Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Tikes
Listen for $0.00 with
Join Amazon Prime now
You get unlimited access to over a million songs, curated playlists, and ad-free stations with Amazon Prime.

Distant Worlds II: more music from Final Fantasy

June 1, 2010 | Format: MP3

Join Amazon Prime to get unlimited streaming of this album.
$8.99 to buy
$25,000 Prime Sweepstakes: This Week Only
Listen to Prime Music for a chance to win $25,000 in Gift Cards. Play any song, station, or playlist to be automatically entered. No purchase necessary. See Official Rules for details and alternate method of entry. Ends December 5, 2015.
Song Title
Popularity Prime  
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: June 1, 2010
  • Release Date: June 1, 2010
  • Label: AWR Records
  • Copyright: 2010 AWR Records
  • Total Length: 1:02:43
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B003TYQ6SY
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (74 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #19,871 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Daniel Conlin on July 3, 2010
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I was ecstatic when I heard there was going to be a Distant Worlds II. Whenever classic video game music is arranged for and played by a full orchestra, I'm there, especially in the case of Final Fantasy. I own all of the other Final Fantasy orchestral concert CDs and had high hopes for this one. I'm happy to say this album delivered and then some.

1. Prelude (FF Series): The perfect way to begin the show. Right when the first few notes started playing, I was instantly swept into a wave of nostalgia, remembering the first time I played each Final Fantasy game. The choir is introduced in this track, and I fell in love with them. I can't really explain why, I just really enjoyed their sound.
2. The Man with the Machine Gun (FF VIII): I always enjoy the orchestral arrangement of this piece. Not as much as I enjoy "Don't Be Afraid" from the original Distant Worlds, but it still puts a smile on my face. It's always a great achievement when an orchestra can pull off an upbeat piece like this one so well.
3. Ronafure (FFXI): I've never played FFXI, and I likely never will unless SE realizes what a terrible idea monthly fees are. That being said, this piece is generally unremarkable for me, but that's likely only because I've never played the game and haven't really connected with the song as so many others have. It's a pleasant enough piece though. It didn't stand out, but I certainly enjoy listening to it nonetheless.
4. A Place to Call Home - Melodies of Life (FFIX): I absolutely loved this. I'd heard this one a few times before, though those times the lyrics were in Japanese. It was very well translated (I think. If it wasn't well translated, it still at least has good English lyrics).
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Viktor Müller on May 29, 2010
Format: Audio CD
Square has done it again; they've managed to rehash the same-old, familiar songs we've all come to know and love (and sometimes get sick of hearing) while at the same time adding something refreshingly new. Case in point, 'Distant Worlds II: More Music from Final Fantasy'. Admittedly, this album is "fresher" than the last album (the last one only contained ONE new song). But the thing I like about the Distant Worlds series is that they ARE the definitive overseas (non-Japanese only) release to diehard Uematsu fans. I recently had the pleasure of viewing the 'Voices' concert DVD of Final Fantasy and I must say "Maestro" Arnie Roth isn't only in it for the paycheque. He takes Uematsu's music and makes it his own by pouring his passion and enthusiasm into Uematsu's works, re-breathing a new vitality into the music. 'Distant Worlds II' is no exception. With him at the helm, and recorded in studio-quality sound, every sound is not only note-perfect, but is truly alive.

1. The album kicks off with the famous 'Prelude' sung with a choir in Latin. This version was featured on 'Voices' and I'm glad it made it here as the revamped melody is very haunting.
2. Next up is the familiar James Bond-esque 'The Man with the Machine Gun'. Unchanged since 'Fithos Lusec Wecos Vinosec', this is a rehashed track that has appeared on other albums over the years so there's nothing new here.
3. Next is 'Ronfaure', which appeared on the elusive 'Tour de Japon' album, is a nice renaissance-style melody to have in the collection. I had never seen it on another concert album so for me this is more-or-less new.
4. & 8. Susan Calloway returns to sing the two vocal tracks, 'Melodies of Life' and 'Suteki da ne'.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By MWM on August 26, 2010
Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
As someone who imported the original sountrack of Final Fantasy VI, I've prayed and waited years for an orchestrated version of Dancing Mad. After being somewhat sated by the rock version by the Black Mages (Uematsu's band), I'm here to say that it was worth the long wait, but I was still a little disappointed with the album.

A compilation of a great artist's work such as this could never merit fewer than 5 stars, but some of the compositions were not as good as earlier versions, particularly if they had non-live orchestral recordings.

To whit; the vocal tracks (Melodies of Life and Suteki Da Ne) sung by Susan Calloway, are translated, well, I am sure, into English. The English presentation and powerful but poorly cast vocalist took the gravitas and melancholy out of these songs. These versions have little of the originals' whispy and ethereal notes nor the, in my opinion, proper emotive qualities.

Going more in order now, "Prelude" is perhaps the best arranged song here. It's simple and beautiful and is the best version of this oft-repeated song.

"The Man with the Machine Gun" unlike many of the other songs here, is not quite powerful enough, and I thought, an odd choice. Still, very good quality and highly energetic piece.

"Ronfaure" while risking overstaying it's welcome, is well arranged.

"Zanarkand" isn't quite as good here as in Dear Friends (or Piano Collections), but it's still an utterly beautiful piece.

The reason I bought this, "Dancing Mad", immediately floored me with the new Latin chorus and the power of full orchestral accompaniment. However, late into the song (the forth movement, Kefka) delved into some strange instumentation, lost impact, and strayed from the energy and emotion of the original.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse