Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Cross Returns with DOCTOR FAITH
Christopher Cross's career arc reminds me a bit of Peter Frampton's as they both had iconic, multi-million selling albums containing hit songs that still get regular radio airplay to this day. In the years following those explosive albums, both artists' cooled off from the white hot glare of the spotlight within the changing musical landscape. Christopher & Peter have...
Published on May 11, 2011 by Scott Gross

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Barely Worth it, but worth it.
Bought the full album in hopes of rekindling the magic. Most of the songs on the album are not strong. There are several, however, that made the purchase worth it to hear the classic C.Cross. Dreamers, November, Leave it to Me and Prayin' have enough in them to put on the IPod. I think the songs themselves, as a whole, are not that great -- save those I've pointed...
Published on May 28, 2011 by Nvlawyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christopher Cross Returns with DOCTOR FAITH, May 11, 2011
By 
Scott Gross (Largo, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
Christopher Cross's career arc reminds me a bit of Peter Frampton's as they both had iconic, multi-million selling albums containing hit songs that still get regular radio airplay to this day. In the years following those explosive albums, both artists' cooled off from the white hot glare of the spotlight within the changing musical landscape. Christopher & Peter have both continued to tour and release new music over the years while staying dedicated to their artistry & craft. And after all this time, Frampton even won his first Grammy for an instrumental album he put out in 2006.
Christopher Cross has also stayed busy since the Grammy filled heyday of "Sailing" & "Ride Like The Wind" releasing 7 additional albums along with a greatest hits collection, a Christmas album and 2008's exquisite "Café Carlyle Sessions" featuring tasteful, scaled down jazz arrangements of his work throughout the years. That brings us to his newest full album of original material in 12 years titled DOCTOR FAITH. The immediate observation is that Christopher isn't trying to come off like he's still 29. There's a wisdom and social consciousness within tracks like "Hey Kid"(featuring Eric Johnson on lead guitar) and "I'm Too Old For This" that shines a sorely needed light on how our culture accepts the previously unacceptable. While this subject matter isn't usually what's expected on a Christopher Cross album, he and co-writer Rob Meurer execute this slippery slope with a fearless grace and truth. The track "When You Come Home" returns listeners to more familiar, romantic waters with the gorgeous strings and plaintive melody of a man looking for redemption and a second chance in his relationship. "November" is a delicate, bittersweet ballad about a couple coming to an end. The uptempo "Leave It To Me" with its tip of the hat to the Chicago horn section tells the story of a poorly treated woman's male "pal" lending his support and possibly more. The song "Doctor Faith" re-teams Christopher Cross and Michael McDonald on a track about the struggles of therapy and the search for inner peace as life is not always "sailing" seamlessly. Other strong songs on the album include the amorous "Rescue", the quiet struggle of "Still I Resist" and the simple eloquence of "Prayin'". All songs were composed by Cross and his writing partner Rob Meurer.
Almost 32 years after he first hit the scene, Christopher's amazing voice has not aged a day and still expresses melodic imagery with a clean resonance and unblemished tone. Cross's lead guitar work is the only element that leaves me pining for more on this album. Other musicians contributing masterfully are Dave Beyer on drums, Mark Browne on bass, David Mann on soprano sax & John Thomas on piano. The lustrous strings and horns are arranged by Chris Walden and conducted by Walden & Jules Chakin. DOCTOR FAITH was produced by Christopher Cross
Listeners rediscovering Cross from 30 years ago will notice differences in the tone, subject and feel of this album. If they try to listen with "fresh ears" and without nostalgic expectations, they'll be treated to the work of a true artist in his stride.

Scott Gross
Inside Musicast.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Christopher Cross classic!, May 11, 2011
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
I have been a Christopher Cross fan since I heard "Never Be The Same" off his debut album over 30 years ago. Enthusiastically, I have kept up with his career, looking forward to each release with great anticipation, knowing that I would not be disappointed. The years have gone by and, release after release, I (and all those lucky enough to have all of his music) have been treated to brilliant singing, song writing, and flawless production. And to my expected delight, DOCTOR FAITH claims its rightful place amongst the wonderful catalogue of Cross classics. 13 years since his last album of new material and WOW was it worth the wait!!!
"November" is a lovely ballad reminding me of the emotions I felt the first time I heard his classic, "Swept Away", off of 1988's BACK OF MY MIND disc. And Cross' voice has not lost a beat...it is as smooth and as beautiful as ever!
Cross and his long time writing collaborator, Rob Meurer, deliver a great variety here, ranging from the before-mentioned "November" to the upbeat and catchy "Leave It To Me", which would be perfect on a sunny trip to the beach. Crisp, clear vocals, pristine musicianship, and mature, thought-provoking lyrics make this cd a treasure for the ears. I am confident you will be hooked...I know I am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE WAIT........., May 17, 2011
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
After seemingly 13 longs years, Christopher Cross has a new CD that equals, or surpasses all of his previous work. If you love Christopher Cross like I do, you will listen to this until you know every word by heart. If you liked his 'Sailing', you will also love this album, because he still writes beautiful lyrics, and the music is so much better than it ever has been. If you haven't really listened to a lot of Christopher Cross music, now is the time to do so....It's so worth the money, and even MORE worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cross still nailing "laid back" vibe, August 29, 2011
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
By Jim Clark, Lee County Courier, Tupelo, MS

Christopher Cross has been out of the spotlight for a while. He has continued performing and writing but just staying in the background, quietly making music.
He's returned with a new CD Doctor Faith, with his signature sound from when he began with Christopher Cross (1979). That first album won five Grammies, including Best Album, Best Song "Sailing" and Best New Artist.
Christopher actually got his start in 1970 when Richie Blackmore with Deep Purple fell ill. Christopher sat in and the crowd was amazed.
Over the years he's also jammed with Alan Parsons, Mark Farner (Grand Funk), Jack Bruce (Cream), Eric Carmen, Todd Rundgren and Michael McDonald.
In fact, Michael adds his vocals to one of the new cuts "Doctor Faith" and master guitarist, Eric Johnson, adds cool licks to "Hey Kid."
Jimmy Buffet may have cornered the beach bum vibe, but Christopher Cross has the refined island, ocean and romatic beach walk sound nailed. Chris will be playing with the Nashville Symphony On Oct. 20, 21 and 22.
For more go to [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Christopher!, August 31, 2011
By 
Juan Sol (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
I just want to say THANKS CHRISTOPHER! For this wonderful cd and for giving us again the chance to listen your voice and music. I recommend it to all Christopher Cross fans and not fans. Good job also for all the people involved in the album, specially the voice of Michael McDonald, that once again, like in the 'old times' joined Chris voice. Pure HARMONY together. Greetings from Madrid, Spain, Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Form, Return to Himself, September 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
The latest from CC is amazing and thought-provoking. Although you can tell he has lost some prcey arrangements in recent years and you can't help but appreciate how he has suffered for his integritized art, he still manages to shine here. He is contemplative without navel-gazing and hopeful without resorting to cliches or axioms that either date him or cause sighs of overuse or of being too-youthful. The last cut is more a benediction then a song but he has always sailed with peace in his heart. The albums unity and cohesion is one his best and reminds me of the negelected "Another Page" with songs that hit his marrow bone in honest self-revelation. Not for the Justin Bieber crowd but worth a look for anyone who has missed him or seen him in an intimate small-stage concert ever. It should also hold-up in time as an appeal to sanity politically when presently there is none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Roots, June 20, 2012
By 
John R Parchem (Hoffman Estates, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
I think this is one of Christopher's best releases since his debut album. Back to highlighting the harmonies of his voice, songs with deep lyrics, great guitar sounds and Michael McDonald providing some background vocals. Absolutely outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful! Buy it and love it!, December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
Once again, Christopher Cross has swept me away and taken me on a beautiful journey with his melodic voice and heart-based lyrics. This album is amazing - buy it and LOVE it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back!, July 13, 2011
By 
Cary E. Lynch (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
I was unsure of what to expect with a new CD from Christopher Cross. I have purchased many of his albums over the years and have often been disappointed. For some reason, I thought I'd give it 1 more try. Well, what an excellent choice I made! This is really a great collection of songs.. Beautiful melodies, pitch perfect vocals and harmonies and thoughtful lyrics. Repeated listens only enhance how terrific this CD is. I wish there was a way to push this recording to a wider awareness, a bigger audience. To those of us who were there when "Ride Like the WInd' and 'Sailing' were released and for those who never heard of Christopher Cross: everyone should know what a great album this is. There is a review here that comments on this CD based upon listening to song samples. The review was "poor." Pay no attention to that or to the rating. This is an excellent CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Christopher Cross Turns A New Leaf"., May 11, 2011
By 
M. Mariba "the teacher" (pretoria, south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Faith (Audio CD)
Christopher Cross is a very talented singer-songwriter whose compositions were mainly keyboard based in the past. With this new CD release, Christopher Cross switches to guitar based compositions (his 'typical' sound is still recognizable but has more of the 'rock feel' than pop. His vocals are varied but as sharp as ever). This new CD (13 tracks) release is titled 'Doctor Faith' : a great release (a good mixture of ballad, up-tempo pop/rock & rock tunes) that should delite his fans (his popularity has dwindled since his great emergence in 1980s). The opening track "Hey Kid" is a solid track/gem/stand-out : great choice for the opening track with a beautiful guitar/keyboard combination and wonderful melody. Other solid tracks/gems/stand-outs include "November" (a ballad with a beautiful orchestral base track, great piano, vocals & melody) & "Prayin'" (wonderful guitar chords, melody, incredible violin, vocals & inspirational lyrics wishing intervention from the man above. A beautiful ending of this great CD) . Great tracks include "When You Come Home" (great violin/guitar combination), "Dreamers" (orchestral base track with a great rock sound), "Leave It To Me" (up-tempo track, great vocals. This song is reminiscent of his classic "That Girl".), "Doctor Faith" (a great pop/rock track with impressive guitar chords & wonderful backing vocals. This track features the legendary Michael McDonald on vocals), "Help Me Cry" (a slow build-up track to a great melody), "Still I Resist" (great orchestral base track & vocals), "Poor Man's Ectasy" (mid-tempo rock track) & "Everything". Okay tracks are "I'm Too Old For This" & "Rescue". On overall, this is a great CD release by a masterful singer-songwriter, a highly recommended CD listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctor Faith
Doctor Faith by Christopher Cross (Audio CD - 2011)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.