Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


198 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that deserves your undivided attention
A core concept of the martial arts is focus. That's where you get your power from ("your chi is concentrated"). The laser, which we use to cut through the hardest of steel, is nothing more than focused light. Any endeavor that requires brainpower, from sports to engineering, requires the ability to tune out everything except the task at hand. The ability to focus is a...
Published on June 21, 2008 by M. L Lamendola

versus
78 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An ironic investigation
In a culture in which Attention Deficit Disorder seems endemic, the health and integrity of American communities appears waning, and individuals seem incapable of managing real and meaningful relationships and communications, Maggie Jackson's Distracted tackles a fascinating and important topic. However, while Jackson addresses these issues, her investigation wanders, her...
Published on January 26, 2009 by David D. Metcalf


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

198 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that deserves your undivided attention, June 21, 2008
By 
A core concept of the martial arts is focus. That's where you get your power from ("your chi is concentrated"). The laser, which we use to cut through the hardest of steel, is nothing more than focused light. Any endeavor that requires brainpower, from sports to engineering, requires the ability to tune out everything except the task at hand. The ability to focus is a learned skill, and most people aren't learning it. In today's video and sound bite world, in fact, massive numbers of people are unlearning it.

Why does the stupidity epidemic continue to spread, despite its horrible cost? One answer may simply be that people are too distracted to pay attention. Consequently, they are not fully engaging their brains and focusing on what they are reading, saying, seeing, or hearing. This is a real problem in, for example, the task of driving an automobile. All of us can spot the "cell phone driver" from a distance, and there's a reason why.

It's the same reason this country has a shortage of qualified engineers, a shortage of senior project managers (average age now for the SMs in the construction industry is north of sixty), and such widespread ignorance of basic science, geography, and other subjects that require study. It's why only about half of voting-age Americans can correctly identify the three branches of the federal government.

When people are chronically distracted, something is wrong with their ability, desire, or discipline to filter out nonessential things and focus on what matters or what really has value. The result is a watered down life experience and a weakened intellect.

The effect is so pronounced and ubiquitous that, Jackson asserts, we as a society are poised on the edge of a coming dark time. I'm the first person to cry "alarmist" when an author raises dire warnings. But in this case, I have to agree with Jackson. When you read her book, which is the result of intense research, you will probably also agree.

Many other factors contribute to the stupidity epidemic, such as toxic diets, stupidity immersion (e.g., television), idiotic lyrics blaring from radios, lack of serious reading, and a failed "education" system. But the widespread lack of focus may be the main problem.

The cultural norms of today work against focus, as this book explains. Fortunately, that doesn't mean you have to accept those norms and sink into mindlessness. Jackson provides insight into the lack of focus issue and further insight into how to avoid being a casualty of this intelligence-sapping problem.

This book is well-researched, well-written, and timely. Unlike many works that hit the non-fiction list today, it actually is non-fiction. Given the subject, the author could easily digress into editorializing her personal political agenda (which is a common problem with "non" fiction today). But, she doesn't. In fact, I have no idea what it is.

The author stays focused on the issues the book is about, which, given what the book is about, should be no surprise.

If you're looking for something that will provide a formulaic solution to our ADHD culture, or ten steps to inoculate yourself against the stupidity epidemic, this isn't it. The author isn't pushing easy self-help solutions that she can later talk about on Oprah. Nor is she using a book as a way to promote herself for gigs on the rubber chicken circuit. She wrote an intellectually serious work that is engaging and enlightening.

As the author points out, much of what we read, hear, and say today is just surface noise. That's not what you get in this book. What you get is a properly developed work that is well-worth reading.

Earlier, I said Distracted is well-researched. That's a qualitative statement, so let me quantify it. The book is 268 pages from start to finish, followed by 50 pages of tightly-written bibliography (nearly 20% the size of the book itself ). There are about 60 references per chapter, with 79 references for Chapter 6. Somehow, Jackson manages to weave all this research into a flowing, engaging narrative.

Usually when a book is really good, I'll say it was a page-turner or I couldn't put it down. Oddly enough, I can't say that about Distracted. The reason, however, is the book made me stop and think. The author would sometimes make a point so profound or so worth mulling over that I just had to stop and digest it for a while. How many books can you think of that make you want to do that?

Distracted consists of three Parts. Part I explains where we are now, and consists of four chapters. These give us the "lay of the land" and many examples to show how things are. Part II delves into the "deepening twilight" and consists of three chapters. These help us see how we're trending the wrong way and what factors are contributing to those trends.

Part III poses the question, "Dark Times or Renaissance of Attention?" At several points, I put the book down just to think about some point or another, because especially in this part of the book she says much that just makes you want to stop and think.

In Chapter 8, "McThinking and the Future of the Past," Jackson looks at such issues as cultural memory, how a child's ability to delay gratification is a reliable predictor of success as an adult, and what the difference is between cultivating information and merely stockpiling it. A key concept I like is that the ability to select what to retain and what to discard is an important part of being able to handle information.

In Chapter 9, "The Gift of Attention," Jackson looks at the breaking developments in cognitive research, especially in relation to the ability to deliberately focus one's attention. Some of what she reveals is more academic, while other revelations have more immediate and practical value for the reader. She doesn't wrap it all up in a nice, neat conclusion because there are many things the reader can conclude while reading this chapter. But a common theme in such conclusions is that we can choose to be in charge of our minds rather than let distractions blow us around like so much tumbleweed.

As someone who has studied the stupidity epidemic for several years now, I am increasingly convinced we (as individuals) can choose to let ourselves become stupid or we can make deliberate choices that, by exercise of some personal discipline, spare us that fate. Most people aren't making those deliberate choices or exercising that discipline. But, many are. All of us can.

Being mindful strengthens the mind. When you're constantly distracted, you can't be mindful--you're too busy shifting mental gears all the time. The "default value" is chronic distraction, but the good news is you can choose to be mindful and you can make other choices that keep you from being chronically distracted. Jackson shows us what some of those choices are, and that's also good news. The choices aren't hard to make or to carry out.

Jackson's book goes beyond my pet interest, however. While chronic distraction is sapping our collective IQs, it's also destroying our ability to interact with each other. Here's something to think about (not in Jackson's book). Even critics of Bill Clinton acknowledge his charm and charisma. When Alan Greenspan went to meet Clinton for the first time, he was doubtful that he wanted to continue on as Chairman of the Federal Reserve with Clinton in the White House. When Greenspan left that meeting, he felt tremendously loyal to Clinton. From doubting Thomas to committed supporter in a single meeting. How did Clinton do it? Greenspan said, "He made me feel like the center of his universe. Everything else was blanked out and he was totally there. He focused on me."

When one person focuses on another and listens to that person, the other person feels respected. Respect is the foundation of any good relationship. When people never truly engage with other people, haven't they also given up on what it means to be human?

If someone is talking to you in person and the phone rings, show respect by ignoring the phone. If you have a television on and someone visits you, turn the television off and focus on that person. If a child talks to you, stop what you are doing and listen. Be completely there. If you don't understand the power of such actions and the cost of failing to take them, read Chapter Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now, Readers, Please Pay...Uh...Attention!, June 30, 2008
By 
Dr. Jonathan Dolhenty (Port Orford, OR United States) - See all my reviews
There is little doubt that over the past few decades, particularly during what has been referred to as "the computer age," the world of intellectual activity has substantially changed. So-called "multitasking" has become common. "Sound-bites" provide many people with all the news they get. Rapid-moving video games provide many with most of the entertainment they experience. The technology of "virtual" reality is becoming so "real" it is becoming increasingly difficult to determine what is "actually real" from what is "virtually real." Add to all this the reports that attention deficit symdrome (ADD) and hyperactive behavior among the young are growing problems in our fast-moving society, and one might be tempted to conclude that we are, in fact, "distracted" to the point where the erosion of attention will result in a soon-to-occur "dark age."

This latter point, of course, is a paraphrase of the title of Maggie Jackson's latest book "Distracted: The Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age." The major problem we face now, Jackson seems to say, is INATTENTION; that is, we are no longer engaging in such activities as reflection, searching for deeper meanings, taking time to relax and participate in traditionally intimate conversations, getting to know people in a personable way, taking the time to discern the really important from the merely transitory, and so on. We as a society and as individuals are, in other words, not paying ATTENTION. At least to the things we ought to be paying proper attention to.

In her book, Jackson provides a historical survey of the problem, cites a lot of research drawn from a wide range of scholarly fields including empirical science and philosophy, and provides quotations from a diverse population of thinkers who have considered aspects of the main problem she addresses. There is a lot of detail here to be digested; the reader, hopefully, is not suffering from the very problem the author discusses.

One may argue, however, as to whether the current situation will lead to a genuine "dark age." Some might say that that suggestion might be just a little bit hyperbolic. Nevertheless, the author does raise some interesting questions and attempts to provide some workable solutions. So, in this period of constant motion, multitasking, social networking, instant messaging, and electronic overload, it might just be worthwhile for everyone to slow down a little, sit back and relax, read this book, and pay ATTENTION to what Jackson is saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An ironic investigation, January 26, 2009
In a culture in which Attention Deficit Disorder seems endemic, the health and integrity of American communities appears waning, and individuals seem incapable of managing real and meaningful relationships and communications, Maggie Jackson's Distracted tackles a fascinating and important topic. However, while Jackson addresses these issues, her investigation wanders, her thesis remains unproven, and both reader and writer ultimately end up 'distracted' from answering the key questions the book proposes.

Jackson's book is not without its merits. She examines the crucial issue of attentional capacity and growth in children, and how electronic stimuli fracture attention and foster an 'attention deficit' society. She effectively discusses America's simultaneity - the idea that internet connectivity, technology, and travel, have rendered people both 'everywhere and nowhere.' Decrying this neo-nomadic culture, she also asserts - with convincing narratives - that simultaneity and attentional distraction tends toward the dissolution of American families and relationships.

However, "Distracted" also delves into topics that fail to demonstrably progress its thesis. Jackson discusses individual people and problems which only bear tangential importance to the implications of a 'distracted' society. The virtual world's treatment of death, the dangerous preference of information by an unreliable internet rather than books, and a curious digression on the eating habits of an overworking population, are but a few topics that waste the reader's time. Here and elsewhere, Jackson tries to weave a quilt with discordant fabrics and patterns, and the result is a disjointed and scattered product.

Inevitably, the expository pace of the book slows to a crawl, and what could and should have been said in far less pages and with a more direct pattern of argument, is danced around. The investigation wanders into anecdotal digressions that Jackson fails to convincingly tie to her overall theme, and her argument becomes - ironically - "distracted." The culprit might be Jackson's palpable nostalgia for all things past, a disposition that drags her into these digressions and ultimately leads her to her utterly unsubstantiated doomsday prediction of a "coming dark age." I'm sorry Ms. Jackson (and Outkast), a reader will not simply digest portentous soothsaying without you convincingly connecting the dots of such an assertion. The theme this book tackles is so significant and enticing, yet at the end, I can not help but feel so unsatisfied at the unreached potential.

The scattered structure of the book mimes the message, and the argument's path takes several wrong turns to the point that the reader is lost. However, the book should be commended for its humor, because it's occasionally satirically ironic. As reader Kirtland Peterson astutely concluded, this book is "a product of the culture it describes." Unfortunately, within the text of her book, her amorphous thesis achieves the very simultaneity of the neo-nomadic American society she describes: "Everywhere and nowhere."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of Touch With Reality, February 21, 2010
This review is from: Distracted: The Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age (Paperback)
"During a two-week stay in Norway, my daughter, then aged thirteen, called home one day by cell phone from a mountaintop. My husband thought at first she'd been hurt, but she simply wanted him to resolve a midhike teen debate about some Beatles' lyrics."

For me, this passage pretty well sums up the worldview of author Maggie Jackson as expressed through her recent book, Distracted: the Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age. The book is filled with anecdotes, several of them personal, about people who blithely jet-set around the country and the world on a whim: a woman who flies to Italy for the weekend to run in a marathon with a friend from London; college professors meeting for lunch having just returned from international conferences; a group of friends who fly to Maine for a "weekend of restaurant hopping"; or 500-mile day trips to "do lunch."

The 500-mile lunch journey was one of the author's excursions. She used it to illustrate how blasé she claims our culture has become about travel; when she mentioned to persons she encountered that she was traveling 500 miles to meet for lunch, she claims she received no response from the cab drivers or ticket agents with whom she shared this information. Jackson interprets this as indicative of a culture in which long journeys have become commonplace.

As a commonplace nobody myself, I would interpret the silence with which Jackson was met differently. Some people have to work for a living. I'm sure the cab driver put in at least 500 miles that day. The difference is, he was working, covering the same airport or train station loop again and again, day after day, barely making enough of a salary to pay his bills and keep a roof over his head. A 500-mile day trip to meet for lunch is not an option in his world. The cab driver had two options for responding to the perky gloating of Ms. Jackson: ignore her, or punch her in the face.

Jackson seems to think that America, or at least the America that is the audience for her book, is a world of "doing lunch" and trips to Europe; a life of academe for the professionally accomplished and casual first-date sex for young cyber-savvy adults. It would be difficult to count which she references more, airport lobbies or trips to MIT. In her world, all young people are enrolled in college and all adults are connoisseurs of fine cheeses (which, of course, they make special trips to purchase and consume in the country of origin).

Overwhelmed by the trappings of the author's world, I lost focus on the gist of her argument. Indeed, beyond what she states in her title, I don't feel Jackson made an effective effort to restate or clarify her position; nor did she, in her rambling, anecdotal travelogue, present a convincing case for her argument. Dark age or not, jetting to Italy to run a marathon, spending a spur-of-the-moment weekend restaurant-hopping in Maine, and meeting hot, willing chicks over the internet, while a bit decadent, hardly sounds like a society on the brink of collapse. It requires a fair amount of orderliness to keep both airlines and internet dating sites running. We're still a long way from a grim, Pythonesque "bring out your dead" scenario.

The book includes heavily documented endnotes. A digression into the history of the fork as an eating utensil was interesting. Overall, however, I found the book alienating. Jackson is not writing about my world. I see, too, that I am the first person to borrow Distracted in the two years the book has been on the shelves in the Hawaii State Library System, which suggests that the all-encompassing "we" she uses throughout her text is more than a little myopic in scope.

Distracted: the Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age (2008) by Maggie Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distracted, June 4, 2008
By 
Pamela Bailey (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In a very readable and engaging style this book calls attention to what many of us feel daily in our over stimulated lives; the lack of connectivity with one's environment and the void created by relationships lacking depth. Once I began reading the the book I found myself making a conscious effort to fully focus on the task I was involved in or person with whom I was interacting. Immediately I felt more productive and rewarded, and yet I was amazed by how unaccustomed I am to not multi-task.

Jackson's book is serious in its exploration of the dangers of societal ADD, but also uplifting in its presentation of the intrinsic rewards, both individualy and globally, of simply "paying attention".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Product Of The Distracted Culture It Describes, July 17, 2008
Sadly, DISTRACTED is a product of the culture it describes. The book is perfect for the easily distracted, skimming reader. In a word, it's shallow. If you're looking for something to powerfully address this important topic, something to fire up your neurons and take you deep -- this is not your book. Advice to all: get it through your local library.

The topics addressed in DISTRACTED are far better addressed in THE ATLANTIC's "Is Google Making Us Stoopid?" "Stoopid" is well organized, researched and written. It has a thesis. More: after reading it you may change your habits. DISTRACTED just leaves you hungry.

Disappointed. Felt like I'd wasted valuable time reading it closely.

Kirtland Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Unfocused Look at Extremes Followed by Encouragement to Meditate, July 28, 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Do you understand a society better by looking at the edges or at the middle? That's the fundamental question that any social scientist and author must answer. Ms. Jackson shows her journalist roots by making alarmist arguments about a "dark age" based on looking at the most extreme forms of inattention in society and extrapolating those extremes into a future where that's the norm. In doing so, she throws anecdote after anecdote pretty harmlessly against the wall.

Do you agree that quiet is better than too much noise? Do you think that being able to concentrate is something worth cultivating? Do you think that most of what's on the Internet is worthless junk? Are you interested in people staying focused so they can make better judgments? Do you find meditation helpful? If you said "yes" to those questions, you'll agree with this book . . . but you won't learn much that you didn't know already unless you read nothing about the way brains work. Even if you want to learn about brain physiology, this isn't a very good book.

I found the overstatement to be irritating, as well. Otherwise, I would have rated the book at three stars.

You can lead a person to education, but you can't make him or her think. that's always been a problem. The new context just adds color to the old dilemma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too disorganized, too long, too many other sources quoted, September 17, 2008
By 
Jen F. (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
While I find the topic of the book interesting, Jackson's writing is itself a product of the "age of distraction." It is poorly organized, going from one loosely connected anecedote/story to another without clear direction. She quotes so many other sources that it's difficult to find a sentence that isn't made up of bit quotes from various authors and experts. Many sentences are made up entirely of a quote here from this person followed by a quote there from that person. Jackson also reiterates the same point so many times that it becomes redundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, July 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was a little disappointed in this book. It's for the most part a long essay, and the author seems to meander quite a bit. I wouldn't have minded this if there had been a few deeply insightful moments, but most of the creative energy here is spent pointing out the obvious and then supporting the obvious with lots and lots and lots of quotes and citations. This is a sometimes well-written and interesting book, but it reads a bit like having a dinner conversation with one of your really intelligent friends. Nice for an evening of distraction, but I was hoping for considerably more in a book that came with such high praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Losing Focus Fast, July 8, 2008
Impressive is not strong enough. Vast, in-depth, challenging, thorough, detailed and triumphant may describe it better. Maggie Jackson's Distracted: The Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age is a tightly written treatise on the state of American culture in the Technological Age. Where has our attention gone? According to Ms. Jackson, it has seeped into blue split-screen living with a dash of nomadic transience. We're skimming the surface of our lives like a dragon fly on a pond with dripless, crustless, tasteless food, shattered conversation, and information overload. Intensity has escaped us. We lead a vacuum-packed existence.

The book claims we are quickly losing the capability of deep thinking. It may sound radical, but consider how much we read (on the Web) and how little we retain. Fragmented scraps of data float in our brains with little cohesion. We task-switch without concentration, making more errors than if we were to refrain from juggling.

Thinking the book might focus solely on the Internet itself, I was pleasantly surprised to see the breadth of Ms. Jackson's treatment of our collective attention deficit disorder. Quoting Nietzsche, William James and Derrida, Ms. Jackson delves into the treasure trove of philosophy to explain how we've gotten into the state we're in. Satisfyingly academic, her book requires attention and commitment to slog through the text without the culturally threatening distraction she bemoans.

If you're looking for a guide on modern living, you won't find it here. Distracted is a lovely compilation of ideas sewn seamlessly together by anecdotes and academia. It made me miss the penetrating hum of the overhead lights in my cubicle at Smith College so many years ago. It was the only distraction we had. My daughter's generation is challenged by the ring-tone culture that leapfrogs our focus from one thing to the other without thought.

Thankfully, Ms. Jackson has offered us an eye-opening discourse, torch in hand, illuminating the darkening walls as we edge closer to the light.

Christine Louise Hohlbaum, author of Diary of a Mother: Parenting Stories and Other Stuff and Sahm I Am: Tales of a Stay-at-Home Mom in Europe, lives near Munich, Germany with her husband and two children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Distracted: The Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age
Distracted: The Erosion of Attention and the Coming Dark Age by Maggie Jackson (Paperback - October 20, 2009)
$18.00 $13.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.