Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent discussion of what the models mean, March 16, 2005
By 
JVerkuilen (BAYSIDE, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If I could give this book six stars I would. It's simply one of the best statistics books I've ever read.

This book is very well-written by one of the experts in the field. It covers logit models and the various generalizations (GEV, mixed logit, probit, etc.) in detail, along with a thorough discussion of modern estimation of these models. What I find most useful about it is that the words-to-equations density is highly favorable. The equations you need are there, but the words you need are there too, making sure you understand the model assumptions inside and out. Each equation is explained thoroughly and the surrounding discussion probes the model to bring the reader to a critical understanding of what exactly is implied by the model. Too often complex statistical models are treated in a "black box" fashion. The dirty little secret is that it's easier for the author to do this. Train doesn't take the easy way out. The fact that his web site has truly excellent support--including a large number of webinars in addition to the more usual papers, software, etc.--makes this book a doubly valuable item. See [...] for even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best of its kind. Good for MS students and up, April 23, 2005
-Enjoyable read
-Does not assume PhD level of econometrics
-Explanations are clear and concise

Actually, an advanced undergrad may find this book usefull as well.
Is this the best discrete choice methods book ever published?
Let y = 1 or 0 where 1 = yes, this is the best and 0 = No, the book is not the best. Also let P = Prob (y=1). My results show P = 0.98 (see forthcoming Econometrica article).
While finishing a Master's Thesis in applied econ which focuses on a multinomial logit model, I have sought good info on this topic. Not having gone through the rigors of a PhD program, I have gone through many of the important books and articles which address discrete choice modeling methods some of which address a post-doc audience only. Dr. Train's is by far the best I have encountered. His explanations are concise yet not too dense (see Amemiya). I first encountered many of the concepts in other publications but did understand them until reading Train's book. In my opinion Train has that rare quality of being, not only an exceptional economist, but quite enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and thorough book, March 8, 2006
This book is one of the best for introduction to Discrete choice models. I had been using Ben-Akiva & Lerman, but feel this book should be read along with that one for a better understanding of choice models. Also, Train covers recent advances in the field and provides a good introduction to Halton draws. He really makes sure you get the concepts and the online lecture series are really excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Insightful Book, January 9, 2009
By 
Aren Megerdichian (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a previous reviewer has already stated, this may quite possibly be the best statistics/econometrics book. It's not a textbook with end-of-chapter problems covering hundreds of topics. It's more of an in-depth narrative on the single important subject of discrete choice models (e.g., logit, probit, and many advanced extensions). The reader should have a background in statistics at the level of Casella & Berger's text. So this book is great for researchers and graduate students in math, stats, engineering, and economics, but is probably too advanced for those in psych, polysci, and sociology. If you're even thinking about doing some sort of discrete choice analysis, this book is a must read. It's extremely insightful, and Train's ability to explain everything in both mathematical and non-technical terms is astonishing. Everytime I think to myself "I wonder what situation would fit here," Train never fails to give a concise, informative example. If his teaching style is anything like what is in this book, it may be worth taking a leave from UCSD to visit Berkeley for a semester just to take his class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Discrete Choice Methods with Simulation (Paperback)
Fantastic book even if you aren't actually that interested in logit, probit, etc. Just the crystal clear parts on numerical optimization and simulation are worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Discrete Choice Methods with Simulation (Paperback)
The book is excellent for guys on discrete choice models and analysis. It has good structure to show how model is developed and provides the estimation methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Customer, April 1, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enough math to solidify the explanation and enough text to make it readable. Very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Discrete Choice Methods with Simulation
Discrete Choice Methods with Simulation by Kenneth Train (Paperback - June 30, 2009)
$42.00 $37.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.