Customer Reviews


1,728 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,468)
4 star:
 (139)
3 star:
 (69)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


348 of 362 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle and Charming Show
A new series of Doc Martin seems to be a treat we can look forward two every two years. That was how long we had to wait for Season 5 and now there has been a further two year wait for Season 6. However, the good news is that, whereas for a while it did look like Season 5 was to be the last, Martin Clunes recently said that if Series 6 was well received then the show...
Published 14 months ago by Brett H

versus
33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Least favorite Doc Martin Series
Doc Martin 6 has been my least favorite series. Starts off with a slapstick episode and then descends into dark, serious drama. Much of the charm, lightness, and humor of the earlier 5-star-rated series rapidly disappears. The idea of the producers to make Martin grumpier and more unreasonable as time goes on becomes rather grating. One hopes to see the slightest...
Published 11 months ago by Crownbach


‹ Previous | 1 2173 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

348 of 362 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle and Charming Show, October 16, 2013
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
A new series of Doc Martin seems to be a treat we can look forward two every two years. That was how long we had to wait for Season 5 and now there has been a further two year wait for Season 6. However, the good news is that, whereas for a while it did look like Season 5 was to be the last, Martin Clunes recently said that if Series 6 was well received then the show would continue. I would imagine that the script writers would not have any problem writing new stories for the gentle folk of Port Wenn almost indefinitely so hopefully Doc Martin will be with us for some time to come.

Doc Martin was formerly a successful surgeon in London before a phobia for blood drove him to his current position as GP in this sleepy Cornish village in the West of England. With a deadpan face and no apparent people skills, he is not well equipped to deal with the eccentric inhabitants. It is amazing how often a largely expressionless face speaks volumes! One wonders how the long suffering Louise manages to put up with him, but clearly she does as this series opens with them preparing at last for their wedding. However, as we might have expected, things on the day and subsequently run far from smoothly.

As in the last series, child minding arrangements for Baby James are an ongoing issue. This time the Doc falls out with the regular minder, and her temporary replacement does not prove to be entirely satisfactory. Meanwhile, when he is drafted in to take the baby to a mother and toddlers group, he does not seem to blend in very well! Neither does he endear himself with the unfortunate Louisa when he invites her school Chairman of Governors and wife around to dinner - it does not prove to be a perfect evening and this was one of the funnier episodes of the series. However, often the action revolves around other characters such as Bert or PC Penhale and Doc Martin and family are in the background, although the series does finish on a note of high drama.

You really cannot imagine anyone apart from Martin Clunes playing the part of Doc Martin and Port Wenn provides us with a gentle and charming show which we very much look forward to. Personally I do hope that Doc Martin does continue as it is certainly among the best of our TV viewing currently.
`
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Port Wenn, again!, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
Everything you hoped it would be. How about we all push for a season 7? Martin Klunes is great as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


120 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!, October 28, 2013
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
THIS 6th AND LAST OF THE SERIES IS THE BEST ONE SO FAR. IT'S A SHAME WE WILL NO LONGER BE SEEING THE CHARACTERS OF PORTWENN AND THE ADVENTURES OF DR.ELLINGHAM - HOPEFULLY, ALL CONCERNED IN PRODUCING THIS SERIES WILL CHANGE THEIR MIND - WOULD LOVE TO SEE JAMES HENRY GROW UP AND SEE HOW MARTIN RELATES TO HIM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Doc Martin and all his quirkiness, November 15, 2013
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
I love this whole series. I was put onto the series this year by my brother and was hooked from first one. It's maddening, heartwarming, funny and so very English humor. Doc Martin at times you want to hate him and then he does something that makes you like him a bit more. His love hate realtionship with his girlfriend, the local constable and receptionist is classic. He has some very interesting patients , all so lovable at times. I've watched the series twice and it's something you'll watch over and over and if you have those people in your life who love good TV, this is the series for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doc martin- season 6, October 28, 2013
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
Absolutley thrilled to learn today there will be a Series 6 of Doc Martin. It tops the list of favorites for most in my group of friends. Hard part will be waiting for the DVD to be available for purchase. Hope the series goes on well past #6!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series and very addictive!, November 15, 2013
By 
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
Very enjoyable series....the characters, story lines and scenery are just superb! So hoping it will be followed up with more! There isn't anything like this on American television...its so far outside the usual crime shows or lame comedy. It is intelligent, charming and very entertaining....especially the ongoing relationship between the Doc and Louisa, however troubled, you can't help but root for them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quirky season!, December 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
This is such a quirky character one can't help but enjoy his what I call "antics". The real plus.....Eileen Atkins. Anything with Eileen Atkins is a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Doc Martin - great news, November 3, 2013
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
I definitely will preorder this. It will be my treat for Christmas. This series is delightful. I watched 1-5 on Amazon Prime during my summer off from teaching. The humor is actually funny, the relationships are hysterical. I can't wait. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Least favorite Doc Martin Series, January 27, 2014
By 
Crownbach (San Diego, California, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin Series 6 (DVD)
Doc Martin 6 has been my least favorite series. Starts off with a slapstick episode and then descends into dark, serious drama. Much of the charm, lightness, and humor of the earlier 5-star-rated series rapidly disappears. The idea of the producers to make Martin grumpier and more unreasonable as time goes on becomes rather grating. One hopes to see the slightest signs of personal growth and enlightenment as a character develops, but this series (except perhaps at the very end) leaves us disappointed in this regard. And much the same with the other characters who largely remain unchanged, even those who've had harrowing experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The entire series is terrific fun, with a lot of virtuoso acting and quiet zany comedy., April 22, 2014
By 
Anne Rice (Palm Desert, California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've now watched seasons 1 through 5 over again from the beginning and just finished with season 6 which aired last year. What a treasure. Martin Clunes is simply superb as the angry short tempered and eternally frustrated GP in this small English coastal town filled with maddening and hilariously obstinate and quirky characters. But then so is everybody in the cast here, including Caroline Catz who is the charming and attractive female lead. The fictional village of Portwenn (beautiful St. Isaac in Cornwall) is a real character in the ongoing drama with its winding streets, and views of the blue sea --- and the unique Ian McNeice is especially captivating as Bert Large, a lovable though fallible pillar of the community. Stephanie Cole as Doc Martin's Aunty June is unforgettable and so is Eileen Atkins as yet another loving and interesting aunt. Claire Bloom does a great job now and then as Martin's ghastly mother. But I love all the cast truly. If you haven't tried this series, it's a pleasure to marathon it, let me assure you. There's something safe and comforting about it, though it is always surprising and entertaining. And I so hope we will see a season 7. We must have a season 7!!!! Makes me want to get on a plane for Port Isaac and rent a little house overlooking the bay, and never return to the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2173 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doc Martin Series 6
Doc Martin Series 6 by Doc Martin (DVD - 2013)
$39.99 $23.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.