Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Sensorites... they're near us now!"
This six-part adventure is a great oldie and classic. I first got this one on VHS in the "End of the Universe" collection and I found it quite enjoyable. I'm surprised that it took this long to be released on DVD.

Let me get the bad stuff out of the way first. Episode 3 was kind of boring, but it picks up again in episode 4. There are many stuttered lines in...
Published on January 3, 2012 by Jero Briggs

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated story, slightly blah DVD
This is definitely a minority opinion, but I think the first season of Doctor Who was the best. William Hartnell's sinister characterization of the Doctor is very underrated, and he was well-supported by excellent companions - particularly Ian and Barbara, who are the most convincing representations of "normal" people in the show's history. Sure, the Doctor's...
Published 22 months ago by Little Roy Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Sensorites... they're near us now!", January 3, 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
This six-part adventure is a great oldie and classic. I first got this one on VHS in the "End of the Universe" collection and I found it quite enjoyable. I'm surprised that it took this long to be released on DVD.

Let me get the bad stuff out of the way first. Episode 3 was kind of boring, but it picks up again in episode 4. There are many stuttered lines in this story. The Sensorites feet look ridiculous. And at one point, you even see a wall in the spaceship start to fall down before it is quickly put back up again. But other than that, this is a great story.

The acting was pretty good - some of it was actually brilliant. The sets look great. The dark spaceship was very spooky as well as the aqueduct on the Sense-Sphere. The Sensorites were very creepy in the first two episodes. Episode 1's cliffhanger was, in my opinion, one of the best in the series. The plot and the story are great. It has a lot of mystery and adventure in it. It has a great surprise ending, and I really enjoyed Susan's character a lot more in this story than in others. Her character should have been like this from the beginning. This is also the very first story that has the Doctor himself taking on the heroic role instead of Ian, and he uses his mind and wits to defeat the enemy instead of brute force. I really enjoyed this one and I'm sure you will as well. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor Meddles Again!, February 16, 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
In The Sensorites, the first Doctor trips over a race of beings who are hypersensitive and they all look alike. Even to each other.
The six chapter serial may seem to drag a bit, but there's enough political intrigue to keep this early adventure watchable.
Barbara is missing for most of the story, but that doesn't matter as the Sensorites are the focus of it.
Misunderstanding leads to fear and treachery and ignorance gets put in its place in this unexpectedly well acted show.
It's not perfect. Early BBC allowed many mistakes and goofs. There's missed cues and at one point late in the story you can see the microphone as if it was meant to be part of the cast of characters.
Those bits aside, William Hartnell is great as ever and Carol Ann Ford is not annoying at all.
There are enough special features, including a documentary about the writer of the episode, Peter R. Newman, to justify the expense.
I'd give it five stars, but the clunky sets are hard to get over.
The writing is fantastic, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated story, slightly blah DVD, January 16, 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
This is definitely a minority opinion, but I think the first season of Doctor Who was the best. William Hartnell's sinister characterization of the Doctor is very underrated, and he was well-supported by excellent companions - particularly Ian and Barbara, who are the most convincing representations of "normal" people in the show's history. Sure, the Doctor's granddaughter Susan was a criminally under-used character; but here in The Sensorites, she gets to shine a little by defying the Doctor's wishes and using some cool telepathic powers.

I'm also a fan of season one because of the (generally) great scripts. And while The Sensorites is far from the best-written story of the season, I do think that Peter R. Newman's script features some compelling ideas. In defiance of Doctor Who conventions, Newman depicted the Sensorite race as mostly benign and sympathetic creatures (an interesting contrast to the show's usual "evil monster" aliens); indeed, the Sensorites only do "bad things" in this story in order to protect their planet from exploitation by humans who want to strip-mine the place. In a sense, then, this is the sort of left-wing (or at least politically aware) story that didn't become commonplace for Doctor Who until the Pertwee era.

The story's production design, meanwhile, is pretty good (given the era and budget). The Sensorites may look a little fake, but to me they're perfectly respectable aliens by 1960s TV standards; certainly, Doctor Who produced much stupider-looking aliens even in the 1980s (like the Ergon, to name one of many). Also, the set design for the human spaceship is effective, and enhances the tense and claustrophobic atmosphere of the opening episodes. Unfortunately, both the set design and the pace of the story take a bad turn once the action shifts to the Sensorite planet, but the drop in quality is not nearly as bad as some critics suggest.

In short, The Sensorites is an interesting story that lacks energy sometimes; it's not a classic, but it deserves to enjoy a somewhat better reputation. Unfortunately, given the lowly status of this tale in the Doctor Who canon, the BBC didn't put too much effort into giving us a great DVD. The special features, though not bad, are rather thin. The most interesting featurette involves Doctor Who fan Toby Hadoke investigating Peter R. Newman's background; he uncovers a surprising amount about the little-known writer, including some genuinely emotional material. Unfortunately, this feature is undermined slightly by Hadoke's snarky "I'm a self-aware sci-fi geek" persona. Also featured is a short interview with Doctor Who's vision mixer, which is less boring than it sounds.

While I wish I could give this DVD four stars, the presentation is pretty bare-bones and the actual story has a few flaws. So I'll settle for three stars, but it's more like three-and-a-half. If this is arguably the worst story of Who's first season, that's a testament to how strong the era really was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whovian Classic, December 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
Of the episodes of the First Doctor I've seen, this is my absolute favorite. It is highly unlike most of them in that not only is it not a historical piece, but it also introduces the idea that the Doctor and his granddaughter have limited telepathic abilities. It has a race of highly evolved peaceful people, but even amoung them exist a few xenophobic warmongers. Brilliantly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensorites is a 4.5 Story, March 8, 2013
By 
Mark Vanderlinde-Abernathy (Granville, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
I wanted to take half a star off, but Amazon doesn't allow that. In the end I decided to round up because of my extreme fondness for the William Hartnell era of Doctor Who.

A major benefit to this story is the growth of Susan Foreman. In the previous four stories her character is overly dramatic and incessantly whiny. With no strength of will or character she fit the mold of "damsel in distress" too often for an intergalatic traveler. In this story Carol Anne Ford had been able to play the character Susan should have been from the start. Willing to take risks and unafraid of the unknown. She is not afraid of the Sensorites, attempts to take matters into her own hand, and begins to realize that she has extraordinary telepathic abilities.

(I'm reminded of Wesley Crusher from Star Trek: The Next Generation. Incredibly whiny, but in the end the character becomes intriguing and wonderful. Like Susan, he too has a strange "otherworldly" gift.)

Another benefit is that it's a good old fashion look into human emotions of fear and trust. It takes philosophical questions about humanity, and attempts to answer them in a sci-fi setting. This is the way Sci-Fi should be.

Jacqueline Hill unfortunately goes on vacation during this serial, so Barbara is not as active. This is forgivable, as it was custom to shoot film this way back then. One of my complaints is the off-scene ending confrontation with the City Administrator. The serial deals with his fear and xenophobia, but does not get to hear an ending speech from him or a suitable confrontation. Another is my complaint with the character Maitland. Dialogue suggests an intriguing relationship triangle with him, Carol, and John ... but this is never touched on again and the subject is never resolved.

Overall though, the growth and maturity of Susan's character is reason enough to buy this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sensorites So Old It's New, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
It was very nice to finally get to see a fresh doctor who story from the old days, one i'd had yet to see before. It was a good story and reminded me why i've been so attracted to doctor who, the show for somany years now...besides i love to catch the old black and white episodes any chance i get anyway...and there where some nice extras along with this too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1960's doctor who is awesome!, February 25, 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
This is a must have DVD. If you are a true Doctor Who fan and have most of the other releases then you should buy this DVD. I loved the original cast with Ian, Barbara, and Susan. I loved the opening scenes where they walk out of the Tardis and see that they have landed on a ship with what appears to be a dead crew but only to find out that they ship is under the control of the sensorites. As the opening episode goes along we wait in suspense to see what theses creatures will look like and they do a good job keeping you in suspense with a few short scenes showing the creatures hand. Wow, they actually burned the lock off of the Tardis door!! What a show!! You'll have to buy it and see for yourself. Hartnell's doctor is one of the best and the whole feel of the show cannot be duplicated today. This was from a time period where people actually had to act and not rely on special effects. I just hope that one day most of the Hartnell shows can be released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Video, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
Great story . William Hartnell is one of favoriate Doctors. I love Dr Who. Everone should watch it. I love the old stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars where's the lock, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
the sensorites are an interesting race. they have a form of telepathy that Susan notices she has to. the sensorites are also a race where there way of life is based on trust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 (DVD)
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my son (37) who is really into Dr. Who (as we all are really) and he loves it. He collects anything that is Dr. Who related. Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7
Doctor Who: The Sensorites, No. 7 by Frank Cox (DVD - 2012)
$24.98 $17.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.