Customer Reviews

263
4.6 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who: The Complete Specials
Format: DVDChange
Price:$32.38 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

224 of 233 people found the following review helpful
on January 3, 2010
Format: DVD
Although Amazon doesn't give any details about what special features will be included in this box set, BBC America does. Region 1 box set should have the following:
Special Features:English Subtitles for the Deaf and Hearing Impaired
* Doctor Who at the Proms
* Doctor Who Confidential - The Next Doctor (New)
* Doctor Who Confidential - Planet of the Dead
* Doctor Who Confidential - The End of Time, Part One
* Doctor Who Confidential - The End of Time, Part Two
* Deleted Scenes
* David Tennant Video Dairy - The Final Days
* BBC Indents
* Audio Commentary
* Doctor Who At Comic Con
* 5.1 Surround Sound
1818 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon January 25, 2010
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
If you're a fan of Doctor Who, or just good science fiction, who's been putting off the upgrade to Blu-ray...here's a most compelling reason to make the switch now. These 4 special episodes shine brightly in the hi-def format. BBC gave us a taste of this with last year's release of Doctor Who: Planet of the Dead [Blu-ray] (which was the first episode to be filmed in HD) as well as the 3 series of Torchwood. I'm not sure what the British are doing different from the U.S. or other countries, but their hi-definition programs are simply the best I have seen in the format.

On the chance that you're not familiar with these special episodes themselves, here's a quick run-down. Please note, this review does contain minor SPOILERS:

THE NEXT DOCTOR: The 2008 Christmas special. The Doctor visits Victorian England, where he encounters another man claiming to be the Doctor. I won't spoil the surprise, but there are some nice twists and a standout performance from David Morrisey in the title role. This was the first of the modern Doctor's episodes without a regular companion. It was also the last episode before the switch to hi-definition, but the upconvert used here looks fantastic, so it's really a non-issue as far as I'm concerned.

PLANET OF THE DEAD: Aired on Easter, 2009. The Doctor and a woman on the run (The Bionic Woman's Michelle Ryan) are among a busload of passengers who find themselves stranded on a desert planet overrun with terrifying flying creatures. Most folks agree this one's just an average adventure. But, it looks stunning.

THE WATERS OF MARS: A great, creepy tale set on mid-21st century Mars. The Doctor has some hard choices to make when he realizes a group of Martian colonists are destined to die on the day he arrives. It's also one of David Tennant's finest hours, as he begins to confront the prophecy regarding his own death that he was told at the end of Planet of the Dead.

THE END OF TIME: This two-parter was the end of David Tennant's tenure as the famous Time Lord. While confronting his own mortality, the Doctor also must face the enemy who knows him best. . .and the power of a forgotten race that is using the power of time itself to reshape its own destiny. It's a bit of a mixed bag (particularly part 1), but it's still highly engaging and a fitting resolution to the 10th Doctor's journey.

As with the individual season episodes, each special includes an hour-long documentary, Doctor Who Confidential. These are typically well-made and informative shows that die-hard fans will appreciate. Most everyone else will probably watch them once (if at all) and not again.

More interesting (to me, anyway) is "Doctor Who at the Proms," an hour-long special. It features the music of the show performed live at the Royal Albert Hall. But this is no mere concert; it features actors in costume as Cybermen, Judoon, etc. that interact with the audience. And it's hosted by Freema Aygemen, with an appearance by Catherine Tate.

As I said at the outset, these shows look fantastic on Blu-ray. If you're a fan, this is really a no-brainer. As Doctor Who moves into a new era with a new actor in the role, it's very gratifying to know that BBC is providing fans with the best possible versions of these final adventures with the 10th Doctor.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
on December 13, 2009
Format: DVD
Ordinarily, I'd have to agree that this might seem a little steep. Five episodes, five disks, $40+. But if this is comparable to the British release, in addition to the specials you're also getting the full Doctor Who Confidential episodes for each special (as opposed to the 'Cut Downs' normally included in the Doctor Who boxed sets), David Tennant's video diaries (which are always good for a laugh, in my opinion) and the Doctor Who at the Proms special from last year which hasn't been released in this country at all.

Of course, I'd really prefer to see some confirmation from Amazon that this release matches the Region 2 release in the UK (which is out in January, incidentally). If it does, I'd say it's worth what they're asking.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on November 12, 2010
Format: DVD
While there are legitimate concerns about packaging and the extras, it's difficult for me to really complain, simply because I found the stories in the collection to be worth the money. David Tennant has become one of the most beloved incarnations of the Doctor, and his send-off is suitably dramatic. The specials take the Doctor through a roller coaster of emotions, and for the first time we truly get to see the Doctor at his darkest. It's both exhilarating and frightening (as the Doctor should be) and it helps to balance the disappointment of knowing that this is the last of Tennant we'll see in the role. This is partly because it's a satisfying conclusion and partly because the events that transpire force the Doctor to become something that viewers understand is a bit of something twisted--a character arc that comes full circle in the two-part finale. These are dark episodes, bittersweet and powerful, and Tennant's acting ability is impressive. For the first time, we see him manipulate the world to his own liking, and it provides a sense of the necessity of the regeneration. At the end, Tennant's doctor, for all of his fear of being left behind, manages to convey the impossibility of following this path. He's tired, he's a little broken, and he's losing his way, and a fresh incarnation manages to be almost a relief, as I was left with a sense that I would rather see him regenerate than self-destruct.

That doesn't mean that the last three episodes don't leave you with a bit of a broken heart to see Tennant go, but it's the kind of ending that dazzles. As much as I loved the Parting of the Ways, I really appreciated being able to see the emotions and tribulations of a regeneration in more depth, and to witness his attempt to say his farewells was lovely. And frankly, I needed the opportunity to wallow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2010
Format: DVD
Normally $40+ for five episodes of any show would be steep, but when you put things into perspective, the price isn't bad.

These are the final five episodes of David Tennant as The Doctor, who many viewers, (especially newer viewers,) consider to be one of the best doctors throughout the show's history and all of them are amazing episodes.

Russel T. Davies, (who wrote all the episodes,) is now stepping down as executive producer of Doctor Who and many people admire him for helping to bring Doctor Who back to life and for his many other works, which are incredible.

All of the extras are completely worth it. The Doctor Who Confidential and the David Tennant video diaries are not only good for a laugh, but they're very interesting to say the least.

Overall the show is brilliant and with all the bonus material, it's worth the price. That and the run time must be a typo. The final two episodes alone are roughly an hour each, and the other three are forty-five minutes. There's no way the run time could be that short, just to help clarify if anyone was confused.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on April 24, 2010
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
I wasn't at all sure I would like David Tennant as the Doctor after Christopher Eccleston, but in the last 3 years he has made his way into my "hearts". From "Christmas Invasion" to "The End of Time", he has evoked emotion and laughter. He showed incredible talent as a comedic actor when possessed by "Cassandra" in Series 2's "New Earth", then the complete emotional breakdown in series 3's "Human Nature". Each story grabbed my heart, but the final joy came when in "Journey's End", I could accutally see how the TARDIS was supposed to be flown and that it was being flown by the Doctor's "family".

I thought "The Next Doctor" was wonderful with David Morrissey's pain and David Tennant's sincere compassion as the two sorted out Morrissey's pain while overcoming the Cyberman invasion. This is an incredible episode, very satisfying.

"The Planet of the Dead" is a pretty good episode. It shows what the Doctor does best. He thinks on his feet and solves the problem in a somewhat logical matter. As Michelle Ryan's "Lady Christina" says "...you are the brain box, so start boxing." What made the episode complete was the comedic banter between Tennant and comedic actor Lee Evans. In the process of solving the problem Evans' "Malcolm" and the "Doctor" become "best friends". The ending when the Doctor refuses to allow Christina to travel with him shows how emotionally tired he really is. As he tells Christina, he loses all of his companions.

"The Waters of Mars" takes us back to the "behind the couch" era, humans infected by alien parasites turning into monsters. The most important part comes at the end wirh rhe Doctors crisis of "faith".

"The End of Time" pts 1 and 2 broke my heart. I knew they were to be David Tennant's last episodes, but nothing prepared me for the depth of writing talent and acting that was involved. Russell T Davis' writing was superb as always. I don't think there could ever be another such emotionally charged episode such as this one. David Tennant's young/old Doctor with Bernerd Cribbins' old Wilfrid Mott was sentimental with a simple father/son affection developing. The Doctor allowing himself to be taken care of by this old Earth man showed his incredible neediness. In the end when the Doctor saves Wilf's life at the cost of one of his own it seemed only right. As the regeneration progresses, the Doctor gets in his TARDIS and for the last time visits several of his companions. He saves Micky and Martha from a Sontarran attack; Sarah Jane's son, Luke, from an oncoming car and he gives a lonely and dejected Jack Harkness, sitting in an inter-galatic bar, the name of a young man who may or may not fill that emptiness. He visits Donna's wedding, knowing that only her mother and grandfather, Wilfrid, will know who he is.
Then in the final moment before his transformation he goes to the one place on Earth he felt he belonged, Rose Tyler's "Powell Estates". He watches her celebrate 2005's New Year, knowing that they will meet for the first time later that year in the personna of Chrisopher Eccleston. Then he heads for his TARDIS accompanied by Ood Sigma who relays the Ood song which spans the Universe. I cried.

Music adds a wonderful feeling to any show, but I have never seen the likes of Murray Gold. I'm sorry, but even John Williams pales in comparison.

I will give Matt Smith a chance, because the Doctor is one man, a Time Lord, with many different faces, but I will never forget David Tennant's important contributions to the new series. I will look forward to his other works to come.

I recommend this product, if you hadn't guessed already.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on September 24, 2013
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
I'm sure by now everyone knows these episodes mark the end of David Tennant's time as the Doctor and Russell T. Davies time as show runner. This is a wonderful set, a must own for any fan of Doctor Who. That being said I have two warnings for people who want to buy this set.
1) These are some of the most depressing episodes of Doctor Who or any series I've ever watched. Tennant's Doctor stole my heart and then broke it quite a few times, especially in these final episodes. During "The Next Doctor" and "Planet Of The Dead" it's not so bad. "The Waters Of Mars" shows a darker side of The Doctor but then he just gets sad again and it bums me out. "The End Of Time" episodes are brilliant but the end of part 2 is heart wrenching so if you're emotionally unstable like I am, beware.
*Also I would have preferred having the last two episodes on the same disc. I think that would have made more sense and disc 5 could have been nothing but extras but what do I know.
2) The price. If you're thinking of buying this newer slim box version you're financially challenged like I am, be patient. The price drops down to $20 something fairly often. I ended up paying $39 only to see the price drop a couple days later. I was aware of this but let impatience get the best of me. Just a warning.
Yes, it's sad to see Tennant go but it was inevitable. Don't worry, Matt Smith is awesome, we were left in good hands. I'm more bothered that this was it for Russell Davies. I certainly hope this review helps someone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 29, 2010
Format: DVD
If you want to see a little more of the David Tennant Doctor after watching the last of the (new) series four and before passing to the new doctor, these specials are for you.

In the Next Doctor, does the Daivd Tennant Doctor get to meet his successor Doctor? Or is something sinister going on here? You'll have to watch to find out.

Planet of the Dead features a double decker bus ride to another planet. Earth could be wiped out by what is on this other planet. How will the Doctor prevent this? Again, watch and find out.

The Waters of Mars is creepy like Night of the Living Dead. Very well done suspense. The ending is very sad.

In the End of Time, the Time Lords are trying to make a come back. Why does the Doctor want to stop them? Some real creepy parts here too. The new Doctor makes an appearance.

I am sorry to see Tennant go, but I am looking forward to see how the new Doctor works out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on January 1, 2011
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
If you're new to Doctor Who, please don't begin your adventure with this set. Get the complete seasons 1-4, and enjoy them thoroughly first. These final episodes with David Tennant are a thrilling and emotionally satisfying conclusion for a terrific character. Great fun for the whole family.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
I must say that I never thought I would be so into another actor playing the Doctor other than Peter Davison (Doctor #5) - but - as fate would have it - David Tennant (Doctor #10) took over the role in 2006 after an amazing performance by Christopher Ecclston in 2005 (Doctor #9) - and David became my modern favorite Doctor!

(Granted I have only seen 6 episodes of the NEW Matt Smith (Doctor #11) so I am still getting used to this new regeneration as of yet.)

This Blu-Ray combo pack is amazing. Tons of extras including the Doctor WHo Confidential which is a detailed and inventive inside look into the production of each episode - and my favorite - David Tennants very own Video Diaries. What great perspective from the actual star of the show - shot in the hand-held style by the star of the show - with invasive and often humorous points-of-view from the star of the show himself!

Also included is the magical Doctor Who concert "At The Proms" that was held in England where a 100 + piece orchestra is conducted by Doctor Who's very own composer Murray Gold - playing his own compositions for the series. Complete with a story film and shot by David Tennant as he teases you into music he wrote and found in some odd galaxy. Characters from the actual show come running through the audience. Great fun too!

This set contains all four (five really - one two-parter)'Specials' as the British BBC production team called them - of what I would consider calling 'Series 5' of the relaunching of the new Doctor Who and his TARDIS. The stories are; #1 The Next Doctor, #2 Planet of the Dead, #3 The Waters of Mars and #4 The End of Time (Parts 1 and 2).

All these beautifully mastered HD episodes tell the unravelling of what will be the end of the Tenth Doctor's run. For five years Mr. Tenant has helmed the TARDIS with some of the most memorable, fun and interesting 'one-adventure' companions ever. They include Michelle Ryan (the US remake of the Bionic Woman), David Morrissey (State of Play, Sense and Sensibility) and Lindsay Duncan (the new Alice in Wonderland, Rome, Under the Tuscan Sun)

Each of the stories has athread that leads up to the ultimate series finale - the exit of David Tennant. Russell T. Davies amazing story telling and Julie Gardners amazing producing skills have created four of the wittiest and sharpest episodes of all time!

A must for ever Doctor Who Fan and a great introductory gift for someone who likes action, adventure, comedy in the Science Fiction genre. Add this to your collection too! 6-9-10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Doctor Who: The Time of the Doctor
Doctor Who: The Time of the Doctor by Matt Smith (DVD - 2014)
$9.96


Doctor Who: The Complete Fourth Series
Doctor Who: The Complete Fourth Series by David Tennant (DVD - 2012)
$41.79
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.