Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearing up the DRM confusion.
(update 5/23/2012 - It appears the version of the game you dl from Amazon is now drm free. If it's not... the instructions below will help)

There's some confusion about the DRM status of this game and what version Amazon delivers. Amazon has no DRM of it's own on the game. Larian HAD SecuRom on it but removed it in December 2011. Even the developer, Larian,...
Published on January 24, 2012 by Arthur Kimes

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and uncreative
What can I say, it's just another game. It seems like a weak carbon copy of other more popular games.
Published 10 months ago by Bradford Malbon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearing up the DRM confusion., January 24, 2012
By 
Arthur Kimes (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
(update 5/23/2012 - It appears the version of the game you dl from Amazon is now drm free. If it's not... the instructions below will help)

There's some confusion about the DRM status of this game and what version Amazon delivers. Amazon has no DRM of it's own on the game. Larian HAD SecuRom on it but removed it in December 2011. Even the developer, Larian, doesn't know when or if Amazon will update the game. This review (the game is great - 5 stars!) is intended to tell you how to get the latest, non-drm version of the game no matter what Amazon gives you.

1. Download the game from Amazon. Install it. Run it. If it asks for a key code, hit cancel - you have one of older DRM SecuRom versions. If it doesn't, you're good to go!

2. Go to the developer's site (larian)
Hit the SUPPORT button
Choose "Divinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga"
Look for the "PC version - Patch 2" part.
Download that patch.

3. Get the DRM free patch. Amazon won't let me give you the direct link to that Larian web page but if you google "DKS DRM FREE" it'll probably be the first link.
Download it.

4. Install the patch you got in step 2.
Start the game. The game's launcher will go out and get the updates so that you'll have the latest version. After it finishes downloading, hit the install button. That'll install the files you just downloaded.
Don't run the game

5. Unzip the file you got in step 3. It has the non-drm non-SecuRom version of the game's main program. Go to the directory where you installed the game. It has a BIN subdirectory. That's where the old main program is - name is DIVINITY2.EXE. Copy the new file over the old one.

Done! Now you have the latest version of the game and no DRM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best game you probably never heard of, January 19, 2011
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
This is the best game I've played in a long time. I just happened to find it on Steam and can't believe i've never heard of it. Its like a cross of fable and the witcher, but more fun than either, and you can switch between dragon and human form at the touch of a button! The voice acting is very good, the quests are fun, its Long, Im 25 hours in and just got my dragon form wich makes it almost like a new game now that i can also fly. You can make potions, enchant and charm all your gear and weps, wich there are plenty of. Many different sets to aquire, but dont worry you can still get your stats up piecing random gear together. Its not open world, but more sandbox style with different zones that are pretty good sized. Like fable when you spend skill points theres a little video clip and explanation of what you gain from that skill. At the start you need to choose from mele, ranged, or mage, but you can mix and match skills how ever you want. That leads to one of my few gripes, only 8 hotkey slots. Not enough room to fit special attacks And all the pots u want, but you can pause and drink one from inventory so not a huge deal. One of my favorite thing is there is no fall damage. I guess they figured since you get to morph into a dragon there was no point to it. Thats fun too, jump off tall tower and freefall for a bit, then poof, your a dragon. Only problem is you cant attack ground units in dragon form, but if you could youd have way to big an edge and the game wouldnt be as fun. Theres 4 difficulty settings, from casual to nightmare, im playing at level 2 and am finding combat a little easy, but i still die once in a while. The mindread talent is a new and fun skill. For the price of some xp u can mindread someone and see if they are hiding something, or gain skill points from their knowledge. This though requires some patience because lets say you aquire a password to someones hidden treasure, that doesnt mean said treasure is anywhere near the person it belongs to. Ok i could ramble on more but lets just say there are way more things to like than dislike about this game. If you like fantasy rpgs then you do not want to miss this one. When i started playing i thought this was gonna be another Risen, wich i didnt really enjoy, but Divinity 2 is everything risen wasnt. Hope this helps if your on the fence about buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is just a lot of fun, March 12, 2011
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
Sure, maybe it is a little rough around the edges, but gosh is it fun.

I played the original Divine Divinity, and still have fond memories of it. Can Divinity 2, being such a different game (most obviously now in 3D) live up to the original? Wonderfully, it does.

There are a lot of pretty unusual or even unique things in Divinity 2: mind reading, your "battle tower" that serves as your always-available home base, people you can send off to fetch herbs/gems/minerals, a necromancer who lets you put together body parts you find or buy to make your own creature to summon, and of course being able to turn into a dragon and fly around.

It never takes itself too seriously, and has a great balance of fun and challenge. Fighting is not realistic at all, but a lot of fun as you jump around knocking enemies down. There are many small humorous touches, which I wouldn't want to spoil. It has a fair number of puzzles, but mostly doesn't let them become frustrating.

Divinity 2 also does not have the now ubiquitous quest arrow, which I really think is to its benefit. The quests are designed to not need one, and it is refreshing to never get into that "go where the arrow is pointing me" thing.

Disappointingly, when you are in dragon form you can't take out people on the ground, and have to live with magical barriers preventing you from going certain places... but I can understand how difficult it would be to not let that become totally unbalancing without such limitations.

And this works, because the game never feels like it is trying to be anything but a game, so it merrily does whatever is best to be a fun game. At the same time, there is a good sense of your actions making an impact on the events around you, and the characters you meet are generally interesting and can have some feelings towards.

The voice acting ranges to serviceable to good; I don't recall any really cringe-inducing moments. On many occasions when you click on something or make a selection to do an action, a cheerful narrator reads you the text providing the feedback. The music is great (though here I would say it does not live up to the fantastic Divine Divinity soundtrack). The graphics aren't at the level of current AAA games, but are plenty good enough to not be a distraction and invite you to explore the world.

The game is a semi-open world -- it is designed around exploring, but has significant blocked off areas that you can't get to until completing certain quests as part of the main story, and other areas that likewise close behind you during the story. The story itself is somewhat standard "save the world" fare, though it has its own strong details and style that keep it interesting.

Character leveling provides lots of options. There are 4 skill trees, each with 15 or so skills which you can freely invest in regardless of your initial character class. In practice it seems like you will want to focus on a small handful of specific skills so that you have enough skill points to bring them up so they are powerful enough in later parts of the game. This is forgiving however; if you don't build your character's skills well, you can pay some gold to re-assign them. This also seems like a good opportunity to try out the wide variety of other skills you didn't initially get to use, without having to replay the game.

It also seems that equipment is a key part of character leveling. In later parts of the game I found myself feeling underpowered, until I spent a little time picking out better equipment and applying enchantments and charms to beef it up. Your equipment can impact every part of your character: improve skills, add health and magic, increase rate of healing, etc.

There is just a huge amount of fun gaming here. And I have not yet even gotten to the expansion that is included. Anyone who enjoys RPGs should give this game a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very long game, and quite challenging as well, May 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
Wow, you talk about getting your moneys worth out of a game? This game is extremely long, i've been playing it probably off and on for over a month and a half. And, I am no where close to beating the game. I've just made it past the first chapter I think. And, the expansion I haven't even touched yet. I think they said there is over 100 hrs. of play time with this, and I believe it!
Transformations, cool monsters, good puzzles, and a intriguing story line all make for a good overall game. I would recommend this for anyone who like rpgs. Also, the game is fun, but you will have moments you get stuck or need help. In that case take a break and come back to it later.
For the cost, I would recommend DKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful RPG game, June 16, 2011
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
I am totally hooked on this game. I have played games like Heroes of Might and Magic V or Kings Bounty (both "The Legend" and "Armored Princess"), but DKS is by far the best by a very simple measurement: it actually draws you in, you feel like you are really there. The fact that the game is epic in length and depth also helps to feel like you actually live that game. Don't be surprised to sit down with this game at 6 pm and realize it is midnight, when you first look at your watch.

Graphic details and lighting are superb, but still the graphics engine remains fast even on mid-range graphics cards - my laptop (Quadro FX 1800M) runs this game at the highest settings and everything remains blazingly fast. My only criticism is the extremely infrequent auto-save. And because this game has many surprises in stock, you might die suddenly and realize that your last save was 2 hours ago. Frustrating. Lesson: save frequently!

I am not sure where the "M" rating comes from. Violence is there, for sure, but no gore or splatter. I wouldn't have a problem to give this game to a teen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Just Fun, January 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
I've played a few games that had great plots, were well-written, made me think and were even relevant to life. Divinity II is none of those. But about halfway through the game, you get the ability to turn into a dragon whenever you want. How is that not amazing?

The game is well-constructed enough that it never gets boring, and the story is just involved enough to keep you interested throughout. It's straight-forward, challenging but fun, and you get to turn into a dragon anytime you want. There are enough side quests and places to explore that you'll spend many hours on this game, and overall it's a pretty game.

There are some flaws with the mechanics: within a very narrow level range, you're able to have a challenging fight, but more than a couple levels below you and everything is far too weak, more than a couple levels above you and everything is practically impossible. This is especially a problem at low levels. The skills are also very poorly balanced--some skills just aren't worth the experience you're putting into them. That said, the idea of being able to wipe the slate clean and re-assign all your skill points is really smart. So as you figure out what works best, you can spend some gold and choose a completely different set of skills.

Have you not bought this game yet? Then let me reiterate: YOU GET TO TURN INTO A FREAKING DRAGON. It's fun just running and jumping off cliffs and turning into a dragon in mid-air, or running toward the corner of a floating platform and hitting a button so that you transform and keep moving without missing a beat. Dive-bombing your enemies with fireballs. Taking down towers with your fire breath. It simply doesn't get old. Among the sub-set of games where it's possible to transform, I don't think I've ever played a game that made transformation so fun. This feature alone is worth the price of admission.

The story isn't going to start conversations, the world isn't particularly unique, and there are some gameplay issues. But this is truly escapist fantasy at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divinity II DKS Download: DRM review, December 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
This is a DRM only review, hoping to help others answer questions I had before buying this title on Amazon Download.

Short version: This is effectively a GOG-like copy of the game. There is no activation required (after installing the latest patch and the official DRM removing binary), you can install it as many times as you want, on as many computers as you own. You can backup the installation files and install from them later and not have to go through Amazon.

Long version: After purchasing the game you get a custom made (<1Mb size) downloader. Running the downloader starts the product download. Notice that the downloader does not require administrative rights (so it doesn't register the game somehow in the system registry), it seems to be a pure downloader. After the game has downloaded you can find an activation key in the html file in the downloaded game files but you won't need it as you'll see. (Backup the installation files and) install the game. Download, install the autoupdater [1] and run it. It will download a setup file and a data file in the game directory, you can actually backup these too so next time you can apply the update without having to install first the autoupdater (and thus without depending on the developer's servers being up). Run the setup file, apply the update. Then get the DRM-removing executable ([2]) and replace your game executable with this one. That's it!

If you backup the game installation files (downloaded from Amazon), the patch files downloaded by the autoupdater and the DRM free .zip you have a full working DRM free local copy to install this game anytime you want in the future, without depending on Amazon or the developer's servers being up.

Since Amazon strips out links:
[1] Search for "dragon knight saga update"
[2] Search for "dragon knight saga drm patch community"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game! Don't forget to update to 1.4.70 "Patch 2", December 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
Really fun game! Reminds me a bit of Oblivion, but better! :D Just bought it so still playing through it. Graphics are "good" but dated since they are directX-9 based. If you need a DEMO, can be found on STEAM.
Download went great! Price was awesome!!! Really happy with purchase. Thanks Amazon!

ALSO, the Amazon version is 1.4.32, there is an UPDATED-PATCH that should be downloaded, updates to 1.4.70. Update called "Patch 2". HIGHLY RECOMMENDED as it fixes 2 important issues: disables 30 FPS cap, and adds multi-core CPU support
Can be found here:[...]

Runs great on my laptop:
i7-2630QM
Nvidia GTX 460m GPU
6 GB ram

Happy Gaming :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, December 11, 2011
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
I played through the Dragon Knight Saga over the Summer and I have to say it was an incredible surprise! The game lasted 38 hours and kept me entertained for most of the way through. The second entry in the saga, while having slow points, still retained the great sense of humor and more than made up for lack of areas to explore with its epic finale. If you are a fan of the RPG/Action RPG genre, you owe it to yourself to play this game. Take the game for how it is, don't compare it to Skyrim, and you will have a great time delving into this fantastic story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem of an RPG, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga [Download] (Software Download)
This game is really fun for anyone that likes RPGs. It is in a classic style, so adventuring leads to puzzles, fights and improvement in character, skills and interesting equipment. Good graphics, open exploring of large areas, and importantly, very little in the way of frustrations. Some of the puzzles are arcane, but can be solved with careful inspection of surroundings, thought and perseverance. Many hours of battle and exploration. Good dialogue, easy interface, satisfying fights that frequently need planning ahead/strategy/retreat/dodging.
The other reviewers have done a pretty complete job of describing the details, so I won't. Just get it and play if you are an RPG'er. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9dc15cd8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.