Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Worth the money and multiple playthroughs.
Great game style. I like the kinds of games that tastefully mix weapons and "supernatural" powers. So the game play is on par with Bioshock, Mass Effect, and Singularity. The GOTY version is worth the extra money, too. The DLC content is the equivalent of another game and it's very good. The powers in the game are interesting and you can exploit combinations...
Published 10 months ago by milp

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Combat. Fun Powers. Cartoony Graphics.
This is a good game, but it is not the game-changer many have touted it to be. I am obviously in the minority here, but truthfully the game is not THAT much fun. I can take it in small chunks at a time. And I think I know why . . .

The graphics are pretty very good, if not cartoonish. But in a good way, like the classic Timesplitters series. You get an oil...
Published 4 months ago by Zalmorion the Fantastic


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Worth the money and multiple playthroughs., November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Great game style. I like the kinds of games that tastefully mix weapons and "supernatural" powers. So the game play is on par with Bioshock, Mass Effect, and Singularity. The GOTY version is worth the extra money, too. The DLC content is the equivalent of another game and it's very good. The powers in the game are interesting and you can exploit combinations to make for more interesting game play. Stopping time, teleporting behind someone, and killing them never got old! However, the power consumption was very expensive and I felt like this actually deincentivized their use. I know that the game makers probably wanted some means of bottlenecking power use so that the game wasn't too easy, but I felt like I did a lot of waiting in the game to let my mana recharge. I hope that, if they franchise this game, they make power use much less costly in the future.

The story is interesting but not the most mind-blowing or intricate one date. It's no Mass Effect 2 or Bioshock. Take the game for what it is. It's a Victorian-era sneak-and-kill game with steam punk and supernatural elements thrown in. That it makes it pretty exciting. The game and the DLC are also definitely worth multiple playthroughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stealth Game That Defined a Generation, November 17, 2013
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Dishonored was hands down my favorite game of 2012, so it was a no-brainer to purchase the Game of the Year Edition with all of the downloadable add-ons that were released individually on Xbox Live. I originally posted a review for Dishonored last year but I felt the need to give a review on this release since there aren't many up on Amazon. Needless to say, if you're a Dishonored fan already or interested in this game for the first time, this is the version you want. For people who still own Dishonored, this version isn't compatible with your old save, however that's par for the course for Game of the Year Editions.

As for the game itself, this is the same game many people have come to know and love, but now it's just more of it. The stealth gameplay is still best in class, offering old school Thief style gameplay with tremendous art direction from the art director of Half-Life 2's City 17. Both stealth and combat feel fluid, allowing you to play without feeling like the controls are fighting against you, which is important in a game that relies so heavily on the controls during tense stealth segments. This game is totally doable and enjoyable as a stealth and action game, so I'd honestly recommend playing through at least twice.

Since I hinted at the art direction earlier, this game is simply stunning to look at. Not only is it beautiful, it's also very atmospheric. While it has an atmosphere all its own, I haven't been this immersed in a game world since Bioshock's Rapture, Half-Life 2's City 17, and the most recent, Bioshock Infinite's Columbia. It's not only a beautifully constructed game environment, but one that immerses you in it and makes you want to stay in it for as long as possible.

As for the add ons, they come on a separate disc, so no lousy download codes here. Kudos to developers/publishers that do this! The best reason to get this version of the game is for the add-on content, but you'll want it the most for The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches, which are the two premiere pieces of content for the game. Both are story-driven and give you more of what any Dishonored fan wants out of Dishonored. The other content is what it is, but the two I just mentioned are the showstoppers.

I bought this again simply because I like to own all of the content on discs, because I never know what'll happen with digital content years down the road. This game is so good that it deserves to be on disc for preservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game!, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I bought this game not knowing much about it and I am glad I did! This is a game worth the money and its not too expensive while giving a hefty amount of gameplay. I recommend buying this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative, challenging and fun!, February 12, 2014
By 
Remy LeBeau (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I've played Dishonored when it first came out and then I've waited until this edition would come out to play again.

I've played two add-ons so far and they are really good. Not as long as the main story but still a well told story.

Think you can beat any shooting game going Rambo mode? Try doing this in Dishonored!
As your enemies see you, they may trigger an alarm and then it will rain enemies from everywhere.

PROs:
- more than one way/path to accomplish one mission
- difficult mode can make the game really challenging
- playing the "same" story from two different perspectives is really fun
- AI does a pretty good job making most enemies smart

CONs:
- graphics are not the very best you will find in other games
- add-ons could have more new powers/items/weapons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Year, December 24, 2013
By 
Mentat (Virginia Beach, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I mainly play shooters; so bought Dishonored based on Amazon reviews. Was surprised to find out it was the best game I've played in the last couple years. Dishonored is on the par with the original Bioshock and Death Space. I've played it first as a shooter and latter in stealth mode. Finishing whole game or DLCs not being discovered and without kills is very challenging. The story is solid, action rewarding, and the whole game's decor is like a museum painting.

The GOTY edition includes 3 additional DLC missions. First DLC is "Dunwall City Trial" with ten achievements bringing 806 Gamers Points (GPs). The other two are played as Daud, the assassin that kills the empress in the original game. Those are "The Knife of Dunwall" which brings in 10 achievements worth 543 GP and "The Brigmore Witches" worth another 10 with 670 points. If you like shooters, give Dishonored a chance, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Money, April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The main game in Dishonored is fun by itself, but if you include the DLC and the poster, you have the perfect Dunwall experience. Corvo is the perfect type of protagonist for this type of game, as he has no dialogue aside from the written patches during choice making sequences or entering the shop. Daud has the perfect blend of assassin mixed with redemption-seeking cult leader.

In the main game if you read every note you pick up, you learn the politics, economics, and the general society of Dunwall. The audiographs give you such a realistic interpretation of the events that transpired inside whatever room you're in at the time.

The powers can be lackluster at times, especially the Bend Time whenever you need to really get somewhere and that's the only option you can think of. The power only lasts at most around 15 seconds, maybe even less. As a challenge mechanic it's wonderful, but for practicality, it could use some work.

The combat mechanics are superb with the proper upgrades and reaction times. The sword fighting could be improved for a little more realism as could the actual fighting mechanics of the AI, but kudos to Arkane Studios for giving it their best bet.

All in all, the game is excellent for those who like stealth/RPG-lite games. Steampunk people will love it. The lore is very diverse and offers many paths to learning about the world. I highly recommend buying this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Not only is dishonored a great game but buying the game of the year addition which includes all of the downloaded content makes it worth the price. I loved the main game because you can choose to either kill everyone or spare their lives, and it changes how the whole game turns out especially toward the end of the game. This also includes the story of Daud which is also interesting too not as good as the main story of course but good for extra content and gives you a fairly long amount of play time.

the flaws can be fairly minor like the main campaign was enjoyable just wish it was a little longer so i could enjoy the game a bit more. The graphics could have been a bit better because if they were it would make the executions in the game much more intense and cool but the game still does look nice just could have looked a little better.

As i said really good game for anyone that likes stealth or for someone that likes going in weapons blazing hell there's even achievements for doing an all stealth game in which case the feature of being able to save anytime during the game and anywhere in the game is most useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better late than never!, August 2, 2014
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I picked this game up just the other day for a around $5 on Xbox Live (it's free next week with GwG August 16th, but I figured there's no reason not to support the devs). The bottom line: It's an excellent game, voice work is great, atmosphere is excellent (steam punk design is beautiful), game play is fluid and engrossing. Apparently some of the developers who worked on both Half Life 2 and Bioshock helped to make this, and it's very apparent in the world design and atmosphere. I'm enjoying quite a lot, more so than I expected, and I really can't imagine why I skipped out on this game the first time around. I would very highly recommend to anyone who likes steam punk or stealth games, there's a surprising amount of variety in how you deal with/maneuver each level which could lead to some replayability. Once in a while there's a small game glitch, the rare game freeze, and other small issues but so far nothing game-breaking. Oddly though, the game can only keep up with up to 5 unconscious bodies in a level; additional bodies simply disappear, but this hardly an issue. Over all, very fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I was looking at a couple different games to possibly purchase and after watching IGN's (I believe) game review on YouTube I decided to purchase Dishonored over Far Cry 3 and Bio Shock.

When the game arrived I didn't think it'd be as much fun as…Far Cry 3 might of been, but I was completely wrong.

In the beginning of the game if you aren't careful and reading/seeing everything that is put out for you to read or to use, it can be a bit difficult to get use to. That aside, Bethesda definately provided on this game.

Fallout is great, I love Fallout, it's my favourite game, but the graphics in Dishonoured, are by far, superior in comparison, along with how much you're expected to do in the game. You start off as the guard for the, "royal," family, but are soon stripped of that title and thrown into prison, only to be broken out in the hopes of gaining your title back.

With the DLC's in the Game of the Year edition of Dishonored, you get two campaigns you can play through versus only one.
The first campaign you play as Corvo, the guard for the royal family whil the 2nd campaign has you playing as the antagonist of the main story line.

I would definitely recommend and have recommended this game to others; if you're having doubts about this being a fun play, don't. Buy it and try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shall we gather for whiskey and cigars tonight?, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is a great game with many options for gameplay and outcomes. With elements of Assassin's Creed mixed with elements of Bioshock, but yet completely original in its own right, I have enjoyed Dishonored immensely. You get the opportunity to earn supernatural powers such as teleportation and seeing through walls, even summoning swarms of enemy-devouring rats. Two of the DLC's included with the Game of the Year version offer yet more gameplay that adds to the central story, but through a crucial but peripheral character. If you like true stealth games or first person combat games with a free-roam world feeling and 2-axis controls, you will love this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition - Xbox 360
$19.99 $15.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.