ACDelco Radiators & Heating Components Shop Men's Watches Cloud Drive Photos nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums belkin All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer wdftv wdftv wdftv  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Now Kids Halloween

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
on April 13, 2011
This is such a great RPG adventure. It has an old-school style with beautiful graphics and fun gameplay. Exploration is rewarded and the game does not hold your hand.
There are a lot of things to do in this game. The land is beautiful and full of hidden caves and secret passages. Side-quests abound and they are unique and original. Somehow the developers have managed to break free from the "fetch" quests that normally plague open-world games. Many quests intertwine beautifully and feel organic.
The voice acting is great. You can tell this is a labor of love for Larian and Atlus.
The artbook and CD are nice too! Don't miss out on one of the Xbox 360's best games; a great deal at any price!

-A quest around every turn
-Great music
-Interesting characters
-A story that actually keeps you going
-Humorous dialog
-Valuable loot (complete with enchantments and charms to imbue on your weapons and armor)
-Random treasure chests
-Classless skill tree (make a warrior mage, a bow wielding warrior etc)
-Game gets better and better the more you play

-Very occasionally, you may not know what to do next in a quest (reading and mind-reading will usually prevent this)
-Some shoddy animation work on some attacks (you get used to it quickly though)
-Some screen-tearing
-Occasional glitch here and there

-One of the greatest adventures of all-time. Rivals Oblivion and Dragon Age. Plays like a combination of Fable, Oblivion and Dragon Age.
-Awesome game!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2011
Games have been getting easier and easier recently. With the rise in casual gaming, more hardcore games with depth have suffered. However, then enters Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga, which is a game that loves its roots. This is an RPG that is similar to those on the PC that stick to depth instead of making things easier. Take Dragon Age II for example, which is a game that I completed recently. Dragon Age II was made so much more "friendly" in its design, yet the design felt so incredibly lazy. Why were environments repeated so much throughout the game? This is why Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga is a breath of fresh air in the current gaming market.


- Two Games Included - Ego Draconis Remastered Version (60+ Hours to 100%), Flames of Vengeance Expansion (30-40 Hours to 100%)

- New Graphics Engine Improvements - More detailed armor, richer environmental textures, better lighting, etc.

- Framerate Improved - Now runs silky smooth!

- An Interesting Story and Universe - Well done voice acting with some great humor; an epic tale!

- Lots of Replay Value - With 90 hours or more of gameplay, you'll easily find more stuff to do in the game your second time around.

- Soundtrack Disc, Art Book for free!


- Loading - Even when installed to the Xbox 360's HDD, loading can take a while.

- A Little Rough Around The Edges - The Dragon Knight Saga is polished compared to Ego Draconis' recent release, but it's still not perfect and has some issues.

Other than some minor technical issues, The Dragon Knight Saga is a great RPG with tremendous value. I highly recommend at least checking it out, but I'd definitely buy it if I were you.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2011
This game is fantastic. It got panned by critics when it was first released because it was extremely buggy and the graphics were less than stellar. But 8 or 10 months after its release (something like that), the devs overhauled the graphics and fixed all the bugs, then released an expansion (which is included here) that was almost as long as the original game...each part takes around 50 hours if you do all there is to do, for a total of over 100 hours of gameplay. If you rush through the main story, you could probably finish it faster, but in a game like this, why would you want to? We play these kinds of games (literally ROLE PLAYING games) to immerse ourselves in the world the devs have created...and this one does not disappoint. The extra time the devs spent polishing the game up were well worth it. I didn't play it when it was originally released, so this was my first experience with it, and I'm quite impressed. The graphics actually look pretty darn good. Rich detail throughout, and very few areas look less-than-completely polished. The character animations aren't the strong suit here, but they are on par with most other RPGs, and better than many.

The main story is pretty good, for a game like this (which, for games based on story, are frequently pretty lame, sadly). The side quests are decent...fairly standard RPG fare, but they take you into some pretty cool environments, which are all fairly well developed.

It's not perfect, however. My biggest gripe (and, frankly, one of my only ones) is with the controls. Generally, they're fine, but if you want to highlight something/someone (like when you want to talk with someone), you have to get a tiny little cursor perfectly on them before you can push a button to initiate a conversation (or pick up an item, or whatever). It's extremely frustrating, and even after many, many hours of play, it doesn't get much less frustrating.

That being said, that really is one of my few gripes. The gameplay is, by and large, quite fun, with varying and unique enemies and environments. The game really comes into its own, though, when it allows you to take dragon form...something that unfortunately doesn't happen (except once, briefly) until quite far into the game. This is a shame, because it's the best part of the game. Flying around as a dragon is loads of fun, and the flying controls are excellent. Insofar as such is possible, I really felt like a dragon flying around, spinning through the air and breathing fire. Very cool. I just wish they had introduced this far earlier in the game, and (thus) allowed for a lot more time spent as a dragon. Note to developers: being a dragon is cool. When you pull it off well, make it a large portion of the game!

Overall, this game is very fun, and highly recommended. I didn't play it when it was first released (largely due to the bad reviews), but the devs have clearly fixed the vast majority of these issues. A quick search of reviews for the updated version shows that most reviewers love the new version, and rightly so. It's awesome. The expansion, which again is included here, is just as high quality as the original campaign, and for the cost here, the package is an incredible value. Highly recommended!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on April 19, 2011
This is a great, supremely addictive game. It has a unique artistic and narrative style, with a lot of unique gameplay elements. You can fight as a man (warrior, ranger, mage, priest, or any combination you fancy), fly as a dragon, destroy enemy's fortresses, solve puzzles, uncover a multitude of secrets, and so on. I can't imagine why this game is not very popular. It totally beats any Fable game, and yes, even DA2 (which was not too hard to beat). It shares the same place as DAO on my list, but by different reasons.
Also: for under 40 buck you get about 100 hours total (including add-on). This beats any game on the market.
People, what are you waiting for? To be a dragon for less then $40 - it's like a dream come true. ;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on May 25, 2011
This is such a nice package... the art book, the thick manual with a nice greeting inside to the player (make sure to read it!). The story is also explained in the manual. You also get a hard copy soundtrack. Yeah, you heard me! A REAL disc, not those stupid pieces of paper with a code on it for a digital copy. Why can't every game with a soundtrack give you a real disc? I prefer it that way. The graphics I think are impressive. Very few frame drops, no pop-in textures and the lighting is similar to Fable 3, which makes the game look very vivid. The game feels great to play. The voice acting is good. Most of the female characters' voices talk as if they want to rip your clothes off and make sweet love to you... but good nonetheless! The areas are huge! When they say they made this game for people who like to explore, they weren't kidding! In the beginning it was a bit confusing. I couldn't really see where I should go next or who to talk to since I've become so dependent on big ICONS floating on the mini map. But this was not available in the tutorial area. So I ran around talking to everyone and checking all the doors, etc. until I found the person way in the back of the area where I did not expect her to be. And guess what? I wasn't annoyed! I enjoyed kind of being forced to go look around instead of bee-lining for the quests. The only other games that made me want to TRULY explore everything were World of Warcraft, Red Dead Redemption & Fallout 3. The story is interesting, and there are dragons... and you can be a dragon! I really recommend you try the demo, or better yet, just buy the game! For the price you won't be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on August 7, 2011
In an era where big dawg developer companies give us shorter games, limited offer dlc, and 2 page black and white instruction manuals Divinity 2 DKS comes along on a silver chariot pulled by the two mighty steeds Larian and Atlus to prove "chivalry" is not dead in the industry. Even before you get into the game itself you're treated to a soundtrack cd and a fully colored bi-lingual instruction manual. Indeed after head honcho Swen Vincke sincerely thanks you for your purchase and showers praise upon his team in a heart felt introduction letter you may feel as if you are having a delirious hallucination. Then when you are promised 100 hours of rpg goodness for 39.99 your head will reel with the possibility that you have fallen into an alternate dimension through a worm hole. Well, rest assured Divinity 2 Dragon Knight Saga is as "real" as it gets!

I've heard some gamers describe this as being "good filler" to occupy time until Skyrim releases but to me that seems to discredit just how worthy Divinity 2 DKS truly is. While it is true some things in DKS remind me of Oblivion, Fable, and Dragon age it's chalked full of many nuances that make it completely unique as well. Sure, you can kick chickens, learn to mix herbs, roam around in an open world, and enchant your gear with special charms but these familiar things are a very miniscule portion of the greater experience.

The first aspect that surprised me in a positive way was how streamline the controls were. Spells, items, and attacks can be assigned to the Y, X, A, and B in any combination you want. You can also allocate additional things to your directional pad. Pressing LB will allow you to open doors, snag goodies, climb ladders, and talk to npcs whereas the RT makes you jump and can also set up a graceful dodge roll if you press a direction on the right analogue stick at the same time. In addition you can go into an inventory screen where everything is easy to find. If you get lost it's easy to mark something on your map which gives you a blue arrow to follow while indicating your own location with a red arrow.

Unlike other rpgs which restrict your hero Divinity 2 is very liberal. Though you may choose your gender and class from the beginning nothing actually bars you from the ranger, slayer, wizard, warrior, and priest skill trees. You can mix and match to your heart's content!

Yet Divinity 2 is no cakewalk. You have no magic sparkling pixie trails or brightly glowing items to tip you off. The game will be cruel if you do not take the time to look around. Likewise if you fail to save often enemies will kill you once they get into better organized bands with "healers" and "shamans" to buff their archers and fighters. Losing 3 hours of progress due to careless negligence can be a cumbersome drag!

At first Divinity 2 may come off as a bland action rpg . Yes, you can eventually turn into a dragon to partake in epic aerial dog fights with floating sky citadels. Yes, you do get an awesome "battle tower" that makes Bruce Wayne's "Bat cave" seem as if it is a dingy cheap hotel room by comparison. Yes, later on you can collect body parts from your enemies to make a patchwork monstrosity which will fight loyally by your side. Problem is this isn't until about 15 or so hours into the game.

Yet the exploration between the points of being a naïve adventurer and becoming an epic protagonist are so well crafted with so many diverse side quests and lively encounters you are not going to care if certain things about DKS smack as being "rudimentary". This is "good fantasy" at its' finest. The loot hunting, absurd or foreboding conversations, and visceral combat act as a euphoric drug that incites that "Just one more hour!" response.

Perhaps the most interesting mechanic towards the beginning of the game is the ability to "mind read". By spending a small boon of experience points you can decipher people's thoughts during chat sessions. This can range from being mildly amusing to very helpful. Certain whispery contemplations will reveal the locations of important items, teach you a new alphabet, boost certain attributes, or even cue you in on secret pass words that are essential to your quest.

When you finally "do" take to the skies being a dragon will be awkward initially. Each battle citadel has towers that either fire out powerful blasts or spawn more flying enemies. Strategically it helped me to take out the ballista towers first before going after the nesting towers. Also be sure to keep on the move. Staying idle in one place too long will spell out your doom! Luckily a dragon's "fire balls" are somewhat akin to homing missiles so taking down the winged abominations that come after you is not a chore in tedium. As the difficulty of these battles scale up you'll also be able to upgrade your dragon form's inherent supernatural abilities.

Wrapped around all this is an intriguing story. As a dragon slayer recruit you are tasked with hunting down the last of the dragons. It is known far and wide that a corrupt dragon knight struck down the divine champion of the realm thus his kindred have become scapegoats to blame for everything that is evil, wicked, and wrong. Yet in an ironic twist of fate a dying female dragon knight gives you her powers and reveals to you an even greater threat in the land. The events that follow sort of mess up your life. In one instance you have to cut down your old friends that are trying to kill you. In addition the villain Damian is not rampaging without having a valid reason. Though certain characters may seem like ridiculous clichés at first they eventually prove to have a lot of emotional and historical depth to them. There are moments you may feel sorry for the bad guys and equally loathe the good guys. DKS insists you "think". It's not going to make things easy by setting up a bunch of cookie cutter archetypes meant to incite total fondness or total avarice. Many big movers and shakers in Rivellion have done both virtuous and atrocious deeds in equal measure. Take that as you will.

Before I close up shop I should state that DKS may lack a few things you expect from the genre. Though you have free reign with your multiple responses there is no morality meter. In addition though the game has "romantic themes" your main hero cannot develop and enrich a relationship with a special partner. Frankly I did not mind this nor did I perceive it as a qualm but for those who prefer the "Bio-ware" or "Witcher" approach to socializing DKS may leave them wanting.

For me Divinity 2 DKS has been a delightful escape. It's obvious a lot of love and hard work went into this "special edition" and the bugs I've encountered have been few and far between. If you enjoy Western rpgs but are looking for something that's delightfully different you should totally pick up this unappreciated master piece!


+Easy to learn controls

+ fluid combat

+ Freedom to develop your character anyway you want to

+Deep multi layered story

+ A sweeping and breathtaking sound track

+Unique aesthetic design applied to enemies & armor.

+ Side quest are actually "fun".

+ Turning into a dragon, mind reading, and creating your own patchwork minion separates this game from the pack while establishing it as a special experience you shouldn`t pass up!

+Very massive and interesting world.

+Magic teleport way points make travel easy once you find them all.

+Free soundtrack and bi-lingual full color instruction manual. (The other featured language is French)


-Little to offer those who prefer morality meters and relationship development

-Game can be unapologetically vague and very difficult

-Aerial fights in dragon form maybe frustrating until gamers grasp the basics for successful strategy.

-Fans that supported Larian by getting the original "Ego Draconis" will feel a tad cheated. All I can say in DKS's defense is that it comes with a 30 hour expansion AND many steps were taken to improve the core game. (Aka better engine and nicer visuals)

For you if

Do you feel as if the journey matters more than the destination? Do you like seeing your armor and weapons visually change as you equip new gear? Love dragons and wizards? Do you applaud open worlds that offer up humor, tragedy, and a rich history in equal dosages? Do you prefer to be in the thick of the action instead of issuing commands via turn based monotony? If so Divinity 2 DKS was lovingly smelted and re-forged just for you!

Not for you if

Divinity 2 sits on the uncomfortable ant hill of being more stream lined than Oblivion yet is not quite as straight forward and user friendly as Fable. If you prefer an rpg that is one of those two extremes DKS could rain on your parade with its` "middle of the road" approach. In addition there are no "deep relationships" for the hero or heroine to pursue so if you are aching for a dime novel fantasy romance this is not the place to find it.

Personal Bias Opinion

I haven't played a Western rpg that has hooked me this much since Dragon age. DKS has fun game play, many expansive locales, and a really good story line. It's also not afraid to do its' own thing which is admirable. For these reasons I give it 5 out of 5!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on June 9, 2011
I am an avid gamer of the 360 and I have beaten most of the new, critically acclaimed titles on the market. Mass Effect, Dead Space, Assassin's Creed, Fallout, Bioshock, Tales of Vesperia, The Lost Odyessy, Oblivion, FFX13.... and so on. I have no idea how this game has failed to get so little hype. I honestly wasn't expecting that much because I haven't heard anything about it other than reading Amazon reviews. I am only about halfway through the game, but this is by far the most engrossing game I have played since FFX. This world is designed so beautifully and the gameplay mechanics are absolutely perfect. The RPG elements are done perfectly. I have never been so lost in a video game world in all my life, and I'm a lot older now and am not the kid I was when I first picked up the playstation. Other than the perfect gameplay mechanics and rpg elements, this is one of the best soundtracks I have had the pleasure to hear. FFX was so engrossing to me because of its soundtrack and game play, same with this title. I'm going to wait until I finish both discs and see how the story and development play out, but I am actually already considering this to be the best game I have ever played... seriously. This is a classic rpg which perfectly implements newer additions we've seen to the the genre. Also, the voice-acting is Superb throughout the game which really helps the experience.

The graphics aren't mind-blowing, but they're very, very good... better than oblivion and on par with fallout. I can't say enough about how pleased I am. I recently just played Fallout: New Vegas, and was so disappointed as a gamer, but this is so exciting. It has elements of every rpg I've played blended carefully into an awesome adventure. This is what oblivion should have been. The quests aren't fetch like. The action is hard and great. The customization is awesome. I'll add more after I beat it, but I just had to post this review now because I feel like gamers should know about this title.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2011
Short Review: It may have some rough edges but it still is a great experience.
Quick list of thoughts:
It doesn't hold your hand like modern RPGs.
Quick save is intrusive like Dragon Age, but lasts a bit longer.
Going from outside to inside is quick, but inside to outside can take a bit.
A story that will keep you interested.
Lots of skills to mix and match your character so you are not stuck in one class if you do not want to.
Pretty graphics, certainly better than Dragon Age.
60 to 100 hours of gameplay for (currently) 40 bucks!
Has a near MMO like feel to it with all the exploration.
All in all a great experience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on May 19, 2011
For a fantasy RPG, this is the best thing on the 360 right now. I found the level progession to be well tied into the story and available map areas. There are an impressive variety of skill sets / progression choices. Moreover, a vast array of armor and weapons combined with unique charm and enchant options make your character a one of a kind effort. Once you secure the Battle Tower, the story and action really get kicked up to the next level! In a 100+ hour adventure, a typical 5 minutes would include morphing to and from dragon form, summoning necro creatures, casting spells, using abilities, drinking potions, knocking heads in melee combat, looting bodies/chests, finding a new area, destroying fortifications, chatting it up with NPC while mindreading their intermost thoughts... all in five minutes. Seriously, this is a great effort.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 6, 2011
My favorite RPG of all time was, and still is, the Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. I loved the unique landscapes, the static leveling system, & the unique loot that you could find anywhere. I weigh nearly ever RPG I play against the feeling I had when I first played Morrowind - I was completely engrossed in the environment of that game & have never found a game that could rival it. While Divinity 2: DKS is not on the same level as Morrowind for me, it does have enough great features that it is a complete steal at $40.

While Divinity II is billed in some of these reviews as an "open world" or "sand box" RPG, it really isn't in my mind. This is really one of my only criticisms of the game (and the reason it received an overall 4* score from me instead of a 5*). Taking Dragon form is phenomenal, one of the better experiences I have had in an RPG, but my enthusiasm for it is somewhat limited due to this not being a truly "open world" game. All I could think of when flying as a dragon was "Why can't I fly any higher?" or "Why can't I fly over there?" I'm a Dragon, after all, I should be able to travel wherever I choose to go. Don't get me wrong, though the game isn't as open as Morrowind or Oblivion, it is more open than a game like Dragon Age or Fable - so your ability to roam freely is pretty good, but it feels just a bit to linear for me to give it that 5th star. The world you explore, though somewhat restrained, is very colorful and bright, and while the graphics aren't going to blow you away, they also aren't bad - kind of middle of the road.

Where this game really shines is its leveling system/gameplay. As I mentioned, one thing I LOVED about Morrowind was the ability to run into a level 15 character at level 1 and get your clock cleaned. I hate games with leveled enemies. For me, Oblivion destroyed the best part about Morrowind when it included leveled enemies & loot in the game. When I become the savior of a land, an almost godlike deity, there is NO REASON a common road thug should have the same level of stats/gear that I do....leveled enemies destroy the realism of a world for me. Divinity 2 does a great job of making you struggle early (often running into some higher level characters), but at the end of the game, you'll be so powerful that you can destroy any foe in the game. Players should have to adjust to a game - not the other way around, and in Divinity 2 it feels like I am adjusting to the game. Also, this game doesn't hold your hand with a convenient little arrow showing you where to go for your active quest, the game requires you to think things through and discover where your next quest is on your own - I greatly respect that.

The leveling system is quite good as well - it requires you to consider what kind of player you want to become and start building character skills that have an end purpose (due to passive skills that support active skills). You really can play this game in just about any way you choose. There is random/leveled loot throughout most of the game, which I don't particularly like (I would rather it be static and the same in every game), but the loot is usually useful and aids you in your quests.

Ultimately, I really hope they create a sequel to this one and end up going full "open world" with it. If there were just a bit more time put into this one, I feel like it could have been one of the best RPG's I have ever played. As it stands, it is a great game that I would highly recommend to anyone who is eagerly waiting for Skyrim to release on 11/11/11 - this is a great game to fill that void.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - Xbox 360
Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - Xbox 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.