Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reason I bought a Vita!
If you like RPGs or just plain good quality and deep gameplay, along with an awesomely entertaining story, this is the game for you. I already own Disgae 3 for my PS3 but these types of games are much better suited for portable play IMO, so dont miss out on it.

The game initially may seem a bit daunting because of all the terms and stats you need to keep track...
Published on April 17, 2012 by Cwcastillo

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's not too bad
You have to be that kind of gamer who enjoys tactic game play, I am not that kind of gamer however the animation and story is really good, I love anime hell i make my own comic books.
Published 15 months ago by Jamie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reason I bought a Vita!, April 17, 2012
By 
Cwcastillo (Tegucigalpa, Honduras) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
If you like RPGs or just plain good quality and deep gameplay, along with an awesomely entertaining story, this is the game for you. I already own Disgae 3 for my PS3 but these types of games are much better suited for portable play IMO, so dont miss out on it.

The game initially may seem a bit daunting because of all the terms and stats you need to keep track off, along with the voting system on the school board, but you can easily ignore most of that and just play it at your own pace.

You can either plow throught the amazing and funny story in 20-30 hours or spend 200 hours maxing your party and grinding the item world to buff up all your gear, it really has something for everyone (provided of course you like strategy rpgs or at least rpgs in general).

Have fun and dont let your dad step on your SlayStation portable and lose the 1 million hours of gaming you put into it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic SRPG / RPG, April 18, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This game looks and runs great on the Vita and I highly recommend it to anyone that is a fan of SRPGs or RPGs in general. The touch screen features can be disabled for the most part and don't interfere with the game at all. Both modes work fine, but I prefer it to have controls like the PSP/PS3 versions and that option exists.

The sound is fantastic and the colors are vibrant. I think the best thing about playing this is that it doesn't feel like a port at all compared to playing some of the PSP games on the Vita from the PSN. The other nice thing is that this includes all of the DLC that came out from the PS3 version so there is a ton of content. This game will provide well over 70 hours of gameplay and will help keep us busy as the Vita software library is built up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Disgaea and Loving It!, June 7, 2012
By 
Overtech (United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This is actually my first Disgaea game, and I'm relatively new to the SRPG genre as well. I wasn't sure if I'd like a hardcore SRPG, but I figured this would be a good place to start since I wanted a new game for my Vita. I'm a huge fan of Japanese culture, games, and the language, so this game fits in perfectly with my tastes. That being said, I can't comment on the English voices because I haven't heard them. If you're like me, switch to Japanese before you start.

A player can jump into the game with little knowledge and be clearing maps relatively quickly. The basics of gameplay are all pretty simple, but then there's an entire league of depth below it for those who wish to go beyond the main story. This is a game you could play for the entire life of your Vita and still have things to do. Great for picking up and playing for 10 minutes or a few hours, whichever you prefer.

That being said, this game is all about numbers and filling bars. I can easily see a casual gamer being put off by it, but if you don't mind grinding levels and farming for that next big weapon, then this game delivers. I personally love the character growth the game offers.

If you're a fan of lighthearted stories, Japanese games, gear farming, and level grinding, this is one of the best. Now I'm already hoping they port Disgaea 4 to the Vita, too, because this is the ideal platform for these games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I enjoy Disgaea a lot, but sometimes the battles can take a bit too long and I don't always have time to finish, the portable versions have just been brilliant because at anytime you can slip the game into standby and resume whenever you want at the exact point. It's pretty much why I don't by the console versions anymore, I've just gotten really used to this feature.

About the game itself, it's the most expansive Disgaea I've played yet (not played 4 yet). The game while staying similar to previous games in the series expands on character growth and strategy by implementing a classroom system where characters seated next to another in a hub world will gain higher chances to team attack and more. The vita version expands upon this even more by giving generic characters have their own moves unique to their class rather than their weapon type that can really change the battles up. Character classes are numerous and hero classes are even more stacked with new characters in 3 from Disgaea 4.

They added a LOT to this game, all the DLC from the PS3 version, animated character portraits, new skills, more hero characters, it still has english & japanese & more, basically it's the perfect port with more content than the original.
It's a fantastic version and you can't go wrong. It's probably best to buy the hard copy since the game is about 3gb in size, yikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., August 13, 2013
By 
Chad12420 (West Coast USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I played the PS2 Disgaea for 1000+ hours and loved it. This has many new features and improvements. I really enjoy the way you can combo together skills now, the class room seating, teams, new classes, unique class skills (so classes don't become obsolete), new 3d geo panels, and the list goes on. If you liked any of the Disgaea games you can't not love this game. Massive content, endless stuff to do, very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing SRPG dood!, April 27, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This is a great RPG for the Vita. The overall story is amazing. I cant speak highly enough about the orginal story line. The gameplay is somewhat complex but with the starting tutorals you pick it up without any problems. The graphics pop off of the Vita's screen and it has such a great style. I see myself spending several hours on this game. If you enjoy RPG's this one is a must have for Vita owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Thing to Happen to the Vita Since Launch, April 22, 2012
By 
Jase Michel "Uncle J-Bunny" (Wheeler Army Airfield, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I'll write a more lengthy review in time, but for now, I just want to say how much I am enjoying this game.

This is exactly what the Vita has needed. I feel this should have been a launch title, but a month late is no problem (unless you're worried about pregnancy...). Since, other than Dungeon Hunter Alliance, there aren't any RPGs for the Vita, this, as an SRPG, fills that void nicely. Throw some PSP titles: Duodecim Dissidia Final Fantasy, Tactics Ogre, Final Fantasy Tactics, Hexyz Force, Cladun x2, Zettai Hero Project: Absolute Unlosing Ranger Versus Darkdeath Evilman (no; that's the real title), Knights in the Nightmare, and hell; even Disgaea 2 and you got yourself a nice little RPG machine!

The game looks good, sounds good, and has a few extra features that verterans of the series will appreciate. I'm not going to mention them simply out of spite. But I assure you, you'll enjoy this game.

One thing of note, since not all Vita games can do this; you CAN listen to your own music while playing this and turn down the BGM (not that it's bad, it's just that sometimes you need a some Bieber instead of Japanese synth rock/pop/jazz).

Pros:
*Voice acting
*Humor
*Sounds
*Animations
*Gameplay
*Tons of things to collect; and an ingame collection log.
*Even more mechanics than original D3.
*I've read that it includes all the DLC from D3 on PS3 - can't comment on this because I never got any nor do I know how to access it if it were there.
*Familiar faces.
*lots of customization options.
*A grinders dream!
*Well-balanced in-game economy

Cons:
*Same old same old (not NECESSARILY a bad thing though).
*Back touch controls can get in the way at times.
*Analog sticks are a bit too sensitive to use in the menus (you'll constantly accidentally switch between your item bag and warehouse)
*Price (same price for physical copy as for DDL - which you CAN'T just sell after throwing away 400 hours of your life on.
*takes a minute to boot up (load) but if you keep it open that won't even be an issue.
*Expository story sections get a bit lengthy at times.
*Some obvious translation errors (so far all I've noticed is that they keep mentioning the "quantity of Love" when, in context, they obviously mean "quality."). Not a big deal though.

Overall, this game just feels right on the Vita. If you remember how much fun D2 was on the PSP, you'll find a familiar friend in Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention. I'm sure I'm going to be sinking a gajillion hours into this. You should too. Be sure you have a big memory card if you download it though; It's 2087Mb. I'll write more later when I'm feeling froggy. Peace y'all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Tactical RPG Goes Portable, April 24, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Disgaea 3 originally dropped down onto the Playstation 3 in 2008. But like the other Disgaea games before it, the game eventually made its way to the handheld console. It's probably better this way. Tactical RPGs are sometimes just better on a handheld where you can play on the go, especially given how long some battles can be. It works. Disgaea 3, however, like the first two Disgaea's when they went portable, is a great game but not exactly one you'll need if you have it previously. That doesn't mean Disgaea 3 is a bad game by any means. It's totally not. It's a good game and still manages to do well. The only thing holding it back are, well, the same exact things that held it back before.

Disgaea 3 is about Mao. He's a student in school who has the best grades of the entire class and his father has just destroyed his favorite game system and data. He had so many hours invested in the game he was playing and now it's all lost. Mao decides to take revenge on his father for this. The story ends up being about more than this, but Disgaea has never been the kind of game to be taken, you know, seriously. A lot of what the game does is satire by poking fun at the video game medium itself and even a few other things (particularly heroes and villains). That's not to say the story doesn't have its snags. If anything, Disgaea 3 comes off as the most juvenile of the lot. We've gone from being in the underworld senate to being in a classroom and some of the plot points are more annoying than charming and funny. It's not that the story is really all that bad, it's that it suffers from some of the typical JRPG tropes that the first Disgaea was more than happy to make fun of and more than happy to avoid in the confines of the stories more lavish moments. The story here is predictable and the writing doesn't fair much better. The other Disgaea games (four included) are a lot more amusing in the story telling department. This shouldn't mean Disgaea 3 isn't entertaining. The voice acting is grossly and comically exaggerated, the characters are still fun and there's still a lot to do. And it's ultimately the gameplay that keeps it strong.

Battling in Disgaea 3 is no different than it was in the previous games. You move characters around the battlefield executing attacks. Disgaea has always had a huge emphasis on strategy mainly because of the Geo Panels. Depending on the placement of Geo Panels and the placement of Geo Blocks, characters can be granted certain bonuses ranging from an attack boost to even some that aren't going to help you at all such a hindrance to your defense. Disgaea 3 also brings back the bonus gauge where after a battle you can get certain bonuses depending on how much damage you've done or how many panels you've destroyed. Even by the third installment, the Geo Panels system manages to be unique. The Geo Panels also help to make a difference in your strategy. You'll find your level doesn't mean much if the enemy you're facing has a huge boost by the Geo Panel he's standing on.

Disgaea 3 also keeps the level cap incredibly high. You can go all the way up to level 9999. It might seem like the game puts more emphasis on level and brute force, but chances are you'll find there's still a lot of strategy involved in the game, and that's mainly because there's so much outside of the story to do, and the Geo Panels provide a neat puzzle element to the game.

Getting through the game itself isn't always easy as it eventually offers up a lot for the player to do. You can easily go into the item world to make items more powerful. There is also a Class World you can go into to make characters stronger and teach them abilities they might not have known. Getting through the main story in Disgaea 3 is manageable, but to really get into the heart of Disgaea requires the player to really dive and learn the complex systems of the game. And because Disgaea rarely seems to limit the player to anything, that is a lot of experimenting and exploring for the player to do. Enemies (and you) can have millions of hit points. You can literally do billions of hit points of damage. On the surface this doesn't sound like much, but to be able to do this requires players to really sit down, grind and learn Disgaea's complexities. Otherwise many of the game's bonuses which come up after the story are hard to succeed in. And Disgaea is more than willing to punish those who don't grasp the system after some time. Especially because it continues to add on extra layers as things progress. The experience definitely doesn't get old any time fast, but patience will be required of the player in some instances.

As I said, Disgaea 3 suffers from pretty much the same problems it did before. It doesn't look any different than the previous two games despite being on a more powerful system... but that's not really anything to get upset about. The sprites are still detailed and have character and that's a bit more important than just being shiny. What IS starting to show it's age and get outdated is the camera. You can turn it and view the battle from different angles, but there are going to be maps where the environment is going to get in the way and block certain charactrs or enemies or maybe even paths. The fact that you can only change the angle might be something Disgaea has to change. It's not likely to stop you from having fun, but on some maps it can be annoying.

Aside from those issues there isn't really a whole lot that keeps Disgaea 3 down. It's still fun, it still has many of the things that make Disgaea unique. The Playstation Vita release even has new content that isn't in the original game. If you're into tactical RPGs and you, for some reason, haven't played Disgaea 3... then by all means play this. This is by far the better version of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Disgaea on your portables you have probably already bought this :P, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
SRPGs aren't for everyone, I personally love them and Disgaea has consistently brought its own charm to the genera. I loved 1 & 2 on the PSP and the fact that Disgaea 3 was coming to the Vita is the reason I decided to get a Vita. So far I am not disappointed :)

If you are new to the series for the most part each game stands alone. There are some cameo appearances by characters from previous Disgaea and non Disgaea games. Those tend to be more of a fun nod to fans. So you don't need to worry about needing a PHD in some overarching story that spans the previous games to enjoy Disgaea 3. The one real constant is that there will be Prinnies, they will say "dood" and they will explode when tossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This is a very exciting game play. There is great for exploring, lots of worlds. Interesting characters, and fine animation. A great RPG!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita
Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention - PlayStation Vita by NIS America (PlayStation Vita)
$39.99 $30.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.