Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 yr old loves it!
This is the favorite DS game of my 4 yr old daughter and has been for over 2 months now.

She was able to quickly learn how to control the characters with the stylus. There are only a few things that need to be read, and after I read to her the first time she was able to understand what it was instructing the following times.

It can also help the...
Published on March 6, 2008 by Brooke Nielsen

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just an average game - good rental
There is nothing wrong with this game; its just an average game, so three stars. My 5 year old daughter likes things a bit more creative then this game... she likes to add her own twist to stuff, so this one has not captured her interest as much as the SmartGirl game. This game is a slowed down version of traditional video games in that you simply walk around hunting...
Published on December 26, 2009 by Peggy


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 yr old loves it!, March 6, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
This is the favorite DS game of my 4 yr old daughter and has been for over 2 months now.

She was able to quickly learn how to control the characters with the stylus. There are only a few things that need to be read, and after I read to her the first time she was able to understand what it was instructing the following times.

It can also help the child begin to read. At various points in the game you run into people who lost things. Words appear that say "Please help me find my [...]" and shows a picture of what your suppose to help find.

This is a great game for a young (pre-reading) princess fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for a 5-6 year old girl, December 9, 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My 5 year old just got her DS and this is her first game. She likes anything to do with disney princesses so I thought she might enjoy it. Well, she hasn't put it down since she got it. I even bought her cooking mama (which she thought was too hard) but she still only wants to play this one. The game does get a little boring after a while because its the same activity repeatedly in different locations, but she dosn't seem to care. Overall I felt I got my money's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney Princess DS Game, May 12, 2008
By 
EJA (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I bought this for my 4 year old and she absolutely loves it! The graphics, sound and music are well done. There is some reading that you will have to assist your child with but that's usually before the actual game/level starts. You have to collect as many jewels as possible in order to battle with the evil witch and win a jewel for a crown at the end of the level. the point is to receive as many jewels for the crown to restore the castle. The only downside is that the levels seem extremely long and a little repetitive. You do the same thing over and over again and takes a while to get to the actual witch part. Other than that, she enjoys this game. It's great for preschoolers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kim, January 20, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My girl liked this game so much. Nice graphics. Easy to play with stylus. Quite simple activities are repeated at each level in the game. To me, it looks boring: there is no challenge. But she seems not to care of moving up to next level, instead she enjoys playing with small objects of the game like magic bridges, trees, and so on. I think this game well matches with kids' interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just an average game - good rental, December 26, 2009
By 
Peggy (Gulf Breeze FL) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
There is nothing wrong with this game; its just an average game, so three stars. My 5 year old daughter likes things a bit more creative then this game... she likes to add her own twist to stuff, so this one has not captured her interest as much as the SmartGirl game. This game is a slowed down version of traditional video games in that you simply walk around hunting for things. This one has a princess of your choice and a spryte, but it is essentially like any other run of the mill free, easy video game. If you have not played many video games before this one, then figuring out how to play may be a challenge. It isn't intuitively obvious that the Spryte is the key to getting things down or how the stairs work, but once you figure this out, there isn't much of a challenge or puzzle to the game at all. Nothing very special. Might try Drawn to Life or Scribblenauts for her next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute For Young Kids, November 18, 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I'm a video game collector, both for GBA and DS. This is definitely a fun game for really young children, as that it can help with their learning to read and gives them an opportunity to play each of four princesses - Belle, Cinderella, Snow White, and Aurora (Sleeping Beauty). Even though I currently have no children, I can see why it would appeal to them - the detailed environments, wallpapers and special dresses they can unlock by collecting all jewels and special items in every level (roses, glass slippers, etc.). The only real problem I have with this game is that there really is no challenge. Your characters that you play as (Spryte and the Princesses) cannot be killed even though there are some enemies that Spryte must place magical spells on in order for the princesses to get through the levels. There is no life bar for your characters. Also, Ariel and Jasmine are only active in extra mini-games that have nothing to do with the main storyline. For older players (such as myself), this game is quite repetitive. Gather the jewels, fight the evil ice queen at the end of each level, rinse and repeat. There could have been a lot more challenge to this game. There should be an option to select varying levels of difficulty that would appeal to older players.
Still, the sound is cool. Each princess has their own voice and comments throughout the levels, and unlocking new wallpapers and dresses for each level is cute. Overall, I give this game 3 stars, for its cuteness and fairytale storyline.

If you want more challenge (for those of you with older girls), I suggest renting or buying Disney Princesses for the Game Boy Advance - more challenge and variety, and Ariel and Jasmine have their own stories and levels too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the more advanced mini-gamers, September 25, 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I got this for my five year old as a birthday gift. She played it for about a day. Then she complained that there were only three levels and it was boring. She plays her Smart Girl series games over and over again, but this one just didn't hold her interest. I didn't have to read anything to her because she can read already, and maybe that's the problem. Or maybe it's just not challenging enough for a Pokemon hunting, Little Big Planet adventuring lady. If you're getting this game as your child's FIRST DS game, you should be fine. But if your little princess already has a few games under her belt, chances are she'll be disenchanted with this one soon enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game for Six Year Old!, July 2, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
My six year old just received a DS for her birthday and this is one of her first games. She loves it! If I let her she would sit for hours playing this game. I even enjoy playing it. There is reading involved but she can read it and she is a beginner reader. The colors and graphics are well done. The games are the same for each princess but she doesn't mind. She keeps playing and playing. I would recommend this game for girls around five and six to play alone but it would probably work well for a four year old with some help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for a Nintendo DS playing 5-year old princess, May 17, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
Of all the games she recieved for her fifth birthday, this is the one my princess niece loves the most. It was the first one that she wanted to try with her new pink Nintendo DS Lite and it's stayed a favorite. Not only are the challenges perfect for that age-level, she loves choosing which princess to play as, and her parents like that it's also a surprisingly good educational game which teaches and reinforces reading skills in an engaging way. Overall, just a great gift for any Nintendo playing princess that you might know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Princess loves it, February 25, 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS (Video Game)
I bought this for my 7 yo and she absolutely loves it. I am not technical at all and she was able to figure this game out all on her own. This is entertaining and great for this age and up. Even my 19 yo thinks it is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Disney Princess: Magical Jewels - Nintendo DS
$19.99 $16.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.