Jonah Bobo) and daughter Abby (Haley Ramm). A couple (Alexander Skarsgård and Paula Patton) is drawn into a dangerous situation while investigating the computer hacking of their complete finances when their own secrets are exposed online: they stalk a simple worker Stephen Schumacher (Michael Nyqvist) who becomes caught up in their obsession. A widowed ex-cop (Frank Grillo) struggles to raise a mischievous son Jason (Colin Ford) who with his cohort Frye (Aviad Bernstein) cyber-bullies a classmate, the haunted and taunted musician Ben. An ambitious journalist Nina Dunham (Andrea Riseborough) sees a career-making story in teen Kyle (Max Thieriot) who performs porn on an adult-only chatroom. They are strangers, neighbors and colleagues and their stories collide in this riveting dramatic thriller about ordinary people struggling to connect in today's wired world. It takes a suicide attempt to tie all of these stories together.

Every member of this cast is excellent, the pacing of the film is over the speed limit as well it should be, and the manner in which each of these seemingly disparate stories is told in overlapping fashion and finally in impressive slow motion pushes this cinematic piece into an art work with a blisteringly tough message. It is a wakeup call, hopefully not too late to change. Highly recommended. Grady Harp, September 13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie that needs to be seen by parents and high school students. Shows how an innocent prank can ruin lives. I say B+, August 1, 2013
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disconnect (DVD)
"Everything you do someone out there can see." Everyone has part of their life on-line. From a young boy on a sex-cam site to a reporter trying to help him. From a struggling married couple who has their life taken or a family who has the unthinkable happen to them. Even the littlest most innocent action or a prank that goes too far can explode into something that can ruin lives. There are very few movies that come out that I think are must sees for different reasons then it just being good and fun to watch. The last movie I can think of like that would be Trust, the movie about a young girl meeting someone online who she thinks is a boy her age. This one has that type of feel. The movie will show you the power that the internet can have and how that is not always a good thing. This is a movie that has three separate story lines going on at once and all of them hold your attention and the movie grabs you and holds you until the end. This is a must see especially for parents to show their high school kids to show what a seemingly innocent prank can turn into. Overall, an important movie that needs to be seen by a bigger audience then it will get. I give it a B+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent to watch, September 21, 2013
This review is from: Disconnect (DVD)
Disconnect is a movie centered on a group of people searching for human connections in today's wired world.

This movie has three distinct story lines (ala Crash or other similar movies), with some overlap between two of the main stories.

Cindy (Paula Patton) and Derek (Alexander Skarsgard) are mourning over the loss of their baby and have a troubled marriage. They have their identities stolen on the Internet

Nina (Andrea Riseborough) is an ambitious television reporterwho strikes up a webcam conversation with an 18-year-old Internet sex model (Max Thieriot) in the hopes of interviewing him for an expose on the predators who recruit teen girls and boys to become online porn performers.

Jason (Colin Ford) and Frye (Aviad Bernstein) are kids who target nerd Ben (Jonah Bobo) for an extended online prank in which they pose as a fictional girl with a Facebook crush on Ben.

All of these conflicts and relationships are initiated through the Internet. People fall in love, exploit one another, reveal their deepest secrets and even commit felonious acts -- all before there's a single face-to-face meeting. The movie does a decent job of laying out the case in each story so we can understand how all these smart people can make such dumb decisions and act in such a reckless manner while on the net.

Jason Bateman gives a good performance and Colin Ford does a good job, as Jason, the online bully who begins to feel remorse about torturing the nerdy kid.

At times, the movie meanders along without a direction and ends up with no real satisfying answers but this movie is a decent one to watch but not terribly original. To me this tries too hard to be Crash and fails to live up to that.
But this movie does give a good portrayal of the ills of modern society with their faces in their smart phones and tablets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful in context!, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disconnect (Amazon Instant Video)
This was one of those movies that I thought was going to be a big mistake to watch after the first half hour or so. But after continuing to watch, and actually seeing where it was all going, is just a testament to what is going on today and how our electronics affect people.......and not necessarily in a good way. This movie is one that everybody should see and remember when they are so into their phones, tablets and computers. They are more powerful tools than a lot of people stop to think about. Kind of scary! An eye opener for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie I've Seen in a While, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disconnect (Amazon Instant Video)
I can't recommend this movie highly enough! The actors portrayed raw emotion well. The stories were interwoven perfectly. The cinematography was impressive and helped me to connect to the characters. Trust me- this movie is worth your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie I have seen come out this year, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disconnect (Amazon Instant Video)
This movie is really moving and I think keeps you completely engaged and guessing. Great writing, great acting and really good directing. Every actor/actress did an outstanding job. I am bummed this didn't do better at box office. It deserved to make money. Such talent.
It seems like so many movies are just crap anymore. This is worth buying and I will definitely suggest to others to rent or purchase. I just watched Girl with Dragon Tattoo series, and although Disconnect isn't the action film that is, this one has enough of a good plot, keeps you just as engaged and entertained had makes you a little uncomfortable...just enough to really feel and think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa50b8ccc)

This product

Disconnect
Disconnect by Henry Alex Rubin
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.