Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the scampering sidekick
a pastiche of all conventional frankenstein movies, however the sidekick here hops around as if his ankles were pogo sticks. dr. gore is assembling the ultimate sex toy so he can sow his wicked oats. he takes the best parts of his victim's bodies so that he can have what he is really looking for, the perfect woman. laughable, and entertaining, if you can find it.
Published on June 22, 2004 by Ashley Allinson

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateurish exploitation
"Dr. Gore" is the second, but thankfully the last, film by director and lead actor J. G. "Pat" Patterson. (Mr. Patterson reportedly died a year or so after this movie was made. I'm guessing it was from lung cancer since he smoked about 100 cigarettes in this 80-min. feature.) It's the story of a "doctor" who loses his wife and then decides to build the "perfect mate."...
Published on March 18, 2003 by ACS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the scampering sidekick, June 22, 2004
By 
Ashley Allinson (Alliance Atlantis) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Gore [VHS] (VHS Tape)
a pastiche of all conventional frankenstein movies, however the sidekick here hops around as if his ankles were pogo sticks. dr. gore is assembling the ultimate sex toy so he can sow his wicked oats. he takes the best parts of his victim's bodies so that he can have what he is really looking for, the perfect woman. laughable, and entertaining, if you can find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's not a real doctor., November 11, 2002
By 
ADK (Royal Oak, Mi. United States) - See all my reviews
The five stars rating is for the movie itself (not the whole package).
This flick is total grade B with all the cliche's : every single expression and line of the acting seems pretentious and unatural.
Pat Patterson appearantly made this film so he could paint himself as some sort of leading man ( he's a real nerdball ) and so he could grope and slobber over young comely actresses.
He's a middle-aged, chain smoking, dull fella who's acting does not convince me he's a real doctor.
Doctor Gore has it all: Castle with basement lab, blood and gore, cheese-choking bad baroom singer, cute females and a complete cast that has obviously never, ever acted before.
If you like movies that are horridly bad despite trying to make a good film then you'll love it. If not, then leave it.
I loved it and was laughing out loud through the entire film and will force lots of unwillings to sit through a full viewing.
The "commentary" by Jeffrey Hogue is of little value. He speaks of his career and not about the movie at all, I love the commentary tracks to most films but this is of little interest.
Second feature "How to make a doll" is a total loser, not even entertaining grade B. It's about two dorks and I got so bored this is the first of the SOMETHING WEIRD movies I couldn't sit through, just too dorky for me.
The shorts, extras and especialy the trailers are great.
Five stars for the main feature and the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly, gory and fun almost borders on surreal., July 3, 2014
This review is from: Doctor Gore (Special Edition) (1973) (DVD)
Top notch goofy horror movie! Don't expect high production value or anything resembling modern horror movies of today because you might be disappointed. Very along the lines of hershell gordon lewis type gore and humor. buy it before it's oop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateurish exploitation, March 18, 2003
By 
ACS (ARIZONA USA) - See all my reviews
"Dr. Gore" is the second, but thankfully the last, film by director and lead actor J. G. "Pat" Patterson. (Mr. Patterson reportedly died a year or so after this movie was made. I'm guessing it was from lung cancer since he smoked about 100 cigarettes in this 80-min. feature.) It's the story of a "doctor" who loses his wife and then decides to build the "perfect mate." Like a modern-day Dr. Frankenstein, he goes out and kills half a dozen or so women and then sews together the parts that he likes best. The resulting "perfect mate" is a blond, well-endowed, empty-headed, bimbo.
Everything about this film is poorly done: the direction is bad, the camera work is awful, the editing stinks and the acting is abysmal. Don't get me wrong: I'm a huge B-movie fan. But this one is so technically inept that it's more annoying than entertaining. "Dr. Gore" isn't one of those so-bad-it's-good kind of movies; it's just plain bad. Apparently, the only reason this movie was made was so that middle-aged, bad-comb-over-guy Patterson could make out with a bunch of young chicks.
Admittedly, there are a few (unintentionally) funny moments. At one point, you hear someone knocking at the door. The doctor says to his hunchbacked assistant, Gregory, "Go get that, it might be the door." Later in the film, the doctor is in prison (although no one bothers to explain why he's there). Anyway, he's talking to a female prison employee who is scrubbing the floor. The camera angle shifts and suddenly you see the movie clapboard (you know, that big black and white wooden thing with chalk writing all over it that they clap together before every scene to synchronize the picture with the sound). Somehow, they just forgot to edit that part out! There's also a full-length country-music "video" in the middle of the film. It's supposed to be part of a nightclub scene, but it's so long and so poorly integrated that you'd swear it got there by accident. I'll bet that one of the investors was a frustrated singer and told Patterson that unless he let him sing in the movie, he wouldn't give him any money.
One positive thing can be said about this Something Weird DVD: it's got a ton of special features. There are no less than three featurettes (all three of them are completely unwatchable -- avoid them), an alternate opening sequence (which is interesting because it has a special introduction by Herschell Gordon Lewis, the "Godfather of Gore"), a dozen or so trailers and more. The trailers are particularly entertaining. Most of them are for nudie movies from the late ' 50s early '60s and are positively hilarious.
One out of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Goriffic!, July 11, 2012
This review is from: Doctor Gore (Special Edition) (1973) (DVD)
This movie has no T & A but its a twisted Weird Science. Dr. Gore creates beautiful women only to take them to bed and mutilate them shortly afterwards for each ones perfect bodpart. He has with a bit of a hand fetish so he might be Buddy Ryans parallel world doppleganger. Best part Dr. Gore's Hunhback assistant sporting a sweet plumbers crack. I guess hes a handyman too.

This movie is well worth it and I love these rarer expensive treats from Something Weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gore-drenched "Pygmalion", November 12, 2002
By 
Greg Goodsell "Kitsch Man" (Bakersfield, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Writer-director J.G. Patterson, aka "Dr. Gore" is out to create the perfect female. Since Patterson would never be confused with Mel Gibson, that's understandable. Assembling his synthetic Eve from the parts of unwilling beach bunnies, he creates the Perfect Woman: a slightly chubby blonde with dark roots. We don't need a big screaming SPOILER ALERT to tell the reader that it doesn't end well. Eagle-eyed viewers will spot the hunchbacked assistant "Greg" ( now, who would name their child something like that?) doubling as a suave nightclub singer in one scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its something weird all right, December 16, 2002
Dr. Gore is one of those weird movies where scenes of fake gore are interspersed with tender country songs of love lost. Its exactly the sort of movie you either expect or deserve if you're shopping the Something Weird catalog.
A bonus feature titled "How to Build a Doll" is a lot worse but also a lot weirder. Its hard to sit through. Actors who can't deliver lines are given pages of clever dialogue. There's a scene near the end where everyone is just sitting on a couch giggling. The whole point of this movie should have been to get as many hot babes as possible in the frame for as long as possible wearing as little as possible. Unfortunately, the filmmakers decided to rely on the strength of their script, which may not have even existed.
Perhaps the most interesting feature on the disk is a short subject called Maniac Hospital. Its like a VD propaganda film on acid, or steroids, or both. There's really no way to describe it except to say its a little like the Wizard of Oz without really being anything like the Wizard of Oz.
Then there's even more stuff on this disk, including an Easter egg for a movie called Axe, which is a movie that wanted you to think of it as the Texas Chainsaw Massacre, only with an axe instead of a chainsaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nohthing special here, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Gore (Special Edition) (1973) (DVD)
Not much plot, bad acting and funny special effects. This is a typical low budget drive-in style movie. It's OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cure For Insomnia, August 23, 2008
I was inspired by Juno to check out this movie. Can't remember the particular film they mentioned, but I think this was close. Anyhow, needless to say I learned my lesson about watching vintage B-horror: no matter what, it's bad. Even if it's-so-bad-it's-good, it's still bad. Doctor Gore is just plain rotten.

It's basically a Frankenstein rip-off, but done in a way that would make Mary Shelly and Boris Karloff spin in their graves. The acting is expectedly horrid, as is the music, plot, special effects, and editing. The balding, pervert-looking lead is overshadowed by his awful-acting, retard sidekick. There are a few nudie shots to wake you from your slumber, but you could fast-forward through this whole thing and just not waste your time. Save it for something more meaningful and less painful, like a root canal without Novocain, a fully-awake circumcision, watching paint dry and grass grow, or waiting for the president to say something that actually makes sense.

Can't rip the movie apart any more than others already have. Take our word for it, SKIP THIS ONE. Rent it ONLY if you can't get to sleep, or to show friends that you want to leave the house so you can do something more important than baby-sit them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctor Gore (Special Edition) (1973)
Doctor Gore (Special Edition) (1973) by J. G. Patterson Jr. (DVD)
$9.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.