Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vulgar, grotesque, and hilarious!
"Do Not Disturb Any Further" is a collection of one-panel cartoons by John Callahan. In a cover blurb, "Far Side" cartoonist Gary Larson says of Callahan, "[H]e makes my own work look normal."
Callahan may be the ultimate politically incorrect cartoonist. Nothing is taboo in this book. He mines humor from the following subject matter: AIDS, blindness, obesity, hell,...
Published on June 10, 2002 by Michael J. Mazza

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I may not be twisted enough to properly enjoy this
Want to love it, but I may need to marinate in weirdness of life a bit longer before I can truly appreciate it.
Published 6 months ago by M. Eastwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vulgar, grotesque, and hilarious!, June 10, 2002
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
"Do Not Disturb Any Further" is a collection of one-panel cartoons by John Callahan. In a cover blurb, "Far Side" cartoonist Gary Larson says of Callahan, "[H]e makes my own work look normal."
Callahan may be the ultimate politically incorrect cartoonist. Nothing is taboo in this book. He mines humor from the following subject matter: AIDS, blindness, obesity, hell, baldness, suicide, anal sex, eating disorders, demonic possession, crucifixion, homelessness, and evolution, among others.
Callahan's subject matter is well served by his ultra-crude drawing style. His grotesque human figures are ugly and misshapen (but oddly endearing!).
I'll describe two typical cartoons from this book. A female Grim Reaper, accompanied by two Reaper children, encounters a man giving away free puppies. The little Reapers excitedly ask, "Mommy! Mommy! Can we kill the puppies?" In another equally warped cartoon, a man is confronting his topless wife, one of whose breasts has been replaced by a pirate hook. He exclaims, "You're going back to that surgeon and demanding a more attractive prosthetic device!"
Is Callahan the most depraved and offensive cartoonist of all time? I don't know, but I do think he's one of the funniest. If you've got a strong stomach and a thick skin, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laugh oiut loud, June 11, 2006
By 
James Welch (Eagle River, AK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
I've shown this book to many friends. Watching as they look through it, I have yet to find one person who does not laugh out loud, usually within the first few pages, and then it gets louder. Callahan spoofs holy cows others dare not touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best to have a Medic available. . ., April 2, 2007
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
. . .when you first open this book. Be especially careful not to

eat or drink as danger of choking during a laugh spasm increases.

Also, if you find yourself cutting cartoons out of this book to

send (pointedly) to friends, try not to cut yourself. In fact,

sharp instruments aren't such a good idea either, so maybe it's

best to just send them their own copies which are, heaven

knows, cheap enough.

What makes Callahan so ridiculously funny is that he apparently

spends a lot of time thinking and not very much drawing. What

he thinks about are things like dogs reserving their seats in

the movies by urinating around them, the exotic dancer vomiting

up cake at the bulimia convention and of course the sherrif's

posse that finds the fugitive's abandoned wheel chair in the desert

and is told 'don't worry, he won't get far on foot'.

The best way to use this book is to leave it in the bathroom

when you have guests and listen for the howls of laughter

followed by the gasping sounds as your company struggles to

catch its breath.

--Lynn Hoffman, author of THE NEW SHORT COURSE IN WINE and

the forthcoming novel bang BANG from Kunati Books. ISBN 9781601640005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Callahan is brilliant!, March 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
John Callahan is nothing shy of brilliant. The title "Digesting the Child Within" demonstrates in itself the amazing sense of humor of the author. He has the keen ability to take issues and situations that seem humorless, and with his witt, make them really funny. Not unlike Larson he has the remarkable ability to think of the most absurd things and makes them hysterical. Everyone I have shown his books to has enjoyed them. Bar none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I may not be twisted enough to properly enjoy this, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
Want to love it, but I may need to marinate in weirdness of life a bit longer before I can truly appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Callahan was The Man!, April 5, 2011
By 
Robert (Chevy Chase, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
The late John Callahan was certainly unique and had a view of the world unlike many others. Besides being very funny, what made me a Callahan fan was that he was a multiple paraplegic who drew his cartoons with a foot (it's true, you can look it up). "Do Not Disturb Any Further" is one of my favorite publications and over the years I've ordered many copies for friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read, October 30, 2008
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
I can't get enough of John Callahan. He is a great comic, and has done amazing work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rude, Tasteless, and Priceless!!! Challenge your views!, September 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Do Not Disturb Any Further (Paperback)
This man knows no limits, and lets you know it. His biting social commentary gives you no choice but to laugh and think - a winning combination for the best of authors, let alone a cartoonist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Do Not Disturb Any Further
Do Not Disturb Any Further by John Callahan (Paperback - May 15, 1990)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.