Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars $40 is definitely worth the return, August 15, 2014
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
EDIT: 10/24/14

I was going to update my review if and when they decided to patch/fix the issues, but no, the issues are still present and although the main mod there has said "they are aware of the issues" they haven't announced any patch/fix. Guess I'll leave this update here just so anyone who sees this knows. I'll edit this if and when they announce a fix, of course.

EDIT: 8/28/14

Just as a heads up for anyone who's still bothering to read reviews before purchasing this game; in addition to the framerate issue I addressed in the original review, there are a few other issues that me and many others are experiencing.

-Using a Baciel with the "Youthful" personality will crash the game. This is only a problem in the english track as playing the game in Japanese does not crash the game when you use this certain Baciel personality. It seems to be a buggy sound file that presumably fails to be fetched, and crashes the game. (This is the major issue people are having.)
-According to some people, the game crashes when pirates invade (this is not mentioned enough for me to distinguish it as a "major" issue.)
-If you decide to delete a DLC character from your party the following message appears: "(Insert DLC character's name) is
if you watch the event again. on the initial level rejoin your party" This is garbled to all hell, but it is not gamebreaking in any way shape or form. It only seems to be a really bad forced translation.
-Sometimes a "H" will appear in textboxes for no apparent reason, again not gamebreaking, but noticeable when it happens, rare as it is.

These are issues I'm currently aware of; if any other issues come to my attention I'll update this review accordingly. My score still stands 4 out of 5, but if this was a 10 scale I'd drop it from an 8.75 to an 8: crashes are a big problem for any game to have. I can live with the occasional crappy framerate, but not crashes. Thankfully, the crashes are not nearly as bad as Disgaea D2's were. NISA needs to get their heads in the game, this is the 5th consecutive game that has had issues.

I'm not sure this is necessary for me to mention, but my original review is aimed towards people who have played this series before, and I feel that I didn't really get through to people who haven't played a Disgaea game before. Maybe that's just me overthinking things, but if you feel like I didn't answer your question just leave a comment and I'll answer it to the best of my knowledge. Thanks for reading this far and check out the actual review I gave for the game below.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: 8/15/14

I've played every Disgaea game, and I can say that Disgaea 4 back when it released on the Playstation 3, was the one of the best in the series. Disgaea D2 takes my top spot just because of streamlined combat and menus on it; while some people hate it, I personally loved it and beat it to 100%. Disgaea 4 on the Vita (as every port does) tries to bring in some new features and content to justify buying it a second time. This game is worth it alone just for the all the DLC and extra new scenario that comes with it. While I didn't buy it on Amazon, (I bought it from NISA themselves) I've been playing ever since I got it and have been enjoying my return to D4. I will admit that I do miss Troy Baker's act for Valvatorez, but Matt Mercer's act was not bad. Matt Mercer only voices Valvatorez in the new extra scenario "Time Leap".

Here's some of the new content I've noticed D4: A Promise Revisited has:
-The Cheat Shop à la Disgaea D2. While the cheat shop does let you change EXP/Mana/HL growth, it does not seem to have the abiity to change game modes (i.e. LoC/Rasetsu)which is a shame because unlocking LoC in D4 is tedious in my opinion.
-There is an event shop in the base. Just like in Disgaea D2, you can view story events and endings here.
-If you have Disgaea 3 save files on your Vita, you can recruit Rutile and Stella as playable characters. Both of them have the same base stats and evilities as they did in Disgaea 3.
-The item bag has a limit of 64. (Which helps alot if you don't like cluttering things in the warehouse)
-The warehouse has a limit of 999. (I doubt you'll ever use up all 999 spaces, but it's good that you never have to worry)
-If you move your unit you can move them again as long as you don't go over the movement range of said unit.
-Peta magic is back.

I spent 600+ hours on the original D4 so I can say without a doubt that this version in terms of features is vastly superior to the original. However, I knocked off one star from my review because of one major issue I'm having with this port. This game tanks so damn much in framerate to the point where it's visually unappealing to me. Imagine moving your cursor to one (and sometimes a whole area) specific point in the map and everything slows down; the sprite animations, the cursor, menu navigation, you name it. This may just be me experiencing this, but that's enough for me to not be able to fully enjoy the game.

Take my previous statement with a grain of salt if you have to, but nonetheless this game is definitely worth your money if you enjoy this series or SRPGs in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive version, August 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
I haven't gotten very far, but the story is just as crazy as previous Disgaea entries. Also IF you have a save file for D3 you can recruit Rutile and Stella. All the DLC from the PS3 version is also included as post-game content. I find waiting for the handheld ports is worth it because you get all the DLC for free.

-Graphics: 4/5

The sprites are hi-res, don't think they were on Disgaea 3 for Vita. The attack animations also seem better.

-Sound/VA: 5/5

The English VA is good, but you can change it to JP audio as well.

-Characters: 5/5

D4's cast is certainly more likable than D3's, Rasberyl was probably my favorite, though Mao is far less interesting than Valvatorez.

-Gameplay: 4/5

If you've played a Disgaea game you'll know what to expect, there's still "move, attack, special, lift, defend, and item" during battles, and magichange. However now monster types can fuse, except Prinnies in battle.

Outside of battle you can do new things:
1. Cheat Shop - Here you can modify the percentage for EXP, HL, and Mana, and enemy difficulty
2. Cam-pain HQ/Senate/Support Group - The Cam-pain HQ is the equivalent of the classroom in D3 however, its been revamped with many new features. Senate is essentially where you do bill votes
3.Chara World - Random dungeons (Not unlocked right away)
4. Data shop, Memory Shop, and Music Room
5. Netherbattle Tournament
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A standout surprise, October 24, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
For a strategy RPG fan, this is a must play. The gameplay mechanics are incredibly evolved and refined by this version and there are more features than you'll know what to do with.

Comparing it to games like Tactics Ogre, Fire Emblem, and FF Tactics are apt comparisons with the exception of the level of seriousness. Disgaea 4 does not take itself very serious and I found that pretty refreshing. The dialog is constantly humorous and the plot is entertaining.

I had not played a prior Disgaea but I'm excited for Disgaea 5 now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any PS Vita owner!, August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
Finally it's here! For those who have never played the disgaea games but enjoy the rpg and jrpg genre, Disgaea is must buy!
Originally released for the ps3, this ps vita port comes with all the dlc of the original without sacrificing anything we love about the disgaea series!
Hours of fun in the story! Days of fun in the character leveling, customization, and item world, all with the outrageous Lv 9999 character cap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Solid Disgaea Game, November 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
Nippon Ichi has made itself known for its deep tactical RPGs despite their humble beginnings with the polarizing Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure on the Sony PlayStation. It has become tradition for them, furthermore, to port titles of their chief Disgaea series to Sony’s portable systems, with the first and second Disgaeas receiving PlayStation Portable editions with added content, the third game originally for the PlayStation 3 receiving a port to the PlayStation Vita. Unsurprisingly, therefore, the announcement of Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited for the PSVita came as little surprise to the gaming community, providing an experience on par with its predecessors.

Like previous Disgaea entries, the fourth title features a deep tactical battle system with endless character and monster classes from which to create at the game’s hub town. In battle, the player can summon up to ten characters from a base panel, with a Game Over coming if the player has lost ten characters in combat, and while the player has several options from which to choose in this situation, such as retrying the battle, going back to the hub town, or returning to the title screen, any of them doesn’t preserve the levels the player’s characters gained in the lost battle like the third entry, providing a greater degree of difficulty akin to the first and second games that handled death the same way.

Fortunately, the Item World, coupled with at least one Mr. Gency’s Exit if the player reaches a tight situation there, makes for a decent, somewhat enjoyable grinding experience for the primary storyline battles, many of which require some sort of strategy, typically involving Geo Cubes that provide beneficial/detrimental effects to the player’s characters and/or the enemy, to overcome. Some of these battles can certainly be annoying, although they are by no means cheap, and coupled with skill boosting and the ability to promote characters to more powerful versions of their current classes outside battle, the fourth game’s battle engine makes for a fun experience.

Control hardly leaves room for improvement, with easy menus and character management, although there is no in-game clock to measure playing time, necessitating the use of a stopwatch should players wish to do so, and the game may crash occasionally, although some updates to the fourth game have since seen release since this reviewer began his playthrough.

As with its predecessors, Disgaea 4 features a superb comical storyline, this time revolving around a sardine-loving vampire named Valvatorez and the allies he gains during his quest, comical scenes in between missions adding another touch of humor while supplementing occasional trivia about the Japanese language, particularly with relation to sardines. The storyline script is generally free of error, and ultimately, the plot helps the game far more than hurts.

The same goes for the soundtrack and voice acting, in spite of some recycled tracks from prior series entries and some unusual battle dialogue such as Valvatorez shouting “Sardines!” when performing certain attacks.

The visuals too show more polish than usual for a Nippon Ichi title, with the character and enemy sprites in particular looking marvelous in spite of some slightly-choppy animation, although the environments hardly show any bland texturing, and many cutscenes rely on animated character portraits to do the job, accounting for an excellent-looking game.

Finally, completing the main storyline can take anywhere from thirty-five to fifty hours, although like its predecessors, the fourth entry features plenty of content and achievement trophies to pad out playing time even more. Overall, Disgaea 4 is another solid tactical RPG offering worthy of its ancestors’ moniker, what with its deep, engaging battle system, tight control, humorous narrative, excellent sound, and polished visuals. Admittedly, those that typically don’t enjoy tactical RPGs might not appreciate the depth of its mechanics, and may find the third entry to be more accessible due to its anti-frustration feature involving slaps on the wrist that accompany Game Overs, but even so, series fans are sure to take delight that the fourth entry very well builds upon prior entries’ mechanics.

The Good:
+Deep Disgaea battle mechanics.
+Great control.
+Superb story.
+Nice soundtrack.
+Polished visuals.

The Bad:
-Doesn’t include third game’s anti-frustration feature.
-No in-game clock.
-May crash occasionally

The Bottom Line:
Another solid Disgaea game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the story was better than the third series entry, September 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
This game is everything I've ever wanted in a Portable Disgaea.
the Cheat system replaces alot of the functions previously only available after passing the senate bill for said function. This makes things infinitely more streamlined, even though it doesn't make anything easier. It just removes a step by turning into a "unlock via reward" system.

As for Disgaea 4 itself, the story was better than the third series entry, and I'd place this at second or even first, except the overuse of Sardines as a punchline. It even got meta when in-game they would start complaining about the overuse of Sardines too. Unnecessary and repetitive, but does not detract from the game. If anything, it only characterizes the lead, Valvatorez, as this bumbling fool who jumbled up his marbles at some point after quitting human blood. So it kind of works, but you've got to let it work in your own "head canon".

The only thing that I wish the Portable release had was the option for low res graphics. The lack of the option didn't make the game any less awesome so it's not going to lessen the rating for me.

I'm just excited for Disgaea D2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SARDINES!!, September 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
Just as expected i'm sinking lot and lots of hours into this game. So if you aren't willing to sacrifice your freetime for a game you can restart over and over just stick to the main story, which is hilarious and as a nice change after Disgaea 3 you have a nice main hero who isn't completely insane. He just likes sardines. A lot.

For those willing to spend more time on leveling for the side stuff, bonus maps and other challenges, this game offers even more of those than the ones before.

As a nice addition in regards to Disgaea 3 you have the "Cheat Shop" which makes power leveling easier, as it allows you to make enemies stronger and gain more EXP and mana.

This VITA port also contains all the DLC of the PS3 version, which saves money in hindsight^^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sardine Greatness, September 22, 2014
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
I love this franchise to death the humor the epicness that they deliver right before a big battle it's the perfect mixture of light heartedness and seriousness at the same time. There's a great amount of replay value as with every Disgaea game once you finish the main story you have the post game which introduces the secret characters all the dlc from the original disgaea 4 the cheat shop allows you to make things even harder hence why there's replay value. Overall it's great as a game I know about the bugs well only the baciel 1 since it happened to me eh not a big deal can't wait for disgaea 5!..oh and SARDINES! Eat lots and lots of SARDINES!!! Playing this game :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game don't have to play the other ones in ..., October 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
Great game don't have to play the other ones in the series to know what is going on. Story could have been stronger overall best Disgaea since Disgaea 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful graphics and amazing gameplay, September 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition (Video Game)
Beautiful graphics and amazing gameplay! What more can you ask for? Oh and it's hilarious too! I love this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Disgaea 4: A Promise Revisited - PlayStation Vita Standard Edition
$39.99 $29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.