Customer Reviews


435 Reviews
5 star:
 (258)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


337 of 344 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only NON-Buffered Mag Glycinate -- an important distinction!
Those tablets are large for GOOD reason! As confirmed to me by Doctor's Best, this is currently the ONLY brand of Magnesium Glycinate which is not buffered -- i.e., mixed with (usually unspecified) amounts of cheaper, *more compact*, and more-poorly-absorbed forms of magnesium like Oxide. That's why this product says "NOT Buffered" on the front label. Which explains...
Published on April 17, 2012 by Senn

versus
50 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Now contains propylene glycol.
The amazon photo of the ingredients does not show the updated ingredients. It now contains propylene glycol. Propylene Glycol in large oral doses in animals has been reported to cause central nervous system depression and slight kidney changes.
Propylene glycol is found in many industrial and commercial products, including antifreeze, liquid laundry detergent...
Published 5 months ago by HSM


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

337 of 344 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only NON-Buffered Mag Glycinate -- an important distinction!, April 17, 2012
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
Those tablets are large for GOOD reason! As confirmed to me by Doctor's Best, this is currently the ONLY brand of Magnesium Glycinate which is not buffered -- i.e., mixed with (usually unspecified) amounts of cheaper, *more compact*, and more-poorly-absorbed forms of magnesium like Oxide. That's why this product says "NOT Buffered" on the front label. Which explains why other brands seem to be able to make more-compact pills or capsules: They're not really 100% magnesium glycinate!

Despite this, I had avoided using this product because it unfortunately contained Bioperine (black pepper extract), which can interact with certain drugs. But since they have removed the Bioperine I've been using it and my early impression is good. Seems to cause less loose bowels than the more-typical (meaning buffered -- whether they use that word or not) magnesium glycinate products I tried before. Seems to have a gentle calming effect, and my resting heart rate has been a few points lower (which is desirable in my case). I'm only taking two pills (which provides a total of 200mg elemental magnesium) per day, and I find they work best for me when taken mid-day, usually without a meal. Since the tablets are coated I don't find them hard to swallow, especially if I wash them down with a lot of water.

BTW, Doctor's Best also told me that this product contains about ten times as much glycine as lysine, which is fine with me.

Doctor's Best is a brand that continues to impress.

NOTE: Just looking at the product title, one might tend to assume that each tablet has 200mg of elemental magnesium, when again that is actually for a serving of TWO tablets. I wish Amazon would start including complete labels for supplements, to avoid that kind of misunderstanding and others. I'll buy more supplements here once they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


183 of 190 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Magnesium Supplement I've Used, January 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been using magnesium supplements for several years, now, and Doctor's Best is by far the best formula that I've used. Everyone's digestive system and needs are different, of course, but I find that magnesium citrate and magnesium taurate formulas are pretty hard on my digestive tract. Chelated magnesium can help to ease these problems, but other formulas that include chelated magnesium don't always have ALL of the magnesium chelated. Oftentimes they include large amounts of less expensive magnesium oxide, which can be harder to digest. Doctor's Best's formula is completely chelated, uses the patented Albion formula and has never given me any trouble. It just plain works for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 262 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium vs Nine Leading Magnesium Supplements, June 12, 2013
By 
RWM (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
*****
Here is a side-by-side comparison of ten leading magnesium supplements: Nutrigold Magnesium Gold, Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium, JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT, Now Foods Magnesium Citrate (200 mgs), Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs), Solgar Magnesium Citrate, Life Extension Magnesium Caps, Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate, Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium, and Nature Made High Potency Magnesium.

Magnesium is needed for more than 300 biochemical reactions in the body. It helps maintain normal muscle and nerve function, keeps heart rhythm steady, supports a healthy immune system, and keeps bones strong. Magnesium also helps regulate blood sugar levels, promotes normal blood pressure, and is known to be involved in energy metabolism and protein synthesis. There is an increased interest in the role of magnesium in preventing and managing disorders such as hypertension, cardiovascular disease, and diabetes.

Magnesium is present in all cells of the body. It is a mineral that is critical for energy production and metabolism, muscle contraction, nerve impulse transmission, and bone mineralization. It helps to regulate calcium transport and absorption. By stimulating the secretion of calcitonin, it aids the influx of calcium into bone and promotes optimal bone mineralization. It has been called nature's calcium channel blocker. The idea refers to magnesium's ability to block calcium from entering muscle and heart cells.

BREAKDOWN: Here is a breakdown of these supplements.

Nutrigold Magnesium Gold (See, Nutrigold Magnesium Gold 120 Vegetarian Capsules)
*****
Form: magnesium malate / magnesium glycinate
Water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$ N/A for 120 200 mg capsules on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two capsules
Price per gel cap: $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No stearates
Chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
No laxative properties
No ingredients sourced from China
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium malate, chelated magnesium glycinate, and vegetarian capsule (non-GMO plant cellulose)

Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium (See, Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count)
*****
Form: magnesium glycinate
Not water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$16.78 for 240 100 mg tablets on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two tablets
Price per tablet: $.07 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.07 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Contains stearates
Chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
No laxative properties
No ingredients sourced from China
Phone Number: (800) 333-6977
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium glycinate, cellulose, stearic acid, croscarmellose sodium, hypromellose, and magnesium stearate (vegetable source)

JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT (See, JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT, 240T/Bottle.)
*****
Form: magnesium malate
Not water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$30.00 for 240 125 mg tablets on Amazon
Recommended Serving: four tablets
Price per gel cap: $.13 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.10 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No stearates
Chelated
Vegetarian
Time Release
No laxative properties
No ingredients sourced from China
Phone Number: (866) 601-5800
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium malate, microcrystalline cellulose, modified cellulose, crosscarmellose sodium, silica, food glaze, micro wax, vitamin C, vitamin B6, folic acid, vitamin B12, and malic acid

Now Foods Magnesium Citrate (200 mgs) (See, Now Foods Magnesium Citrate 200mg, 250 Tablets)
****
Form: magnesium citrate
Partially water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$11.22 for 250 200 mg tablets on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two tablets
Price per tablet: $.04 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.02 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Contains stearates
Chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
Possibly contains laxative properties
Phone Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium citrate, cellulose, stearic acid (vegetable source), croscarmellose sodium, magnesium stearate (vegetable source), and vegetable coating

Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs) (See, NOW Foods Magnesium Capsules, 180 Capsules / 400mg)
***
Form: magnesium oxide, magnesium citrate, and magnesium aspartate
Water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$8.99 for 180 400 mg capsules on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one capsule
Price per capsule: $.05 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.01 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Contains stearates
Not chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
Contains laxative properties
Company Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium oxide, magnesium citrate, magnesium aspartate, white rice flour, gelatin (capsule), and magnesium stearate

Solgar Magnesium Citrate (See, Magnesium Citrate - 120 - Tablet)
****
Form: magnesium citrate
Not water soluble
Certified Kosher
$13.11 for 120 200 mg tablets on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two tablets
Price per tablet: $.11 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.05 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Contains stearates
Not chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
Possibly contains laxative properties
Phone Number: (201) 944-2311
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium citrate, microcrystalline cellulose, vegetable cellulose, dicalcium phosphate, silica, vegetable magnesium stearate, titanium dioxide, and vegetable glycerin

Life Extension Magnesium Caps (See, Life Extension Magnesium 500 Mg Vegetarian Capsules, 100 Count)
****
Form: magnesium oxide, magnesium aspartate, magnesium citrate, magnesium succinate, and magnesium amino acid chelate
Water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$13.50 for 100 500 mg capsules on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one capsule
Price per capsule: $.14 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.03 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No stearates
Chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
Possibly contains laxative properties
Phone number: (800) 226-2370
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium oxide, magnesium aspartate, magnesium citrate, magnesium succinate, and magnesium amino acid chelate

Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate (See, Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate (140 mg) 90 Capsules)
*****
Form: magnesium citrate
Water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$12.45 for 90 140 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one - three gel caps
Price per gel cap: $.14 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.10 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No stearates
Chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
Possibly contains laxative properties
Phone Number: (800) 228-1966
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium citrate, hypromellose (derived from cellulose) capsule, leucine, and silicon dioxide

Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium (See, Bluebonnet - Albion Chelated Magnesium 200 Mg - 120 VegCap Kosher,Gluten-Free)
*
Form: magnesium glycinate / magnesium oxide
Water soluble
Certified Kosher
$21.39 for 120 200 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.18 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.09 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Contains stearates
Chelated
Vegetarian
Not enteric coated
Possibly contains laxative properties
Phone Number: (281) 240-3332
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium glycinate, magnesium oxide, kosher vegetable capsules, vegetable cellulose, and vegetable magnesium stearate

Nature Made High Potency Magnesium (See, Nature Made High Potency Magnesium 400 mg - 150 Liquid Softgels)
**
Form: magnesium oxide
Water soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$12.34 for 150 400 mg gel caps on Amazon
$12.39 for 150 400 mg gel caps from Costco
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.08 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 100 mgs magnesium: $.02 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No stearates
Not chelated
Not vegetarian
Not enteric coated
Contains laxative properties
Phone Number: (800) 276-2878
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: magnesium oxide, medium chain triglycerides, gelatin, glycerin, water, soy lecithin, yellow beeswax, artificial colors (titanium dioxide, copper chlorophyllin), maltodextrin, and potassium hydroxide

FORMS OF MAGNESIUM SUPPLEMENTS: Magnesium supplements come in a variety of forms, such as magnesium glycinate, a chelated form of magnesium that tends to provide the highest levels of absorption and bioavailability and is typically considered ideal for those who are trying to correct a deficiency; magnesium citrate, which is a magnesium with citric acid, and has laxative properties; magnesium oxide, which is a non-chelated type of magnesium, that has stool softening properties; and magnesium l-threonate, which is a newer, emerging form of magnesium supplement that appears to have promising cognitive benefits. Magnesium L-Threonate supplements are not reviewed here, but are reviewed separately.

MAGNESIUM RICH FOODS: Green leafy vegetables such as spinach, nuts, seeds, unsweetened cocoa, dried seaweed, dried coriander, and dried basil.

PRICE PER PILL: Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate ($.14 per gel cap) and Life Extension Magnesium Caps ($.14 per capsule) are the most expensive per pill of those in the comparison; followed by JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT ($.13 per tablet); followed by Solgar Magnesium Citrate ($.11 per gel cap); followed by Nature Made High Potency Magnesium ($.08 per gel cap); followed by Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium ($.07 per tablet); followed by Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs) ($.05 per capsule); and followed by Now Foods Magnesium Citrate (200 mgs) ($.04 per tablet), which is the least expensive per pill of those in the comparison.

PRICE PER 100 MGS MAGNESIUM: JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT ($.10 per 100 mgs magnesium) and Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate ($.10 per 100 mgs magnesium) are the most expensive per 100 mgs of magnesium of those in the comparison; followed by Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium ($.07 per 100 mgs magnesium); followed by Solgar Magnesium Citrate ($.05 per 100 mgs magnesium); followed by Life Extension Magnesium Caps ($.03 per 100 mgs magnesium); followed by Now Foods Magnesium Citrate (200 mgs) ($.02 per 100 mgs magnesium) and Nature Made High Potency Magnesium ($.02 per 100 mgs magnesium); and followed by Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs) ($.01 per 100 mgs magnesium), which is the least expensive per 100 mgs of magnesium of those in the comparison.

SOY/GMO/CHOLESTEROL CONTENT: None of these products contain soy, GMOs, or cholesterol except Nature Made High Potency Magnesium, which contains soy.

STEARATES: Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium, Now Foods Magnesium Citrate (200 mgs), Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs), Solgar Magnesium Citrate, and Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium contain stearates. Nutrigold Magnesium Gold, JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT, Life Extension Magnesium Caps, Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate, and Nature Made High Potency Magnesium do not contain stearates.

CERTIFIED KOSHER: Solgar Magnesium Citrate and Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium are the only products in this group that are certified Kosher. Look for the Kosher certification (called a "Hechsher") on the label.

CHELATED: Nutrigold Magnesium Gold, Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium, JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT, Now Foods Magnesium Citrate (200 mgs), Life Extension Magnesium Caps, Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate, and Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium are chelated. Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs), Solgar Magnesium Citrate, and Nature Made High Potency Magnesium are not chelated. A chelated form of magnesium tends to provide the highest levels of absorption and bioavailability.

ENTERIC COATING: None of these supplements are enteric coated. However, JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT offers a time release formula, called "SRT," which stands for Sustained Release Technology. JigSaw claims that with SRT, instead of the magnesium being dumped into your system all at once, SRT slows down the release of magnesium so it's spread out over 8 hours, which allows your body to absorb what it needs. SRT is an excellent feature and only JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT has it.

MEALS: Magnesium supplements are best taken with a meal containing some fat, as they are more efficiently absorbed when taken with food.

BLUEBONNET TRANSPARENCY ISSUE: The magnesium contained in Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium is buffered. It is a 50-50 blend of magnesium glycinate and magnesium oxide. It is my understanding that this magnesium glycinate - magnesium oxide blend is purchased by Bluebonnet from Albion Laboratories. Magnesium oxide is an inferior form of magnesium in terms of absorption. The inclusion of magnesium oxide could impair the bio-availability of this product. The problem arises because Bluebonnet has failed to disclose, on its label, website or product page, that it contains magnesium oxide. This is a clear deception by Bluebonnet that creates a serious transparency issue for the company. Despite this deception and undisclosed adulteration, Bluebonnet sells this product at a premium price above almost all others.

OPINION: In my opinion, all of these magnesium supplements are good, with the exception of those made in whole or in part of magnesium oxide, which I rate poorly. I would go with a chelated magnesium glycinate or magnesium malate product. Consequently, I deducted one star from Solgar Magnesium Citrate, Nature Made High Potency Magnesium, and Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs) because they are not chelated; I deducted one star from Life Extension Magnesium Caps because it is partly magnesium oxide and it is expensive and over-priced; I deducted two more stars from Nature Made High Potency Magnesium because it is magnesium oxide; I deducted one star from Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium because it contains stearates and it is extremely expensive and over-priced; and I deducted three more stars from Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium because it is partly magnesium oxide, the company failed to disclose magnesium oxide content in the product's supplement facts panel, the company stonewalled and refused to answer repeated inquiries about the magnesium oxide content of the product, and the company lacks transparency.

Based upon my analysis, in my opinion, Nutrigold Magnesium Gold, Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium, and JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT are the best performers in the comparison. However, JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT is not only expensive, but its price fluctuates greatly from day to day; sometimes it's $39.99 per bottle and sometimes it's $28.00 per bottle. I'm not impressed with its price instability.

RATING:

I rated Nutrigold Magnesium Gold, Doctor's Best High Absorption 100% Chelated Magnesium, JigSaw Magnesium w/SRT, and Thorne Research Magnesium Citrate five stars.

I rated Now Foods Magnesium Citrate (200 mgs) four stars because it is magnesium citrate and it contains stearates.

I rated Now Foods Magnesium Capsules (400 mgs) three stars because it is partly magnesium oxide and it is not chelated.

I rated Solgar Magnesium Citrate four stars because it is magnesium citrate, it is not chelated, and it contains stearates.

I rated Life Extension Magnesium Caps four stars because it is partly magnesium oxide.

I rated Bluebonnet Nutrition Albion Chelated Magnesium one star because it contains stearates, it is extremely expensive and over-priced for a magnesium oxide blend, it is partly magnesium oxide, the company failed to disclose magnesium oxide content in the product's supplement facts panel, the company stonewalled and refused to answer repeated inquiries about the magnesium oxide content of the product, and the company lacks transparency.

I rated Nature Made High Potency Magnesium two stars because it is magnesium oxide, it is not chelated, and it contains soy.

I have separately reviewed all of these products.

Prices current as of 10/11/2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


178 of 189 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Migraine relief!!!, November 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
I've suffered with migraines for over 10 years and in the last year started having them about 4-5 times a week. I received no help from my doctor and feeling incredibly frustrated I started doing my own migraine research and found that a lot of sufferers are magnesium deficient. Here are some symptoms 1) Frequent migraines 2) Muscle tightness and knots in the neck and shoulders 3) Irregularity 4) Irritablity 5) Anxiety 6) Trouble sleeping 7) Chocolate cravings. These are just a few and all of which I suffer from. Two months ago I started taking these and I have only had three headaches total, all of which were very tolerable and managable (as oppossed to the horrific "head in a vice accompanied with nausea headaches" I was having regulary). Even though these cost a little more, I highly recommend these high quality chelated magnesium pills over the magnesium oxide (which is the cheapest form made and your body absorbs very little of it). Let me state, I am not a doctor. However, I did learn alot of useful info from the book 'The Magensium Solution for Migraine Headaches' by Jay S. Cohen, who is a doctor. I recommend reading the book before you take the supplements so that you learn how to take them. The book and supplements have changed my life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You only need to take a small dose, March 1, 2013
By 
Judith K. Warner (Rohrersville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
To all the reviewers who are ticked about the low dose and misleading copy: I was misled too, but it turned out not to matter because this magnesium is so much better than any other I've taken that just two pills a day have stopped my muscle cramps. With other kinds of magnesium both my husband and I would end up taking large doses because it didn't work very well. Sometimes no matter how much he took the cramps continued. I gather that magnesium is not easy to absorb, and many kinds go right through you. This one must be extremely well absorbed for a small dose to have the effect it does, and it has no side effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the miracle vitamin, September 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
I have been running on 0 for almost a year now. I have bought so many different vitamins to try and get some kind of energy going again,nothing seemed to work.When I looked at the reviews on this magnesium,I figured I had nothing to lose,wow!! I felt a thousand times better as soon as I took them.I slacked off after a few weeks to see if I would start a decline,and sure enough,no energy again. I have been taking them again for 4 days and am back in the game. I don't know how they would do for anyone else,but am glad they work for me.I do not know how relevant this is but I suffer from hypothroidism,just in case anyone w/ this may want to try these for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, August 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
I have been suffering from 3 day long migraines that occur about twice a month for the last 7-8 months. I could not find a reason for them, and painkillers would not work at all. I was going crazy...the migraines were so bad and always concentrated on the left side of my head.

I decided to give magnesium a shot after reading about magnesium deficiency, and realizing that I don't each a lot of food with magnesium in it. I kid you not, these pills have totally changed my life. I take two in the morning, and then two before I go to bed. I still get the occasional headache, but they are minor and go away as soon as I take a minor painkiller (i.e. they are like normal headaches again). I haven't experienced any of the 3 day long migraines since I've been taking magnesium, and I am ecstatic. So glad I gave these a shot.

I had tried the regular magnesium oxide you can find at CVS, but found that it actually gave me stomach pains and cramping. I tried these and I have not had any unwanted side effects. I would highly recommend these as an option to people suffering from unexplained headaches/migraines that don't respond to conventional treatment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nom Nom Magnesium!, January 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
Make sure you're not taking this with meals or near any calcium supplementations. I would give it about 2 hours after taking calcium to take a magnesium. I take 2 a day for some mild BFS (Benign Fasiculations Syndrome, or Harmless Annoying Twitching), along with some mild "Legs Fall Asleep Faster Thanks To Blood Circulation + Muscle Tension" issues, and it helps alot!

If you're stressed out like I am, your body urinates magnesium out and it's quite hard to obtain from a Western diet, so make sure you're replacing your stocks! A lot of Americans are deficient in his important element, and it can cause a huge variety of issues even if you're just a little deficient! If you have BFS like me, DEFINITELY give it a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnesium is essential for good health, August 19, 2011
By 
D. R. Schryer (Poquoson, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
Magnesium is extremely important for good health. Yet for far too many years this vital mineral has been largely overlooked by most doctors. Shockingly, most laboratory blood tests do not even measure magnesium status although magnesium is involved as an essential factor in more aspects of health than any other mineral. Since magnesium status is rarely measured, most doctors don't know when their patients are deficient in magnesium, even though about 80% of Americans are deficient in this essential mineral. And magnesium deficiency is a significant factor -- often the primary factor -- in many severe illnesses including heart attacks and other forms of heart disease, high blood pressure, diabetes, asthma, anxiety and panic attacks, depression, fatigue, migraines and other headaches, osteoporosis, insomnia, and most cases of muscular problems. Because magnesium deficiency is largely overlooked, millions of Americans suffer needlessly from the foregoing ailments or are having their symptoms treated with expensive drugs (which often have unpleasant or dangerous side effects) when they could be cured with magnesium supplementation. Anyone interested in learning more about the role of magnesium in human health should acquire and read The Magnesium Miracle by Dr. Carolyn Dean -- available from Amazon.com.

The form of magnesium which is best assimilated is chelated magnesium such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Since no one else has mentioned this yet, I ..., August 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor's Best High Absorption Magnesium (200 Mg Elemental), 240-Count (Health and Beauty)
Since no one else has mentioned this yet, I will; I received my first bottle today, and the propylene glycol is no longer on the ingredients list. I was never sure that it was a concern in the first place (it's FDA approved for use in food, and you can literally find so-called "horror stories" for anything and everything). That's just my two cents as a layman, though. I'll update my rating once I see whether this stuff helps or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.