Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Maisy
If your child loves Maisy books as much as mine does, definitely add this one to your collection! Not only are the pictures colorful and inviting, but it also makes going to the doctor seem fun and exciting! Plus, it's always great to see Maisy and her friends playing different roles and doing fun things! Each page brings delight to my child's eyes!
Published on January 9, 2002

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute Book but...
**Spoiler Alert** (some one asked, and I'm happy to comply)

Let's face it. Any Maisy book is going to be pleasing to it's target audience of toddlers and preschoolers. The artwork is bright and kid-friendly, the characters interesting. So when you 'pass judgment' on one of the books it more or less has to be in context of the whole collection...
Published on January 12, 2010 by PeaTee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Maisy, January 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
If your child loves Maisy books as much as mine does, definitely add this one to your collection! Not only are the pictures colorful and inviting, but it also makes going to the doctor seem fun and exciting! Plus, it's always great to see Maisy and her friends playing different roles and doing fun things! Each page brings delight to my child's eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute Book but..., January 12, 2010
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
**Spoiler Alert** (some one asked, and I'm happy to comply)

Let's face it. Any Maisy book is going to be pleasing to it's target audience of toddlers and preschoolers. The artwork is bright and kid-friendly, the characters interesting. So when you 'pass judgment' on one of the books it more or less has to be in context of the whole collection.

As far as "Doctor Maisy" I thought it was good without being stellar. Basically what happens is that Maisy plays Hospital with Tallulah. Maisy is the doctor and Tallulah is a nurse. The parts I really like are where Tallulah puts the stethoscope on Maisy's chest and Maisy does the same to a toy panda. Maisy think it tickles and she 'hears' panda's heart go 'thump, thump'.

Then it's discovered that panda has a temperature, and Maisy takes him upstairs for a rest in bed. I think these activities are valuable and could be used to remind very young children what is going to happen at their next wellness checkup and that hearts have a job -- that they pump blood. (It's too bad they use an oral thermometer instead of one that goes in the ear. But that's a minor point.)

What I liked less was the ending where Tallulah shouts out for Maisy while she is upstairs and she then races down the stairs where she bumps into her friend. I mean, what's the point of that?!? Perhaps a lesson in taking the stairs slowly, but it seems out of place with the 'hospital' theme. In any case, Tallulah wraps Maisy's nose with a bandage and that's the end of the book. (meh)

Overall, an entertaining book, but not one of the best "Maisy's" in my opinion.

Pam T~
mom and reviewer (BooksforKids-reviews)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book and series for birth through 3 years and beyond!, June 16, 2013
By 
Seal Beach Teach "Beach Teacher" (Seal Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
Our 3 year old loves the Maisy series. He looks forward to any of his "Lucy Cousins" books. The pictures are super colorful and the words are simple. They are good books to read often since children can begin to memorize the words and anticipate the story. A good step in reading development. Also the books are appropriate and don't have negative elements, for example characters hitting each other or being rude to their parents. It is amazing how many books out there contain characters that are rude, disobedient or hurtful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute book, good for the little ones, January 4, 2013
By 
Ready2205 (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
I got this book for a little girl I babysit who is turning two to go with some other toys, particularly a "vet" set with a stethoscope and other medical tools. I wanted something to teach her about the doctor, give her positive associations, and perhaps suggest some ways she could use her new toys to play with her stuffed animals and dolls. I think this book is great for all three. My only concern is that the pages will quickly get torn or bent, but they are made of a nice, thick paper that I hope will hold up to the handling of a toddler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, August 6, 2007
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
My 2-year-old daughter loves Maisy books, and this one is another great hit with her. She is now not afraid of the doctor after reading this book! Very cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Maisy book, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
Another great Maisy book. My daughter loves these books. They are pretty basic. Cute illustrations. Lovable characters. My daughter is three. I think she likes the basic story lines because she can memorize them quickly and then read them to herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it., February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this and the scrubs sold on Amazon for my 4 year old grand daughters and they absolutely love this book. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars maisy doesn't actually go to the doctor, she "pretends play" doctor, and a lousy one at that, February 18, 2014
By 
Melissa W (astoria, NEW YORK, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
let me start by saying we love maisy! we have a million of her books, but this one is LAME. pages: tallulah checks maisy's heart, maisy checks panda's heart, mais takes panda's temperature, maisy carries pandar upstairs, maisy puts panda to bed, maisy runs back downstairs, maisy crashes into tallulah, tallulah wraps maisy's nose, and everyone is better. upon a nervous toddler's visit to the doctor for a checkup, i really wanted something about what a doctor's visit would look like-- yes the heart check and temperature taking, but also getting weighed and measured, or looking into their eyes and ears, checking their reflexes maybe, and possibly even getting a shot (you can always skip over that page if need be)... and then she gets a sticker or lollipop at the end. that would have been a better doctor maisy book. this whole side story of running down the stairs "not too fast maisy!" and crashing, and then being bandaged up by a friend didn't really cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!!, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Maisy (Paperback)
My neighbor is a nurse so I got this for her daughter, she loves it, she said they read it every night. Now she wants to be a nurse just like her mother, they play Doctor everynight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book especially for a child that may be a little fearful of the Dr.!, December 14, 2013
This book was purchased for my little grandchild along with a Dr. Kit. It seemed to help with her fearfulness of Dr. Visits. Great combo with a Dr. Kit. She loves Maisy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctor Maisy
Doctor Maisy by Lucy Cousins (Paperback - August 6, 2001)
$3.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.