Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Do the Right Thing
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Do the Right Thing Original recording remastered, Soundtrack

2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, Soundtrack, July 24, 2001
"Please retry"
$119.62 $24.99

Editorial Reviews

The soundtrack for director Spike Lee's Do the Right Thing is a veritable window into the hip-hop/contemporary R&B scene circa 1989. Peppered with "new jack" era slabs of wax from the likes of Public Enemy (the iconic "Fight the Power"), summer party staples from E.U. ("Party Hearty") and Teddy Riley ("My Fantasy"), and deep slow jams from Perri and Al Jarreau, it's the perfect background for a hot night in the city, and like the film itself, it's both frivolous and foreboding.

1. Fight The Power - Public Enemy
2. My Fantasy - Teddy Riley
3. Party Hearty - E.U.
4. Can't Stand It - Steel Pulse
5. Why Don't We Try - Keith John
6. Feel So Good - Perri
7. Don't Shoot Me - Take 6
8. Hard To Say - Lori Perry/Gerald Alston
9. Prove To Me - Perri
10. Never Explain Love - Al Jarreau
11. Tu Y Yo/We Love (Jingle) - Ruben Blades/Take 6
12. Fight The Power (Extended Version) - Public Enemy
13. Fight The Power (Powersax) - Public Enemy
14. My Fantasy (Extended Version) - Teddy Riley
15. My Fantasy (Rap Version) - Teddy Riley
16. Bonus Track 1 - Music From Do The Right Thing: A Spike Lee Joint

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 24, 2001)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered, Soundtrack
  • Label: Motown
  • ASIN: B00005MK88
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #268,811 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By eclectictastes on April 6, 2003
Format: Audio CD
Okay it's a little dated but almost 15 years after it's release the soundtrack to Do the Right Thing still stands, if not towers, over today's soundtracks.
Starting off with Public Enemy's Fight the Power, the CD hooks you in and brings you back to the summer of 1989 and Gumby hairstyles. Cuts such as My Fantasy (by the woefully short-lived Guy), Can't Stand It and Party Hearty can still make you move. Don't Shoot Me by Take 6 is sadly just as relevant today.
Perri's Feel So Good which many confused for Anita Baker and Keith John's Can We Try can still fit in today's Smooth Grooves radio format. Rueben Blades Tu Y Yo is a wonderfully rendered anthem. But the most glorious track on the CD is Al Jarreau's Never Explain Love. The lyrics and melancholy string arrangements will keep you hitting repeat on your CD player.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Knyte on January 18, 2002
Format: Audio CD
I finally decided to buy myself a copy of this soundtrack once I noticed the four bonus tracks that Universal decided to include on this remaster: two remixes of Public Enemy's "Fight The Power", and two remixes of Guy's "My Fantasy". The remixes are cool, but they're not exactly groundbreaking. I'll highlight the best of the rest...
"Why Don't We Try" by Keith John is a pretty nice ballad, that captures the spirit of 80s soul/R&B music. "Feel So Good" by Perri is tied for my favorite song on the album. "Feel So Good" can best be described as VERY Anita Baker-ish, with a touch of gospel. "Don't Shoot Me" by Take 6 can be heard throughout Spike Lee's film; it's also a great song.
"Hard To Say" by Lori Perry and Gerald Aston is more generic 80s R&B, but it still works. "Prove To Me", the second appearance by Perri is good in that 80s R&B uptempo sort of way. Reminds me of something Chuckii Booker would come up with...(remember him?)
My other favorite song on the album is "Never Explain Love" by Al Jarreau. You can hear this song during the closing credits of the film, and it sounds kinda Prince-ish, with its use of "echo-ish" percussion a la "The Beautiful Ones". "Never Explain Love" also features violins that end the song beautifully (think: Janet Jackson's "Come Back To Me"). I can't forget "Tu Y Yo" by Panamanian Salsa legend Ruben Blades...
Be warned though: the music featured on this album sounds amazingly dated. But if you don't mind a little "New Jack Era" nostalgia, then by all means...proceed.
Thanks for reading!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: vinyl pop