Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

  • A/B
  • Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 6, 2015
Quick shipping. Awesome product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2002
People who don't like this record tend to complain that it has several covers and is too short. I understand these views, but I must lean towards the "pro 'Diver Down' argument." Some people will argue that a group's own songs carry more weight. That belief is certainly understandable. But there is another angle to consider. A group can simply do a cheap remake of a song, OR, they can add their own touches of enhancement while still remaining respectful to the original. There are several covers on this record, but the group adds enough of their own touches to offer something a little new. Whether a group uses covers or not is not the issue. It's how well they handle the use of covers. ('Girl, You Really Got Me Now' from VH 1 was a cover, and it was really popular. 'You're No Good' from VH 2 was a cover and it got a fair amount of attention.) And there are some fairly good songs of their own like 'Cathedral' and 'Little Guitars.' Others complain that the record is too short. But, we may wish to ask ourselves: 'what's worse? A short record that is good, or a long record with a couple of good tracks, and lots of filler?' I grant that better Van Halen//David Lee Roth exists. But I honestly feel that if you are swayed by the negative reviews you will miss out on a pretty good record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2015
Probably their best album ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
I love this album enough said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 1999
What can I say? If you haven't heard it yet, where the hell have you been since 1981? Although it is their worst selling album to date (next to Van Halen III), the five plus months of studio time put in on this release is evident. The raw, unfinshed tinge of Halen's sound has been fine tuned on every one of these eery tracks. Eddie and Michael's sound experiments make this album ring to different tune. The party songs are gone, replaced by gritty guitar riffs that literally scream and a tight bass line that truly is the backbone of every song on this album. From start to finish, this album just rocks harder than anything I've ever heard. David Lee Roth will always be the ultimate frontman, but for this one shining moment, every member of this band highlights their talent. "Mean Street" and "So This is Love?" are Eddie Van Halen's best guitar work ever! Oh, by the way... we all hate critics, but they gave this album the highest acclaim of any of Van Halen's twelve albums. So much for commercial pop! Anyone that calls themself a Halen fan that does not own this album... well, let's just say "Fair Warning! Lord, strike that poor boy down!"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
What's not to like about VH?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2008
I am not sure if the band was just in a writing slump or what, but this album contains 5 cover songs (The Kinks "Where Have All The Good Times Gone", Roy Orbison's "Pretty Woman", Martha And The Vandels "Dancing In The Street", "Big Bad Bill" and the traditional western "Happy Trails"). For an album that is less than 35 minutes long this is a lot of non-original material. I have read that this whole project was kind of thrown together after the band had cut a single and the record company wanted it followed up by a quickie album. If that is the case it would certainly help to explain the contents of this disc. Of the original stuff there some nice short instrumentals, especially "Cathedral", but as always with Van Halen albums the instrumental stuff is too short and never really develops into anything. Of the new tunes "Little Guitars" and "The Full Bug" are both good. Overall though this is probably the weakest of the Roth era albums and the last one I would purchase if I was filling out my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
Nothing beats classic VH!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2005
This is a very good album in my opinion. Certainly not VH's best, but perhaps their most underrated. In particular, the song 'Cathedral' really shines to guitar players like myself. Like 'Eruption', it introduced a style- 'Eruption' introduced finger tapping. 'Cathedral' introduced the underrated and seldom used but still incredibly cool technique of guitar violining, which involves alot of delay, reverb and chorus effects while swelling the guitar's volume control from 0 to 10 with each note. This album is great and it is one of my favorite hard rock albums, if not my favorite Van Halen. I am dissapointed that they did not follow it up in 1983 however. As well, in 'Dancing in The Streets', Eddie uses yet another interesting guitar technique. This album is a technical guitar masterpiece and contains several incredibly innovative tracks. Rock on Eddie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Just what I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.