Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Doctor Who The Masters Deluxe Fob Watch
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Price:$20.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 5, 2011
I received this watch in a quick manner. It actually said it was going to arrive from October 20th to November 30th. I received it on October 4th. I was very surprised that i received it so quickly. I must say the watch is very very cool. THe design and detail on the metal is almost amazing especially in the glass in the inside of the watch. This will probably become my daily watch instead of my phone now. I even received complimentary Button's with my purchase. One downside to the watch is that there was no instructions to set the watch. I had to email the sender to figure out how to set the watch. But other then that I do love this watch. It is very cool. I would suggest buying this product.
44 comments|72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My husband and I bought this watch for our daughter for her 17th birthday. While we are all Doctor Who fans, she's the most serious fan in our family.
The first thing I loved was that the blister pack wasn't sealed. This may seem like a little thing, but after carefully cutting open a lot of blister packs so we could keep the inserts for art projects, it's a nice detail. It stays closed well but doesn't need to be cut open.

The heft of the watch is more substantial than I expected. While it's not as nice in quality as my husband's pocket watch, it also didn't cost nearly as much.

The fob chain has unsoldered links,the fob clip is a U shaped clip of a lightweight metal. Costume use only, we will replace the fob.

When you push the side button, it lights up nicely.

She's absolutely thrilled with it, and it's a nice addition to a collection for Doctor Who fans. Because it's a usable watch, it's something she has more regular use for than her screwdrivers, and one more way to enjoy her favorite show in the world.

EDIT- a friend just asked me about this watch. It hasn't been set since she received it as a gift 11 months ago, and the time is still spot on. The case still looks good. We did replace the fob, but she decided she liked the look of 2 fobs and so she has both of them on the watch. She's still pleased as punch with her watch, and I'm very happy with the purchase.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2011
As an avid Doctor Who fan, and a fan of pocket watches, this captivated me from the start. The beautiful designs on the cover and face of the watch fascinated me.

That being said, the watch is a little more "tinny" than I would have liked. Also just a tad smaller.

However, don't let that discourage you. It works fine, looks great, and has impressed several of my friends, some of whom were not even Doctor Who fans. It must be handled with a bit of care, and it's not really a toy, but it looks great, and sometimes I imagine my true essence coming out as I open the case.

Oh, one more thing: Don't expect to swing this around by the chain. On mine, the loop that the chain attaches to came off 2 or 3 times when I first got it. If you take a pair of pliers and something soft to put over them, you can tighten it back up. Still not enough for me to not like this watch.

Allons-y!

EDIT: April 8, 2012.

As I went to adjust the time today, the knob broke off. I've only had the watch for 5 months and it's already broken. I was not exerting excessive force, nor do I use it every day. I am quite disappointed that this has occurred. I will be seeing if I can have it replaced. I still like the watch, but am now wondering about its quality.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
I shopped around to look at the various Master's replica watches. I'd heard a lot of them out there are cheap plastic that break easily. This one is not. I really love this watch. It was exactly what I wanted and fits easily into the watch pocket in a pair of jeans. The face is large for easy reading and the details on the design are quite nice. The only concern I'd point out to people is that the gold colored hands on the silver face take a little getting used to for ease of reading. Not enough of a problem, in my opinion, to even knock half a star off this rating. I made the adjustment in only a couple days.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2011
i received 'the masters watch' on time [from over-seas], however the watch itself did not work when i opened the package. also the watch's photo on the site is slightly misleading. i was expecting a prop quality item [for 90 dollars it ought too be], and it was a bit more "toy like" and seemed cheaply made [hence the clock hands not working]... 'scificollector' is still the best place too get DW merch, but as far as the watch itself goes, buyer beware!
33 comments|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2012
I bought this for my boyfriend since we're both big Doctor Who fans (and he likes pocket watches). However, I was very disappointed when it arrived and ended up returning it. Although the watch is metal, it looks surprisingly like plastic. Had it been $25 or so, I might have kept it as a neat prop, but it just looked like something you would get in a happy meal. While it was a cool idea, it's just way too cheap-looking for the price.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
price ,vs quality,i collect high end wrist and pocket watches,and im talking ,vintage,and contemporary,from tags to omegas,as a dr who fan,i have the plastic fob[fun],and a few others,but i got 2 i liked this that much,light looks like a fob,inexpensive,has a chain[usable],lights up[cool feature at parties],and i pull crown to conserve battery,2 years time still works,light works,i actually wear when i go out dressed up,for suits,blazers,etc,its a watch,it tells time,it lights up,the metalic like body is light,but strong,whos gunna stand on my watch?,its perfect,and this perticular model,is a must for any series dr who fan,to complete the ansamble,dont hesitate,you wont be dissapointed,its absolutly worth the small fee for a watch that will last,just take care of it,and it still looks new!!!go for it,time waits for no one!!!
review image review image review image
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2011
It is a bit smaller than you think from the picture. However as another poster pointed out the actual watch function fails to work. The face will light up but it only has the correct time twice a day. For the price to get it to the states it should be working fully.
11 comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2012
This is a real, working metal stem watch (as opposed to the cheap plastic The Doctor's Fob Watch with Metal Keychain) that not only looks great, it keeps great time. It is not, in the truest sense of the word, a "replica".. it is a bit too small and the Gallifreyan writing on the back is missing, but otherwise it is incredible. Unlike the picture, the entire face is a mirror-like finish that lights up from behind. While this makes it a bit hard to see the hands, it is incredibly cool and is a true representation of the watch as seen in the season 3 episode "Utopia". The entire outside of the watch is metal and the cover is incredible with etched Galligfreyan writing on the outside and the swirled treatment to the inside. This is a real, working fob watch that is run by batteries (three in all) and is set by the stem. The back is easily removable for battery replacement. The light creates an eerie green glow that passes through more of the face than you would expect.

This is a great investment or gift for any Doctor Who fan. It is solidly built and should last for years (just remember to replace the batteries if they die).
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2011
From the other reviews I thought I'd get a cheap plastic wind up toy. However, it's pretty decent. The watch body is metal, but like any other pocket watch you have to be careful when setting the time. Definitely go to a watch repairman to replace the batteries.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.