Buy New
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $3.08 (21%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Diving into the Wreck: Poems 1971-1972 Paperback – April 1, 2013

ISBN-13: 978-0393346015 ISBN-10: 0393346013 Edition: 1st

Buy New
Price: $11.87
38 New from $7.87 16 Used from $8.60 1 Collectible from $65.00
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
$7.87 $8.60

Frequently Bought Together

Diving into the Wreck: Poems 1971-1972 + The Dream of a Common Language: Poems 1974-1977
Price for both: $23.49

Buy the selected items together


Save up to 90% on Textbooks
Rent textbooks, buy textbooks, or get up to 80% back when you sell us your books. Shop Now

Product Details

Editorial Reviews


Diving into the Wreck is one of those rare books that force you to decide not just what you think of it, but what you think about yourself. It is a book that takes risks, and forces the reader to take them also. . . . You feel about her best images, her best myths, that nobody else writes quite like this.” (Margaret Atwood - New York Times Book Review)

“The poet is telling of something now standing before her eyes of which her heart is full. . . . These poems are not loose facts, they are parts of a revelation.” (Richard Howard - Harper's)

About the Author

Widely read, widely anthologized, widely interviewed and widely taught, Adrienne Rich (1929–2012) was for decades among the most influential writers of the feminist movement and one of the best-known American public intellectuals. She wrote two dozen volumes of poetry and more than a half-dozen of prose. Her constellation of honors includes a National Book Award for poetry for Tonight, No Poetry Will Serve, a MacArthur Foundation “genius” grant in 1994, and a National Book Award for poetry in 1974 for Diving Into the Wreck. That volume, published in 1973, is considered her masterwork. Ms. Rich’s other volumes of poetry include The Dream of a Common Language, A Wild Patience Has Taken Me This Far, An Atlas of the Difficult World, The School Among the Ruins, and Telephone Ringing in the Labyrinth. Her prose includes the essay collections On Lies, Secrets, and Silence; Blood, Bread, and Poetry; an influential essay, “Compulsory Heterosexuality and Lesbian Existence,” and the nonfiction book Of Woman Born, which examines the institution of motherhood as a socio-historic construct. In 2006, Rich was awarded the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters by the National Book Foundation. In 2010, she was honored with The Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry's Lifetime Recognition Award.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Customer Images

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?