Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Guide to the Modern Doctor Who Series
This book, updated with the 11th Doctor, Matt Smith, is a perfect companion to any Doctor Who fan of the new, modern series. Just a warning: if you are looking for details on the original series from the 60s, 70s, and 80s, look elsewhere. 99% of this book features the modern series... but if that's what you like, you won't be disappointed. The design is well laid out...
Published on October 20, 2010 by Paul Jarzembowski

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No old Dr. Who stuff
My biggest disappointment with this book is it does not get into the lore of the older Doctor Who series at all. It sticks only to the new ones. And it seems to spend most of its time on Matt Smith years.

The pictures are cool but little light on content and history.
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Guide to the Modern Doctor Who Series, October 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
This book, updated with the 11th Doctor, Matt Smith, is a perfect companion to any Doctor Who fan of the new, modern series. Just a warning: if you are looking for details on the original series from the 60s, 70s, and 80s, look elsewhere. 99% of this book features the modern series... but if that's what you like, you won't be disappointed. The design is well laid out (would you expect anything else from DK books?), and both David Tennant and Matt Smith are featured prominently (with a slight edge to the new guy). The villains, aliens, and situations from the past five years are featured in full color and enjoyable descriptions. The book does not include details about the cast, crew, and "making of" highlights of the series - that is not the point here. Instead, it is an in-depth look at the world of Who from a fan's point of view... let your imagination roll.

Exterminate your doubts and, if you haven't bought the first Who visual dictionary yet, get this one and relive the Doctor's adventures - until the next episode comes around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Choice, December 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
Ordered this book for my son for Christmas. Just looked through it and liked what I saw. Had to remind myself several times to stop reading... There were other books to choose from, but thumbing through this one, I can't imagine there's a better one out there. I don't feel like I over-paid, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Whonderful" book for New Who fans!, February 12, 2011
By 
M101 (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, splendid pictures, tons of info, for the Who fan that likes things classified!
Pluses are many: Great spread of TARDIS' interior, awesome portrait of the Master, Dalek flagship, Angels, Torchwood ( yes, few great pics of Captain Jack!) companions... I love the map of Leadworth ( British humor!) great profiles of Amy, Rory, and the 11th!
Fans of previous Doctors will be disappointed, there is more about past series in the Guinness Book of World Records 2011 ( if you haven't seen it yet check it out, even Torchwood is featured!) than in this dictionary.
I did find couple of minuses: my favorite episode Midnight is not featured, Waters of Mars and Vashta Nerada only have 1 page ( tiny profile and picture of Adelaide Brooke, which is a shame as far as great female characters go!)
Overall, it's a great gift for a Who fan ( significant others out-there, take note!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No old Dr. Who stuff, November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
My biggest disappointment with this book is it does not get into the lore of the older Doctor Who series at all. It sticks only to the new ones. And it seems to spend most of its time on Matt Smith years.

The pictures are cool but little light on content and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need this in order to prepare for the 50th Anniversary special, May 22, 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
It is evident from the last couple of episodes in Season Seven (which provided a lot of "review" material) that the 50th Anniversary episode will contain references to the modern era AND classic series, although it does focus on the reboot (perhaps because the images are better!). Short of watching all seven hundred plus episodes (some of which are not even available), this Visual Dictionary explains a lot of the references and will enhance your enjoyment, not only of the Special, but of all episodes you watch as you catch up.
While all Doctor Who eras are represented, the photos in the book focus on the "reboot", probably because the photos are so much better and more detailed. (The first episodes weren't even in color, remember!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids and grown ups alike!, December 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
We got this as a Christmas gift for our almost 7 year old daughter who is a NuWho fanatic. She hasn't put it down since she opened the gift yesterday morning. She even tried to bring it to church this morning (we did convince her to leave it in the car LOL).

About half of the book seems to be 11-centric. She's a big 10 fan, so perhaps I'll get her the previous edition for her birthday. DK books are always loads of fun and great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice visual guide for fans of "11", December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
Fans of Dr Who will appreciate the pictures and synopsis in this book. I gave it as a gift to a friend who has recently discovered the Doctor and needed to be brought up to speed a little!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello Sweetie, May 18, 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
All it takes is one look inside and you can tell that this is a DK book. Does anyone make books that are more visually appealing, mentally stimulating, and heart-meltingly nostalgic? No, no one does. The book goes beyond the story lines to examine the characters, aliens, weapons and curiosities of Doctor Who. Have you ever wanted to know exactly what was what inside the TARDIS control room? This book has a section that opens up to a 4 page spread that shows you the inner workings of the console. Until this book, I never realized that the console was divided into 6 distinct sections, each with specific functions such as the communications panel or the navigation panel. I really enjoyed the character biographies and cut away images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book!, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
Bought this for my boyfriend for Christmas. He LOVED it! It's a relatively large, hefty book. Tons of really cool information about specific episodes, which he loves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for any fan!, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary (Hardcover)
My son has become a huge Dr. Who fan and loves to read, this was just one of many great gifts for him! Filled with loads of details, it's helped bring the episodes in a much better light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary
Doctor Who: The Visual Dictionary by Jacqueline Rayner (Hardcover - October 4, 2010)
$24.99 $18.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.