Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gaming for Disney fans of all ages
I've been spending a lot of time with this game since its launch and have been enjoying it immensely. A few points on the game:

1. This, like the previous Epic Mickey game, is a treasure trove for any big fan of Disney. The characters and settings are full of familiar favorites as well as good deal of little-known history.
2. Oswald the Lucky Rabbit serves...
Published 23 months ago by J. Grant

versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Game
In terms of what's there, this game is pretty good. I didn't find the camera or AI issues quite as troublesome as some, though getting individual quests or tasks to advance can be absurdly finicky at times. But, now that Junction Point is shuttered, ex-staffers are confirming that Epic Mickey 2 is unfinished: that they experienced a mad crunch as the deadline...
Published 20 months ago by DE Kempke


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gaming for Disney fans of all ages, November 19, 2012
By 
J. Grant (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I've been spending a lot of time with this game since its launch and have been enjoying it immensely. A few points on the game:

1. This, like the previous Epic Mickey game, is a treasure trove for any big fan of Disney. The characters and settings are full of familiar favorites as well as good deal of little-known history.
2. Oswald the Lucky Rabbit serves as Mickey's ever-present partner this time around. Another player can jump in and control him, and if only one player is playing, he is controlled by the computer.
3. The decisions you make and the way you play the game do have an effect on the game world this time. For instance, if you're abusive to the characters by jumping on their heads too much, they will act more apprehensive toward you as a result.
4. Another feature which I think makes this a great game for younger kids is that "combat" is few and far between, and confrontations can be resolved without violence. For instance, Mickey paints characters with his brush to make them friendly, or uses it to merely thin them away.
5. The two character gameplay also places a focus on collaboration. Both the characters' abilities are necessary to advance in the game.
6. There are a couple of neat peripherals available for the Wii version of the game: PDP Epic Mickey 2 Mickey's Paintbrush for Wii and PDP Epic Mickey 2 Oswald's Clicker for Wii.

Overall, a fun game with some nice elements for young players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfinished Game, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
In terms of what's there, this game is pretty good. I didn't find the camera or AI issues quite as troublesome as some, though getting individual quests or tasks to advance can be absurdly finicky at times. But, now that Junction Point is shuttered, ex-staffers are confirming that Epic Mickey 2 is unfinished: that they experienced a mad crunch as the deadline approached, and roughly half of the planned game was jettisoned while a crude, slapped-together ending was quickly substituted in its place. If anyone is wondering why they are still wandering around the game after the final boss fight, why there are so many weird unresolved plot threads, why there are weird false starts and mixed messages after the final credits roll, and why there is no closure at all, this is why. The original took around 10-12 hours of gameplay to finish, this one can be done in under three. It's not just a poor or unsatisfying game, its a game that is incomplete, missing a huge chunk of its gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun yet unsatisfying. (Possible minor spoilers), December 5, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
First, let me say that this game was fun while it lasted. The voice acting is a very nice touch, the locations visited are wonderfully chosen and artistically designed and side quests abound. That said, after completing the main story line I feel as though I've played through the first half of a great game, despite a few glitches and those deadly camera angles.

My wife and I loved the first Epic Mickey game. We've both played through it multiple times, loving the challenge, the Disneyness and the unique game mechanics. For me, the best part was the ending. The number of times you think you've won only to have another, bigger challenge thrust upon you was exhilarating.

Which is precisely why I find Epic Mickey 2 less satisfying. Between a lousy final boss whose best weapon is the camera (not to mention a glitch that made him sink into the floor and never return, leaving Oswald and Mickey alone to commit seppuku and start the battle over)and a final level which pales in comparison to any of the final 3 levels of the first game in terms of depth and challenge, the conclusion really doesn't measure up to the pattern established by the first.

Also, a few words need to be said about Oswald's AI versus playing two-player. Most of the time, the game is much easier and more fun with two players because Oswald's AI is often terrible. At least twice in every level (and generally at least once in every side quest), I found myself asking my wife to put the baby down for a minute to help me or, when she was unavailable, trying to manipulate two controllers simultaneously because I just couldn't get Oswald to get his rear in gear to do something obvious. He has the ability to revive you with his remote but he almost never does except during boss fights and only sporadically at that. If you're having a hard time getting through a level or reaching a bonus item on a ledge, call a buddy to take over for the virtually useless Oswald AI.

On the other hand, if you're having trouble with a boss fight and you're playing 2-player, you should probably let the second player take a break. During boss fights, computer-controlled Oswald can do things which are impossible for a player to do, such as targeting something when he has no line of sight to it. Other than the last one (and that one only maybe), boss fights are much easier when left in the computer's care.

All of that said, I did enjoy the game and will still play through it again to see alternate paths and collect all the side stuff. Had I realized I was only getting half of a game, though, I might have waited for the price to come down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Poor Camera Angles, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
If you are a Disney fan, than this game is for you. My wife and I bought this game and the Osward Remote (okay buy) and Mickey Paintbrush (great buy) controllers for my niece who loves everything about Disney. This game offers many great qualities, but also a few flaws. The good qualities consist of a colorful world the takes your beloved characters through 3D and 2D settings of present and past Disney cartoons and worlds. However, the biggest flaw would consist of the camera angles. It gets so bad at times you start to get dizzy. We have played similar games in the past, but sadly, this one is really lacking in the ability to move with the character in terms of your digital surroundings. The other issue is the game has a few glitches. More than once we had to restart the game for her because Mickey was stuck in a rock wall, or on the side of a building/cliff, or even halfway in the ground. This was not a major issue since the game saves all progress frequently, but it is still an issue you should know about. Also, this game is all about making choices which directly effects certain outcomes, but more than once I noticed how if you don't please every character in the game (which sometimes is impossible in both want the same thing), the character that doesn't get their way degrades you with verbal guilt trips and continuously makes the player feel sorry for them. I know my niece did not like that aspect since she really was trying to help everyone. In addition, my niece found it more difficult playing with 1 person, rather than with 2 players. After watching her play, we noticed that the secondary character, Oswald, frequently is not where you need him, even when you call him. There where multiple times she had to dilute/kill Mickey to restart the level so Oswald would follow her. In the case of multiple (2 players), this issue is solved since the second player controls where he is and when. However, be eared that playing as Oswald can kind of be boring since Mickey needs to do all the main tasks to progress most levels. However, he is fun to fly around with. Overall, it is a great game for your Disney fan, but please note there are flaws. I hope this review helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves it!, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This was a gift for my daughter, and she absolutely loves it. Definitely would recommend this Wii game to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Mickey and the gand, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
We had Mickey ! so I bought the second one. It talks so the kids don't have to try and read the screen. The only thing I can say in the negative is I don't like the split screen. I wish both characters could be on one screen like the Indiana Jones game. It is harder to follow on split screen.

Looking forward to more Disney games. They are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I enjoy this game a lot. It's very fun with two people. The only problem is me. I get mention sickness when playing two players and that's bc they made the screens go side by side instead of top and bottom. This isn't the fault of the game but I thought others would like to know if they have the same problem. Over all great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, January 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Love the graphics and the adventures that Mickey and Oswald take. I love the fact that the decisions you make in the game changes the story so you can play again and again and see something new. If you liked Epic Mickey 1, you'll love Epic Mickey 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
works great and in great shape= box and cover in great shape no complaints...love this game kids love it- good deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy X2, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Along with the remote paint brush this game is a hit with my little brother.. Making plans to get him the first game for his birthday in January...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two - Nintendo Wii
$19.99 $8.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.