Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STREET RACING: THE ...JERRY BRUCKHEIMER VERSION!
A combination made in heaven. This was like when I watched the movie SNAKES ON A PLANE, my reaction was: of course, why did no one ever think of this before?!

There is a great number of driving and racing games, some better than others. There is even a number of shooting&driving games. However, SPLIT/SECOND is a breed on its own.
When was the last time you...
Published on May 18, 2010 by NeuroSplicer

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating display setup - doesn't play well with multiple monitors! (At first...)
I just received my pre-ordered copy of Split/Second today.
I had a big problem with configuring the display options in the game.

If you have a multi-monitor display setup, do yourself a favor and disable the extra monitors before starting the game for the first time. Get in, change the game resolution to match the native resolution of your monitor, and...
Published on May 24, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STREET RACING: THE ...JERRY BRUCKHEIMER VERSION!, May 18, 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
A combination made in heaven. This was like when I watched the movie SNAKES ON A PLANE, my reaction was: of course, why did no one ever think of this before?!

There is a great number of driving and racing games, some better than others. There is even a number of shooting&driving games. However, SPLIT/SECOND is a breed on its own.
When was the last time you had to race a collapsing overpass, dodge the load of an out-of-control crane or a wrecking ball, drive under a crash-landing cargo plane, survive a missile-firing helicopter attack, drift in an exploding airport hangar, or survive a Terminator-2 canal race?

Drifting (no wall-slamming penalty!), drafting, sling-shooting, close-calling crashes and General-Leeing your car will fill your Power Bar. Once it is full you can unleash PowerPlay attacks onto your AI opponents. And, trust me, you will hate them! From start to finish they will be scrapping your tailpipe - and you only need to slip for a split second to total your car. You can leave paint all over the walls but the moment your grill touches that central pillar or dumpster you are totaled. The good news is that respawning only takes a second - no time for the adrenaline to subside.

Choose the best car for the track and handling it will be no problem. Nevertheless, this is not an easy game - and, frankly, I missed those. Nowadays everything seems designed to be breezed through and quickly move on to the next game. Not this baby. Random events (not to mention unexplored shortcuts) make racing the same track feel like a new experience so memorizing the tracks will not be of much help. You will have to really hone your skills in order to advance. Quick advice: remap the PowerPlay buttons to something convenient as timing your attacks is essential.

Fallen behind and only half a lap to go? Well, drive your A-game - and make sure to... drop a burning bus on the opponents you could not overtake.Careful though: this knife cuts both ways. First, you must learn to avoid the attacks you triggered yourself and then you must be ready to speed around the ones your opponents spring on you. Split-second decisions are required throughout.
You are not a passenger so stop gawking at the scenery. Strap in and drive for your life!

The visuals will keep you at the edge of your seat and the screeching and explosion sounds will make the hairs at the back of your neck stand up every time. This is like actually being in a Hollywood summer action-blockbuster. My only gripe is that there are no licensed cars (what we drive is always sleek and gorgeous but, sorry, no Gallardos, no DB9s, no R8s, no Shelbies...) whereas customizing our rides is kept to a minimum. That would have taken the experience to a whole new level!

SPLIT/SECOND, obviously, is more of a well-made arcade than a simulation game. And it is great FUN!
I had initially awarded the game 4 stars but any game that brings you home early to experience it again deserves full marks.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splitting Hairs..., May 23, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
This game, as a previous reviewer had stated, is simulator quality with the playability of an arcade hit. The fact that you can manipulate track layout with the "Power Play" system adds a whole new dimension. There are a multitude of track variants with some being quite nerve wracking with planes crashing and towers falling down throwing your car all over the track. Some areas appear to have compound mutations where you could use power plays to manipulate a track section more than once re-recreating an environment broadening the scope of the game tremendously.

Lighting, environmental elements, and particle systems come together with a solid focus producing a professionally polished platform title that can be quite expansive; coupled with the fact that the game can be played over a network connection says allot but also, throw in the fact that there are already un-lockable vehicles of varying types being released by various retailers. This all screams depth of play. You're able to enjoy some quality "me time" doing the "Tour de Excessive Force" then go online to show off your newly unlocked or easter egg ride with a lesson in how to manage "Public Relations" via an accurately delivered pyro-technique air parcel -- you get to have your cake and eat it too or, help someone else eat it.

This is an excellent example where a perfect balance between complexity and mechanics was struck with a focus applied by a planning and management team delivering a game that provides for its audience and not a marketer's box card. The developers are quite well known for their previous works in the "racing" genre and backed by Disney they had allot by way of creative influences and freedom as well as fat funding for their little, big budget opus. This is a street racing game that knows itself and maintains a focus on what it is letting the player submerse themselves and not wind up a public software beta tester, debugger, or game forums moderator discussing glitches. They smoothed the game out very well and it all coils up into a professionally managed commercial project/product.

There is absolutely no trade off in this game, that I've seen, other than shouldn't you be mowing the lawn; all after that, the grass will be there tomorrow -- where's it going?

It runs very well on my NVidia GeForce 9600GT with global lighting, particles, caustics, and depth of field of a high quality right from the start.

I like it allot...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and fresh racing concept, May 1, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
This game is very fun to play. You may forget to blink at times with all the action surrounding you. I am a big fan or Mario Kart style racing and this just takes it to the next level where a whole course is rigged to blow. When I first heard of this posed as a "Reality TV show" it was a turn off because I do not usually like those, but really that just seems to be a marketing choice they made to sell the game. They really don't dwell on the "reality tv concept" and get you right into the action. The fact is it is a great arcade racer and more fun than many others I have played. I even proved that with 2 XBOX 360 controllers you can have 2 players play split screen. My other brand of controller was not detected during 2player split screen mode, it seems like pc games cater to the XBOX 360 controllers for maximum compatability. It's just a ganer preference, but I like arcade style racers like this vs. those that are to complicated to drive. The cars are generic and the music is nothing exceptional, but that didn't really bother me. Usually during racing games I play my own music from my mp3 player anyway due to differing tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated racing game of the decade., June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
Let me just start off by saying this is my favorite racing game of all time. That being said, this is an over-the-top action racing game. Expect action movie-esque chase scenes and explosions rather than a realistic racing simulator and you will not be disappointed. It feels very much like a mature mario kart. Instead of firing shells and bananas at the other racers, you instead charge up your energy bars by drifting around corners, or drafting behind other racers, and then you use that energy to make deadly events occur on the track ahead of you, in an attempt to obliterate the racers ahead of you.

The graphics have aged well, the controls are tight (especially with a gamepad), and multiplayer runs flawlessly whether on local splitscreen or LAN. Unfortunately, Disney has since let go the studio that created this game, and also shut down the online servers, so online multiplayer is unavailable. The soundtrack and sound effects really draw you into the intensity of the races. The menus could use some adjustment. From adjusting settings, to changing controls, to backing out of the game itself, there is a lot of room for improvement in the interface.

I can't stress how much better this game is with an Xbox 360 controller.

Pros:
- Great graphics
- Great sense of speed/intensity.
- Great soundtrack.
- Split/Screen and LAN modes are a blast.
- Easy to pick up (simple to learn difficult to master).

Cons:
- Plays better with an Xbox 360 gamepad (not a con if you own one).
- Menus are poorly designed.
- Would benefit from more tracks.
- Online play has been disabled (Disney shut off the servers).
- Some single-player races are insanely difficult in comparison to others (I'm looking at you, Destruction).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Rock and Disney Interactive Studios do arcade racing right, May 26, 2013
By 
Media Man (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split Second [Download] (Software Download)
Developed by Black Rock Studio and published in May of 2010 by Disney Interactive Studios, "Split Second" is a fast paced arcade racer combined with demolition aspects. The story of the game centers around the players taking part in a fictional reality television show aptly named "Split Second" which consists of a variety of events. Each event focuses on destructible environments triggered remotely by driver actions known as "Powerplays" which are used to wreck your opponents in the most devastating ways possible. There are 12 racing seasons comprising a total of 72 events which consist of the standard Race (normal opponent race with use of Power Plays), Elimination (Timed event, remain in 1st place or be eliminated), Survival (race with opponents while dodging semis which drop multiple concussive/explosive barrels), Air Attack/Revenge (solo race against a rocket launching Apache-style helicopter bent on your destruction) and Detonator (timed solo race with a preselected car with full use of Power Plays against you). Here are my thoughts on Split Second;

Pros

+ Gorgeous graphics with amazingly detailed backgrounds and beautifully designed racing vehicles.

+ Fast paced electronic soundtrack (composed by Marc Canham & Richard Aitkin) befitting of the game.

+ Cars show paint scuffing and damage while still looking fantastic.

+ Brilliant special effects, explosions, particle effects and bloom.

+ Dangerously addictive gameplay keeps you coming back for more racing action long after you've completed the game.

+ Completed challenges/achievements yield decals which are automatically applied to your car.

+ Local and LAN multiplayer options.

+ Tight racing controls with strong emphasis of proper drifting techniques.

+ Both day and night cycles depending on the race.

+ Clever and devious AI.

+ Powerplays are amazing but Super "Powerplays" are truly a site to behold.

+ Simple but helpful tutorial.

Cons <Mostly minor gripes>

- When wrecking an opponent the slow motion camera can become disorienting and cause you to wreck.

- Power Play icons can obscure the road and obstacles while driving.

- Cut scenes aren't of the highest graphical quality or resolution.

- a few minor graphical pop-ins/glitches at times.

- Volume during chapter introductions is substantially louder than in game play.

- Can't use controller buttons to navigate the menus, only to race.

- Some slowdown and stuttering on race finish loading screens.

- No way to upgrade or personalize your cars.

- Keyboard controls are slow to respond in certain menus.

- There are no drivers pictured in the cars.

- The Survival and Air events can become frustrating, tiresome and overly difficult.

- Online multiplayer no longer available due to Black Rock Studio's shutdown by Disney.

- No speedometer or minimap of the race track.

- Certain events force you to use specific cars.

- No weather effects.

- Sequel was cancelled by Disney.

- No officially licensed cars.

- No anti-aliasing option.

- Not enough track variety.

- Thin storyline.

- No civilian traffic.

- Xbox 360 Console port.

Quite simply, "Split Second" is the Michael Bay of racing games. Consisting of pulse pounding racing, brilliant special effects and over the top action "Split Second" is the ultimate arcade and demolition racing experience. Despite my long list of Cons, there was very little I didn't like about this game. Every time I quit playing it wasn't long before I wanted to go back and try "just one more race" because "I know I can win this time, I just need to try a different car!" The downfalls of the game such as the lack of a solid story and limited number of race tracks were easily outshined by the fantastically addictive gameplay. I played this game with an Air Flo Controller for Xbox 360 - Wired as I drive much better using a game controller than I do with a keyboard and mouse. I purchased this game during a holiday sale for only $4.99 (which was an absolute steal) but this game is easily worth the full retail price. When I triggered my first "Super Powerplay" I knew that my money was well spent. If you're looking for an adrenaline fueled arcade racer that allows you demolish your opponents through massive amounts of property damage, then "Split Second" is the game for you. An absolute must play for arcade racing fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a late buy, by me., March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split Second [Download] (Software Download)
This game is amazing. It came out at a time where the competition was Blur and I decided at that time that Blur might be best. I've now...after 2 years tried Split Second and I absolutely love it. Fast paced, ok graphics with awesome sound. And speed, did I mention speed?

Super game, try it!

Too sad the production house was shut down..means there wont be a sequel:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arcade Bliss, August 8, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
I find a lot of people don't know about this game, which is a shame. Turns out the company that published it went bust a year after releasing it, or something like that. That news should NOT turn you away from this game. In fact it should make you want to get it because there won't be copies around forever. Its a blast to play and the challenges are well paced with a decent reward scheme of new cars. Its arcade race car bliss multiplied by Die Hard divided by Death Race. If that last sentence sounded awesome, its because it was! Just like this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really fun racing game, July 17, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
This game is extremely fun. Being able to interact with the environment, create explosions to destroy your opponents, and ultimately change the racing course is great. You try to time your "power plays" so that a truck may explode and skid across the track into your opponents car in front of you, or have a falling building destroy a bunch of cars and create a new route with lots of high jumps, or even having a plane crash into a runway that is part of the race track. Power plays are gained by drifting, drafting, and dodging the malicious environment. The graphics are undeniably phenomenal. The fantasy cars look fairly real, though design can be repetitive. The tracks are great fun, and most of them has one or more have epic track changes. Track changes basically look like this: A ship will tip over and crash into the runway pwning all cars in the way, and provide a new part of the map with new obstacles to control. It also shortens the track to give advantage to whoever triggers it. There are 11 tracks, but almost half of them look the same with a bit of a twist. Other game modes like survival (running by giant trucks that dump explosive barrels at you) give you other maps, but still look very similar to the maps in regular racing. Another great thing is that you get SPLIT SCREEN!! this is great. I have a buddy come over and we play against each other on the same computer screen. Games like Blur do not offer this, and if you do not have a solid online community, playing by yourself can be dull. You can have both players on one keyboard, both use xbox controllers, or one with controller and one with keyboard.

After playing the game for a bit, you start to figure out all the places that you can trigger stuff, and may lesson the excitement. The Campaigns are fun, but get repetitive. The levels get extremely difficult and ultimately discourage players from wanting to finish it. I spent many hours on one campaign and never getting first. There is little story line at all, other than a commentator (a pretty good one) only talks when you enter a new session, but doesn't talk at all otherwise. I can see that they did not fully develop the idea of commentating. The music is also poor, so you may want to put on some exciting music for the background instead of in game music. The AI can unrealistic: does not spin out of control when you slam into them, whereas the opposite is true. They also seem to catch up when you are far ahead first, though this keep things from being dull.

All in all, great game but doesn't seem to be fully developed. A lot more work could have been done to perfect this epic racing game. There also isn't much customization due to the nature of console ports. Other than that and the previously reported flaws, I highly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent action racer!, January 18, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
I put off buying this game (for PC) until it was cheaper. I liked the demo on my console, but bought the PC version. The racing feel and control is tight, which is great for car physics that are loose. Drifting in this game is needed so you have the power to trigger (catastrofic) events at any time. You can win easier with strtegic use of your event triggers than with the fastest car. It's a very exciting racer with loads of race types that get added to each of the 12 "episodes". The frame rate cap is set at 30fps, but looks as smooth as 50-60, and no noticable slowdowns during races. Great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating display setup - doesn't play well with multiple monitors! (At first...), May 24, 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Split / Second - PC (DVD-ROM)
I just received my pre-ordered copy of Split/Second today.
I had a big problem with configuring the display options in the game.

If you have a multi-monitor display setup, do yourself a favor and disable the extra monitors before starting the game for the first time. Get in, change the game resolution to match the native resolution of your monitor, and then exit the game. This should end up being a "set it and forget it situation". It should be safe to enable your other displays and the the game should keep the happy settings for your primary display.

Here are my adventures along the way:

When I first installed, I had both screens active. I was "treated" to a low resolution setting that did not fill my 1920x1200 primary display.

When I tried to change the settings, the game window changed size but went black with no way to navigate the menus (I had to Esc out or kill the application).

I found a thread suggesting you could change the settings with the single display active & then switch to the desktop to re-enable the second monitor. I made the mistake of doing this while the game was running. (Don't try this at home!) The game wouldn't hold input focus - the screen flickered and twitched between active applications. I couldn't exit from the game menu. I couldn't click the Task Bar to close the game. I could start Task Manager, but couldn't keep it "in front" to end a task... I had to hit the power button to initiate a shut down!

If you have a single monitor setup, you won't experience these problems. The game itself seems to be a bundle of fun, forgiving, frenetic action. It would be nice if a patch fixed the setup issues. Now that I have it configured happily, I guess the game isn't quite as evil as I first thought...

Other annoyances:

1. You are forced to run through training missions before you get to the game menu. You have to play on the default resolution to start out.

2. The menu structure isn't very clear about how to get in and out, you feel like you're giving up your progress to get out of the game. I managed to restart a race instead of exiting on one occasion (and I've only completed 4 races). After running Split/Second a few more times, I feel I was too easy on the menus - they're awful, awkward and slow...

3. There is no map or progress indicator - just a lap count. I guess I've just been spoiled by DiRT2... I'd like to see how much race is left, how the track is laid out, and my position relative to the competition.

4. Did I mention the menu navigation is frustrating!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Split Second [Download]
Split Second [Download] by Disney Interactive Studios
$19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.