Customer Reviews

335
4 out of 5 stars
Disney Princess: Enchanted Journey - Nintendo Wii
Platform for Display: Nintendo WiiChange
Price:$35.60 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

168 of 182 people found the following review helpful
on November 13, 2007
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
I have a kindergardener at home you loves just about anything with disney princesses. This is her absolutely her favorite. This game is clearly directed at little girls and hit the mark dead on. You play a s princess in training and you wave the Wii mote as a wand. My daughter loved the fact she can perform magic to help out her favorite princesses. As a parent, I play along side her and my joy comes her enjoyment of the game. If you have a little princess at home then it will be hard to disappoint with this game.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
82 of 88 people found the following review helpful
on January 4, 2008
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
Granted, it's not the longest or most challenging/complex of Wii games. Honestly, that's part of what makes it perfect for our 5yo. She doesn't get overly frustrated feeling like she's not making any progress, and it's divided very nicely into chapters so as to allow for bits of game play in each session (she's 5, we don't allow her to play for 1/2-day marathons). She has just mastered it once, but is already excited to play it over again. I'm confident that this time will go even more quickly, as she's improved her skills - that's *my* favorite part of the game, it has improved her skills with the Wiimote/nunchuck enough that I'm confident that other games will now be less frustrating for her too. She's also figured out a bit more about how to navigate in Wii worlds, so her understanding of the games in general has increased.

For us, that skill improvment, combined with her glee at interacting with the princesses, was worth the price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
102 of 118 people found the following review helpful
on November 14, 2007
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
I bought this game for my 7 and 8 year old daughters, who love the Disney Princesses.
Neither of them are expert video game players and generally prefer sim-like games such as Harvest Moon and Animal Crossing. They loved the game play of Disney Princess: Enchanted Journey but it was over within 2 1/2 hours...and part of that included customizing their character before the game started.
For $20 it might have seemed like a good purchase, but at twice the price it is a disappointment.
Essentially, it would be a good game for very young children who have short attention spans, but any older than 5 or 6 and it's just not worth it.
Hopefully Disney Friends for DS will provide more replay value.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2008
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
Summary:
Great for younger kids (ages 4-5). Older kids will find it too simple. Adults will find it buggy, overpriced and frustrating.

With a brand new Wii in the house and a princess-mad 4 year old it seemed like a perfect match. And it was; she loved the game. But it could have been so much more.

The game is made up of four "worlds" each with three "chapters". The difficulty and length of each chapter varies but each one takes 10-30 minutes to complete. You could easily complete the game in a couple of hours if you tried so we rationed our daughter to one chapter at bedtime.

Play requires the nunchuk - you move around with it and press the Z button to interact, and that's difficult for a 4 year old to grasp. Fortunately the "cross" also moves the character, so the parent can hold the nunchuk and help the player move around.

Similarly the two player mode requires a second nunchuk. Be warned that if you try to start a two player game without a second nunchuk you'll end up having to reset the game. Bug.

You start by customising your character. That's rather like building a Mii. You can go back and change your outfit during the game, but the path back to the changing room isn't obvious to a kid (it's the other staircase).

Having done that there's a simple training exercise to show you how to use the remote. Since it's supposed to be a magic wand there are three ways to wave it and cast different spells. This is the only part of the gameplay that makes use of the Wii's unique capabilities.

In each chapter there are objectives to accomplish which involve playing mini-games. The mini-games are weak and typically involve following a sequence or moving a container to catch falling objects. They are pure padding, and my daughter found some of them frustrating.

In two player mode you run around together casting spells but players complete each of the mini-games alone.

Within the chapter you move around and are guided by gemstones that you collect. The game keeps a total, but when you get to 999 it stops counting. You can also get gems by opening locked chests and helping people in the game, but since the gems mean nothing there's very little point. Similarly you can jump by pressing the A button, but there's no actual need to do this at any point in the game other than to reach locked chests.

Once all the chapters are completed there'a a final scene and the credits roll. Beyond the credits there's an extra "bonus" chapter, but it's the shortest of all and not worth the expectation. You can also revisit the four worlds, but there's nothing to do.

Clearly Papaya have built a game engine that they plan to put to much better use in future games. You can "interact" with characters that you meet by pressing the Z button, but in this game they just speak a line of dialog; they serve no useful purpose.

They do need to work on the graphics engine; there's some nasty jagged lines in many scenes.

Overall I'm resaonably happy with the purchase. It's kept my daughter occupied and having completed it she wants to play it again. Clearly it's overpriced; the PC version is only $20, has bugs and could have been a lot better. But she's only 4; she doesn't know that and since she's happy with it, well, that's the main thing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2008
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
We bought this game for $19.99 and for what we paid, we're pleased with the purchase. Our daughter is 5 and wanted to play more games than Wii Sports or Wii Play, but really doesn't have the coordination and control to play the more advanced games with us. This game was a good compromise. She loves the fact that she got to design her own character to 'help' the princesses, choosing her physical features, clothes and jewelry. Visiting the princesses and 'talking' with them also gave a thrill, (Ariel & Jasmine are the 'Easy' levels, Cinderella, 'Medium', and Snow White, 'Hard'). She also enjoyed completing each chapter and being able to see how her progress evolved. We liked the fact that she didn't get frustrated with the game, and we could see her Wiimote skills improve as she progressed through the game.

Pros-
-You meet and help Ariel, Jasmine, Cinderella and Snow White, good amount of Princess interaction.
-Storyline is explained verbally, your child doesn't have to be a great reader to follow the story and directions.
-Using Wiimote as a magic wand
-Gem trails are used to show where to go next, and the helper pixie reminds you where you need to be heading to complete the next task.
-Mini-games in each chapter emphasize following directions, pattern recognition, and use of both nunchuck and Wiimote.
-After game is complete, you can go back and replay mini-games if desired.

Cons-
-Game is rather short. Playing and completing 1 chapter a day will finish the entire game in 2 weeks.
-Bogs are a little scary at first, and the head bad lady 'Zara' you meet after completing all 4 princesses could be scary for some children.
-Gems have no monetary value, it would have been nice to actually be able to spend them to accessorize your child's character.
-Rather slow loading times between scenes, could be frustrating for child.
-Once game has been completed, you unlock 1 mini-game with Belle, more games or another task to complete would have been better.

Our daughter is already asking to design another character and replay the game, so we consider the $19.99 well spent. Playing the game definitely helped with her hand-eye coordination and Wiimote control and she didn't notice many of the things we considered cons. I'd definitely recommend it as a good beginning game for a Disney Princess fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on February 26, 2008
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
I had to give this title some credit, I am a father of two girls, a 5 year old with whom I play wii with and share many special moments with. This game's wii remote features are really great, it works like a magic wand for her, its the best two player game out there so you can play along side her and help her out. The levels are all basically easy for them, and very complete, she gets to play scenes or character from all the mayor disney princess movies. They are very entertaining and educational, and the second best thing about the game is that she can customize her character and change her hair, color, dress, accesories, etc, I think she enjoys this more than the regular game play. The only drawback of this game is that its too short and easy to finish thru and the bad guys slightly scared her even though in my opinion they are inoffensive and even cute.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on January 21, 2008
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
I bought this for my daughter for her 5th birthday. I also bought her Catz2 for Christmas. Catz2 was unplayable for her (despite being a fairly easy game... it also requires reading). This one started out as being hard for her to control, but she started to actually grasp it and after completing a few levels, she can actually hold both the wiimote and nunchuck herself. She still has a bit of trouble maneuvering the girl with the nunchuck's joystick, but overall she can do it on her own.

She finds all bad guys to be scary... the bogs in this game she freaks out a little and they scare her, but they've been easy enough for her to defeat (no dying) and she doesn't have to aim, just wave the wiimote up and down.

She really loves the game though, and is happy to go into the levels (without the scary bogs) and wander around.

The bad part about the game is that whenever you need to point the wiimote at the screen, the pointer is VERY finicky and it's difficult to do, even for an adult. You would think for $40 for a game, that Disney could release a game without a bug like that.

Also, once you go back IN a level after you've done all 3 "chapters", you can't get out again without going to the main menu and choosing "return to castle".

Collecting Gems means nothing, and the counter stops at 999. It would've been nice if there was a Princess Store or something you could buy outfits with or something.

I think after playing this game, that she'll have a better grasp about the Wii's controls and will be able to play other games without as much frustration. Too bad this one was expensive though, I'm not sure it's worth the money for a learning kids game without a ton of replay value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2008
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
This game is fun and my 5 year old loved that she got to customize her character, my beef is the Bogs. I really don't see why they had to put such a scary character in a game they KNEW was going to have its target audience as 4-6 year olds (they say it's for 8-12 year olds, but not too many girls that age are still into princesses). The game has some cute mini games, and they could have added more of those and it would have been fine, they did not need the Bogs. (Oh, and the Bogs look kind of like that little goblin in the movie Cats Eye if that gives you any indication...) as the levels get more difficult, the amount of Bogs surrounding you goes up, and they get harder to vanquish (really hard, you have to swing the remote rapidly up and down for a long time to get them to disappear)..... also they slow down time and surround you in this green cloud. Even to me it's a little spooky. Yes, the princesses don't die, but try telling that to a hysterical 5 year old who sees her alter ego being attacked and her life line shooting down. This game scares my daughter so much she refuses to play it anymore, and when we convince her to give it another try, and stand right next to her..... within a minute she is sobbing again, so we've given up. We should have rented it first, and now we've learned our lesson, we rent every game before we buy so this doesn't happen again. Just know, if the Bogs make your child uneasy in the easier levels..... they just get scarier.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on April 7, 2012
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
This game is perfect for your 4 year old, if your 4 year old happens to be 13. My daughter is 5 and loves princesses. She wants so deperately to play this game, but the controls are un necessarily complicated. Instead of enjoying her tiime with it, she is frustrated, cries, and begs for help. The game uses the numchuks, thumbstick, A, B, Z and pointing when as the Dora games show, you can do everything with just the wand and the 2 button.

The game play is at times appropriate. For example wandering Ariel through the ocean solving little tasks. But by the time you get to Snow White the games are stupid and needlessly complicated. One where you have to mimick the dwarves patterns (ala the old Simon game) is so incredibly slow that by the time they finish, you'll have forgotten the pattern or been distracted - and this IF the control does what you expect it to. Make a mistake (which you will) and start all the way over - or throw the controller through the window! God, you better hope the phone doesn't ring. Another one that I hate is preventing these pumpkins from growing and killing the monsters all at the same time. Its way too much to do and a lot of the bad guys are out of the viewing area. Its not fun, seems so stupid, and is just hard.

There is a narrative of a little girl that helps. Its not awful, but the customization options for the girl are stupid and needlessly complicated. For example, you can't change her face or height at all, but you are forced to select the color or her earings which are not even visible in the game. There is a two person option that is basically just a second character, unacknowledged by the story line who must stay in the frame of the primary character or the game can't progress.

This game is from 2007, and it probably felt dated then. Its a shame that disney continues to sell it. Don't buy it unless your kid is over 7. She'll spend her entire time bawling and feeling like a failure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 30, 2012
Platform for Display: Nintendo Wii
We bought this game for our daughters which were 4 & 6 at the time. They had a fair amount of experience with games their favorites being wii party, nick fit, and just dance kids, so its fair to say we didnt expect theyd be overwhelmed with this game and yet they were. These were the main issues they had at the time

-NO SENSE OF DIRECTION: during the game they have to go to certain places and since it all kind of looks the same they found themselves going in circles for a good 10 minutes before we finally had to help

SCARY: for some reason my 4 yr old who does fine w spooky things was horrified with the green gremlin things her main concern was that if they reached her avatar theyd reach her in real life

SHODDY DIRECTIONS: the directions on each level are spoken out loud once so unless we stayed with them and listened attentively the entire time they were playing they wouldnt know what to do, then the girls would go into this cycle of asking "What are we supposed to do?". and no matter how hard we tried to get the instructions repeated we could not our only option was to start all over

POINTING GAMES: need i say more

THE GOOD:
Now after waiting a year our 7 and 5 yr olds are awesome at the game. They think its really fun and it keeps them entertained in the story part of it. All the issues are resolved while they do get a little uncordinated our 5 yr old quickly finds the way, She is no longer scared of the green gremlins she thinks them silly instead and our 7 yr old remembers the directions well enough to know what to do or to tell us the gist of it so we can help.
The pointing parts of the game still prove difficult but they are few of them and were used to having to help out with the pointing aspect of most games.

At the end of the day i would still recommend this game if its at an affordable price like fifteen bucks. but only you can decide if your child is old enough
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Disney Tangled - Nintendo Wii
Disney Tangled - Nintendo Wii by Disney (Nintendo Wii)
$17.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.