Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Doctor Dunbar's Good Little Dog Book
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 31, 2003
This book offers tons of practical advice. It has step by step photos with captions that describe exactly how to train your dog. It is entertaining and useful, cleverly written so it can be enjoyed by the whole family, adults and children alike. We followed the instruction outlined in the book and by the time our dog got to training school she was the star of the class.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2003
This book is written in a way that is down to earth and easy to understand, even for a first time dog owner. Dr. Dunbar's advice actually works! Just follow it and be consistent! It worked for my dog, it can work for yours too! Great pictures and even a training plan. You need this book!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2008
I second all the other 5 star reviews! "Ian Dunbar's books are the best in positive dog training available." Simple, straighforward, easy to read and easy to follow instructions. No new dog owner should be without this and his Before and After You Get Your Puppy" books! I've followed his methods and took some classes at Sirius Dog Training, which teach his methods, and couldn't be happier with my two happy dogs! They are a delight to live with.

Don't hesitate for a second before buying this and his other books. If more dog owners tried his methods, which are so humane, the dog populations at shelters would plummet! So many dogs are sent to shelters because the owners don't understand that dogs don't understand from birth what we expect of them - they have to be taught!!! The best way to teach is to understand the animal's nature and why it behaves as it does, which leads to understanding how to teach it what you want. People who tell you their dog is just stubborn or who tell you that you have to dominate the dog and show it who's boss are showing their ignorance about dogs and training. Give them this book!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2007
All I can say is that this book should go home with all new dog/puppy owners! It really is a must have, it's exactly what Dr. Dunbar say's "Efficient, Effective, Easy, Efficacious, Enjoyable, and Expedient". It's easy for kids to use too.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2007
My dog is a product of Dr. Dunbar's training techniques. He is a dream dog! Consequently, I give his books to all my friends and family who have puppies. These books are easy to read and follow and best of all, they work!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2012
Dr. Ian Dunbar is a Veterinarian, animal behaviorist, and dog trainer who has been treating and training dogs for more than 40 years. If you're looking for an easy to follow training manual, Doctor Dunbar's Good Little Dog Book is a great book to follow. Dr. Dunbar's lure/reward methods are totally positive and upbeat. There is no jerking, kicking or scolding in Dunbar's philosophy. Just good, practial advice that works. It's easy to read, easy to follow, and you'll love the results.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
This book is aimed at the person who is bringing a puppy home, not raising a litter for adoption. I bought the book because I am most interested in the proper socialization of these puppies, to make sure they turn out to be great dogs. Many have heard Dr. Dunbar's recommendation that your puppy meet 100 people by the time they are 16 weeks old. This is why I got the book - to get more detail on that recommendation. Sadly, there wasn't much more than that. They are sections on training too. I guess when the book was first written, this was cutting edge knowledge - not so much now. Still good information, however.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2010
Good information for new puppy and for existing dogs. Positive training ideas. Step by step instructions. Good reference book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
Ian Dunbar is a fabulous dog trainer who uses positive reinforcement to train dogs. His methods are fabulous and I have used them with my three Jack Russell terriers. His writing style is fun and light and enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2008
Ian Dunbar's books are the best in positive dog training available. Easy to read, easy to follow instructions. Practical no nonsense solutions. All new dog owners should read this book and Before and After You Get Your Puppy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse