Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in one tiny little detail, December 18, 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
The soundtrack is beautiful. Yes a bit of rehash for some pieces from Series 5 with some extra instruments thrown in but a lot of good new tracks. River's music is beautiful. The music really does stir up good emotions while scaring the crap out of you sometimes when you are in the right mindset.

I am most MOST disappointed however, in the fact that Murray Gold still has not released a piece of music that was in This series and series 4 from Midnight and Almost People and A Good Man Goes to War. It is a soft harpy piece that follows up to a piano piece that just sends chills down everyones spines.

It seems as though it SHOULD be in the Almost People Suite since the music I am most looking for is playing when The Doctor and Co. are outside the press conference room. and before Amy has birth pains.

In Midnight it plays when The Doctor gets back to Donna Noble and they speak about what happened.

Please if anyone knows how or where to find this track would be a big help! Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold!, April 21, 2012
I have all the other season's soundtracks and listen to them frequently (okay... constantly). Every time a new one comes out I expect it can't continue the amazing streak... but as it turns out, I am most happily wrong! From beginning to end, this soundtrack delights! A must-have! It is a great way to keep alive the story experience. More than that, it is glorious music... classical, edgy, inspiring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murray gold and doctor who, March 6, 2012
By 
debra (windsor, california) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
this is an amazing soundtrack and must for doctor who lovers. we start off with the music from the impossible astronaut and day of the moon which has a 60's american scifi feel to it and takes up the first half of the first disc with brilliant music by murray, disc two contains the second half of the series with music such as tick tock goes the clock even for the doctor an amazing creepy piece that fit perfectly with the episode night terrors. if you're a doctor whovian you must get this soundtrack to complete the set of doctor who soundtracks you have from previous years, trust me i have them all. murray has a way of making each series of music a perfect compilation to the shows adventures and emotions of that series. buy the music and love it and hopefully with a bit of luck murray will keep making who even more amazing with the soundtracks to the most amazing scifi series ever to air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murray Gold Continues The Greatness, February 29, 2012
By 
Kaya Savas (Studio City, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
Murray Gold has taken listeners on countless journeys over the years with Doctor Who. His scores have been stunning and are just a pure joy to listen to. Series 6 is no different as Silva Screen brings us another 2-disc set loaded with tunes to tickle your fancy. If you've been along for the ride this far then you should know what to expect, but if this is your first Doctor Who listening experience you won't be disappointed.

Murray Gold blends multiple styles into one with Doctor Who, and his lush grand orchestrations done with flair make for an enticing listen. Some cues have epic cinematic scopes and since he is such a melodic composer we always have some sort of tune to grasp onto. This isn't bland background scoring and every moment has a gathered momentum heading somewhere. There is always an element of wry humor behind the music in certain areas, and he knows when to play off it or pull back. The music can be romantic and at times even "cartoony", but the experience as a whole never suffers from multiple personalities.

Doctor Who: Series 6 is another fantastic entry to the already impressive collection of music composed by Murray Gold. Doctor Who fans will dive right in and enjoy every moment, but I urge anyone who has not taken the plunge to do so now. Modern sensibilities done with classic stylings make Doctor Who a shining gem in the world of television scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murray Gold's Finest Soundtrack Yet, March 4, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
This is easily the best of Gold's "Doctor Who" soundtracks to date. Although you won't find any standout tracks such as those that were emblematic of earlier soundtrack releases -- nothing like "Rose Defeats the Daleks," "Vale Decem," or "Abigail's Song" -- what you will find is far more high-level consistency from track to track. In my opinion this is, in fact, the first album that you can listen to from beginning to end with the feeling that it's telling one coherent story. It simply *flows* from track to track, every passage logically following from the previous one.

This consistency may be partly due to the source material in Series 6 itself -- there hasn't been such an integrated season since way back in Colin Baker's reign as the Gallifreyan time lord -- but for the most part I believe that it's simply symptomic of Gold becoming better and better at his craft. While I've always enjoyed Gold's work on "Doctor Who," there have been many times in the past where it has seemed that the tracks were too, well, over-the-top -- "This is the dramatic part!" "This is a really scary part!" and so on. This album, by contrast, is far more subtle and yet no less impactful -- I find myself simply letting the music carry me along on a wonderful ride, to the point where it's quite a shock when the final note fades away.

The album pulls you in right from from the beginning. "I Am The Doctor In Utah" sets the tone, contrasting the familiar with something quite different. (Take a good, long listen to the 7/4 beat of this variation of "I Am The Doctor" -- although Gold will tease you with this melody throughout the entire album, this is the only time you'll hear it in its orchestral entirety until the very end.) By the time you get to "Trust Me," you're hooked -- its haunting melody eased by the lazy guitar lead into "Help Is On The Way," which gradually builds up into a dramatic passage which nevertheless takes its own time to reach its end.

"The Curse of the Black Spot," a very short piece, is probably the least effective track with its repetitive messages, but not to any degree that impacts the overall story, and it's more than compensated for by the following piece "You've Got Mail."

"Tell Me Who You Are" and "Melody Pond," considered as a unit, are probably the closest things to standout tracks in this album, gradually building up the mystery and tension, the abrupt ending of "Melody Pond" being the only thing preventing this from being an all-out knockout.

The start of the second disk gives you a bit of a breather, with "Growing Up Fast" (a true departure from what we've heard before) and "The Blush of Love" providing a well-timed break from the drama. With "The Terror of the Reich," however, the action and tension return for most of the rest of the album. A bit of last-minute comic relief is provided by "Stormageddon, Lord of All" and the other tracks associated with the episode "Closing Time" -- but as the music moves in to cover the season finale, you're left to hold onto the bar as Gold propels you through the eerie "Tick Tock," the ultimately strident "Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart" which acts as the "call to action," all culminating with the slowly-building majesty of "The Wedding of River Song" -- the inclusion of "Amy's Theme" here being both surprising and yet logical. Yet "Wedding," despite its richness, cannot carry the ending of the album, so Gold wisely does this via the out-of-sequence and aptly-named "The Majestic Tale (Of A Madman In A Box)," linking the final track to the first, showing that he does indeed understand how to carry the story from beginning to end.

Pure joy to listen to, all of it. I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Season/Series 3 !, March 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
Since the relaunch of Doctor Who starting with Christopher Eccleston I've bought all of the Murray Gold Doctor Who sound tracks and I kept always going back to series 3 over and over again. I would move on to series 4 and series 5 but series 3 soundtrack was always very strong. Then I heard the series 6 soundtrack and have to say, it matches series 3 in its musically creativity energy and spirits. Good job Mr Murray. Series 6 sound track is on its way to becoming my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great if you are a fan of the show, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like all the other soundtracks, if you are a fan (which I would assume, otherwise why in the world would you be buying the soundtrack), then you will probably like most of the tracks. I personally felt like this soundtrack was a little more repetitive than the previous ones (I own them all). Many of the tracks have the same melody, just different tempos and instruments. Just an observation, not a complaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great submission to Doctor Who music, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
Murray Gold knows how to capture the mood and give us memorable music. The only part of this soundtrack I don't care much for is the "Tick Tock" song, the only one with vocal. It's far slower than heard on the show, taking away some of the power of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Murray Gold's Music for the 11th Doctor, November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
As with all albums there are some songs I like better than others ... but this album has a good number of songs I just love. Murray Gold, some of the best walking music I've found. Love his work. Love the music for the 11th Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All of Time and Space...every things that could be, August 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 6 (Audio CD)
One day you meet the Doctor. And of course, it’s the best day ever. It’s just the best day of your life. Because...because, he’s brilliant, and he’s funny, and mad, and best of all...really needs you.
And if you here to cause trouble
He's the Doctor. Basically...run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctor Who: Series 6
Doctor Who: Series 6 by Murray Gold (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.