Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game- Especially for Kids
Disney Universe is simply a must have game for all Disney geeks and a perfect game for kids just starting out with games. The game will draw an immediate comparison to the Lego series of games and for good reason, there is a lot of borrowing. However, the differences that Disney Universe includes are almost always for the better.

The story is simple, Disney...
Published on October 26, 2011 by Matthew Erwin

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed multiplayer design.
This game could be a really good kids game but it is built upon a flawed process. During Multi player games, the 4 characters are tethered together. The group must move as a whole, and can not progress without doing so. Previous series that attempted this, such as Lego Star Wars, later realized the error of their ways and in later games (Lego Harry Potter) they moved...
Published on December 20, 2011 by Alshain


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game- Especially for Kids, October 26, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Disney Universe is simply a must have game for all Disney geeks and a perfect game for kids just starting out with games. The game will draw an immediate comparison to the Lego series of games and for good reason, there is a lot of borrowing. However, the differences that Disney Universe includes are almost always for the better.

The story is simple, Disney Universe is a new system that essentially allows people to live Disney movies. The places are occupied by bots which turn evil under the control of Hex, the game's villian.

To save the guests stuck in Disney Universe, your blue character dons the suit of a popular Disney hero and smashes their way through levels.

You start out in levels inspired by Pirates of the Caribbean with a limited number of suits. From my experience playing with about 10 different suits thus far, they all control basically the same, using a sort of slash attack to defend themselves (A sword for Jack Sparrow, a guitar for Stitch, a broom for Donald etc). This is a tad unfortunate as many of the Lego characters had different talents which made that game more strategic.

Each level has severla objectives before you can reach the end. Generally this involves building some objects, solving small puzzles and completing challenges. None are particularly difficult but it becomes insultingly easy with the inclusion of a big blue arrow guilding you from place to place. Thankfully more experienced games can turn this hint system off.

The puzzles are suprisingly fun, considering many puzzles in Lego games become tedious. One particularly amusing section involves turning into a zombie to walk underwater (I don't get the logic, but I go with it) and opening gates and moving mines. You then return to the surface to use a paddling duck with a cannon to move through the canals. It is bizarre and fun. Another fun level involves the Monsters Inc Doors.

Combat is frequent and also fun. Mostly it just involves smashing the B button until the enemy explodes, but for whatever reason it feels just right. You can also get occasional powerups to your normal attacks in the form of glowing blue cubes. Lazers, freeze guns, gold producing swords, all are there and useful. Boss encounters are also fun, especially several early encounters with a Pirate ship you must sink with a series of large cannons. There is no real downside to dying either, so it is hard to get frustrated, you just lose a bit of gold and respawn.

The main currency of the game is golden Mickey ears which can be used to buy new levels as well as the suits of guests you have saved. The gold is scattered throughout and can be gotten through a variety of ways, breaking boxes, defeating enemies, solving puzzles, etc.

Multiplayer is also a hoot, going up to four players that can work together or against each other in order to "win" the level with the highest score. It is frantic and enjoyable the more people you have.

Disney Universe is an unmitigated success, capitalizing on all that Lego great and adding in new and enjoyable elements. If you like Disney or the Lego games, you are going to eat this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game to play with your kids, November 5, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I am not sure about others, but I am always looking for good games to play with my kid. They have to be easy, but not too easy. Disney U game play very similar to Lego (although it is not as good as the Lego games - your kids will probably like it more because you get to be in the actual Disney/Pixar worlds).
Up to 4 people can play simultaneously which is great for inviting friends and so on.

Bad things about the game I don't like (and these are mistakes Lego didn't make by the way, so I am kind of dumbfounded by some of them).
1. it is possible to hurt and kill your coplayers. The nature of the gameplay - a bunch of little bad guys try to jump you all the time - and the 4 players going at once, make it very easy to hurt friends. Among kids, this will tick them off.
2. As far as I can tell, you can't drop in and out of the game at will - in fact, the level needs to paused entirely or quit entirely. so if one kid needs to go to the bathroom (and they will since the levels are long) it can be a problem.
3. the gameplay is quite repetitive. I am not sure if this will irritate anyone other than adults. But basically, there are 3 levels of 3 stages with a boss at the end of each world.
4. I have a feeling you are going to finish it in record time. Unless there is a lot of hidden worlds, and I doubt it, you can blow through this game is a couple of weeks at an hour a day. If I had to guess, it's about 1/4th the length of the Lego games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Play With Caution, November 6, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
My nine year old son and I got this game and started playing it this weekend. We like it - it's fun, however playing the game frustrated us both at first. The game is best played if you understand that it's really a competitive game and not a cooperative game. It's too easy to accidentally kill the other players. The consequences of dying in the game aren't severe - you respawn almost immediately, only having lost some gold coins, but it's annoying if the person you kill is trying to accomplish something. And really, that's the point of the game - head to head annoyance, but in a cute way.

The game plays like an expansive world of minigames. The levels are small and linearly sectioned so each part seems like it's own little minigame. There are some puzzles, but most aren't too hard. There's a lot of button mashing. And then there are some little arcade-ish minigames interspersed.

The game is a cross between the Lego series and Little Big Planet, but beyond some Disney magic, it lacks the depth and interest of those. The music is fun, though, and the background art is beautiful. The collection of different costumes keeps us motivated in playing, and replaying.

We just need to take turns instead of trying to co-op. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed multiplayer design., December 20, 2011
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game could be a really good kids game but it is built upon a flawed process. During Multi player games, the 4 characters are tethered together. The group must move as a whole, and can not progress without doing so. Previous series that attempted this, such as Lego Star Wars, later realized the error of their ways and in later games (Lego Harry Potter) they moved to a split screen method. Unfortunately Disney did not do their research this time. The tethering makes for a very frustrating multi player game. Bad multi player doesn't always mean a nail in the coffin. Games, such as the aforementioned Lego Star Wars, are able to stand on their single player alone. However, this game is entirely designed to be a multi player game. Like playing 1 player You Don't Know Jack, the single player function of this game is completely pointless. Overall, this game is a great idea and a sadly missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun But Not As Good as Epic Mickey, November 5, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Our household LOVED Epic Mickey so we approached Disney Universe hoping that it would be the same. It's not. BUT that doesn't mean that it's not a good game.

Quick Synopsis - Basically you're at a virtual fantasy land. Think Fantasy Island only in the computer world. You can visit any Disney world you'd like, safely - until, that is, Hex takes over. He wants the world to be evil and it then becomes your job to take control back from Hex in order to make the virtual world safe for anyone to visit.

THE PROS:

-Easy Gameplay - the gameplay is very easy. You spend most of your time pressing one button and just walking around and doing whatever you're asked to do. Everything you need to do has a prompt so it's a very simple game to follow along with.

-No Dying - yup, no dying! Instead of dying you simply fall down for a moment then reappear with your health full. It does count against you, however, with the scoring.

-Adorable Costumes - okay, the costumes are what makes this game. That and playing in areas that you've only seen in the movies!

THE CONS:

-Easy Gameplay - yes, I know, I put this as a pro, but it's a con too. If you're someone who loved Epic Mickey than Disney Universe may be simply too easy for you. My seven year old loves it, but my ten year old thinks it's really boring, so that means that it's something that may only appeal to certain people and age ranges.

-The Prompts - I haven't yet found the way to turn the prompts off. It may be there but I haven't explored the menu enough, I guess. Trust me, they're annoying.

-Fixed Camera - THAT annoyed me most of all - there's no maneuvering the camera so some things are actually a bit trickier, or more annoying, depending on what you have to do.

THE VERDICT

Disney Universe is a very fun game to play if you happen to love Disney (I'm assuming most people who purchase the game will) and if you like simplistic games. Unlocking all of the outfits was the most enjoyable part for me, and seeing the locations that I know by heart was magical as well. A good game, but one I'll probably only play once, unlike Epic Mickey which I've replayed a few times now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small Universe from Disney, December 28, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I have to say, this is a great game for kids. It's very simple, funny, and Disney managed to use it's characters and scenarios very creatively. It reminded me a lot of the Lego games; it has mini puzzles in every level that you need to solve in order to advance and unlock new costumes.
But beware... although this game can be played by up to 4 players at a time, it is MOSTLY a competitive rather than a cooperative game. Players can hit each other freely and make each other "die" very easily, plus they have to compete in order to get upgrades, power-ups and health for their characters, so it becomes very hectic most of the time.... if your kids tend to fight over this kind of things, be ready.
In my opinion what really kills the Wii version is that it doesn't support downloadable content, which is basically the point of buying the game. Once you clear every level and purchase all 40 costumes there's nothing else to do whatsoever. On the other hand, you can download extra levels and new costume packs via Xbox Live/Playstation Network, which makes the experience almost never-ending.
The game has 6 worlds, each world consists of 3 levels, each level is divided in 3 areas (sigh...) In other words, it takes a while... but once you're done, you're done. The only thing you can do is replay the same levels over and over, which can bore kids very easily.
The concept is great and the creativity is there, but it's not what I expected and the Wii version falls short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun way to pass some time for all ages, November 12, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game makes use of many different Disney characters and scenes from great movies. It is definitely a fun way to spend some time for "kids" of all ages. The games are not too difficult but challenging enough to be interesting and keep you coming back for more. Some of the sound effects are cute and some are annoying. Our favorite is the farting pigs, they are just too cute and too much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected from Disney, November 20, 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I gave this game 3 stars because I was disappointed in Disney. I am a huge fan of their line of video games (Epic Mickey, Kingdom Heart Series, etc). However this game was nothing like the others.
This is definitely geared towards a much younger crowd. It is extremely simple game play. Whatever you are supposed to do next is given to you. You can't really die. The objects you need to find are pretty easy if you just explore a little.

I will admit it is fun to unlock costumes and worlds, but even where you're a different character and your weapon may be different, they all basically do the same thing.

Overall for kids this would probably be a good game. For the older crowd that is a fan of previous Disney games, it's just not the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun... but have issues with it, January 6, 2012
By 
MOM# w/ Child Dev. Degree "DM" (ALABASTER, AL United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I gave this game 3 stars because I was a little disappointed in it...
As a mom and child development major my problem #1 with the game is that it is a co-operative play game that doesn't encourage co-operative play. My children get frustrated with each other because each character can hit and "kill" a co-player causing them to loose points / gold and disrupts the play ( they are even encourage to do this by the game). Even though the character "killed off" does come back and has infinite lives this has caused several arguments and time outs among the children.We made a rule no hitting other players and that seems to have helped but having it programmed in that the players can't hurt each other would have saved A LOT of headache.
Problem #2 (for us):you cannot stop at a section and save...once you start it you HAVE to play ALL the way thru a level or loose point that you have earned at that point -so it can take a VERY long time (2 hours) to play thru a whole level or loose all your items/ points. Before we start the game we have to check and see if we have enough time in the schedule before we start a game.
Problem 3: we were excited at first with the fact that Disney Universe has downloadable content that will provide players with new content, upgrades, & add in characters BUT this is not available in the Wii(I would LOVE to have the villain set)so we are EXTREMELY disappointed now ...once you've unlocked your characters it seems that there's not much more to do with it.
Even with these problems it is fun game and has fun music...getting to unlock costumes and worlds and see each time you level up you get a different "weapon" is cool. The game helps and points out objectives so you don't get frustrated wondering what you're supposed to do but you can go and do other things in the level such as level up or find hidden objects. The objects you need to find are pretty easy if you just explore a little. Just be prepared for some frustration between players during battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game for the Whole Family, December 30, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is great fun for the whole family! You can play up to four players at a time and play as a team or compete against each other in each level. This game is very easy for younger children to follow because there are directions that guide you through the mission on each level. I highly recommend this to any family with younger aged children. They will love it, and so will you! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii
Disney Universe - Nintendo Wii by Disney (Nintendo Wii)
$19.99 $14.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.