Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intellectual Disneyland
Nuland's works are like pop-up books for adults. First, he gives you the big picture, an overview. Then, he focuses in on his subject and then -- POP! -- your reward, in the form of tasty tidbits of consistently obscure and delightful information.
This book, Doctors, is no exception. Throughout the book, you're learning without even realizing it, and at the same...
Published on December 20, 2000 by Jay3fer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The History of Medical Science
This was required reading for a course taken about the History of Medical Science. It is well written, though sometimes too loquacious. It is written by a surgeon, and it emphasizes the story of surgeons and neglects some of the most important medical doctors.
Published 6 months ago by Tom Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intellectual Disneyland, December 20, 2000
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
Nuland's works are like pop-up books for adults. First, he gives you the big picture, an overview. Then, he focuses in on his subject and then -- POP! -- your reward, in the form of tasty tidbits of consistently obscure and delightful information.
This book, Doctors, is no exception. Throughout the book, you're learning without even realizing it, and at the same time, gaining historical and philosophical insight into the progress of medicine through the ages. From ancient Greece to the modern halls of medicine, Nuland will take you along through a Disneyland of exploration.
From his writing, it's easy to tell that even after a prestigious career, he's still as excited by medicine -- and as awed by its great practitioners -- as he was on his very first day of pre-med.
Nuland's prose IS a challenge; he usually assumes some prior knowledge on the part of readers, and a university and science background are helpful. If you've got that, though, then hop aboard for the ride of your life. I guarantee you, you'll never look at an emergency room the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a novel, December 17, 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
I have used this as the assigned text in courses in the history of medicine, both for udergraduate and for medical students. The book is an unabashed example of the iatrocentric school of medical history -- one long series of great doctors, but that certainly captures the imagination of the wannabe doctor. This is simply the best introductory book on this subject, both for the serious student, and for the interested person with or without a medical background. Paul G. Dyment MD, Tulane University, New Orleans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well Written and Riveting History of Medicine, May 13, 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "the_tank" (Loma Linda, CA United States) - See all my reviews
In this book Nuland takes the reader on an odyssey of western medical history spanning antiquity to modern medicine. It takes brief snapshots of a few of the physicians who have molded medicine into what it is today. He vividly brings to life colorful people like Vesalius who refused to accept the status quo of his time, but instead rejected popular theories because they did not agree with experimental results.
This is an inspirational must read for those who are either in the field of medicine or enjoy medical history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most readable book on the history of Western medicine., July 9, 2008
By 
Peter J. Ward (Lewisburg, WV. USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
I teach the history of medicine and anatomy at a U.S. medical school and I spend a lot of time reviewing the available books so that I can sharpen up my lectures. I'm not going to claim that medical history is the most electrifying topic for first-year medical students, but when it is presented properly it can be very engaging. This is exactly what Dr. Nuland has done with this book.

Doctors is a well-organized and readable text and Dr. Nuland has done a great deal of research but more importantly, he has obviously practiced how to deliver the stories in a way that is suspenseful and satisfying. He starts chronologically and moves from Hippocrates, through Andreas Vesalius, William Harvey, Rudolph Virchow, Helen Taussig, describing the individuals responsible for the good, the bad, and the ugly sides of the history of medical practice as we see it today.

His narrative relates strictly to the history of Western medicine and the influences that have shaped it. He does not go into any details regarding Eastern medicine or other medical practices since this is not directly related to the main theme of the book. The only topic I wish he had spent more time covering was the Islamic physicians of the middle ages. Western medicine (along with all the sciences) were maintained at a high level in the Muslim societies of the middle ages before passing into the newly-founded European Universities.

By following the history of medicine through the persons (and extreme personalities) that influenced it, Dr. Nuland is able to educate and entertain. I have listened repeatedly to the lectures that he has produced with the Teaching Company and it is nice to know that he writes as well as he speaks. I have reviewed other books on the topic but so far this is my undisputed favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, September 8, 2008
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
I am only 15, and not very smart, but even I thought this book was quite informative. It has always been my dream to be a doctor, and this book helped me better understand the history of it. I had no clue that medicine had such a diverse background. I recommend this book to anyone who has such an interest, and who is not afraid to read a book that I must admit is a tad boring on some notes, but is overall good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, especially for the novice., March 21, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
This is a very well written book especially if the sciences, history or medicine is not your strong suite. Mr. Nuland took a potentially boring subject (what history subject isn't?) and has made it very interesting to read.
I like math, but in school and college, I never did well with subjects that related to history and especially with science. I don't even read that much. However, I could not put this book down. I liked it so much, I have read it 3 times. It is a very enriching book. Thanks Mr. Nuland for restoring my confidence in being able to comprehend subjects that deal with medicine and history! My wish list is for Mr. Nuland to put this out on audio cassette.
Thomas Jue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The History of Medical Science, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
This was required reading for a course taken about the History of Medical Science. It is well written, though sometimes too loquacious. It is written by a surgeon, and it emphasizes the story of surgeons and neglects some of the most important medical doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A required reading for any medical student., February 11, 1999
By 
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
Dr. Nuland gives us a riveting review of the triumphs and mistakes, the successes and failures, and the brilliance and blunders of the giants on whose shoulders we stand now and who have taken us to our present understanding of the art of healing. Anyone interested in pursuing a career in medicine should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shameful character assassination of Semmelveiss, October 13, 2011
This review is from: Doctors: The Biography of Medicine (Paperback)
This book is well written and researched, yet lacks the fundamental contrition that should accompany a visitation of the rather sordid and bloody history of western medicine. Case in point is Nuland's take on Ignaz Semmelveiss, who proved that it was doctors themselves who were responsible for the epidemic of childbed fever in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. Semmelveiss' discovery was met with abject resistance and hostility from his peers, who clearly feared the culpability that would accompany the acknowledgement of such a massive and ghastly error. Instead of being hailed as a hero of Europe and of medicine, he was rewarded instead by being fired from his job, virtually exiled, and committed to a mental asylum where he was beaten to death within two weeks. Nuland, however, assumes the audacious position that the failure to adopt Semmelveiss' protocols (washing hands between examining corpses and pregnant patients!)was with Semmelveiss himself- that he was too pushy or maniacal in his insistence that doctors were killing patients. He blames Semmelveiss for not couching his discovery in a way that was more palatable to his contemporaries. He even goes so far as to suggest-by his own admission without hard evidence- that Semmelveiss was suffering from some mysterious organic brain disease. How such a diseased brain could solve the medical puzzle that eluded the greatest minds of his generation is a question the author avoids posing. The history of medicine is not merely the intellectual progression of science and healing- it also contains cautionary tales such as Semmelveiss' which speak of the dangers of a profession becoming entrenched in its own dogma and jealous of its cultural status. Today, in the US, where more women give birth under the management of medical doctors than anywhere in the world, maternal mortality rates are higher than in any other developed country. In some ways, medicine has never acknowledged and learned from Semmelveiss, and treatments like Nulands do no good to help the situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and highly readable, July 11, 2014
By 
Sky Master (Princeton, NJ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although somewhat over-written (could have used more disciplined editing) the late Dr. Nuland's writing is always compelling and very worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctors: The Biography of Medicine
Doctors: The Biography of Medicine by Sherwin B. Nuland (Paperback - January 15, 1995)
$16.95 $13.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.