Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read for Anyone Looking to Stand Out
As with any brand we cherish, it's often more than the product itself that appeals to us. The brand's story - it's values and principles, how it makes us feel, how it inspires us and why it matters to us - is what we are really buying. In the same way, the values and principles in each of us are what appeals to others. Great leaders leverage the best of themselves in...
Published on September 22, 2011 by Kelly McNeff

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars All sizzle but no steak
This book represents what's wrong with publishing--and perhaps even America--today. Bates, a former local TV news personality with little or no real business experience, tells readers how to build their "CEO brand." One of her main bits of advice--tell your story. Really? No, definitely not. The typical small businessperson or entrepreneur can't tell "his (or...
Published 5 months ago by chinese perspective


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read for Anyone Looking to Stand Out, September 22, 2011
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
As with any brand we cherish, it's often more than the product itself that appeals to us. The brand's story - it's values and principles, how it makes us feel, how it inspires us and why it matters to us - is what we are really buying. In the same way, the values and principles in each of us are what appeals to others. Great leaders leverage the best of themselves in ways that compels others to follow. Like a great product, they are selling a brand that motivates action and innovation.

Suzanne Bates, in Your CEO Brand: The Story of You, brilliantly captures this insight. As an Executive Communications Coach, I continue to encourage leaders to capture and tell stories about their own experiences in all their communications. This book reinforces that notion and simplifies the method for success that anyone can use. Suzanne's examples and stories of leaders who have applied these techniques are undoubtedly great role models. I'd count Suzanne among them for her ability to teach others how to create a successful brand. It's a great read for anyone looking to stand out amongst a crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable resource for today's business leader, September 15, 2011
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
As an executive speechwriter for the past 20 years, I've worked with leaders of many organizations. Those who are the most successful are able to communicate their message clearly and powerfully because they understand who they are and how they can use their personal experiences to let others see the kind of leader they really are.

Speechwriting is about story-telling and Suzanne Bates offers ways that readers, managers and C-level executives can find their own stories and harness the power of that narrative to get promoted, lead their company or make an impact in their field.

The book's chapter summaries allow readers to easily reference important points. Bates' examples, and her interviews of CEO's who have built their brand, are both instructive and entertaining. I would recommend this book highly to anyone looking to raise their professional game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great mix of inspirational ideas and practical tools, October 11, 2011
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
Suzanne's new book is, like her previous books, a great mix of inspirational and engaging examples and insights together with practical tools that you can use straight away. I work on strategy with CEO's and business leaders and have previously shared with them Suzanne's secrets of effective speaking and motivation with my clients. They love the fact that Suzanne's books give them ideas they can work on immediately. Discover Your CEO Brand will help my clients to better understand themselves, to better communicate what's important and to better build stronger, more successful teams and organizations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leader Brand - CEO Brand - The same, September 27, 2011
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
Suzanne Bates is a best selling author of Speak Like a CEO so must spend a lot of time studying CEOs.

I was surprised there was a big enough market for CEO Branding but it really is about leadership branding in general so the potential audience is much larger.

"Your Brand is in essence your reputation. It is not who you are, it is what others believe you are".

The book cites many examples of great CEO Brands. Using real life examples helps with the impact.

It has a number of exercises to help discover your brand.

It also has a number of possible brands you can add to your list. The one I loved and can identify with and think all CEOs need on their list is Healthy Leader Brand. She is referring to physical health so eating right and exercise although she also has one for emotional health too.

There is a chapter on Social Media and Brand. It does tackle the tough question any leader needs to ask - value vs time trade off. It could have touched more on efficiency (how to get the value without the time) but that is not the purpose of the chapter.

The book is scattered throughout with great business quotes which of course I love. One of them - Jeff Bezos - founder of Amazon:

"A brand for a company is like a reputation for a person. You earn reputation by trying to do hard things well"

Great book. I liked it and have been a CEO for 30 years. I learned and was inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars All sizzle but no steak, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
This book represents what's wrong with publishing--and perhaps even America--today. Bates, a former local TV news personality with little or no real business experience, tells readers how to build their "CEO brand." One of her main bits of advice--tell your story. Really? No, definitely not. The typical small businessperson or entrepreneur can't tell "his (or her) story" in order to build a business. In fact, if the average person did as Bates suggests, he wouldn't attract business and might even get laughed at. There are too many folks like Bates out there--all sizzle but no steak. As for the folks who bought this book and gave it rave reviews, they are either the author's friends, motivational speakers as she is, or incredibly gullible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Taking Your CEO Brand to the Next Level - A Step by Step Process, April 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
The sub-title itself, Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value As A Leader, jumped right out at me. I don't currently have a CEO role, but, aspire to someday run a company. This book added quite a few great gems to becoming a better leader. Suzanne Bates has taken the step-by-step approach and provided a road map to this brand identification, development and use. One of the best chapters is Your CEO brand - The Story of You!! Well worth buying if you are in any type of leadership role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Leadership Stories, January 27, 2012
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
I really liked Discover Your CEO Brand because of its engaging stories about real leaders and its clear roadmap for building your personal brand. The author has a well-organized, breezy style and she carefully illustrates her points with examples. Interestingly, she also looks at the brand-damage that people like Martha Stewart, Tiger Woods, and HP's former CEO Mark Hurd did to themselves (the latter two, of course, should have asked themselves a very simple question: "If my actions reach the light of day, how will they affect the most important constituencies in my life?"). Set aside the word "CEO" in your mind because the truth is, everyone needs to cultivate their personal brand and reputation. You can no longer hide behind the brand of the company you work for, for a host of reasons. You will probably move around and work for several companies in your career, and in our low-trust culture people want to know what you stand for. Overall, a lovely book and a great guide to building your leadership brand in the marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Branding your company begins with branding you, October 13, 2011
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
Suzanne Bates' latest book, "Discover Your CEO Brand," is a powerful and pragmatic resource that is full of actionable steps to immediately clarify, enhance and accelerate your brand.

This book will help my clients - successful and driven entrepreneurs and business owners - to strengthen their brands, roles and effectiveness as leaders in their companies and their communities.

My favorite chapter is the "Ten Fast-Track Tips to Accelerate Brand Building" where busy executives and entrepreneurs can immediately identify and implement critical steps to build their brands.

Thanks, Suzanne, for creating a great resource that will help entrepreneurs and executives be more successful. I've ordered multiple copies to give to my clients!

Phil Symchych
President, SYMCO & CO. Management Consultants, [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Building blocks for your brand, October 11, 2011
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
In Discover Your CEO Brand, Suzanne Bates understands that as a leader today it's more important than ever to define your brand - and to do so by being your authentic self. You do not have to be a CEO or an executive to benefit from this message. This book shares insightful stories and is packed with valuable, must-do exercises that will help you set the building blocks for your brand. You will learn that, regardless of your title, identifying what you stand for as a brand and living up to that promise is what will ultimately determine your success. I've read all three of Bates' books and this is her best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amplify Your Company Value!, October 11, 2011
This review is from: Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader (Hardcover)
Creating a CEO brand isn't easy, as Suzanne Bates tells us in this, her 3rd book. That's because it's not just about having a little charisma or talent, it's instead about "discovering your CEO brand by channeling leadership qualities to amplify (your) company value." Once achieved, small and large companies alike will benefit from a CEO's brand, Suzanne maintains.

But how is it done? How does one surmount all the challenges and skillset learning curves? Fortunately this book shows us how!

Via step-by-step instructions and concrete examples, the book's chapters focus on such topics as:

Connecting with KEY audiences
Elevating your "leader profile"
Employing both traditional and new media TO YOUR ADVANTAGE
Attracting and keeping great talent
CREATING new business opportunities

... and a whole lot more.

Written in a lively and accessible style, the author does what she did in both her previous books: guide us up a most unique path toward achievement and prosperity, then help us maintain the proper attitude for keeping ourselves continually alive on that higher career and professional ground.

This book belongs on everyone's business success bookshelf. Purchase and read it NOW!

NOTE: A version of this review has been posted on my website: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ec5875c)

This product

Discover Your CEO Brand: Secrets to Embracing and Maximizing Your Unique Value as a Leader
$25.00 $17.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.