Prime Music

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $1.00 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music: Schumann (2006)

 NR |  DVD
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

List Price: $19.99
Price: $15.96 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $4.03 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, Oct. 27? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music: Schumann + Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music: Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E minor [DVD Video] + Discovering Masterpieces of Classical Music: Mozart's Symphony No. 41 [DVD Video]
Price for all three: $49.06

Buy the selected items together

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Product Details

  • Format: Multiple Formats, AC-3, Classical, Color, Dolby, DTS Surround Sound, NTSC
  • Language: German (Dolby Digital 5.1), German (DTS 5.1), German (PCM Stereo), English (Dolby Digital 5.1), English (DTS 5.1), English (PCM Stereo), French (Dolby Digital 5.1), French (DTS 5.1), French (PCM Stereo), Spanish (Dolby Digital 5.1), Spanish (DTS 5.1), Spanish (PCM Stereo)
  • Subtitles: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: EuroArts
  • DVD Release Date: January 1, 2009
  • Run Time: 63 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B000WXR4WW
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #457,984 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Special Features


Editorial Reviews

Martha Argerich performs with the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig conducted by Riccardo Chailly. Also included is a documentary.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
The performance on this DVD is the same one as on a concert DVD from the same artists: Schumann: Piano Concerto/Symphony No. 4 - Martha Argerich/Gewandhausorchester/Riccardo Chailly. The difference between them is that the concert DVD contains not only Schumann's piano concerto but also his Fourth Symphony plus his Adagio & Allegro brillante (arr. Tchaikovsky), 'Von fremden Ländern und Menschen' (encore, Argerich), and Four Pieces from 'Carnaval' (arr. Maurice Ravel for orchestra), and the present DVD presents only the Schumann Concerto but also includes a thirty-minute documentary on the concerto. So the reason to buy this one -- which is approximately the same price as the other DVD, at least at present -- is that one wants an analysis of the concerto plus information about Schumann and the origins and history of the concerto. I did learn some things about the concerto that I did not know -- and I'm very familiar with the work, having studied it in my playing days -- but I imagine the prospective buyer would need to factor in how much he or she wants to learn about it.

The performance, of course, is superb. Argerich is in top form and the Gewandhaus under their then-new conductor, Riccardo Chailly, play like angels. I was particularly struck by the lovely playing of the principal clarinetist; sometimes, among clarinetists, this work is known, humorously, as the Schumann Clarinet Concerto because of the importance of its part. I wrote a lengthier note about the concerto in my review for the concert disc mentioned above.

Picture Format: NTSC - 16:9; Sound: PCM stereo, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1; Languages: English, German, French, Spanish; Region: 0 (worldwide); Disc format: DVD 5; Timings: Documentary - 28 mins; Performance - 35 mins

Scott Morrison
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category