Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Health Care Instead Of Disease Care
Doctor Yourself is titled and based on a simple premise: every person is responsible for their own health care. When a person abdicates that responsibility, they often place themselves in the hands of the "disease care" industry, a monolithic and profit-driven enterprise where getting well isn't the bottom line.

Through lively anecdote, personal history and...
Published on April 5, 2005 by Robert Mcclain

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common sense information
All things considered, this book has some good information that should just be common sense, but some people don't think that way. I think that more of it should be nutrition based, because our nutrition has much more to do with our health than medical science gives it credit for, but more of it is orthomolecular. I am not an advocate of taking vitamins to fix health,...
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Health Care Instead Of Disease Care, April 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
Doctor Yourself is titled and based on a simple premise: every person is responsible for their own health care. When a person abdicates that responsibility, they often place themselves in the hands of the "disease care" industry, a monolithic and profit-driven enterprise where getting well isn't the bottom line.

Through lively anecdote, personal history and accounts of patient education and treatment, Dr. Andrew Saul (not an M.D., by way of disclosure) takes the reader down a path most M.D.'s never dare to tread. Without a hint of pretension or medical braggadocio, the reader shares Dr. Saul's encounters with individuals as they seek relief from common maladies feeding the trillion dollar medical monsters of the Western world; arthritis, cancer, schizophrenia, depression, obesity, allergies, heart disease and many more.

We're also introduced to a "Who's Who" of unjustly ignored medical pioneers like Abram Hoffer, Robert F. Cathcart, Wilfrid and Evan Shute, Linus Pauling and Frederick Klenner. These unconventional M.D.'s and researchers ignored the scorn and censure of their peers in order to treat patients with nutrition and lifestyle change rather than dogmatic, pharmophilic (drug loving) therapies that most often do not cure, but merely attenuate a sufferer's condition.

Doctor Yourself is a page turner, written in a friendly, conversational style that takes you inside the interactions between healer and client, unafraid to detail the skepticism and even fear shown by patients when alternative medical advice runs counter to the normal drug, cut and radiate school of thought. In addition, Dr. Saul lists specific protocols for the use of nutrients as therapy; the reader is never left on their own to experiment or wonder at the possible safety of a potential cure.

It is clear that Dr. Saul has profound respect for the science and art of medicine, but far less for physicians and their patients who willfully remain blind to the value of nutrition, for hospitals that "serve green jello and white bread to cancer patients", to drug companies who relentlessly market to a gullible, insured public.

Based on what I've learned from this book, from Dr. Saul's website and from the many reference materials provided by both sources, I've been fortunate to cure sciatica that hobbled me for three months, and rid myself of hay fever to boot. My wife, an allergy sufferer of 30 years, hasn't touched prescription meds in two seasons. My two boys are healthier because of the changes the family made in diet, supplementation and exercise. Does that make readers of this book "health nuts"? Dr. Saul would ask, "Who wants to be a disease nut"?

Single or married, young, middle-aged or older...any person who lives in a human body will find inspiration and education in the pages of Doctor Yourself. You will find yourself turning to it again and again as a reference and "owners manual" for the body you're using.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively, Humorous, Packed with Information, January 14, 2004
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
DOCTOR YOURSELF is easy to read, lively, humorous and packed with practical, easy-to-follow suggestions for maintaining and improving ones health. I agree with the author's comment that folks need "education, not medication."
I highly recommend this book to others because it helps people to help themselves. In these times of rising medical costs, along with the fact that many lack health insurance, Dr. Saul's book gives hope and confidence, almost like a personal consultation with the author. It sets out dozens of well-documented nutritional protocols for treating ailments using supplements rather than prescription drugs, thereby avoiding drug expense and side effects. The book deals with with quite a few chronic and serious health conditions, as well as more common concerns. DOCTOR YOURSELF provides down to earth and well-researched information.
John I. Mosher, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Yourself by Dr. Andrew Saul, January 15, 2004
By 
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
Having worked in the natural health care business for many years, I've read many, many books on the subject. While many of the books that I've read were quite good, I've found that even the best of these seem to be merely facts tied together with words. Dr. Saul's work, Doctor Yourself stands out in a market that has long been saturated with books of varying degrees of quality. Doctor Yourself is not only the best of the best in the marketplace, it is book with a voice. Reading Dr. Saul's book, I can clearly hear the unique voice of the author in it's pages. Dr. Saul's vast knowledge of his subject is presented with clarity, logic and humor. If I was to have one health care book in my library, it would clearly be Doctor Yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promoting nutritional therapy as a preventative & treatment, March 8, 2004
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
Expertly written by biologist and naturopathic teacher Andrew Saul (who has served as a consulting specialist in natural healing for more than twenty-five years), Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works is a straightforward and "non-specialist reader friendly" guide to organizing one's diet to promote health and nutrition. Promoting nutritional therapy as a preventative and treatment for many diverse ailments, and offering solid advice for adjusting one's diet plan to better live with everything from Diabetes, to PMS, to Parkinson's Disease, Doctor Yourself is a very helpful guidebook which is filled from cover to cover with gems of information that aren't usually discussed in most other nutrition books. It should also be mentioned that Andrew Saul has also developed an impressive website at DoctorYourself.com with additional information on the scientific studies behind the protocols referenced in his book and offers any interested party more than additional 4,000 references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything that it promised., October 13, 2005
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
I bought my mom & myself a copy of this book and both of us keep it handy for ready reference. I've bought a lot of health books and this is the best that I've ever read. I'm very glad to have it, have told many friends about the book and the website, and expect to read and reread both the website and the book many, many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not the author's best work, January 14, 2010
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
This book quite good but nowhere near as good as 'Fire your doctor' by the same author.

Instead of quoting studies, this book relies too heavily on case studies of single patients, I thought.

In the section at the back which makes up most of the book, different diseases are each given a section on treatment. Some of these sections were okay, but many did nothing more than relate a single case study which was almost always completely resolved following the use of high dose vitamin C or similar.

What was lacking was information on how typical such results were and what could be done if the remedies listed did not work. At the very least, it would have been better to include at least a few case studies rather than just one.

This book, as with 'Fire your doctor' just does not have enough information about chronic diseases, and long-term illness. There is little talk of how much high dose C's effectiveness is limited by years of damage caused by the disease, and how long to keep C at bowel tolerance if your disease is long term, and some case studies of what can happen in long-term disease with orthomolecular medicine. This is a problem I have found with most books on this topic, so little is written about long-term illness. I suppose it's just not as 'sexy' as writing about getting amazing and very quick results treating a serious infection in its first few weeks etc.

Many of us have the non-sexy diseases though!

I'd highly recommend 'Fire your doctor' before this book, but it is still far better than almost all books on this topic that are out there. Other good books include 'Orthomolecular medicine for everyone' and 'Dr Atkins' Vita-nutrient solution' as well as all the books by Dr Sherry Rogers.

To be clear, I very strongly support the basic message of in this book and am convinced by the benefits of orthomolecular medicine, I just think that this book does nowhere near as good a job as others in presenting this information to the reader, it's a bit simplistic and vague. There was nothing in this book I hadn't already read in 'Fire your doctor' as well.

Update: There is a 2nd edition of this book just out which is getting very good reviews. I'm very tempted to get my hands on a copy. It has over 100 pages of new information!

Jodi Bassett, The Hummingbirds' Foundation for M.E. (HFME) and Health, Healing & Hummingbirds (HHH)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening book, February 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
Very good read........Filled with information that I had never given thought to before. Since reading this book my energy, health, and overall well-being have increased dramatically. Would recomend this book to anyone who is looking to take charge of their heatlh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vitamin C for general therapoy, April 13, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
I have read only part of the book, but I will gladly get thru it all. He is right in that natural compounds are great at keeping us healthy. My interest is primarily cancer therapy. His book and my book "Vitamins Can Kill Cancer" both have an omission: few doctors recommend vitamin C as a cancer therapy. The state medical boards can fine or decertify doctors who use unapproved therapies. Fortunately, patients are not restricted by their state medical boards. My aggressive prostate cancer has been in remission for 14 years with vitamins and some early hormone therapy, all with no radiation, no surgery, no chemotherapy, no pain, no worry, and no lost body parts.
Reagan Houston
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Yourself, January 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works (Paperback)
I've lowered my blood pressure 10 points with the author's advice to take niacin. That alone was worth the purchase price. I have found many of his recommendations helpful and look forward to improved health in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Reference For Taking Charge of your own Health, December 5, 2007
By 
This book is very easy to read. It's also very easy to understand where the author is coming from regarding his strategies for healthcare.

This author does a great job of addressing many diseases that doctors today don't have the answer to. Modern medicine wants to keep you sick whereas this author writes to get you well. However, he still advocates you keep an MD. Then he tells you to take personal responsibility of your healthcare so you won't need your doctor.

The best thing this book has going for it is that it's real world and you can put the techniques in practice immediately. Also, the book is well researched and the studies mentioned are very thorough.

This should be on every person's bookshelf be you young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works
Doctor Yourself: Natural Healing That Works by Andrew W. Saul (Paperback - Oct. 2003)
Used & New from: $4.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.