Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Canadian-Specific Guide
Mike's eBook is comprehensive not only in the investing theory that it espouses, but also in its execution! The fact that he actually shows screen shots of the filters he uses to choose dividend stocks is a great feature. For me, the cherry on top is the fact that this book is written for a Canadian audience specifically, and I haven't seen that everywhere else. Tax...
Published 22 months ago by Kyle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor grammar and style, light on substance. C-
As an investor living in Canada who is interested in dividend investing, I wanted to like this book. However, Mr. Heroux's work is very light on content and his writing style is miserable. It is a short read with very little new or unique information on dividend investing. Dividend Growth is also full of typographical errors and other evidence that suggests a lack of a...
Published 8 months ago by Daniel H. Griffith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Canadian-Specific Guide, October 2, 2012
Mike's eBook is comprehensive not only in the investing theory that it espouses, but also in its execution! The fact that he actually shows screen shots of the filters he uses to choose dividend stocks is a great feature. For me, the cherry on top is the fact that this book is written for a Canadian audience specifically, and I haven't seen that everywhere else. Tax treatment, and how to best certain types of income for the Canadian scene is worth the asking price all by itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor grammar and style, light on substance. C-, December 12, 2013
By 
Daniel H. Griffith (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As an investor living in Canada who is interested in dividend investing, I wanted to like this book. However, Mr. Heroux's work is very light on content and his writing style is miserable. It is a short read with very little new or unique information on dividend investing. Dividend Growth is also full of typographical errors and other evidence that suggests a lack of a competent copy editor. This makes me wonder whether other, more substantive, information in this book might also be incorrect. I do not recommend Dividend Growth and would give this book a C- for style and content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice but, December 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the Canadian edition but could not print off the details for studying, also some of the criteria for selection could not be found on TMXMoney. I am still learning and will continue to use his guide, probably buy the printed edition from Amazon Dividend Growth: Freedom Through Passive Income Canadian Editionas well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eBook well worth the price, September 28, 2012
In my experience, most eBooks are pretty thin on content and not worth your time or money. But this eBook is different because the author is truly an expert in the field - he's a Certified Financial Planner and holds an MBA in Financial Services.

Mike's a passionate dividend investor, and his eBook is packed full of useful information on how to build a solid dividend growth portfolio, when to buy and sell stocks and how many stocks to hold. This guide is well worth the $9.99 price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to like this book, but........., March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Helpful for newbies but not much for the intermediate level investor. I found the quadrant approach to be confusing and think a simple table to compare stocks would be more effective. I have followed the author's blog for some time and enjoy it, but the book sort of rambles along. Another issue I have with most self published books is the absence of an index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars is okay, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dividend Growth: Freedom Through Passive Income (Kindle Edition)
I noticed several spelling mistakes. Although displaying perfect spelling and grammar may not be the primary objective of the book, it still distracted me. There may be other investment books that will give more confidence in the dividend growth investment methods.
Overall, good intro for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars practical and easy read, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dividend Growth: Freedom Through Passive Income (Kindle Edition)
The book is practical and it is an easy read. I am a South African and some information is not relevant to me, however, the principles are relevant and practical to my trading. Excellent material!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome intro to dividend investing!, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very easy read and extremely informative. I'll be recommending it to all my friends and colleagues. Can't wait to start cashing dividends!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book by the author of the popular Dividend Growth Investor blog
Clear explanation and analysis for safe income investing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Investing Primer, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dividend Growth: Freedom Through Passive Income (Kindle Edition)
Mike has a knack for explaining dividend investing in easy to understand terms. He offers a blueprint guide to helping choose stocks and also offers portfolio models to follow. He strives to keep the information light with dashes of humor. I highly racommend this book and the price is a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.