Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WAKE UP CALL WE DESPERATELY NEED!
Harvey Bigelsen. Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs. Lisa Haller, ed. Nevada City, CA. Biological Medicine Institute. 2009. 161 pages. $17.95

Harvey Bigelsen, M.D. studies living blood--something Western Medicine ignores--to diagnose, treat, and cure chronic disease. His therapies are based on "biological medicine" which aims at assisting the body's...
Published on March 23, 2011 by LivForToday

versus
19 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept, but weak research
The premise of this book is a very interesting concept. I am one of those in the minority who believe modern medicine has regressed in favor of making pharmaceutical companies billions of dollars. People are no longer looked at as human beings by doctors, insurance, and drug companies. All we are viewed as is dollar signs and a way to make a profit while suffering...
Published on June 7, 2011 by K-DOGG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WAKE UP CALL WE DESPERATELY NEED!, March 23, 2011
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
Harvey Bigelsen. Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs. Lisa Haller, ed. Nevada City, CA. Biological Medicine Institute. 2009. 161 pages. $17.95

Harvey Bigelsen, M.D. studies living blood--something Western Medicine ignores--to diagnose, treat, and cure chronic disease. His therapies are based on "biological medicine" which aims at assisting the body's natural systems, rather than suppressing symptoms. His achievements are impressive--in 1979 he cofounded the American Holistic Medical Association and in 1988 he received a Person of the Year award from The Hans Nieper Foundation--for contributing the most influential work to U.S. natural medicine. He has written and published four books, including: Medical Conspiracy in America, The Holographic Blood, Your Cure for Cancer and the subject for this review--Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs.

Dr. Bigelsen delivers an electric shock to America's "sheeple" who have all been blindly following mainstream medicine for decades. Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs is a wakeup call that shatters our country's long-held beliefs about treating disease! Modern medicine is still based on the famous French biologist Louis Pasteur's "germ theory" which blames germs as the cause for disease. Dr. Bigelsen maintains that Pasteur's theory has survived because it supports modern medicine's "magic bullet" philosophy (12). Biological medicine evolved from Pasteur's "intellectual rival," Antoine Bechamp--who claimed disease can only exist in a weakened body (12).

Dr. Bigelsen comments that while attending medical school, blood was always "stained" (dehydrated) and "fixed for immortality" before peering through the microscope (19). He wasn't introduced to living blood until the mid 1980's. A private foundation sponsored him and five colleagues to travel across Europe to observe cutting edge health care practices. The moment their group walked into French biologist, Gaston Naessens CERBE laboratory in Sherbrooke, Quebec--their lives changed. Naessens designed and built the Somatoscope, the most powerful microscope in the world--capable of magnifying objects up to 30,000 times. Dr. Bigelsen discovered what Naessens coined as the "somatid," a complex inner ecosystem alive within the human body. The trip marked a pivotal turning point in the author's career, which he says, revealed a "whole new universe" that modern medical school had never explored (21).

Dr. Bigelsen uses real-life medical cases (from his own practice) and cites references from traditional and alternative healthcare fields to substantiate his claims. Charts, statistics, and images justify theories behind disease progression, the connections between medicine and emotion, invasive surgery, and trapped inflammation. He offers a fresh, innovative approach to healing that acknowledges the "intrinsic wisdom of our inner biological terrain" and focuses on treating the human body as a whole (61). Emphasis is placed on the body's terrain (the environment in which the bacteria is adapting) as the key to vitality. Disease is seen as a process, arising from trapped inflammation as the consequence of "barbaric cosmetology" (7). The sickening truth is that we as a society have become obsessed with an unattainable concept--ageless beauty, where:

We increasingly try to remake ourselves, from
our eyes to our vaginas. We bleach our teeth,
replace our joints, enlarge our breasts, tighten
our tummies, suck the extra fat off our thighs (78).

Human beings were not built for this type of invasion--yet we continue to assault them with syringes and scalpels! Not surprisingly, Americans have extremely poor longevity--with our country ranking 42nd in the world! Dr. Bigelsen attributes our premature deaths to overusing poisonous chemicals "under the euphemism of prescription drugs" (7). This makes logical sense since we all know that pharmaceutical companies are thriving on our misery!

In 1910 the idea that illness manifests within our bodies from outside sources (microorganisms) became ingrained into our culture when we began offering financial support for the latest medical research. Dr. Bigelsen highlights the disturbing fact that "we still do not know the cause of, nor have we seen a cure for, one single chronic disease" (13). Yet the naïve belief that germs must be sought out and eradicated with harmful antibiotics (which literally means against life) continues to run rampant throughout the United States!

Dr. Bigelsen argues a strong point--modern medicine's arrogance has been injected deep into our minds--making us regard the titles MD and AMA (American Medical Association)--as the leading authorities in well-being. The tragic fact is that these labels are highly esteemed in our nation and we equate them with power, prestige and wealth. A serious problem is that our health insurance policies adamantly refuse covering treatments from licensed healthcare practitioners who are not MDs! These professionals include--osteopaths (DO), chiropractors (DC), naturopaths (ND), and acupuncturists (Lac)--who have all obtained the same education level as MDs before they may earn their license! The Congressional Office of Technology Assessment published a report showing how modern scientific medicine has only been proven effective for "trauma care" (13).

Dr. Bigelsen has voiced what we refuse to admit ourselves--that our society has "brainwashed" us into believing that illness should be feared! We run to the nearest physician and subject ourselves to endless medical tests because we have been "hoodwinked into believing that disease sneaks up and ambushes us" (123). Television mass advertises the belief that "evil germs lurk in every corner and crevice, lying in wait for their chance to leap out and kill us" (45). The cruel reality is that Americans are cowering in the face of our government's health-care laws! Let's face it--our country spends an obscene amount of money pursuing healthcare (like it's a runaway state of being that we're chasing)! In 2008 Massachusetts alone spent approximately $1.4 billion dollars on unnecessary tests, referrals and medical procedures! Why would the "system" be designed to make us better--when hot-shot pharmaceutical companies profit from our suffering?! We should be thanking Dr. Bigelsen for urging us to take responsibility for our lives!

Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs should intrigue anyone who is looking to expand their narrow minded concept of how disease manifests in the human body! I for one fervently recommend this revolutionary book to everyone because the principles within its pages have saved my own life! Dr. Bigelsen summarizes my story on page 68!

For more information, contact Farrah Chehrazi at livfortoday@gmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm awake now!, March 21, 2011
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
Wow! This book is so simple, and makes so much sense. Dr. Bigelsen discusses the idea that our body sees a surgeons' scalpel, no differently than getting cut by a piece of broken glass. The first thing the body tries to do when cut open, is heal itself. The first thing a surgeon does is create a new problem. You can take apart an engine to get to the problem, but when you start taking the body apart to get to the problem . . . it reacts. Keep the 'terrain' healthy! Doctors make a lot of money, but are they really interested in your health?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctors are more harmful than germs., April 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
I wish more doctors were like this. This is full of what I believe to be honest information. The medical, pharmacutical and insurance companies are interconnected in sometimes harmful ways. I commend Dr. Harvey Bigelsen for educating us and hope that he continues to do so. I was fasinated by the politics to the truth. Thank you again.

Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs....How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health---And What to Do About It By Harvey Bigelsen, M.D. softcover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true healer, June 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
out of all the health books this is one of the very best out there.....it explains in simple terms how the body functions and then how to fix it....avoid all unnecessary surgeries....they create trapped inflammation inside the body and U R certain for more disease in the years to come.....HUGE MISTAKE......remember..there is no such thing as a simple surgery......he also uses Isopathic formulas from Germany that are much more effective than homeopathics....this guy is a TRUE HEALER......!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things you "knew" where going on - things you did not, April 7, 2011
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
This is essential reading for anyone interested in natural healing information/concepts and the possible negative impacts of various allopathic practices/approaches (which you may have suspected but have never seen a medical doctor admit - until now). The information in Appendix I about the possible causes of MS, ALS, RA, Hep C and fibromyalgia is worth the price of the book alone. There are numerous bits of useful information in this book. This is a must have book - an excellent value. One of messages of this book is: surgery=scars=possible hidden inflammation and partial loss of long-term vitality (for each surgical event).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way Real Medicine use to be practiced., June 26, 2011
By 
Philip K. Harris "Philip" (Redondo bch, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
Dr. Bigelsen makes real sense out of medicine and what the body responds to in terms of invasive surgery and how it responds when you treat the whole system as one living conscious organism.
I applaud his courage to step out ahead of the herd and be the change we all would like to see in modern medicine. It is happening now and I for one have had enough of the current status quo.

Philip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Needed Book, May 22, 2011
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
My dad sure could have benefited from this book. He was a good patient of mainstream medicine over the years, and it let him down. This book does well in pointing out the harm of mainstream medicine in a way I can understand. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to be more responsible about his or her own health and well-being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to be grateful for, May 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
Ever had a root canal? Well, this book sure blew me away . . . and I'll never blindly trust dentistry again. Same goes for dental implants.
This book gives you good reason to take infections, inflammation and other symptoms more seriously, and to deal with them wisely.
Wish I had read such stuff years ago, but better late than never.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars doctors are more harmful then germs: how surgery can be hazardous to your health - and what to do about it, May 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
Bought this book for a friend's birthday and ending up reading it myself after he was through with it. Friend is into self-help when it comes to doctors and medicine and this book is for people who think that way. The author of the book: Dr. Harvery Bigelsen is just such a doctor for those type of people (including me). His views are both straightforward and common sense. If you are one of those people who is tired of being misdiagnosed by doctors and given a pill for everything, then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC READ. WORTH EVERY PENNY!, May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It (Paperback)
DON'T MISS THIS BOOK. IT GIVES REAL INFORMATION THAT ISN'T CENSORED BY THE AMA. YOU WILL WANT TO GET ONE FOR ALL YOUR LOVED ONES TO LEARN ABOUT TRUE DIAGNOSIS OF THEIR HEALTH PROBLEMS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doctors Are More Harmful Than Germs: How Surgery Can Be Hazardous to Your Health - And What to Do About It
$17.95 $14.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.